Customer Reviews for

Bliss (Bliss Bakery Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 428 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Book- A Must Read

I didn't get this as a book on my nook, but as a book at the library. Nook or not- this book is very good. Filled with magic and mystery, this book is something you will want to read in one setting. I couldn't stop reading, and I WILL be on the lookout for Littlewood's ...
I didn't get this as a book on my nook, but as a book at the library. Nook or not- this book is very good. Filled with magic and mystery, this book is something you will want to read in one setting. I couldn't stop reading, and I WILL be on the lookout for Littlewood's work and books to follow Bliss.

posted by 8636186 on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

Kiddie book

As i suspected from the synopsis, the editorial reviews confirm this is for grades 3 - 6. Please, BN, give us more books that aren't sappy romance novels or kids stuff. My husband loved the Dale Brown book last summer, and I like non-fiction. How about more for people ...
As i suspected from the synopsis, the editorial reviews confirm this is for grades 3 - 6. Please, BN, give us more books that aren't sappy romance novels or kids stuff. My husband loved the Dale Brown book last summer, and I like non-fiction. How about more for people like us?

posted by 11427646 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 428 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!

    Wow very impresie:0

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Bliss

    Sound quite good! I am starting it now. I only rated it 3 stars cause i havet read it yet

    3 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    A review of the book

    Although certainly aimed at younger readers, and while the potter-like theme of a magically infused transformation of "ordinary" life, could be an early turn-off, I enjoyed this fun book for it's own merits. It's a quick read, a positive and uplifting story that engages the reader in a, while predictable, certainly a meaningful development of a complex character named Rose. The setting of a bakery in a small town hints at themes of small community life and how a passion like cooking can become a shared blessing, yet the mysterious Aunt Lilly, and the drama of family and looming catastrophe keeps the book engaging for what I imagine will be a wide range of audiences who commit to read at least a few chapters before giving their judgment. I will be looking forward to the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Bliss Bakery, a magical bit of esacapism.

    Fans of harry potter and Lemony Snicket will enjoy this whimsical return to the magic of harry potter and the heart and wit of a Snicket novel. The main characters are instantly relatable and the plot will have you hooked on the first page, this book only loses a star for its side characters, who seem one dimensional, but still help to move the plot along.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    This is an excellent story for tweens.  I was thrilled to see so

    This is an excellent story for tweens.  I was thrilled to see something so perfect for my 10 y.o. daughter available as a Friday Freebie last month.  When looking for something quick and fun to read last week, I decided see how it was for myself.  I wasn't expecting such a quality book to be offered for free.  This story is truly delightful, and while probably marketed more to girls, I think boys would enjoy it as well.  Can't wait to read the next one, it really leaves you hanging!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Fun, magical romp

    Like Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle for tweens! Loved it. Light- hearted but also explores family values and how we all just want to be accepted for who we are and recognized for our uniquness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Great

    Got this to screen before getting it for my granddaughter. Ended up reading the entire book myself. Truely approprite for preteen through seniors. Will definately purchase the sequel due out next week.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    The foreshadowing and such didn't work well and the ending didn'

    The foreshadowing and such didn't work well and the ending didn't work. A book, even in a series should have an ending, in fact some stories have an end then a sample chapter of the next book to give you a hunger for the next book. As this book ends you know there is something to follow. Without giving the story away I have to say the "end" didn't even resolve all the conflicts of that day let alone the greater problems of the book's world.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    Bliss!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    First chapter sounds nice. My 8 year old will be so HAPPY!!!!!!!

    Believe this will be cute story. First few paragraphs sound perfect for my 8 year old. She will be so excited for another book.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Bliss Bakery Series

    This is the best book ever! I love this series. If anyone is looking for a book to read, then read this one! There are 3 in total, and I've read the first 2, and I'm waiting to get the third one. You really should really read these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    OMG so cute!!!!!!!

    Do you like OMG kinda cute stories than read this.

    Bliss is about how Rosemary Bliss and her 1 little sis and a little bro as well as a older brother mess up town. They try to fix it but nothing is working. Want it yet???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Boring

    My child and I enjoy reading time together but this one was really boring...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Love to bake :)

    I love to bake and this book was amazing. One of the best books ive ever read. And ive read a LOT of books!! Highly recomended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    I am out of the age range, being much older, and still enjoyed i

    I am out of the age range, being much older, and still enjoyed it as much as anybody. It's a light and easy read with heart felt moments that kept it interesting thorughout the entire book. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bliss by Kathryn Littlewood was last week's Free Fridays Nook se

    Bliss by Kathryn Littlewood was last week's Free Fridays Nook selection from Barnes & Noble. It's geared for ages 8 and up, but I'd heard it's a fun read for all ages. I love magical realism - Haruki Murakami and Aimee Bender are two of my favorite authors - so I thought I'd give it a try.

    Overall, this was a fun read. Many times I laughed out loud. Littlewood has a way of portraying each character, no matter how minor, in a colorful and lively way. Plus, there were secret rooms, magical recipes, strange ingredients that come to life... did I mention secret rooms?! I recognized the villain as such from the moment she entered the story, and knew exactly what she would attempt to do. However, the character had enough complexity that I didn't lose interest, and enjoyed reading what would happen next.

    When the first recipe was attempted, I thought for sure there was going to be a cliché tie-in with a tween crush that had been mentioned early in Chapter 1. That probably would have made me lose interest in the book entirely. I was so thankful Littlewood didn't do the obvious there! The behavior of the older brother regularly made me groan in an "I'm-embarrassed-for-you" kind of way, such as this moment in Chapter 15: "Ty rolled up one of the sleeves of his T-shirt and flexed his bicep. Then he kissed it. 'I might do some serious damage to this baby.'" I don't know. Maybe 14-year-old boys really do act like this. I know the humor is geared toward kids, though.

    I do have to say, Rose's whining about not feeling appreciated, not feeling trusted, started to annoy me more and more throughout the story. Her parents trusted her with the key to the cookbook. They left her in charge of protecting it - not her older brother. That point seemed completely lost on Rose.

    Littlewood does keep the literary bar high in Bliss. She seamlessly weaving words such as copacetic, din, putrid, natty, and elucidate into her sentences. She challenges her young readers' vocabularies without overwhelming them, providing plenty of context clues so they are able to grasp the meaning of new words without reaching for a dictionary. Chapter 13 contains some silly word play (I won't spoil it!) which should amuse young readers, especially. There were also some nice "lessons" in the book: trusting one's own intuition, the importance of expressing your feelings to your loved ones, and a touching moment when Rose saw a particularly annoying customer in a different light.

    Bliss is the first in a series; the second book, A Dash of Magic, is due out February 12, 2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Loved it!!!!

    I loved this book! It had me hooked from start to finish!
    I am 12 and I highly recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    This is an enchanting book! An easy, adorable read. I'd highly suggest it for some light fun! Can't wait to read the others in this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    A very "sweet" book with a wonderful message... famili

    A very "sweet" book with a wonderful message... families are the most important thing we have! Thanks to B&N for this "Free Friday" selection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Gjvf

    This book is so good im going to DIE!!!!!!! im telling you its freakishly awesome!!!!!!! BUY IT & LOVE IT!!!!!!! Musty 1.2

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 428 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22