Customer Reviews for

Blood Betrayed (Sons of Navarus #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Check it out!

As I sit here trying to write this review I find myself tongue tied. This book evoked such a powerful response in me that I have no idea how to convey it. Not to mention trying to do that without any spoilers LOL!

Blood Betrayed is the second book in Gabrielle Bisset...
As I sit here trying to write this review I find myself tongue tied. This book evoked such a powerful response in me that I have no idea how to convey it. Not to mention trying to do that without any spoilers LOL!

Blood Betrayed is the second book in Gabrielle Bisset's Sons of Navarus series and is Saint's story. Saint, otherwise known as Declan Collins, is the brother of Teagan who was Vasilije's vampire that got staked at the beginning Blood Avenged.

Blood Betrayed starts off right where Blood Avenged ends. It also starts off with a flashback - there are a lot of them in the book as the author uses them to enhance the story -where we learn that our hero is a criminal in his world. He was shunned for 10 years for his crime - dishonoring the sire bond. You see, in Gabrielle Bisset's vampire world the most important laws revolve around the bond between a vampire and his sire. The sire sorta "owns" the vampires that he/she makes and only when the sire is ready can the vampire make certain decisions of his/her own. The thing was, because Saint had an extremely negligent and absent sire his views on the sire bond were very liberal and along with some betrayal got him in trouble. Not to mention caused him to become a terrible sire himself.

Saint and his brother Teagan were both turned on the same night though Teagan was turned by Vasilije. I must say, despite all his faults, Vasilije can be a great sire to his favorites. He was like this with Teagan and Saint grew to dislike him for it. Not only had he taken Teagan from Saint but he also caused him to change into someone that Saint no longer wanted to be around.

OK, so you're probably wondering why I'm babbling about the bond between vampires and sires so much. There is a couple of reasons why. First and foremost is because the whole story revolves around it. When Saint became a Son he needed the strength that only vampire blood could provide so he could fight the Archons. Because he would only drink from his own - he got the name Saint because he only slept with human women and drank vampire blood when only absolutely necessary and even then he would only drink from his on vamps - it became a problem when none of his vampire responded to his calls. They did this because he was a rotten sire. Another reason that I put so much significance on the relationship between vampires and their sires is because though Vasilije is the leader of the Son's, Saint can't stand him because of the way he used his sire bond to control Teagan. Since Vasilije was in this book a lot, we got to see Saint's less than pleasant reaction a lot LOL! The third reason why I spoke so much about sire bonds is because that's what brought our Heroine Solenne into the war between the Sons and the Archons- the power hungry judges of the vampire world. Solenne is on of Teagan's vampires and she wanted to get back at the Archons for their part in killing Teagan. When she learned that Saint was to be the next Son to have an assassin sent after him she took him in to protect him.

So now that I've given you some of the background info let me tell you me opinion on the book. I LOVED IT!

One thing that I really loved about this book was that there were two things that happened that took me totally by surprise. The first one the death of a once beloved character. The second was the appearance of someone that I never thought I'd meet. Let me tell you, it was a true OMG moment I even had to email Gabrielle

posted by meggerfly on May 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the coolest things about this series to me is how the vam

One of the coolest things about this series to me is how the vampires are portrayed. They’re not rally shown as good or bad people, but more like humans, except that they have stronger, more animalistic instincts and needs. This is shown even more in this book t...
One of the coolest things about this series to me is how the vampires are portrayed. They’re not rally shown as good or bad people, but more like humans, except that they have stronger, more animalistic instincts and needs. This is shown even more in this book than the first. Saint fights those needs and instincts until his weakness threatens to endanger him. And wouldn’t you know, Solenne is only too willing to help fulfill his needs, and a surprise presence will take him over the edge to surrender to his instincts.

In addition to Saint, we get to come face to face with the other Sons now that they’ve gathered together. We also see more of Vasilije, though he’s not always painted in the best light. It definitely sets up later books as we get a little peek at the Sons and how they operate. Storyline wise, I didn’t fully understand the whys behind everything that happened (what role this person really had, why this person was an asshat, etc etc). The prophecy research is slow going, only adding to the confusion.

Ultimately I took the conflicts one step at a time and focused on the romance and hope for their happy ending. Their love is deep with unconditional acceptance for the things done in the time they were forced to be apart, and you really just can’t help but get caught up in the emotions they held for each other, especially as the sex was just such a soul searing experience for them. In the end, it’s a satisfying, enjoyable read that leaves you waiting for the next book.

posted by Mebuffy on July 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Check it out!

    As I sit here trying to write this review I find myself tongue tied. This book evoked such a powerful response in me that I have no idea how to convey it. Not to mention trying to do that without any spoilers LOL!

    Blood Betrayed is the second book in Gabrielle Bisset's Sons of Navarus series and is Saint's story. Saint, otherwise known as Declan Collins, is the brother of Teagan who was Vasilije's vampire that got staked at the beginning Blood Avenged.

    Blood Betrayed starts off right where Blood Avenged ends. It also starts off with a flashback - there are a lot of them in the book as the author uses them to enhance the story -where we learn that our hero is a criminal in his world. He was shunned for 10 years for his crime - dishonoring the sire bond. You see, in Gabrielle Bisset's vampire world the most important laws revolve around the bond between a vampire and his sire. The sire sorta "owns" the vampires that he/she makes and only when the sire is ready can the vampire make certain decisions of his/her own. The thing was, because Saint had an extremely negligent and absent sire his views on the sire bond were very liberal and along with some betrayal got him in trouble. Not to mention caused him to become a terrible sire himself.

    Saint and his brother Teagan were both turned on the same night though Teagan was turned by Vasilije. I must say, despite all his faults, Vasilije can be a great sire to his favorites. He was like this with Teagan and Saint grew to dislike him for it. Not only had he taken Teagan from Saint but he also caused him to change into someone that Saint no longer wanted to be around.

    OK, so you're probably wondering why I'm babbling about the bond between vampires and sires so much. There is a couple of reasons why. First and foremost is because the whole story revolves around it. When Saint became a Son he needed the strength that only vampire blood could provide so he could fight the Archons. Because he would only drink from his own - he got the name Saint because he only slept with human women and drank vampire blood when only absolutely necessary and even then he would only drink from his on vamps - it became a problem when none of his vampire responded to his calls. They did this because he was a rotten sire. Another reason that I put so much significance on the relationship between vampires and their sires is because though Vasilije is the leader of the Son's, Saint can't stand him because of the way he used his sire bond to control Teagan. Since Vasilije was in this book a lot, we got to see Saint's less than pleasant reaction a lot LOL! The third reason why I spoke so much about sire bonds is because that's what brought our Heroine Solenne into the war between the Sons and the Archons- the power hungry judges of the vampire world. Solenne is on of Teagan's vampires and she wanted to get back at the Archons for their part in killing Teagan. When she learned that Saint was to be the next Son to have an assassin sent after him she took him in to protect him.

    So now that I've given you some of the background info let me tell you me opinion on the book. I LOVED IT!

    One thing that I really loved about this book was that there were two things that happened that took me totally by surprise. The first one the death of a once beloved character. The second was the appearance of someone that I never thought I'd meet. Let me tell you, it was a true OMG moment I even had to email Gabrielle

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Can Betrayal Last A Lifetime? In the second book in the Sons of

    Can Betrayal Last A Lifetime?

    In the second book in the Sons of Navarus series Gabrielle is still keeping her readers enraptured with the characters in this story. I can not wait until the next story is released. If you like paranormal romance with some extra heat added in you will not be disappointed.

    Declan is a vampire haunted by a betrayal so damaging that it had him sentenced to solitary for years and has not left his mind or heart for centuries. He does not associate often with the vampires he has sired just as his sire had done with him. The past has hurt him so deeply that he only involves himself with human females, earning the nickname Saint from the other vampires who know him. As a menber of the Sons of Navarus he has become the next vampire the Archon's want eliminated.

    Solenne was sired by Declan's brother Teagan, who as her sire decides if and when she may mate or become a sire herself. At one time Declan and Solenne had feelings for each other and she is the one person who betrayed him so long ago. She has never forgiven herself for hurting him and now hopes to have the chance to right that wrong by offering her support to keep him safe until his own vampires can be contacted to come protect him.

    Solenne is working undercover in France to find out what the Archon's plans are to destroy Saint and the Sons. She is not only trying to endure unwanted attention from the Archon, she is also dealing with the pain that Declan is causing her each night when she has to find a human female to fulfill his needs. She knows he can not go much longer without blood from a vampire to keep up his strength. He is so stubborn that she has to find a way to get through to him before it is too late.

    When Saint finally realizes he needs her blood or he will not be able to protect himself when the assassins arrive he does not expect the reaction he has to Solenne. The night she saves him from destruction by his own making things start to change until they receive
    an unexpected visit from Vasilije and a few others that convince Saint she set him up all those years ago.

    They will have to join forces to find a way to stop the Archon from coming for him and ending any chance of renewing the deep feelings that may not have totally disappeared. Can Solenne convince him of the truth, and help him get past everything he believed happened all those years ago? Will it even matter if she does?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book alot. I felt so many different emotio

    I really enjoyed this book alot. I felt so many different emotions while reading this book. I found myself laughing and even getting tears in my eyes too. I thought Gabrielle did an amazing job introducing the other characters that will be a part of this series. This book was Declan and Solenne's story but we also got enough of the other exciting secondary characters as well. I feel like there was a perfect amount of action and romance. The sex scenes had so much passion and they were really HOT! My favorite thing about Declan was no matter what woman he decided to be with he always cared about their pleasure too. I think that made up for how he treated Solenne in the beginning. Although I do get why he would be hurt by her.

    The one thing I really dont get is the relationship between the sire and his vamp. I didnt like the fact that Teagan sired Solenne and then left her for months at a time. When she finally found happiness he wouldnt allow it. I dont think thats fair. So vamps cant have a life if the sire wont allow it? Thats kind of messed up. I mean Teagan didnt even want her. He had his freedom but she couldnt because "She" was his vampire. I hope theres more information about sire and vamp relationships in the coming books. I would also like to read more on the Order and how the Sons were chosen. Im not sure I totally get it yet but I cant wait to read about more of this world.

    All in all this was a great book. I cant wait until this fall for the next one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    I don't know what to say, or where to start first. This book had

    I don't know what to say, or where to start first. This book had so many OMG moments, there is no way I can even describe them without spoilers. This book starts off where the first book in the series, Blood Avenged finishes. In Blood Avenged we just got a glimpse of what will be happening in the books to come. Blood Betrayed is about Saint. One of the Sons of Navarus. There are eight of these hot vampires. There are two things going on in this book. One is the war going on with the Sons of Navarus, and the Archons, which are trying to get rid of all the Sons. In each book we find a piece of the puzzle the Sons figure out to defeat the Archons. We also get to meet a few of the other Sons in this book, and how each contributes to the cause. The other thing that is happening in Blood Betrayed is the relationship of Saint and Solenne. Solenne was sired by Saint's brother Teagan, but is in love with Saint. In Gabrielle Bisset's world, the relationship between a vampire and sire is sacred. So Saint and Solenne's relationship is kind of scandalous. Something that happened between them over a century ago made Saint isolate himself from his kind and he never sleeps with any of the females he's sired. That's why he is given the nickname Saint. Since Saint is next on the Archon's list to kill, he must stay somewhere safe and out of trouble. That's where Solenne comes in. He must stay with her until the other Sons figure out who wants him dead and why. Saint and Solenne have so much tension between them but you can just feel the love they have for each other. And let's talk about the sex scenes which just ooze hotness off the pages. This was a great second installment in the Sons of Navarus series. It will make you laugh, cry, and fan yourself!!!! This series as well as Gabrielle's other books are a must read!!!! If you like hot with an exciting storyline, any of Gabrielle Bisset's books will do.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    This one really got to me Saint is so far one of my favorite son

    This one really got to me Saint is so far one of my favorite son's . Saint had allways believe he was incapable of love , until he meets Solenne. He has a very hard time excepting what she offers to him, but will love fix everything of destroy it, you also find that he has a history with Vasalijie and why he hates him.This book really got to me because of a very special person in Saints life that effects him in more ways than one, and while they are still at war with the Archon's it is a rollercoaster ride for everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    I dont know who had more emotion, me frome reading what Saint ha

    I dont know who had more emotion, me frome reading what Saint has went through or poor Saint going through it. My heart ached for me and I even heard myself say out loud "Oh no!!!" His brother was a jerk for what he did. I have to stop typing cause I'm afraid I will give some the the book away. If it wasnt for the fact that the body needs to sleep I could have had this book read in a day. Loved it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    A Heart Betrayed......................... The second instalmen

    A Heart Betrayed.........................


    The second instalment in Gabrielle Bisset’s Sons of Navarus will no doubt pull at your heart strings and have you gasping along the way.
    A powerful, tormented and solitary Vampire, Saint has spent a hundred years sheltering his heart from love and commitment. But his re-acquaintance with his past is destined to turn his already shattered world on its axis.
    This extraordinary story will have you wanting to jump into the pages of the book and wrap your arms around Saint to protect him from the heartbreak he can no longer avoid and heal a soul torn apart by betrayal.
    I have loved this series from book one and the sorrow I feel at the end of each book is simply the wait for the next story in this incredibly series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Another amazing book by Gabrielle!! Saint and Solenne's story ha

    Another amazing book by Gabrielle!! Saint and Solenne's story has so much emotion, mixed with betrayal mixed with a lot of hot steamy action and once I started it I could not put it down. It has been a long time since I have read a vampire book that I feel really captures the "true" vampire persona, but Gabrielle has done it with both books in this series so far.  Cannot wait to get started on the 3rd!! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Okay...move over Vasilije because I have a new Sons of Navarus V

    Okay...move over Vasilije because I have a new Sons of Navarus Vampire that I LOVE!!!
    Meet Saint, otherwise known as Declan Collins. He's nicknamed Saint due to the fact he has been only with human females for awhile now. He gave up vampire women a long time ago, when a certain vampire female broke his heart. Saint is the next on the hit list for the Archons. The Archons want him dead not only because of him being a Son of Navarus, but for other reasons that even his other fellow vampires do not understand. 
    The one to protect him and keep him hidden for awhile, is the one and only who broke his heart a long time ago, Solenne. She knows he has never forgiven her for what she did, but she just wants to help keep him alive. She has never stopped loving him and the time she broke his heart was for a good reason...at least that is what she thought because of a certain person threatening her. 
    Now Saint has to fight his urge of being with Solenne again because the female vamp keeps intruding in his thoughts when he's trying to make love to human female or even think of another female. 
    Solenne, also has to deal with Saint's new ways and all she wants to do, is give herself over to him like vampires always do.
    My thoughts on Blood Betrayed were of course that I LOVED EVERY minute of it. I had a hard time putting it down. I clicked with both characters right away. Saint because of his past with Solenne and Solenne because she was trying everything to get back with Saint even if she had to help him with his human female addiction problem. 
    The kicker to the story is, not only the Archons trying to kill Saint, but what Solenne has to do to keep Saint safe and the one person who can ruin everything between Solenne and Saint again. 
    I was on the edge of my seat when it came to Solenne and Saint. I had to keep turning the pages to find out what happened next to the characters. It was a big doozy when the truth finally came out. 
    I felt terrible for both Solenne and Saint. ( I won't spoil the storyline though for anyone who wants to read this book ).
    Oh..and Vasilije and Sasa appear in this book as well as other characters. I'm really wanting to find out about Dante. =) 
    I highly recommend this book to paranormal romance readers, erotica readers, and vampire lovers out there. 
    This book will take you on a roller coster of emotions though. Be prepared for some hot sex scenes, sad scenes, and scenes that will make you want to slap someone around. Grrr...I was so mad on what actually happened between Solenne and Saint. Oh...and don't even get me started on what Saint had to deal with in the beginning of it all. 
    Gabrielle Bisset definitely knows how to get a reader's emotions going like crazy.
    Fore warning though...be prepared to take some really cold showers after reading the sex scenes. Saint definitely knows how to take care of a female just like Vasilije did ...maybe a little better though. =) 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Blood Betrayed" is the second book in the 'Sons of Na

    "Blood Betrayed" is the second book in the 'Sons of Navarus' series and starts right off with a flashback where the first book ends.  Gabrielle's character development in this second book was outstanding and the story line filled with plenty of passion and sex hooked me right in. I was surprised that the book kept me guessing throughout the whole thing, usually in a series you can almost figure everything out.. A great great that is highly recommended for all vampire lovers.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    Hot Read!!!

    This book was incredible and I LOVED it!!!

    The story line and world that Gabrielle creates is one that I wish I was a part of. This book had everything: love, betrayal, suspense, action, steamy sex, and lots and lots of passion. I already purchased the next book in the series "Blood Spirit" and I can't wait to read it.

    Thanks so much Gabrielle for writing another great book. I love your work and this series is definitely among my favorites. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Absolutely took my breath away!!! Wow!! Another amazing story



    Absolutely took my breath away!!!

    Wow!! Another amazing story in 'Sons of Navarus'. "Saint" will take your breath away as you read about his trials in his past and present life as a vampire. This series is a 'must read' and I highly recommend it to everyone.

    This is the second book in an ongoing series of eight. The third issue is to be available in September 2012.

    Gabrielle Bisset is a wonderful author and her writing skills are amazing. You will laugh, cry and sigh with these hot alpha-male vampires.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I enjoyed this book a lot!. There were so many emotions wrapped

    I enjoyed this book a lot!. There were so many emotions wrapped up in
    this book it was just a amazing. The Second book in Gabrielle Bisset's
    Sons of Navarus series is just exactly what I expected. There were
    several OMG moments for me reading this book. I really felt so sorry
    for Saint that i wanted to give him a hug through out the whole book.
    Gabrielle does a wonderful job of drawing you into her books and making
    you feel exactly what the characters are feeling at the time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Declan and Solenne

    I loved this book and their story. Love that lasted through time and they finally found each other. I can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1