Customer Reviews for

Bliss: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    Wonderful depiction of the different lifestyles of modern Turkey

    Zulfu Livaneli did a wonderful job with this novel. With his three main characters, Meryem, Camel and Dr. Irfan Kurudal he allows the reader to acquire an accurate perception of how different life can be in modern Turkey. Bliss in the American title. It is entitled 'Mutluluk' in most other countries. There is also movie that just came out, but it is in Turkish. Bliss is Middle Eastern Fiction that portrays real controversies 'such as honor killings' in a made-up story. This novel was named Book of the Month in Italy of March 2007. Bliss opens the world's eyes to important problems in Turkey today: women's rights and religion. I am interested in hearing what other authors will have to say about 'Bliis' in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    An unforgettable book!

    I have read this book in the original language it has written, over and over. It touched my heart and my soul each time. The characters defined so wonderfully that they almost exist, you can see them. You live them. You feel them. It is not possible to put it down. A book you will not forget, ever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Wow.

    I read this book in one sitting. I would recommend this to anyone. It's like having a curtain drawn back for a time, so you can watch a world that you hear about but somehow can never really imagine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    a striking story from a marvelous pen

    This is the story of a little girl raped by her uncle and doomed to death by her tribe. I read the book from the first page to the last with great excitement and I got into the story since the moment I saw her name. She was Meryem whose name symbolizes 'purity' and 'innosence'. Meryem also symbolizes two sides of the country: one side is a country where some people endeavour to create a peaceful atmosphere to live and the other side is a country where a group of people exist with their savage souls. Meryem is in between those people throughout the story. What's more, the novel is worth reading even just because of its character analyses: Meryem, Cemal and Ýrfan. You will find an aspect of yours in all those portraits. In brief, the story is fascinating, the pen is fascinating, the character is fascinating. Get a move on to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Bliss

    Reading this book opened my eyes to the reality of the horrors of honor crimes widely spread in the eastern world. Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    A fascinating book!

    It's the story of a young girl condemned to death by her family in the name of honour. In the background, you'll find a most realistic picture of modern Turkey with all its contradictions. For those who are interested in discovering the multiple facets of this interesting country.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Search for happiness

    This is a book about the search for happiness. His three heroes, each of them an unforgettable character, change themselves and each other in the course of a trip through the Aegean. I would strongly recommend to everyone. It's well constructed and moves with a breathtaking pace. Livaneli is a very powerful narrator.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Is this fiction of today?

    I read this book because I am going to Turkey and wanted a flavor of the country. This book was recommended by someone on a TripAdvisor chat group. I found it disturbing if a true indication of Turkey today - that such treatment of women can still exist. The fact that this is written by a Turk and the reviews by a very prominent Turk writer makes me believe it is true. It is an engaging story but at times I felt if the author was trying to make a political statements about Turkey and the world today and the very different cultures existing in the world today. It is an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    A Disappointment

    I found this book very boring. It goes on and on and never really gets to any conclusion. I am not sure what the point was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Surprised and pleased

    Picked this book up off a sale table because I thought it sounded interesting, and enjoy trying new authors. Was totally and very pleasantly surprised by this book. It was very interesting all the way through. Made you see the life of the Turkish people as some of them lived it. Intriguing in parts and I truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Bliss

    A beautiful book about a teenage girl trying to keep her identity and dignity in the harsh world of Islamic fundementalism. A story of survival, love and hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1