Customer Reviews for

The Blonde Geisha

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

some good some bad

i liked the storyline a lot but the only thing i didn't like was the main character. she wined constantly that she wanted to be a geisha but then when she became one she didn't wanna follow the rules. then her friend mariko tried to tell her the right way to be a geisha...
i liked the storyline a lot but the only thing i didn't like was the main character. she wined constantly that she wanted to be a geisha but then when she became one she didn't wanna follow the rules. then her friend mariko tried to tell her the right way to be a geisha and then the blondie goes and makes her cry! guess that what makes a good friend huh? i thought the main character was pretty annoying to be honest. another thing i didn't like was how the author made it seem like western girls were better than eastern girls. but even though with all the negative stuff i put, the storyline is very interesting and it did keep me reading till the end.

posted by xoxojustme0 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worst Geisha Book Ever!

One has to wonder about an erotica author that writes in such crass and juvenile terms. This book does nothing to inform the reader about REAL geisha life or Japanese society. It peddles the old stereotypes of geishas being prostitutes and western ideals being better...
One has to wonder about an erotica author that writes in such crass and juvenile terms. This book does nothing to inform the reader about REAL geisha life or Japanese society. It peddles the old stereotypes of geishas being prostitutes and western ideals being better than Japanese ones. I also was disgusted at how easily kimonos came undone in this book. Real Geisha wore 3-5 layers of kimono, accidental exposure was almost an imposibility. I almost felt that the only research this author did on real geisha was watch PART of the 'Memoirs of a Geisha' movie. Historically innacurate, juvenile and crass language, this book is bad from start to finish. This book gets one star because I cannot give it NEGATIVE stars. This is the WORST geisha book I have ever read.

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2006

    Worst Geisha Book Ever!

    One has to wonder about an erotica author that writes in such crass and juvenile terms. This book does nothing to inform the reader about REAL geisha life or Japanese society. It peddles the old stereotypes of geishas being prostitutes and western ideals being better than Japanese ones. I also was disgusted at how easily kimonos came undone in this book. Real Geisha wore 3-5 layers of kimono, accidental exposure was almost an imposibility. I almost felt that the only research this author did on real geisha was watch PART of the 'Memoirs of a Geisha' movie. Historically innacurate, juvenile and crass language, this book is bad from start to finish. This book gets one star because I cannot give it NEGATIVE stars. This is the WORST geisha book I have ever read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Waste of money

    I honestly tried to get into this book, but couldn't, for several reasons. The writing is disjointed and overly dramatic. The overdone poetic phrasing makes the Japanese characters seem cartoony and fake, rather than real characters with real depth. Also, reading fragmented sentences such as, 'I was upset. Very upset.' over and over quickly got old. I was suprised that an editor didn't pick up on some of these key writing flaws. The idea that a woman lives for nothing but sex was, as well, more insulting than erotic to me. I don't normally read romance novels because of all the flack they usually get. I thought I'd give this one a try, hoping it would differ from the stereotypes. I suppose I was wrong. If you're reading simply for the smut, you'll find what you're looking for. Just don't get your hopes up for anything more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    some good some bad

    i liked the storyline a lot but the only thing i didn't like was the main character. she wined constantly that she wanted to be a geisha but then when she became one she didn't wanna follow the rules. then her friend mariko tried to tell her the right way to be a geisha and then the blondie goes and makes her cry! guess that what makes a good friend huh? i thought the main character was pretty annoying to be honest. another thing i didn't like was how the author made it seem like western girls were better than eastern girls. but even though with all the negative stuff i put, the storyline is very interesting and it did keep me reading till the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    I got bored with it. This book is for someone who wants to read porn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Whore

    All she wants is sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Superb.

    Such a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Great Book

    This book is really good. I couldn't put it down once I picked it up. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone under the age of 16 or 17. It's pretty graphic. Over all, it's a great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    exciting read

    It is a hard book to put down once you start it. Keeps you on the edge of your seat and leaves you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Interesting and yet...

    I don't think this is a terrible book. The only thing that bothered me about it, as it did a couple other reviewers I see, is there is too much emphasis on sex in the Geisha world. Even though I already knew otherwise I couldn't help getting the feeling that Geisha's were 'sophisticated prostitutes'. I think too though that this maybe was just Kathlene not really understanding the ways of a Geisha (as Mariko often told her throughout the book). And this IS an 'erotic' novel too. There were interesting parts of the story and the plot was enjoyable so it is at least worth a shot but if you don't have any knowledge of the life of a Geish I suggest you check some books out about it to better the understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Wonderfully Erotic Novel

    I have studied Japan and the Geisha at great length, and while I've not read a lot of erotica, I found Bacarr's story fascinating! She doesn't hesitate to push the envelope and draw the reader into the culture and sensuality that is Japan. Nice work of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    Lovely, descriptive, erotic tale of The Blonde Geisha

    This erotic story begins in Kioto, Japan, 1892. For her safety, fifteen year old Kathlene Mallory is placed by her father at The Teahouse of the Look-Back Tree geisha house. For Kathleen, this is a dream come true, since she has always desired to become a geisha. She makes friends and enemies during her time there as she trains to become Geisha, but always keeping her western identity a secret. Forward three years and the day comes when Kathlene can no longer be hidden. Two men want her, and Kathlene must chose between her honor¿Japanese style¿or her heart¿Western style. Danger follows close on her heels, and not until the end do we learn what Kathlene will choose. Jina Bacarr¿s debut novel, The Blonde Geisha, transports you to Japan of 1892-1895, and her talented writing keeps you there long after you¿ve finished her book. The sights, sounds, and smells described pull the reader into the story. Her use of phrases in describing anatomy and sexual functions made me smile¿they are delightful. This author obviously knows Japan, the Japanese culture and Japanese way of thinking, yet gently imparts her knowledge throughout the book. This is a writer who weaves her story with such skill, the world of The Blonde Geisha remains with you long after the book has been put away. I highly recommend The Blonde Geisha for the eroticism, the romance and the glimpse into the world of the Japanese Geisha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    An Enticing, Sensual World

    A world of sensual mystery, forbidden delights and dangerous indiscretions embody Jina Bacarr's first novel. Set in 1892 Kioto, readers will be whisked back in time to a more guarded Japan, one of privileged ancient rituals. Our heroine is a precocious girl, innocent in so many ways. She is only fifteen years old. And she longs to be a geisha. When Kathlene Mallory's father becomes endangered, he thinks only of his beloved daughter, whom he must hide. He takes her to the Teahouse of the Look-Back Tree, a geisha house. For three years. Kathlene learns sensual arts of pleasing a man, how to pleasure them. As much as she has longed for such a life, her Western ways bring disorder to the otherwise peaceful teahouse. When she draws the attention of the powerful Baron Tonda, her time to grant the pillow and sell spring, her virginity, is at hand. While her greatest wish is about to come true, she does not want the baron. Her heart beats strong for a strange gaijin, a foreigner. All the inhabitants of the Teahouse stand to lose though, unless she grants the dangerous Baron the pillow. Will her wish to become a geisha win out? Can she fully let go emotions and personal wants, especially the most dangerous one of all--love? Though not marketed as a romance, Bacarr's 'The Blonde Geisha' carries a different kind of romance all its own. Her love of the Japanese culture pours out of each word written. The culture itself is like a living being, one that walks and undulates with the reader as they take this incredible journey with Kathlene. At one time, the world of geisha was a closely guarded secret, but Bacarr has unveiled them. Like a budding rose, she peels away the sensual, beauteous layers that are visible and lays bare the stark loneliness that comes with being geisha. Kathlene, with all her Western pride, is a wonderful character to experience these realities through. Her handsome gaijin, Reed Cantrell adds a spectacular element of danger as he thwarts the Baron's malicious plans. Pick up your copy of 'The Blonde Geisha' today and enjoy. An astounding, wonderful debut novel from Jina Bacarr, an author not to be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    A Wonderful Debut!

    The ancient tradition of the Geisha has always called to westerner Kathlene Mallory. She has always found the beauty and grace of the Geisha to be mesmerizing so when her father needs to hide her after a failed attempt of leaving her with nuns¿he leaves her with Simouye at the Look Back Tree tea room. Here Kathlene learns the fine art of being a Geisha while fighting her natural sensuality. Her time at the Look Back Tree is filled with all kinds of lessons both towards becoming a Geisha and those that are learned while growing up. When she finally finds herself preparing for the final ritual¿her selling her virginity to a man¿the man that has chosen her is not the one she finds herself dreaming of and desiring. But will her secret desire for a fellow westerner bring ruin to the tea house she has called home and reawaken the danger she was hiding from in the first place? Ms. Bacarr¿s story is wonderfully sensual, erotic and romantic. Her lyrical style or writing is very unique and adds to the story. Kathlene¿s journey from young girl to Geisha is spell binding and highly entertaining. Kathlene is a very endearing character as is the rest of the well rounded cast of characters Ms. Bacarr has created. Ms. Bacarr is well on her way to being an extraordinary writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Silly

    The author's Geishas are a lot more credible than found in most western writing. But everything else is silly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    4.5 Stars!

    American banker, Edward Mallory moved to Japan when his daughter, Kathlene, was but a child. The child was instantly fascinated with the geisha ladies and their mysterious ways. She longed to become a geisha too. ...................... In the year 1892, when Kathlene was fifteen-years-old, her father makes a powerful enemy of a prince. Knowing the prince intends to kill Kathlene, Edward hides her with Simouyé, the elegant mistress of the Teahouse of the Look-Back Tree. Even though it is forbidden to train foreigners in the pleasures known only to the geisha, Simouyé agrees. Thus, Edward leaves for America and prays the prince would not be able to locate his daughter. Simouyé disguises Kathlene and takes her into the wondrous world as a maiko, an apprentice geisha. Kathlene makes an instant friend in Mariko, another maiko. The two become close and intend to become geisha-sisters some day. But Kathlene also makes an instant enemy in Youki, another apprentice. ................ For over three years Kathlene studies the subtle ways of the geisha, learning the secret art that will enable her to pleasure a man like no other. Kathlene and Mariko are ready and eagerly await the final ritual that will allow them to become real geisha women. But danger lurks nearby. .................. Prince Kira still has his men searching for the blonde Kathlene. Baron Tonda, a samurai, believes he has located the daughter of the gaijin at the Teahouse of the Look-Back Tree. He fully intends to do as his prince ordered and kill the girl however, first he will enjoy himself by purchasing the right to be her first customer. But the baron is not the only one who has finally found Kathlene. Reed Cantrell promised Edward Mallory that he would find Kathlene and smuggle her out of Japan and back to San Francisco in America. Kathlene falls in love with Reed, even though geisha law states never to fall under the spell of any one man. One thing is for sure, the baron plans to use Kathlene's body, then kill her, and there is no way she can escape with Reed until she gives the baron the geisha ritual of being her first customer. ................. ***** Author Jina Bacarr takes her readers into the geisha world, behind the paper screen walls, and shows them what the forbidden world of a geisha is like. Here you will find erotica pleasures interwoven with a diabolical plot that will make you breathless and leave you begging for more. *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Exquisitely Erotic and Utterly Unforgettable

    Jina Bacarr¿s The Blonde Geisha is a story penned in passion and written as if the pages of her novel were pristine rice paper walls that are silently turned back to let us see the sensual tale of erotic discovery unfold as we travel back to 1890s Japan. From the once upon a time of innocent erotic exploration to the explicit education of the soon-to-be geisha to the passionate journey of self discovery and personal power found when surrendering to the other half of your heart, Kathlene Mallory finds that happily ever after rarely comes without great sorrow, heartache and sacrifice. Torn between the love for her absent father, duty to her geisha family and the chance for freedom and an opportunity to escape a destiny and death to avenge the lost child of a Japanese prince, Kathlene must forego her dreams and embrace a cruel reality or risk sentencing everyone she loves to death at the hands of a vengeful father and his merciless killers. Reed Cantrell, a man of the world who is still searching for himself, comes to Japan to honor a promise to a dying man¿to find an American girl, left in a Japanese teahouse to be raised as a geisha. His search for the mysterious and elusive blonde geisha leads him to more than just the lost daughter of a loving father, it leads him to a woman who can fulfill his every fantasy and ease his lonely heart. The Blonde Geisha far surpasses Memoirs of a Geisha, bringing to life the scents, sights and sensual sensations that are uniquely `geisha.¿ You will swear you saw cherry blossoms, tasted sake from a tiny, porcelain cup and felt the touch of a lover¿s body on your own. Jina Bacarr does not merely tell a sensual tale, she invites you to partake in a pleasure that is exquisitely erotic and utterly unforgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    Fascinating

    In 1892 Kioto, Japan, a powerful enemy threatens the life of fifteen years old Kathlene Mallory¿s father, which in turn places her in peril. To keep her safe her dad yanks her out of her Tokio girls school run by missionaries and personally escorts her to live at the Tea House of the Look-Back Tree, a place where geishas are trained.------------------ Kathlene becomes a willing and able student as she learns the art of pleasuring men and receiving physical rewards in kind. Now she is at the final step in her years of training before she can receive her diploma as a full blooded geisha. Men want to join her in that last phase when she sells her virginity. Baron Tonga pays for the privilege, but that disappoints Kathlene, who has a secret desire for Reed Callen to buy her favor. Still she must do more than just please the influential Baron, who can destroy her and the Tea House of the Look-Back Tree if he is unsatisfied she must take him to heights of heaven like has never tasted before.----------------- This is an insightful look at late nineteenth century Japan especially from the perspective of geishas. The erotic story line focuses on the life of a geisha especially a trainee learning to give pleasure. Though some western readers will be appalled at a teen being trained like young Kathlene is and the climax (pun intended) is too neatly wrapped up, Jina Bacarr provides a powerful historical tale that titillates, educates and stimulates the audience.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2