Customer Reviews for

Blockade Billy

Average Rating 3.5
( 426 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(152)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Rules of Baseball

Stephen King is hearing the eyewitness account of the amazing, but short-lived baseball career of rookie, William "Blockade Billy" Blakely, as you simultaneously overhear the conversation. The gruff baseball lingo of the New Jersey Titan's third base coach, George Gran...
Stephen King is hearing the eyewitness account of the amazing, but short-lived baseball career of rookie, William "Blockade Billy" Blakely, as you simultaneously overhear the conversation. The gruff baseball lingo of the New Jersey Titan's third base coach, George Grantham, or "Granny", takes you to the games and relates the highlights of the innings that bear telling.
To anyone who has ever seen a softball or baseball team in play, courtesy of Mr. King's storytelling ability, the action unfolds and comes alive compelling you to turn the pages.
You know all along that something is not quite right with Blakely, or King would not be interested in his tale of celebrity or why the record of his stats no longer exist, but you need to complete this consuming and sometimes melancholy novella to get the answers.
This is an easy read, but one should take in this tale slowly so as to capture and visualize the full effect.

posted by GailPFL on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the money

A good story - my bad for not looking at size of file to determine it was a short story and not a book - certainly not worth $7.99.

posted by jcNC on May 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Taste of Baseball Stephen King Style

    Blockade Billy is too long to be a short story and too short to be a novella. Blockade Billy also lacked that Stephen King sorta punch I kept waiting to feel the whole story through. Surprisingly it lacks a supernatural element.
    That being said, it IS the story of a short lived and mostly forgotten baseball ledgend of yore as told by the third basecoach of his ficticious major league baseball team. The story itself is entertaining and fast paced. My only real problem with Blockade Billy was it's lack of a supernatural edge. I felt that it made the ending unecessarily disappointing.
    The plot, characters and feel did have a very 'Green Mile'esque tone about it. Albeit without the depth of the 'Green Mile'. A nice little baseball read if you can grab it at the right price.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blockade Billy

    I am a big King fan, but when I bought this book thinking it was good(like most King books), but I was wrong. The concept of the book was great but the way it was carried out at the end was predictable from the get go. I was hoping there would be a twist a the end. I found myself thinking I could even make an ending like that. After the short story I read Morality, which I thought was a cool short read that seemed more like King. The only problem with this book is that its too expensive for only 130 pages that I finished in an hour or two. It really should be in a book of short stories that King does like Just After Sunset.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good... but not great

    It's a short book and worth picking up for the King fan. But I do have reservations about it... After a run of pretty solid books starting with "Cell", King seems to be slipping back into old habits - a really good start followed by an incredible buildup but ending with a less than satisfactory ending.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    Typical King, Which Means It's Predictable

    First, let me say I enjoyed this short novella by King, it would make a great afternoon read while you sit by the pool, beach, or in the park. It was entertaining. But having read much of King's stories, the plot was almost predictable.
    I was pulled in to the story with the arrival of Billy, he's a likable character from the start. Simple, humble, hard working, with a little bit of mischief rolled in there. The story kept me interested up to the end. It was almost like King wanted to keep it at a certain length, and ended it quickly without much punch. I wanted something more sinister, or maybe "other worldly".
    I understand this was meant to be a limited edition hardback for collectors, then it was released to a broader audience. I can see it as a great addition to a King collector's book case as a limited edition, maybe it should have stayed that way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    Blockade money grab

    While I am a fan of Stephen King and often defend him among my circles of fellow readers, this book appears to be not much more than a money grab. Spanning just 80 small pages, the short story is interesting enough to read but not worth the price of the hardback book. Could have fit nicely into a collection of shorts like After Sunset, but as a stand alone it doesn't have the legs. However, the Pixar-esque standalone short, Morality, which first appeared in 2009 in Esquire magazine is reminiscent of Shirley Jackson's masterpiece, The Lottery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Baseball Story with a Twist

    The narrator of "Blockade Billy" is a crusty old former baseball man who recounts the story of an odd but immensely talented young catcher whose numbers had been permanently erased from the books.

    But why?

    You'll need to read this haunting novella for that answer. Stephen King has penned a winner here in this all-to-brief, nostalgic look at baseball before scandals, drugs and free agency changed the game forever. The first-person writing style most closely resembles King's earlier work, "Dolores Claibourne."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    King shows his love for the game of baseball...

    Not a bad read, although for some odd reason I thought it was a novel, not a short story. Better for younger readers. Interesting characters. I've read much better from Mr. King. All in all it is okay-a 3-star read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Perceptive and entertaining.

    Two stories about the destructive ripple effects of a festering human soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    really?!

    this is why he was erased from the books and the team forgotten? really?!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5