BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blonde Ambition: The Untold Story Behind Anna Nicole Smith's Death

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    The Devil Is In The Details

    Rita Cosby pulled together a lot of the details, statements and reports that were dished out to the public over the course of several months. Her detailed phone records and the information that came out on the hotel survelance cameras are facinating and make the reader wonder if there really was an effort on the part of the Hard Rock and the ME's office to cover up some of the facts in the investigation. Avid followers of the Smith saga were well aware of most of what was in the book and actually knew of even more facts that could have been presented had Rita chose to. I am so pleased that since the LE and ME's office did such a poor job of investigating this death that someone had the nads to take it on. The only crime where the public has or should have any input would be in the case of a death or murder, because the victim is no longer alive to speak for themselves. The public's duty is to make sure that the truth is told and all facts are brought into the light of day. Rita didn't draw any conclusions, she left the reader to do that but there were more than enough 'missing pieces' and 'conflicting stories from witnesses' to make the public suspicious even before Rita wrote her book. I found it a very good read. Just wish there had been even more. Hopefully there will be a Part 2 and we'll get even more of the story. The alledged gay affair between Larry and Howard had little to do with anything and I am amazed that it has been the one thing that has captured everyone's attention. I'm more interested in the accusations that Howard was funneling money to his parents in off shore accounts. But either thing if shown to be true would be motive for criminal charges in my view especially considering the turn of events since the DNA when father of Dannielynn was determined. I'm looking forward to the second book and I would recomend this one to anyone who has followed the story but didn't have the time to really dig for information as it unfolded.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Anna Nicole Smith

    Anna Nicole Smith will be remembered by everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Unbelievably Amazing!!

    If you are a huge Anna Nicole fan, you must read this book!!! I thought I knew the story but boy was I wrong. This story gives an amazing insight as to what really happened to Anna Nicole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Very informative

    I really liked reading this book. It gave alot of inside information. If you were a fan of Anna Nicole Smith, you will definetly love this. Definetly a fans book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Great Job Rita Cosby!

    Thank you Rita Cosby for telling Anna's story. The book has been a terrific read and very informative. I feel as though I really understand Anna's life and how things progressed the way they did.I am proud that Ms. Cosby dared to step up and write this, knowing the ramifications shhe could face. The book is written in a very clear manner that will appeal to all types of readers. I hope that she will follow up with Part 2 of this story when all is said and done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I'm sorry, but other than the timeline, there really is not a lot in this book to convince me that it's true. I feel Howard loved Anna and if anything, he was bullied by her, not the other way around. I loved her, but she was an addict and he was her enabler. He just didn't know how to say 'no' to her. This book is just grasping at straws. I literally laughed out loud when I read on the bottom of page 37 where it reads, 'He (Howard) bought chips, soft drinks, and fried chicken strips, Anna and Daniels favorite. (Ironic, considering Anna had gotten pregnant with Daniel when she was seventeen-years-old and working as a waitress at Jim's Krispy Fried Chicken in Mexia, Texas'.) I mean, COME ON! What is so IRONIC about liking chicken after you've worked at a fried chicken restaurant??? This book purposely bashes Howard, when he was the one person, I believe, that really cared for and loved her. He seemed to love her unconditionally, fat or thin, rich or poor. This guy seriously needs to be cut some slack. As far as him asking for 6% of the judgement if he wins the Marshall lawsuit... He's earned it and should get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Just as I expected

    I read this book for the sake of actually having a valid opinion rather than listening to others. This book is a complete waste of the paper it was printed on. The book was based completely on hearsay, Rita's contacts or people that are privy to that kind of information. She constantly paints everyone as a conspirator in the death of Anna Nicole and then later uses these people who according to her are questionable characters to defend some of her own thoughts and conspiracy theories. The only thing I learned from this book is that Rita Cosby is just another person trying to get rich off of other people's suffering. RIP Anna and Daniel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Nothing new here (except hearsay)

    I just didn't enjoy the book. I really didn't learn anything new and the stuff that Rita Crosby relates that she was told about...Frankly, I don't believe it. I think once again, poor Anna Nicole is being used for someone else's gain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is tabloid trash at its worst. Rita Cosby portray's herself as an award winning investigative journalist. However, this book is not based on facts but gossip. She interviews fired nanny's and money grubbing relatives of Anna. Since the publishing of this book many people have even denied speaking to her. She has wrote a book for selfish greed with content that she cannot prove. This should not be labled as non-fiction because it seems to be an endless tirade of Cosby's imagination. Don't waste your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2007

    Well Researched and Written Fascinating Read

    This was a quick and well written and researched and kind of a train wreck can't look away fascination read of the tragic end of Anna Nicole Smith's life. Excellent journalism with very human insight into all parties as well as objectivity and presenting all sides of all people involved. Some of it you suspected already but alot of it is surprising and shocking. A sad but compelling read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    EXPLOSIVE! IT'S ABOUT TIME THE TRUTH WAS TOLD!

    Kudos to Rita Cosby! She has uncovered explosive information on everything the public has been asking. This book will make you cry at the sadness of poor young Daniel's & Anna's last hours. Hopefully Rita's book will prompt a REAL investigation into their deaths. My heart breaks for Virgie Arthur the only one who truly loved them! Birkhead & HK$ are exposed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    Holy Cow

    Picked up book yesterday and have finished it. Fast read cause it is written well. If you have followed this Saga, Rita dots the i's and crosses the T's. Says her sources are willing to standby their statement's on ORielly yesterday (9-4-07) in an interview. From what I have read since Feb. Anna Death. This book is factual. I to, found the end time line of the phone calls amazing. The mystery person happens to be a woman in room 609. What a hoot. I for one will no longer buy pictures or the mags that help exploit others But I had reached that decision long before this book was written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    EXPLOSIVE!

    Wowza. What a read. Rita Cosby put the pieces of this puzzle together like a whodunit thriller. When you read the phone calls surrounding Anna's death in the last chapter, it is shocking. And goes contrary to everything the major players have said. She has it down to the minute. And then, best friends forever Howard & Larry... her account explains alot, but I'm sure Howard will be none too happy to find out Larry secretly testified against him to Bahamian authorities. I'm sure this story is only going to get bigger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    Trash

    I'm sorry i read this so called tell all book , it's nothing more than character assassination , maybe Rita should have checked her sources .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    EXCELLENT!!!

    This book is absolutely amazing. I couldn't put it down. Rita Cosby has done a wonderful job of exposing the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Blonde Ambition: The Untold Story Behind Anna Nicole Smith's Death

    Blonde Ambition is one of the most fascinating books I have read! This book kept me on the edge of my seat and exposes what really happened in that case. It gave me some answers to questions I've been interested in for months! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Blonde Ambition: The Untold Story Behind Anna Nicole Smith's Death

    Eye-opening! Interesting! And based on what's happening in the news, the guys in the book are worried about what's being said inside these pages. I think this is one of the most powerful books I've seen in a long while from a brave journalist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    Blonde Ambition: The Untold Story Behind Anna Nicole Smith's Death

    This book was top notch. It had drama, great new facts, and lots of surprises. I loved the book and am telling all my friends to get this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    Blonde Ambition: The Untold Story Behind Anna Nicole Smith's Death

    The book was really powerful, it had many new details I never heard before and I followed the case really closely. I was really impressed how Rita Cosby put all the pieces of the puzzle together into one thrilling story. I definitely recommend it. One of the best books I've read this year!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Intriguing Conspiracy Theory

    In Blond Ambition, the reader gets an intimate view of Anna Nicole's life according to household staff members, her bodyguard, and close friends along with statements from those banished from her life years before her death. To support her theory, Cosby illustrates timeline by including hotel security records, phone records and media reports starting just hours before two women were left alone with Smith and discovered her unresponsive she pieces together her theory by including comments said to her by various individuals. She gives a startling look into how Anna seemed to have quit living as soon as Daniel died. You can't help but feel heartbroken for Anna Nicole as you read Blond Ambition. The back cover states that Cosby is donating 10% of her profits to D.A.R.E. At this point, people can probably believe just about anything surrounding Anna Nicole's and Daniel's death. Many of the claims Cosby laid out aren't any more absurd than those speculated by people who have followed the saga. Of course hearsay cannot be substantiated but phone records and police records can. I couldn't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2