Customer Reviews for

Blood Blade (Skinners Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Like watching a movie with Non-stop action!!

    First book I read from this author and it was really good. A different twist to the creatures we already know: vampires, werewolves, etc.
    The action is non-stop and the creatures just keep on coming... I really had a lot of respect for Cole and Paige at the end of this adventure. I'm really looking forward to book 2 of the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good start for the series.

    This book was a great read! I read some of the other reviews that didn't give this book enough credit and I have to disagree.
    This book is a perfect start for a series. It doesn't give away every thing right from the begining. As the main character learns about the situations and other characters so do you. This book is very entertaining and also allows for allot of growth throughout the rest of the series. The hero of the book doesn't go from zero to hero in three pages, as this book ends he is still the new guy on the block with allot to learn.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A book for all facets of nerdism...

    Buy it. Read it. Love it. It's what I did. Satisfied me on many nerd levels - gamer nerd, horror nerd, sci-fi nerd, Midwest nerd. Yes. I have a nerd level referred to as "Midwest nerd." It's the part of me that gets a little excited when a book, movie, or whatever takes place in the Midwest. Especially when in my birthstate of Wisconsin. The only nerd facet that wasn't addressed in this book is the music nerd. But I've been assured by Pelegrimas himself that the itch of my music nerd will be scratched in the third book. Awesome. If you share the same nerd facets as me, read this book. You won't regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gritty Urban Fantasy at its Best!

    I picked up Blood Blade on a whim and I'm glad I did! The action is almost non-stop and has the feel of a well done action movie. It's easy to sympathize with Cole. How would any of us react after finding out the monsters under the bed are real? Paige is hard scrabble and tough with enough glimmers of softness to be fully dimensional. The book is so well written that it's not hard for the reader to believe that events in the book could be for real.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    A MUST READ!!!!!

    If you like dark seedy "gentleman's clubs" sprinkled with Nymphs and blood craving vampires. Very smart Humor sprinkled between very gory imagery this book is for you. Blood Blade is one of the BEST books I have read in a loooong time. M.Pelegrimas has become my favorite author and I am always on the look out for more of his writings. Pick this up and be prepared to fall in love with it. Oh and PAIGE is HOT!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    So glad I picked this one up!

    While the frightening prologue of Blood Blade made me question if I could handle dipping my toe into the urban fantasy/horror genre, I was pleasantly surprised by this book's creativity, humor, and fast pace.

    I found the human characters to be likeable and real, not afraid to show their vulnerability but compelled to put the colorful, supernatural creatures in their place. Pelegrimas set a pace that kept me going and clearly answered my - and the characters' - questions with good timing. His wisecracks and occasional sarcasm kept me entertained. I'm looking forward to the second installment in this series and am eager to see where Pelegrimas takes this ongoing battle!

    "Crazy but effective," Walter said with a shake of his head. "That's a Skinner for ya." (p. 278)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bloody Good Violence and Mayhem

    This book was very fast paced with a linear but interesting plot. If you like bloody encounters involving werewolves and vampires, then you'll probably like this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blood Blade is a HIT!

    As an avid reader, I unfortunately or fortunately judge books by their covers... This cover caught my eye and I quickly snatched it up. I read the back cover and decided to purchase it... It was a very good purchase. The storyline was interesting, and flowed easily. The characters were likable and I felt at ease with them immediately. The book was a fast read because it had no slowness to it. It started interesting, flowed well, and closed interesting. I look forward to reading book two in the very near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Skinners, shapechangers, and vampires...what more could you ask for?

    There are so many books about shapechangers and vampires that one has to wonder what now. Yet, this book does offer a different twist to the combination which is compelling. The interaction of the characters results for quick and interesting reading. A different twist...read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    THIS RESULT? Urm... I do not know your name so I have to call you Arch-Fiend.

    Anyhoot, My name is Kala and I need a king. Lich told me that arch- fiends will be good for me and well.. I am searching for one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Boring

    Hard to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Different from the hurd

    A fun, fast, furious work of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    The beginning of an amazing journey...

    This book is that start of one of my favorite series. It starts a bit slow but sucks you in an doesn't let go...through all of the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Hmm

    This book should have been good i mean it had vamps werewolves and fighters but some how it never came togther for me i found it boring and hard to get into wont be gettg the series you do better watching super natural on tv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Good storyline. Should make for a great series.

    Good storyline. This series is going to br fantasic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Great book

    I admit I only purchased this book when I saw it was $0.99 and reccomended by Paul Goat Allen from B&N. I had never come across it before that. I am glad I decided to purchase it. The story started a bit confusing, but after thzt I loved every page! I highly reccomend this to anyone who enjoys paranormal fantasy or horror novels. Mr.Pelegrimas develops the characters well. I now own all 6 of the books in this series and look forward to more to come. If you are looking for a good read with an interesting twist on Vampires this book is for you! I do not know why it is compared to Twilight though. These Vampires are not sparkly. They are super-human killing machines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing

    Between the near constant action and the singularly gruesome monsters this one is difficult to put down. Add two great main characters and this is a great first entry to a horror saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Lots of action, great dialogue and even better characters! Looki

    Lots of action, great dialogue and even better characters! Looking forward to resign Book #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Pretty Good

    This is a very well written book. He is a very good writer. The book is in 3rd person but the way he writes it you hardly notice, he makes you still feel as if you're actually there. It is action packed from beginning to end. It definately keeps you interested. I finished it in a few days. I recommend this to any supernatural fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Supreme Supernatural Slickness!

    Cole Warnecki... He's he kind of heros us geeks tend to identify with. A man who's only somewhat comfortable in the world he lives in is suddenly thrust into a supernatural adventure that knows no bounds. Can it get better? Of course it can! Meet Paige Strobel. She's every geek's dream come true. A girl that can kick the snot out of creatures straight out of your worst nightmares and still have the ability to crack jokes right after. Tough. Exciting. Beautiful. Cole's going to have his hands full.

    Marcus Pelegrimas spins a tale of high adventure laced with so much down to earth reality that you almost feel like you should lock your windows while you read his books. This author has hit a home run with the Skinner's series! I purchased the first one on a lark (admittedly due to I liked the cover art originally). After I started reading, I found I couldn't put it down. The next day I immediately went online and purchased the rest of the series then unhappily waited until they arrived.

    Trust me when I tell you that if you're looking for a book series with instantly likable characters, supernatural creatures that seem so believably real you almost want to look online to see if they exist and a story that will have you turning pages until you fingers cramp then this is the series for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4