Customer Reviews for

Bliss

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

WAITING FOR THE SEQUEL!!!

I will be brief, this was a fascinating book, there was definitely a lot of suspense as well as a few plot twists I wasn't expecting. I was a great read, except for its conclusion. The way the book ends make me feel as if there must be a sequel in the works, either that...
I will be brief, this was a fascinating book, there was definitely a lot of suspense as well as a few plot twists I wasn't expecting. I was a great read, except for its conclusion. The way the book ends make me feel as if there must be a sequel in the works, either that or there has got to be a chapter missing. It ended very strangely, cruelly, abruptly, and without resolving any conflicts or giving anything positive to `the good guys', leaving me confused and wondering if there was something big I had missed. Maybe there's some deep philosophical theme I was too obtuse to notice. Long story short, this is a wonderful novel dampened by a frayed, painful, barely-there ending that left me wishing Bliss had never come to town in the first place. If there is indeed a sequel, I'll be the first to edit my review. Overall, good writing, interesting read.

posted by 148253 on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Different

I found myself interested in this book when I saw how the author incorporated quotes from the time period. The style is interesting, and the story is indeed thrilling. I simply adored how she used the Charles Manson murder trials in the novel. I had trouble putting it d...
I found myself interested in this book when I saw how the author incorporated quotes from the time period. The style is interesting, and the story is indeed thrilling. I simply adored how she used the Charles Manson murder trials in the novel. I had trouble putting it down, even when I really wanted to. While it was a good book with a different story, I found the ending somewhat dissapointing. Still, if you enjoy highly strange and beyond creepy stories, this book is definitly worth the read.

posted by SophieRichardson on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WAITING FOR THE SEQUEL!!!

    I will be brief, this was a fascinating book, there was definitely a lot of suspense as well as a few plot twists I wasn't expecting. I was a great read, except for its conclusion. The way the book ends make me feel as if there must be a sequel in the works, either that or there has got to be a chapter missing. It ended very strangely, cruelly, abruptly, and without resolving any conflicts or giving anything positive to `the good guys', leaving me confused and wondering if there was something big I had missed. Maybe there's some deep philosophical theme I was too obtuse to notice. Long story short, this is a wonderful novel dampened by a frayed, painful, barely-there ending that left me wishing Bliss had never come to town in the first place. If there is indeed a sequel, I'll be the first to edit my review. Overall, good writing, interesting read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Different

    I found myself interested in this book when I saw how the author incorporated quotes from the time period. The style is interesting, and the story is indeed thrilling. I simply adored how she used the Charles Manson murder trials in the novel. I had trouble putting it down, even when I really wanted to. While it was a good book with a different story, I found the ending somewhat dissapointing. Still, if you enjoy highly strange and beyond creepy stories, this book is definitly worth the read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    WOW!

    I purchased this book simply because I thought it looked interesting. The cover was intriguing and I only skimmed the summary. I'm very glad that I had the chance to read it. It's very rare, especially for teenagers, to become engrossed in a book that takes place in another time, a time they weren't even a thought in their parents' heads. I found myself pulled into the late 1960's and actually went online afterward to read up on some facts that the book brought up. I actually used my free time to research HISTORY!!!!! I really enjoyed reading this and I look forward to the Ms. Myracle's next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Do Not Read!

    This book was one of the most boring books i have ever read...The only reason i couldn't put it down was because i was anxious to see what would happen in the end...and when i finally finished it I was really dissapointed...In fact i found this book so boring it kind of scared me...some of the parts were unrealistic...and i hated the end. I do not recommend this book to anyone...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    ULIKABLE!!!!

    I have never read such a horrible book that had no meaning and no ending...It was just plain stupid!!! I wouldn't advise anyone to read this book...not even as a cruel joke...It left me aggrevated!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    GREAT BOOK!

    This book is very different from any book that I have ever read before. Its emotional, mysteries, thrilling, suspenseful, and it even has romance. This book keeps you thinking the whole way through. Also there are some very unexspecting events. Its not your average every day life. Bliss, didn't know what she was in for coming to her new school. Then the ending is very shocking, I recommend reading it to find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    Out of this world!

    This is the book I am currently reading and so far.... its awesome! It really makes you think about how hard life can be for shy teenagers. Bliss is an eye opening novel that leaves you hanging by your feet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Blissful book

    Bliss by Lauren Myracle is a great, suspenseful novel. Bliss Inthemorningdew is quite a unique and kind person. She befriends Sandy, who seems like a good person, but really can have an evil side. I almost cried when Sarah Lynn Lancaster died. I couldn't put the book down. It made me want to keep reading on and on. Mitchell is the perfect guy for Bliss. This book is great for teens. It is suspenseful, entertaining, and emotional. It has the whole package.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Steph for TeensReadToo.com

    Bliss is different from the rest of the students at her new school. For one, they didn't grow up on a commune with hippie parents. They didn't have a last name of 'in the Morning Dew'. They didn't hear the voice of a girl who killed herself years ago in one of the old halls on the school grounds. <BR/><BR/>While Bliss may be different, she quickly learns that she likes the kind of life her fellow students lead, the kind of life she never had the opportunity to have. She wears make-up for the first time. She attends classes with other kids her age. She makes friends. She gets a boyfriend. She attends a school dance. <BR/><BR/>Everything would be perfect if it weren't for Sandy, the misfit of the school who Bliss befriends because she knows what it's like to not fit in. Unfortunately, Bliss quickly finds out that Sandy isn't completely sane. Sandy wants people to worship her, to understand her. She'd go all the way to the point of bringing alive someone from the past -- Lillian, the girl who jumped out of a third-story window all those years ago -- to achieve her goal. <BR/><BR/>And Bliss finds herself in the middle of this bloodlust. <BR/><BR/>Myracle writes an interesting story that links to the American events of 1969-70. Her writing is amazing; the reader feels happy and terrified right along with the protagonist. This story is sure to capture readers, although the ending does not have quite the touch of finality that most stories do.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Bitches

    Is what this is fulll of

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    GREAT

    This book is truly awesome. Its thrilling and a bit horrific. If you like this book then you MUST read "rhymes with witches" its a creepy carry on for this book! LOVED IT x10000000

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Amazing story

    I read this book and fell in love. I did not want to put it down from page one to the last period i was wraped up in the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Horrible ending

    I absolutely love lauren myricle, and the book was pretty good until the very end. The ending ruined the whole book for me, everything was left unresolved and my god was it extremely cruel to end it that way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Bliss.

    This is one of the best books I have ever read I really reccomend it for ppeople who like scary things. You can also jusst read it to read it not to scare yourself. Overall,REALLY GOOD BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    I've read this book about 3 or 4 times now, and I have to say, I

    I've read this book about 3 or 4 times now, and I have to say, I really love it. I don't normally read thrillers (I'm more of a fantasy/sci-fi junkie), but I read &quot;Rhymes with Witches&quot; back in about 8th grade and I had to get my hands on this one afterwards.h
    The most decisive part of this book, seems to be the realistic ending mixed with Bliss's shift from being innocently optimistic to an existential adult.
    The scariest part, at least to me, was how Sandy was written. Everyone has known a girl like that and the book plays on the fear that maybe it's a good thing that she's alone.
    I recommend this book to anyone who is open to an unhappy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This was the greatest book ever! It is very rare to find a book

    This was the greatest book ever! It is very rare to find a book as good as this. The main person, bliss,is one of the most sweetest sounding person in the world! The other important person, sandy, is the most evilest person in the book(aside from liliana) there were many twists and turns in this book.If you enjoy horror, and telling your mom to check under your bed at night, this is the book FOR you.If you get scared very easily,and pee your pants at the very first exciting thing, then this book is NOT for you.WARNING IF YOU CRY WHEN DEPRESSING THINGS HAPPEN DO NOT READ THIS BOOK! But, for my part this book is one of my top ten. Enjoy this book and have a nice day. .P.S. try my recommendation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    When her parents decide they can no longer live in Nixon's US, Bliss is shipped off to Atlanta to live with her grandmother while her parents flee to Canada in Bliss (2008) by Lauren Myracle. The year is 1969 and after spending most of her life living on a commune, or wherever else her parents decided to hang their hats, Bliss is ill-prepared for conventional life in a big city.

    Bliss isn't too worried when she starts at the prestigious Crestview High School though because she's spent a lot of time watching TV. Surely The Andy Griffith Show will tell her everything she needs to know about life in the "civilized" world of non-hippies, right?

    Unfortunately, the answer is no. Real life in Atlanta is nothing life fake life in Mayberry. The slang is different, unspoken rules make no sense, and the de facto racism is painful to watch--even as a bystander. Then there's the mysterious voice Bliss hears whenever she walks by Hamilton Hall. Is it a ghost? Can anyone else hear it? And, most troubling of all, why does the voice seem to be dripping blood with its every inflection?

    Bliss tries to set these troubling thoughts aside as she focuses on making new friends. But the closer Bliss gets to her new classmates the more entangled she becomes in both the politics ofCrestview and a more sinister campaign centered around the sinister voice from long ago.

    Bliss is a prequel to Myracle's earlier novel Rhymes With Witches which, I am told, ties back to the events related here. It is also one of the suspected reasons behind the rather open-ended conclusion of Bliss. (It was one of those "That's it?" moments.)

    Right until the ending Bliss was fraught with tension. The title on the cover is written in blood over a seemingly innocent picture made sinister through the contrast. The interior design of the book is equally fright-inducing. Chapters are separated with white-on-black text quotations from a variety of sources including The Andy Griffith Show and transcripts from the Charles Manson trials used to set the backdrop for the story. Excerpts from a mysterious journal whose pages are covered with blood up the sinister factor even more.

    This is an interesting book in that it can appeal to a lot of people. There's a bit of history, a bit of the supernatural, a little romance, some suspense, and even some mystery and horror. If that appeals, or if you just want to see how a book can drip blood, Bliss might be worth a gander.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For younger teens looking for a horror tale

    A quick read, this supernatural thriller never really caught my complete interest. Written by Lauren Myracle, author of several other YA novels, this story seemed leaving something to be desired in character development as well as plot. I enjoyed the read but left feeling...Huh?...what happened to? etc. Young Bliss, fresh off the commune, goes to live with her grandmother in Atlanta, when her parents decide to avoid the draft during the Vietnam War. Feeling totally out of her element, she tries to strike up friendships among the students at exclusive Crestview Academy. Snubbed by those assigned to show her around, she finds Sandy,who after helping a fellow student who fell down the stairs, seems like the kind of person she'd want for a friend. Set in the late 1960's using both the Charles Manson killing and subsequent trial AND the Andy Griffith Show (Mayberry?) as touchstones throughout was interesting, not to mention the mysterious diary entries that help keep you guessing. Mysterious voices, darkened hallways, relics of a prior gruesome accident and other similar plot twists lead the reader to a climax that I did find surprising, but the journey felt incomplete. The many parts all fit together quite neatly but left me with many unanswered questions. Not bad overall, but I'd definitely recommend it to younger teens with an interest in horror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    A Good Book, but. . .

    This was a very interesting book. It took me only 3 days to finish. This probably tells you it must have been so good, I couldn't stop reading it. Most of the action didn't happen till the end of the book. Other costumers would say it was scary and that they threw it away after they read it. The book is not that scary! The only thing wrong about it is the ending. It happens to have the worst ending ever. Other than that, a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    LOVE this book!

    This is one of my favorite books of all time.This book is very long but is a fast read.Definetly a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5