Customer Reviews for

Blink of an Eye

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Blink of an Eye is a more mature version of Blink

    Having read the original version (Blink), i was reluctant to start the remake. At the beginning of reading it, i compared each paragraph to Blink, and found that Blink of an Eye is more mature and subtle, with the same plot, characters, and story line. I was captivated by the book from the very beginning, it isn't one that gets good half way through. The logic discussed throughout the book amazed me in the sense that i had to keep reminding myself that the author was actually the one that came up with this stuff. Overall, it is insightful, deep, and clever, with just a hint of romance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not your normal princess in distress

    *Note: This book is a updated re-release of Blink which was originally published a few years ago* This was my first Ted Dekker book that I have read. Well, I have read House, his collaboration with Frank Peretti, but this is the first full Dekker book that I chose to pickup. This book was actually different that what I thought was going to happen. I know Dekker's other works are more suspenseful or fantasy-ish. I had watched the movie Thr3e and had enjoyed it very much. Reading this book made me feel like I was watching the nightly news. This plot in this story is so relevant to this day and age. I liked Miriam's character very much. Without a doubt, she's one of the strongest female characters I've read in a while. This is mostly because she lives in an environment where she is not supposed to be strong. I was actually glad that Seth was sort of a dorky character. I think previous stories like this have always had an athletic, brawny, strong guy win the princess's heart. Actually there was even a part of me that was scared that if someone from the Middle East were to read this book, they might get insulted. The book was very well researched with regards to culture. This is also an action packed book, where the results can be quite intense and gory. If you have a squeamish stomach, I do not recommend reading this book. There are several scenes where it's almost too difficult to read because you know that scenes like this are taking place in the world. It brings awareness to the plight that many women live on the other side of the world. It really makes you feel grateful for the freedoms we have in our country. While there is a romance story, there is more than enough action to make up for male readers who hate romance. I would recommend this book to those who like a true, could have really happen story. Will definitely be looking forward to the movie of this book when it comes out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Author is Amazing!

    Ted Dekker does it again! Blink of an Eye takes you through many plot twists and keeps you on the edge of you seat through out the book. The audio book is ideal for long trips where you can listen to it for extended lengths of time or you find yourself not wanting to get out of you car. I would recommend anything that Ted Dekker writes!!!

    Mike

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Imagine if you had the unique ability of precognition besides an

    Imagine if you had the unique ability of precognition besides an IQ that was virtually higher than any human being had recorded, but in your mind you simply saw yourself as the average nerdy kind of guy that found college boring and were looking for something more out of this life? Then you would be describing Seth Borders, who maintains an IQ of 193, Einsteins was estimated to be 163 and only 1 percent of humans even have an IQ of 135, so you can see how Seth would be simply bored by most things. He simply thought ahead of what most people thought and can see things others can't. He has been offered a job at the National Security Association or NSA and can either be a huge asset or a huge threat depending on who's side of the fence Seth is interested in working with.

    Just when he thought life couldn't get any more exciting, he encounters, Miriam, a beautiful Middle Eastern princess who is running for her life. He sees her a few minutes before even encountering her and knows that if he fails to act, she will die in the future he has seen earlier. Not knowing how or why he has received this uncanny ability to see into the future along with hundreds of possible outcomes, he is willing to take that risk and it is one that will forever alter both of their lives.

    Miriam is running for her life quite literally, because she knew if she stayed in Saudi Arabia, she would be forced into a marriage to a man named Omar bin Khalid. He is one of the most powerful men in Saudi Arabia and he has plans to upset the balance of power in Saudi Arabia by staging a coup and providing a son of royal birth through Miriam which will ultimately give him the power to rule. But Omar is not without his faults and killing those who stand in his path of achieving his success is merely a fore thought. When he learns that Miriam has fled the country, he vows to punish her for making him look like a fool and will only keep her around long enough to provide a son to take over the existing throne in his country. Then she will not serve his purpose any longer and will be eliminated.

    I received Blink of an Eye by best-selling author Ted Dekker compliments of Center Street Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. Ever since my first Ted Dekker book, I've been hooked by his unique writing style to draw you in from the very beginning and before you know it, you're holding your breath, reading as fast as you can flip pages, to find out just what will happen next. This one is no exception and I've loved being a part of Miriam and Seth's journey from beginning to end. It conveys to readers just how difficult life for a woman living in the Middle East truly is when she is treated like property and lacking all the basic rights of a human being. Her life simply isn't worth anything but a means to an end. I can easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to add this one to my growing Ted Dekker library collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Loved it

    Great !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Mind blowing

    Great book! I absolutely loved the depth of the storyline and ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Must read!

    Such a fantastic story! I loved the glimpse into two totally diffrent cultures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Awesome!:)

    This book was so good-i love ted dekker books and this was one of his best. I definately recommend it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Best

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Awesome!,

    Love Ted Dekker's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Great story

    Good story; interesting edits on older versio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Brilliant and Intense!

    Like most of Dekker's books, the reader is thrust into this suspenseful story almost immediately. The action and well thought-out discussions keep you turning the pages late into the night! I finished the book in 2 days! After I finished it, I knew that Ted Dekker was my favorite author and I vowed to read as many of his books as I can. I've already re-read this book as well as Red (the second book in his Circle Series) and Obsessed. WARNING: you will get hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    very suspenseful read

    I ended up reading this in an effort to help my youngest daughter understand it. It was a summer reading project. I got hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4