Customer Reviews for

Blood Awakening

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Highly Reccommended! A MUST Read!

    Wow, what can I even say about this book. It was spectacular! I was hooked from the very beginning! I read it in just 10 hours and I could not put it down! This book was certainly different from the first, but absolutely not in a negative way. I personally feel like "Blood Awakening" was was BETTER!!! I loved getting to know more about the Silivasi brothers. I feel like I know them. Tessa is an AMAZING writer and I'm excited to read the next books in her series :)!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Could not wait to get this book! Bought it, read it in twelve hours, LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Tessa Dawn has created a world I just can't get enough of. Please keep them coming!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Highly recommended! Must read!!

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Oh my God! This book is sooo good! I didn't know how it would compare to the first one and now I can't believe it! It is so shocking and emotional! Words can't even describe! I felt a part of the book, feeling very strong emotions throughout the different chatpers. This book is totally crazy and is by far one of the BEST books I've EVER read! All I can say is you won't be able to put it down, and once it's finished, you will want more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I gave the first book 5 stars, but for me, this one is even bett

    I gave the first book 5 stars, but for me, this one is even better! Marquis is an alpha vampire who has been protecting his family for over 1,000 years. He is harsh, single minded at times and can be very cruel when necessary. But for this reader, that really just adds to his "charm." The second book in this series is all about Marquis and a princess who has been underground for 2800 years. Yep, the storyline is just that interesting. Again, just like in the first book, there is a lot of darkness, so please keep that in mind (especially if you don't like violence). Great series. I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    A MUST read-very emotional

    I read this book in record time. It is a very emotional story with twists and turns and surprises that keep you guessing. All the way to the end I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out. I love the characters and seeing the softer side to a very hunky, macho, and intense Marquis was amazing. Great job on this one! Keep 'em comin' because I want to know so much more about all of these wonderful characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Absolutely Riveting!

    This book is a must read! I absolutely love it! The characters are so amazing and the way Tessa describes them, I feel like I know them personally. My emotions run from "what?!" to "oh my goodness" to "I wanna get in there and grab somebody!" You're actually caught up into this story. Loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    Back in 800 BC in Romania two brothers 1 evil, 1 honorable both

    Back in 800 BC in Romania two brothers 1 evil, 1 honorable both cursed.
    The House of Jaegar cursed to walk at night only, Wholly Evil.
    The House of Jadon cursed also but with 4 mercies.... Brothers of the Light.

    Jocelyn Levi is an agent for ICE. and is working on human trafficking. She is in the Rocky Mountains on a tip from her source. What she stumbles across is horrifying.
    As she runs through the Rocky Mountains Nathaniel Silivasi hears her scream of pain. He quickly sets out to find the human, what he finds is more than he bargained for.
    Nathaniel Silivasi is from the House of Jadon, he is a Vampyr but one who walks in the day, he has a very strong code of honor.
    The Blood Moon appears with the stars aligned into Cassiopeia, that is Nathanile's Birth Constellation a mark appears on Jocelyn's left wrist identifying her as Nathaniel's Destiny. He has 30 days to get Jocelyn to accept him and his peoples lives or he will die a most horrendous death.
    With Lycan's aka Hunter's in Moon Vale and the Alpha Lycan wants Jocelyn for himself. Than Valentine Jaegar is after all those that mean anything to the Silivasi "House of Jadon" brothers, he has already killed the younger brother. All Nathaniel wants to do is cherish is destiny, he has waited over 1000 years for her. One wrong choice on her part and all could be lost.

    This Dark Fantasy Vampyr book is Outstanding, Awesome, One of a Kind!
    I was blown away by this authors writing style, she is 1 of my top authors to read.
    I loved everything about this book, it is so not for the weak stomached. This book has depth and grit. Blood and More Blood!!
    I really really liked this new take on Vampires, so out of the box , I swear Tessa Dawn blew that box away!
    The ohh so hot Silivas Brothers are a girls dream come true!

    I had a few favorite scenes and sayings in this book.
    ***Vampyrs don't get headaches.
    ***Batman and Robin were not vampyrs.
    ***It was like asking someone to lay down on a razor.
    *** "The enemy of my enemy is my friend."
    ***Can you imagine a fish asking, What if I don't like water? Or a bird saying, what if I don't want to fly?
    If you really want to read a book that will put all others to shame than this is the book for you. I promise it will have you sitting on the edge of your seat, laughing, crying, yelling, closing your eyes while trying to read!
    5 STARS
    Patches

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    This review is from: Blood Awakening (Blood Curse Series Book 2)

    This review is from: Blood Awakening (Blood Curse Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)

    The Blood curse series is turning out to be a phenomenon in dark fantasy / paranormal books and Blood Awakening is just another reason why....Tessa Dawns series is so addicting, once you finish a book you just can't wait for the next....I Relish all the books in this series......lori With

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    I am so happy that Facebook suggested Tessa Dawn as an author wh

    I am so happy that Facebook suggested Tessa Dawn as an author who was a must read! All "The Blood Curse Series" books were amazing! I read them all in about a month that is with school and a full time job! I could not put them down I HAD to know what was going to happen next! This series is not for the light of heart it is dark fantasy expect the unexpected! I LOVE this series Tessa Dawn's books are a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    It is Dark and Vampiric! It is HOT and Original!! Marquis Siliv

    It is Dark and Vampiric! It is HOT and Original!!

    Marquis Silivasi is an Ancient Master Warrior facing his own issues when his heartfelt anquish is released for all to hear. That is when the story starts to twist--and Marquis is ruthlessly tested. How much can a vampire warrior take? What will happen next? I Love the Blood Curse Series. 

    The characters are absolutely emotionally invested in this story, leaning on each other in times of need, leaving me wanting to knock the sinister out of some, embrace the inevitable in others, and root for a positive ending. Once I got back into I could not put it down.

    The world buiding is fantastical, multi-layered, consistent, and picturesque.. Twisted!! Snaking down paths I did not see coming. I Like that! Kept me on my toes. I enjoyed the crisp, clean, and clear, writing style of Tessa Dawn. Very Well Written!
     
    This read Not For The Faint Of Heart nor is it a YA Read, due its graphic and dark nature. I recommend this for the 18+ Reader, who enjoys dark, vampiric, and steam in their reads.

    5 out of 5 Hearts
    Lovetiggi's Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Great Series

    Always enjoyed Tessa Dawn's books. These are definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Love this series! Tessa Dawn has written this great series and

    Love this series! Tessa Dawn has written this great series and can't wait for another installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    A really good read

    This is a fantastic start for a new author. Well written, good story, well thought out characters. Can't wait to sink my fangs into the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    An excellent read!!!

    Loved this book. The second in the series and once I started it I could not put it down. The story of Marquis Silivasi is fantastic. It keeps you guessing and waiting for what will happen next. I found it to be as good as the first book. I can't wait for the third book to come out in the series. It is one of the best series I have read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    a must read

    I loved this book once i started reading it i could not put it down Tessa Dawn done a really good job showing how different people can be and still make things work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    TOP of the vampire food chain!!! ABSOLUTELY MUST READ!!!!

    I'm not sure I can put into words how much I LOVE Blood Awakening! This is the second book in The Blood Curse Series written by Tessa Dawn. If you haven't read the first book, Blood Destiny yet, I suggest that you do so right away! This is an amazing series! Blood Awakening is a VERY DARK fantasy/romance. So, please be forewarned! This book contains some very graphic and descriptive horror scenes. I feel that they truly bring to life just evil the sons of jaegar are. They are soul-less vampires. Rotten to the core. It also shows just how tough and strenuous life can be for the sons in The House of Jadon. They are very Alpha and very passionate and sexy. They are the vampires of the light. But, They have to dirty their hands to follow their laws and protect their species. Some of the things they have to do are just horrific....but they have to do what they have to do! Our Hero is Marquis silivasi, an ancient warrior. He believes he has found his destiny but when the blood moon appears, it reveals another! If anything COULD go wrong, it DID go wrong for poor Marquis. I just couldn't believe the turn of events! This story kept me captivated from the beginning to the end! There are twists and turns that made my head spin! This is a very fast paced and entertaining read! It is NOT for the faint of heart! If you LOVE dark fantasy, you absolutely MUST read Blood Awakening!! It is certainly at the top of my vampire food chain!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    kld

    again, this writter delivers! simply fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the first one!

    Wow! What a fantabulous read! Blood Awakening is the second book in Tessa Dawns Blood Curse series and it brings us deeper into the world of Dark Moon Vale and it's inhabitants. Once again we see the battles between the descendants of Jadon and Jeager and how horrific war can really be.
    There is so many awesome things about this book that I don't know where to start. Also, not being a fan of super long reviews myself I'll try to keep myself from babbling too much LOL!
    The role of hero in this book is played by Marquis Silivasi, an Ancient Master Warrior vampire that was born of the House of Jadon. Our heroine is Ciopori Demir. Ciopori is the daughter of King Sakarias, who was ruler of the Celestial Beings before the Blood Curse. She is also the sister of Jadon, Marquis's ancestor. How can that be you ask? The answer is simple; she was put into a deep slumber to protect her from her blood crazy brother Jeager and his followers.
    Though Blood Awakening is a dark fantasy, the romance in this book was written superbly. The attraction between Marquis and Ciopori was so powerful that you couldn't help but to be drawn to it. I think that the fact that Marquis's cries of anguish woke Ciopori from her 2,000 year slumber attests to the intensity of their bond. When it looked like Ciopori wasn't Marquises destiny it was such a blow. My heart broke for them. Finally, after all his years of being alive, he had found love and it was being ripped away from him.
    The closer look that we got into Marquis's personality was amazing. Whereas in Blood Destiny Marquis was a rock, nothing but hardness, it wasn't the case in this book. Here, we see beyond the hard exterior and into the man. Marquis may be socially inept and extremely prickly but within him lies the core of an extremely passionate and caring man.
    OK so maybe I'm painting the wrong picture of Marquis. He's still a domineering Alpha male. He's still incredibly hard to get along with and scary as Hell but I can't get past the softer side of his psyche that we are shown in Blood Awakening.
    Blood Awakening is a dark Fantasy so there was much more than Marquises love life to it. The darkness in this book is readily apparent. There was plenty of guts and gore in here but there was really only one scene that gave me pause. ***SPOILER ALERT*** The nursery scene. It's weird, I never had a problem with the sacrifice that the Blood Curse demanded but the slaughter of the babies in the nursery got to me. I understand that the babies were evil and needed to die. It was still hard to read about though.I think it was because there were so many of them. However, once I distanced myself from my reading and reminded myself how evil those damn sons of Jeager were, it was a lot easier to deal with.
    All in all I had to give this book a 5 star rating. The action was amazing and the emotions were so real and authentic I found myself crying many times. In fact, at the end I was crying so much that my boyfriend was afraid that something bad had happened when he saw me. There were also some scenes that I couldn't help laughing out load about. Braden and his ridiculous antics were hilarious as always and Marquis is so clueless in social situations that you can't help but chuckle.
    Blood Awakening was a fantastic read and I eagerly await the next installment in the Blood Curse series. Tessa Dawn's writing is fabulous and seems to get better with every book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Extremely Moving!!!

    I absolutely loved this book! It was just so moving and wonderful. Great job Tessa Dawn, great job indeed! A must read, I thought the first was absolutely wonderful, but this one was absolutely riveting! I CANNOT wait for book three, counting down the days. Well done, just well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3