Customer Reviews for

Blood Avenged (Sons of Navarus #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Check This Out!

    4.5 stars


    Oh. My. Goodness!!!!! This is the hottest book of Gabrielle Bisset's that I've read yet! Vasilije is a positively hedonistic being and I couldn't get enough of him!

    A while back I read a book called Vampire Dreams. While I enjoyed the leading couple, the character that really snagged my attention was Vasilije, Brandon's sire. He was totally in control and the power just radiated off him. Apparently I wasn't the only one interested in Vasilije because Gabriel Bisset wrote his story just to answer her fans questions about him.

    Vasilije has been around for over 400 years and totally loves his life as a vampire. He totally revels in the power that he wields. He takes what he wants whether it be a woman or a person he's chosen to sire. It's the latter that caused him so much trouble in this book.

    Being the vampire that he is, Vasilije didn't hesitate to satisfy his desire to take Alex and make him one of his own. Unfortunately, another vampire had called dibs on him. Alex was dating a vampire named Tatiana and though he had broken no law, Vasilije had really ticked her off. It didn't help that Vasilije and Tatiana had a nasty past and unfinished business between them. This little incident brought all those unresolved issues to the forefront of things, Needless to say, a battle between the two vampires ensued.

    Sasa was an empath who put her life on hold to care for her mother. In a desperate attempt to help her, Sasa agreed to aid Tatiana with her revenge on Vasilije. She was supposed to get close to him so she could be Tatiana's secret snitch. To bad for her that Sasa got a little "closer" to Vasilije then she planned. ;o)

    Blood Avenged is yet another example of excellent writing by Gabrielle Bisset. She always makes the emotions of her characters palpable. Though Vasilije is quite a "closed off" type of guy, somehow Gabrielle made it easy to feel his wistfulness for something, though he wasn't sure what that something was until Sasa came into his life. Sasa is such a loving soul. She was truly devoted to her mother. It was great to see that and I totally got her. My own mother is disabled so that part of the storyline particularly resonated with me.

    This book is grittier than Gabrielle's other works. I must say, she does gritty good. The darkness in this book was great. Vasilije's hedonistic ways brought us some Extremely Hot sex scenes. The steam of them frequently had me sweating.

    Yet another great part of this book was the suspense. You never knew when Victoria was going to show up or what she was gonna do next. I was filled with anticipation. It was like I was watching a soap opera or something lol!

    OK. By now you've probably figured out that I really liked this book. I just can't seem to say enough good things about it so you'll just need to grab yourself a copy of Blood Avenged so you can experience it first hand!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting & Hypnotizing!

    Exciting and Hypnotizing!

    Wow what a great story filled with excitement at every turn of the page. A story filled with the drama within a vampire world between America ways and England¿s old world ways. Usually we read about the hunt between human and vampire but not in this twist of a story. Here we have vampires hunting and killing their own kind for power, revenge, hate, jealousy, and for love.

    I was totally glued to the story, the characters are well connected, and you can literally feel their emotions coming off the page. The writing is excellent with details that grasp and entice you to feel what the characters are feeling.

    The erotic love scenes between the vampire Vasilije and the human empath Sasa is incredibly passionate, fiercely dominating, and Hot! Hot! Hot!

    I must say I loved the historical mixture in the paranormal world and that some of the humans experienced paranormal abilities such as voodoo magic, empathy, and psychic abilities.

    The ending was surprising and unexpected after everything Vasilije and Sasa went through, however the ending revelation made sense as it introduced The Sons of Navarus Series which is the spin off from this story.

    I look forward to reading more about this vampire world and learning more about this historical prophecy to unfold as the battle between the Sons of Navarus and The Archons seek to eliminate each other to remain in power.

    Great Read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    WHAT AN AWESOME BOOK " BLOOD AVENGED"

    I am not going to write a review like the other people here who have to tell you about the book. ( duh I hate that) I am going to say that I absolutely loved this book and I am going to start the rest. I love series books when thewriter follows up the story with new charactersin the story. Course after i readthis I found out this all started with a book written before called Vampire Diaries where The main character in Blood Avenged Vasilige is in this other book but his character was so powerful he deserved his own story or book. So of course I looked it up and that is my next read on my list of course its number 1 of a trilogy series as well so I'll have to polish them off too then of course read blood betrayed and wait for her next one to be released in the sons of navaras series. I LOVE SERIES BOOKS WHEN THE WRITER WRITES ABOUT DIFFERENT CHARACTERS and of course can keep your interest, with an adventure and when they write the romance part,make the reader feel like they can relate well this writer is excellent. You won't be disapointed if you like this kind of book but you mustbe offended by sex if you are read kid books.haha. by tagyourit

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    A MUST READ! Vasilije is absolutely hot! I couldn't put the book

    A MUST READ!
    Vasilije is absolutely hot! I couldn't put the book down! I loved the different spin on this vampire story. Terrific first book for this new series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a new series This story I had everything I want

    Great start to a new series

    This story I had everything I want to see in a vampire story, it was fantastic. This is the story of Vasilije, a vampire who is hundreds of years old. In the society of vampires it is illegal to sire new vampires without the permission of your sire. In fact, its impossible to do a lot of things without your sire’s permission. That’s why Vasilije is different, he no longer has a sire. With no sire left on this Earth, he is able to make his own decisions about everything. And he decides he wants to sire many new vampires. And he does! It almost seems like he creates a new sire whenever he gets bored. The story starts with him following Alex, who he has been drawn to for some time. Finally the time comes and he is able to change Alex into an immortal.

    What drama that brings! You’d think it’d be no big deal, I mean Vasilije is this big tough (and sexy!) vampire. Except Alex was the boyfriend of someone from Vasilije’s past, which would probably be good information to have ahead of time! And she is not exactly happy about his decision to change Alex. Meet Tatiana. Tatiana is… well, she’s a wench!

    In the revenge struggle between Tatiana and Vailije a young woman named Sasa comes into play. I really liked her character for the passion she had, but some of her decisions were a bit lacking in general logic. She gets herself involved in a battle between two vampires – not too smart! Granted, she did it for the most unselfish of reasons, but you’ve got to know that it is not going to end in roses and sunshine (haha, when does a vampire tale ever end in sunshine??) And that goes doubly so when you fall for one of the vampires. Even so I found her to be likable - even more so when she was with Vasilije, who was about as hot as can be!

    Lets talk about the two of them together. The sparks between Sasa and Vasilije are infuriating! The chemistry was so great that I was eagerly waiting for more intimate scenes with them. The down time was infuriating LOL. Sasa is an empathy and Vasilije is a vampire whose every sense is heightened. When they get together the words practically burn the page with the sensuality of it all. And the feeding scenes, woooooooo boy! They make me want to rush out and find Vasilije and just hope he picks me! The man has definitely got some skill – a lot of skills!

    So Sasa is working for Tatiana and then falls for Vasilije. And he falls for her. And I was so sad knowing that when the truth came out of this little secretive triangle, it would just break both of their hearts. This takes everything that has happened and just shatters it and sets it on fire. I want so badly for them to be together, but with a secret like this, how can you move forward? *Sigh*. I guess that is why you have to read the book, right?

    On top of it all, it turns out there is really something much bigger going on here than a revenge scheme between the two vampire rivals. Something I totally did not see coming, but I am so excited for because it means there are definitely more books in this series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Blood avenged is not just another vampire novel! I read a LOT of

    Blood avenged is not just another vampire novel! I read a LOT of paranormal romance books and this is on my list to read again. I was completely taken in from the start!

    Vasilije is a 400 year old vampire who's sire was killed in an act of vengeance and jealousy. With his sire gone, he has nobody to answer to. He has lived for centuries doing what he pleases. He has sired many of his own vampires in that time, so when he turned another young man, it was really no different then any other time. That is, until he finds out that this young man has connections to Tatiana. They have a history and it's an understatement to say that there is some bad blood between these two. From this point on their rivalry sets fire to the pages.

    Sasa is an empath who is a human. She is taking care of her sick mother and would do anything to see that she is safe and not in any pain. Unfortunately, she gets caught up in the middle of Vasilije and Tatiana's conflict and she just doesn't stand a chance. She wants to do what's right but she must protect her mother at all costs. Talk about being caught between a rock and a hard place!

    This book is HOT! Vasilije is everything you could ever want or dream about in a vampire! He is seductive and cunning. He has a very powerful and commanding presence. He is mysterious, dangerous and dominating. If you are looking for a dark and erotic romance with a sexy and fiercely passionate vampire, then you have found exactly what you are looking for right here! I look forward to reading more books written by Gabrielle Bisset!

    ~Reviewer for WereVampsRomance~ werevampsromance*dot*blogspot*dot*com

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Vampires and New Orleans, need I say more.....Could not put this

    Vampires and New Orleans, need I say more.....Could not put this book down, I think I finally fell asleep out of exhaustion, it only took me a day to read. This book is set in New Orleans where Vasilije goes in search for answers in the death of one of his vampires and along the way he may just find his true love. In this book I loved seeing another side to Vasilije. I have to admit to I really like that Sasa has a quick whit and never really stands down to Vasilije. They are quite the pair. I truly look forward to seeing what happens next in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great read

    Great series so far!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Be Careful What You Wish For! As this is the first book in the


    Be Careful What You Wish For!
    As this is the first book in the Sons of Navarus series this story is excellent. It kept my interest throughout the whole book and I did not want to put it down. If you love to read paranormal romance then you really need to read this book.

    Sasa Lambert is an empath who has watched her mother suffer with pain daily and has done whatever she can to try to ease whatever pain she can, including giving her potions from the local Voodoo Priestess. Coming up with the money is becoming harder as time passes and she agrees to help the priestess read her clients in exchange for the potions her mother needs. What she didn't realize is her time of being undiscovered is about to end with a female vampire set on revenge. Making a pact with the vampire to save her mother she has no idea what she has truly agreed to.

    Vasilije has been a vampire since the early 1600s. He is powerful because he has sired many, and answers to no one since the death of his sire not long after he was turned. When he no longer senses Teagan, one of his own, he transports to New Orleans to find out why and set forward his revenge. When he arrives he discovers Sasa in Teagan's home and believes she belonged to him, but he has no time to help ease her pain.

    Sasa did not realize the female vampire meant to murder another, so she must make sure Vasilige never finds out her involvement. She offers to help him find the murder to keep herself from being discovered. He has not had feeling for anyone in centuries, but as they work together their feelings for each other start growing and he is closer to finding the truth.


    Can he forgive Sasa of any involvement when he finds out? Will he decide to protect her or walk away? What will he do when he finds out the true reason the female vampire wanted him dead?
    Join Sasa and Vasilige as they search for a murderer and discover new feeling neither of them expected and whether it is enough to keep them together or separate them forever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Gabrielle got me hooked after reading her Victorian Romance Tril

    Gabrielle got me hooked after reading her Victorian Romance Trilogy. After reading one of the short stories in that trilogy called Vampire Dreams I knew I wanted to read more of her amazing Vampire world. I was so excited to find out that Vasilije who made an appearance in that short story was going to be getting his own book! Gabrille had me intrigued and spellbound from the first to last page of this book. This book has the perfect blend of suspense, action, and HOT romance. Very sexy and erotic love scenes. I cant wait to read the next book! This is a must read :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    WOW!!!! I loved Vasaljie, this by far is the best vampire book i

    WOW!!!! I loved Vasaljie, this by far is the best vampire book i have ever read. I love the way Gabrielle tells her story about Vasalijie and Sasa.If you love vampires this is one book you must read without a doubt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    First time reading a book from Gabrielle Bisset and I have to sa

    First time reading a book from Gabrielle Bisset and I have to say she has me hooked. I was dragged over to the were side for a few but now I am back in the world of my loving vamps and Vasilije was just what I needed to get me to cross back over.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    When I first started this book I was a little concerned that it

    When I first started this book I was a little concerned that it followed the "Vampire Lore" a little to closely but the next thing I knew Vasilije told me to shut up and listen to his and Sasa's story and then I was hooked. Very good book and definitely worth a read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, a great story filled with excitement! Gabrielle pens "

    Wow, a great story filled with excitement! Gabrielle pens "Blood Avenged", the first in the 'Sons of Navarus' series in a plot filled with drama, revenge, power, jealousy, lust and love. I found the characters to be well developed and connected to the point of "feeling" the emotions. A great steamy read for all vampire lovers and highly recommended.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Vasilije is known for his less than honourable ways among his br

    Vasilije is known for his less than honourable ways among his brethren. He is manipulative, powerful, answers to no one, and seeks his pleasure above all else.
    When tragedy strikes at his very heart, Vasilije is hell bent on revenge and nothing will stand in his way.
    Vasilije heads to New Orleans with murder in his sights, but he is not prepared for his encounter with the lovely Sasa and the potent effect she has on not only his body, but his emotions.
    Vasilije has seduced hundreds of women in his lifetime, but Sasa is not merely another conquest for this self-proclaimed womaniser, she has suddenly become his everything.
    Sasa has managed to bring the ever aloof Vasilije to his knees and have him question whether his all-consuming desire for vengeance is worth the risk of losing the only woman to rouse the most insatiable passion he has ever felt.
    Blood Avenged will draw the reader into a world where in the mists of a powerful struggle for dominance over an entire race, a hardened hedonistic Vampire is forced to look into his soul and question his very existence.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Good read!!

    I'm the type of reader that likes about anything vampire! This was a good story! I've continued reading 2 and 3 if that tells you anything!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Must read

    This book is awesome it full of suprises and it's a fun read. and some really good scenes. would recomend to buy not a waste of money

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    FABULOUS!!! Absolutely amazing series. This is the first book


    FABULOUS!!!

    Absolutely amazing series. This is the first book of 8 in a continuing series. I highly recommend this series to everyone.

    This kept my interest from beginning to end. Hot Alpha Vamps that are loving and protective of their mates while fighting off the ones that threaten all of the "Sons" existence. The story will leave you breathless and panting for more. Cannot wait for the next in this series!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Very sexy Vampire series!!

    WOW!!! After reading this book that's the only word I can come up with. ;)

    This book was great and I absolutely LOVE Vasilije!! He is hot, sexy, and everything a woman hopes for in a vampire. The story and world that Gabrielle creates in this book is one that I deeply enjoyed. It is great to find a series where the vampires are strong, sexy, dark, powerful, erotic, and preferably don't sparkle. ;)

    I am so excited for the next book in the series "Blood Betrayed", and I've already purchased it. I can't wait to start it so that I can go back into Gabrielle's world and fall in love all over again. <3

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    Must Read!!!! This book has me hooked. The story of Vasilije, th

    Must Read!!!!
    This book has me hooked. The story of Vasilije, the leader of the Sons a vampire who is hundreds of years old. He can be cruel and ruthless, arrogant but also soft and loving. Blood avenged drew me in and kept me under its spell until I read the last book out in this series. I'm now patiently waiting for next one to come out Blood Prophecy #4.
    You definitely don't miss to read it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2