Customer Reviews for

Bliss (Bliss Bakery Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 425 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Book- A Must Read

I didn't get this as a book on my nook, but as a book at the library. Nook or not- this book is very good. Filled with magic and mystery, this book is something you will want to read in one setting. I couldn't stop reading, and I WILL be on the lookout for Littlewood's ...
I didn't get this as a book on my nook, but as a book at the library. Nook or not- this book is very good. Filled with magic and mystery, this book is something you will want to read in one setting. I couldn't stop reading, and I WILL be on the lookout for Littlewood's work and books to follow Bliss.

posted by 8636186 on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

Kiddie book

As i suspected from the synopsis, the editorial reviews confirm this is for grades 3 - 6. Please, BN, give us more books that aren't sappy romance novels or kids stuff. My husband loved the Dale Brown book last summer, and I like non-fiction. How about more for people ...
As i suspected from the synopsis, the editorial reviews confirm this is for grades 3 - 6. Please, BN, give us more books that aren't sappy romance novels or kids stuff. My husband loved the Dale Brown book last summer, and I like non-fiction. How about more for people like us?

posted by 11427646 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Beverly Fahey

    Magical, exciting, and interesting, I loved this book and can't wait for a sequel. It was predictable, but still good. And BTW to Beverly Fahey from Children's Literature on the Editor Reviews, Rosemary is NOT the oldest of the Bliss syblings. Bkwrm ;D

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    128 pages for 9-11 rear olds

    It was very nice Barnes and Noble gave a book on free Fridays, for the younger sect. 9-11 year olds can read this themselves and really enjoy it. I liked it too. It is a good clean book about a wonderful 12 year old girl, trying to figure out life and her place in a strange but blissfully wonderful family and the delightfully odd town they live in. 126 pages. Well edited. No drugs, violence, cursing, sex or depressive thoughts. All tweens and even 9 year olds should find this book enjoyable. THANK YOU B&N for thinking of the youngsters!

    AD

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Bliss Bakery, a magical bit of esacapism.

    Fans of harry potter and Lemony Snicket will enjoy this whimsical return to the magic of harry potter and the heart and wit of a Snicket novel. The main characters are instantly relatable and the plot will have you hooked on the first page, this book only loses a star for its side characters, who seem one dimensional, but still help to move the plot along.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    This is an excellent story for tweens.  I was thrilled to see so

    This is an excellent story for tweens.  I was thrilled to see something so perfect for my 10 y.o. daughter available as a Friday Freebie last month.  When looking for something quick and fun to read last week, I decided see how it was for myself.  I wasn't expecting such a quality book to be offered for free.  This story is truly delightful, and while probably marketed more to girls, I think boys would enjoy it as well.  Can't wait to read the next one, it really leaves you hanging!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    First chapter sounds nice. My 8 year old will be so HAPPY!!!!!!!

    Believe this will be cute story. First few paragraphs sound perfect for my 8 year old. She will be so excited for another book.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bliss by Kathryn Littlewood was last week's Free Fridays Nook se

    Bliss by Kathryn Littlewood was last week's Free Fridays Nook selection from Barnes & Noble. It's geared for ages 8 and up, but I'd heard it's a fun read for all ages. I love magical realism - Haruki Murakami and Aimee Bender are two of my favorite authors - so I thought I'd give it a try.

    Overall, this was a fun read. Many times I laughed out loud. Littlewood has a way of portraying each character, no matter how minor, in a colorful and lively way. Plus, there were secret rooms, magical recipes, strange ingredients that come to life... did I mention secret rooms?! I recognized the villain as such from the moment she entered the story, and knew exactly what she would attempt to do. However, the character had enough complexity that I didn't lose interest, and enjoyed reading what would happen next.

    When the first recipe was attempted, I thought for sure there was going to be a cliché tie-in with a tween crush that had been mentioned early in Chapter 1. That probably would have made me lose interest in the book entirely. I was so thankful Littlewood didn't do the obvious there! The behavior of the older brother regularly made me groan in an "I'm-embarrassed-for-you" kind of way, such as this moment in Chapter 15: "Ty rolled up one of the sleeves of his T-shirt and flexed his bicep. Then he kissed it. 'I might do some serious damage to this baby.'" I don't know. Maybe 14-year-old boys really do act like this. I know the humor is geared toward kids, though.

    I do have to say, Rose's whining about not feeling appreciated, not feeling trusted, started to annoy me more and more throughout the story. Her parents trusted her with the key to the cookbook. They left her in charge of protecting it - not her older brother. That point seemed completely lost on Rose.

    Littlewood does keep the literary bar high in Bliss. She seamlessly weaving words such as copacetic, din, putrid, natty, and elucidate into her sentences. She challenges her young readers' vocabularies without overwhelming them, providing plenty of context clues so they are able to grasp the meaning of new words without reaching for a dictionary. Chapter 13 contains some silly word play (I won't spoil it!) which should amuse young readers, especially. There were also some nice "lessons" in the book: trusting one's own intuition, the importance of expressing your feelings to your loved ones, and a touching moment when Rose saw a particularly annoying customer in a different light.

    Bliss is the first in a series; the second book, A Dash of Magic, is due out February 12, 2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Cute book!

    I read this book and enjoyed it...so I recommended it to my 6th grader to do her book report on this month and she is enjoying it also!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Sweet and Engaging

    In terms of kids fiction, this was a quick, but enjoyable read. Not the best I've ever read, but solidly playful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Cute and Delicious Treat for Young Readers!

    Though suited for middle grade readers, as an adult I enjoyed this cute and tasteful story. In their parents absence, four children find themselves more or less running the family bakery. The fun begins when an unexpected guest arrives who claims to be their aunt. Twelve-year old Rose must decide whether to listen to that little voice in her head that is telling her maybe things are not as they seem. Young readers will surely identify with her character and at the same time, gain a great lesson from her experiences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Creative, imaginative and nicely written for anyone over the ag

    Creative, imaginative and nicely written for anyone over the age of 8. Could be a great discussion for a book club with the tween in mind or for parent and child. I am interested in readying more by this author and I am way past the tween age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    A good book, even though plot was rather transparent.

    This book, about a family who owns a bakery which provides magical items that help community members when needs are dire, is a fun story about how things can go wrong even when you have the greatest of intentions.

    I enjoyed reading, though I found myself anticipating what would happen throughout much of the book... and what I anticipated is pretty much what happened... with one exception.

    The ending of the book was rather abrupt. I felt like it should either have ended just a page or so earlier, or about a chapter later. It is the first book in a trilogy, and I am sure it is difficult to make that kind of transition, but I believe the author could have done this one better.

    A good read, though... easy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Good kids book

    It's a cute book. Interesting story. The story just ends but it's a trilogy so I guess you have to read the next book to see how the Bliss family deals with the "problem" created in this book. The ending just made me think of the ending line from the Conan movies... "but that is a story for another day."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Fun, magical romp

    Like Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle for tweens! Loved it. Light- hearted but also explores family values and how we all just want to be accepted for who we are and recognized for our uniquness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    I am loving this "children's book" although I'm a gran

    I am loving this "children's book" although I'm a grandmother.  
    I love magical stories with magical creatures, magical books, and
     good overcoming  evil.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Lore

    "Meh eyes are bleeding..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Cute Pre-teen Read

    I enjoyed this book & recommend it. It has positive message about family and what is really important. The first in a trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    This was a delightful story.

    This was a delightful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Cadence

    She walked into the coffee shop, and sat across from Ryan. "Hey." She said, smiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Cute

    -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6