Customer Reviews for

Blood, Bones and Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended-such an honest, from the gut, read!

This book is exhilarating to read. It is unlike any other I have experienced. And you do experience this book as if you were with Gabrielle as she endures the total desertion by her parents at a young age and as she travels and becomes educated from and by so many situa...
This book is exhilarating to read. It is unlike any other I have experienced. And you do experience this book as if you were with Gabrielle as she endures the total desertion by her parents at a young age and as she travels and becomes educated from and by so many situations and opportunities in her life. The result is the ownership of her own NYC restaurant, Prune. You can feel each unpleasant and each wonderful moment that leads to her development. As she trips through her daily evolutions becoming such a knowledgeable chef, not from intentionally studying the business, but from immersing herself from childhood in the wonders and glories of food and its myriad of historical and more recent combinations, you can visualize and almost taste what she savors with each bite. This is such a fine read!

posted by wattfarms on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Meh.

I really can't give this book more than a moderate recommendation.

For every great chapter, full of the author's obvious love for food and life, there's another where she seems to be nothing more than a conceited, entitled snot who walks on other people, but expects ...
I really can't give this book more than a moderate recommendation.

For every great chapter, full of the author's obvious love for food and life, there's another where she seems to be nothing more than a conceited, entitled snot who walks on other people, but expects some respect from them (and, in turn, from the reader).

The book seems to swing at both ends of this polarity, and I swing, too, from really liking the author, and having a vested interest in the outcome, to disliking her, and wishing she'd just shut the hell up. It makes parts of the book a wonderful, fast-paced read, but others a torturous slog through page after page of self-appreciative drivel.

But for the one-half-to-two-thirds I really liked, I can give a high recommendation. Unfortunately, the other 50%, I can't. So, I'm purely middle-of-the-road on this book (sadly, because I really WANTED to enjoy it)

posted by C_Rouillard on March 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Meh.

    I really can't give this book more than a moderate recommendation.

    For every great chapter, full of the author's obvious love for food and life, there's another where she seems to be nothing more than a conceited, entitled snot who walks on other people, but expects some respect from them (and, in turn, from the reader).

    The book seems to swing at both ends of this polarity, and I swing, too, from really liking the author, and having a vested interest in the outcome, to disliking her, and wishing she'd just shut the hell up. It makes parts of the book a wonderful, fast-paced read, but others a torturous slog through page after page of self-appreciative drivel.

    But for the one-half-to-two-thirds I really liked, I can give a high recommendation. Unfortunately, the other 50%, I can't. So, I'm purely middle-of-the-road on this book (sadly, because I really WANTED to enjoy it)

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Overall an interesting story with some nice foodie tidbits, but lacking the depth I was hoping for.

    Gabrielle Hamilton is the chef/owner of the acclaimed New York restaurant Prune. In Blood, Bones and Butter she chronicles how she ended up a famous chef giving lectures in cooking schools and running a successful restaurant. Gabrielle grew up in a big, boisterous, unconventional family with a French mother and an unreliable, artistic father. Both her parents taught her to love food, so when the family split up and she was a teenager at loose ends and needing money, she went to work in a restaurant. Through all kinds of turmoil and instability Gabrielle clung to food as the one thing she could count on. As many others have pointed out Blood, Bones, and Butter is more about Gabrielle's neglectful childhood and subsequent struggles than it is about food. When she is describing food she does so beautifully with a sort of melancholic nostalgia that is very appealing. I loved the early scenes about her father's outdoor parties and all the preparation that went into them. However much of the book is written in the vein of - I grew up doing drugs, stealing stuff for the fun of it, generally being a badass, aren't I cool. I have read too many of these type of stories to be very impressed anymore. The best memoirs tend to come from the author's ability to dig deep and come to some stark truths about their own motivations and mistakes and end with the feeling that the author is headed in a better direction. Gabrielle seems to leave out the deep parts, somehow skimming over the astonishing changes her life has undergone. How did a lesbian, in a committed and passionate relationship, suddenly find herself married with two kids? How did she go from years of defeated drudgery in the catering kitchens to suddenly having her own, successful restaurant? I would have loved to see the emotional transitions that must have taken place for these things to happen, but I feel like Gabrielle was unwilling to make herself that vulnerable to her audience. Overall an interesting story with some nice foodie tidbits, but lacking the depth I was hoping for.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Not my favorite

    The writing itself is good. However, the author just seems to constantly whine about her life which gets very tiresome.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    self serving book with nothing to learn about cooking

    If you're looking to learn about professional cooking and running a restuarant, this is not the book for you. More about how the author pulled herself up by her bootstraps despite her parents,etc. I thought it was very boring and was sorry I wasted my money on this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Highly recommended-such an honest, from the gut, read!

    This book is exhilarating to read. It is unlike any other I have experienced. And you do experience this book as if you were with Gabrielle as she endures the total desertion by her parents at a young age and as she travels and becomes educated from and by so many situations and opportunities in her life. The result is the ownership of her own NYC restaurant, Prune. You can feel each unpleasant and each wonderful moment that leads to her development. As she trips through her daily evolutions becoming such a knowledgeable chef, not from intentionally studying the business, but from immersing herself from childhood in the wonders and glories of food and its myriad of historical and more recent combinations, you can visualize and almost taste what she savors with each bite. This is such a fine read!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It seems fitting that a book that is different from most should

    It seems fitting that a book that is different from most should have a review that's different than most. This review is a collaborated effort, as it's a compilation of 20 opinions with the rating being the calculated average (3 1/2 out of 5), but with one person "authoring" it.

    <i>Blood, Bones, &amp; Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef</i>
    by Gabrielle Hamilton turned out to be a book perfect for a book club discussion. There were so many topics to discuss starting with her childhood, her parents, her siblings, her adolescent years of crime, her lifelong love-hate relationship with cooking, the confusion her &quot;wish-washy&quot; sexuality caused, her adult years as a person, her constant desire and need for a family, and of course her experiences as a restaurant owner.

    Though the majority of the ratings fell to the middle, with areas of the book being really well-liked and other areas being really despised, there were a few that positively loved the book and were balanced by those that absolutely hated it. The opinions varied so heavily in the discussion that it's really difficult to pin down where BB&amp;B did well and where it failed to appeal to the reader. But let's give it our best try.

    My personal opinion is, that regardless of whether you end up loving or hating the book, Hamilton's bravery at producing a book that analyzes her entire life is to be commended. How many of us would be able to put our life out there for the world to judge? How many would be as blatantly honest? Would you be tempted to gloss over certain events and choices, or would you be able to let all the ugly and undesirable hang out there?

    Her overall writing style (voice) was enjoyed with the majority of the readers appreciating that she was open and sincere in her revelations, even when they failed to put her in a better light. Though her failing to stick to a chronological sequence was a source of contention. The overall agreement being that it made the story a little harder to follow at times, and it made the book seem less like a professional publication and more like a set of journal entries slapped together.

    As for the story itself, this was another area where opinions varied greatly. For some the focus on the food and the food experiences were the better way to go, for others the better focus was the life story itself. No matter what camp a reader was in they felt that there was too much of the other and that it took away from the &quot;true&quot; story. There was only one who appreciated the intertwining of the two as it is a &quot;perfect illustration of how they intertwine in Hamilton's life&quot;. This was acknowledged as a very valid point.

    The last point of agreement was the ending, no one felt the story held itself up through to the end. The overall consensus was that it just fizzled out. However, the small section at the back discussing the status of Hamilton's marriage and her status with the Italian side of the family was largely appreciated. It was a moment of absolute frustration when we though the book had ending with no closure on either subject. *Note*: I don't know if this section is in other editions of the books, it's not labeled as an epilogue or anything, it's just sort of there. This particular edition was the Random House Reader's Circle with the little gold circle on the front.

    I hope this compilation review helps you get an idea of <i>Blood, Bones, &amp; Butter</i>
    and whether it might be something you wish to get your hands on. A high recommendation is for it to be a book club read, as it was done here. It is absolutely perfect for creating discussion!

    *Disclosure: I received this book for free in exchange for using it as a book club read and a review*

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    More Memoir then Chef's Memoir

    It's not until halfway through Blood, Bones & Butter that Gabrielle Hamilton begins to shed light on the fact that she probably always wanted to be a writer and studied the craft all the way through graduate school. Until that point, her endlessly run-on sentences and colorfully personal descriptions seem to be quite an unexpected talent for a chef to possess. The fact that she studied creative writing with such effort, while continuously and almost accidentally stumbling higher and higher into the culinary world paints a portrait of a would-be writer who took several wrong turns to end up in a kitchen. Readers seeking deep dissertations on culinary techniques or restaurant business mechanics will be disappointed, as it becomes more and more apparent that cooking is less who she is and more an innate part of what her life has become. Eggplant and roasted lamb carcasses may decorate the background, but at its core, Blood Bones and Butter is an unflinching portrait of a woman who has stumbled along in the passenger seat through long corridors of her life to become an accidental chef, an accidental restaurateur, an accidental wife and an accidental Italian adoptee. The journey is an intensely introspective look at a writer who cooks, not a chef that writes, and the unvarnished accounts of selfishness, unrequited expectation and disappointment result in writing that alternates between pictorially charming and self-deprecatingly brave.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Interesting read for aspiring foodies

    Loved her descriptions of Italian food and life and her insights into catering. Otherwise, disjointed and really lacked focus. Her narrative is a bit hard to follow and left more questions than answers.

    An autobiography of the chef/owner of Prune, a restaurant in NYC. She is too young to have memoirs and while it is all the rage for chefs to write their stories, the stories need to be well told. This book seemed to be more hurry-up-and-get-something-out-there-while-the-trend-is-hot.
    She is a self-proclaimed lesbian who ends up married to a man. There is some discussion about what happens and not enough about how - how does a lesbian end up married and having babies with a man? She tries to explain that she fell in love with an idea, and somehow falls flat. I would like to re-read this story in a revised version after a good editor gets hold of it. As it stands, I can't recommend it for anyone other than food insiders because you will quickly tire of her peripatetic style when it doesn't seem to go anywhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    I have read dozens upon dozens of memoirs, and if you love peopl

    I have read dozens upon dozens of memoirs, and if you love people and food, you will love this book. You won't learn to cook from it (ahem, that's not what memoirs are for), but you will really learn about the inner world of a very interesting woman and chef. Her writing style is stellar, and the stories are captivating. It is in my top 5 favorite books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    A walk down memory lane for locals in the New Hope PA/Lambertville Nj area. and for the wild life too.

    I read the book. I was not impressed. It seemed to glorify the drug hazed life style. I did not appreciate it (this was a book club selection).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Great read!

    I can't wait to eat at Prune in NYC!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Interesting Read

    This is a very readable biography, as Hamilton is a good writer. Her story is interesting. My only complaint is that she spends too much time expressing her bitterness about her parents' divorce, for which she blamed her mother, without fully explaining why she is so bitter or why her mother initiated the divorce. The book is best when it focuses on Hamilton's love of food and the use of food as an expression of love and human interaction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I am an avid reader of chef/foodie memoirs (I am a chef) and thi

    I am an avid reader of chef/foodie memoirs (I am a chef) and this is by far my favorite. She is amazing and truly my culinary hero. READ THIS BOOK.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    I Love Hello Kitty

    I would post the whole song for you, but ny mom won't let me use her phone. Lol. So I can't remember the lyrics very well. I do know the chorus though. So, here ya go: <p> H-E-L-L-O! Blasting through your stereo! <br> K-I-T-T-Y! Let me slip between your thighs! <br> H-E-L-L-O! Coming straight from Tokyo! <br> K-I-T-T-Y! Show me how you're such a hoe! <br> H-E-L-L-O! Get down on your knees and blow! <br> K-I-T-T-Y! You're such a fu<_>cking cutie pie! <p> That's all I can think of right now. Sorry. Maybe I'll post more tomorrow for ya. Song's called 'I Love Hello Kitty' by Blood On The Dance Floor (BOTDF) It's a good song, though it's extremely inappropriate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Devil

    YEAH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Toxin

    Not sure so far...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    To all

    I take nuke and kill you all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Firecepaw

    What happened to this place?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Lightkit

    Purred

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Rainkit

    Gtg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10