Customer Reviews for

Blood Born

Average Rating 3.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic first entry in an exciting new series!

I have read almost all of Linda Howard's books and I've read 3 of Linda Jones' books (Untouchable, 22 Nights and Bride By Command). Individually I've enjoyed both of these author's efforts. But I have to say that together these women are DYNAMITE! From the opening page...
I have read almost all of Linda Howard's books and I've read 3 of Linda Jones' books (Untouchable, 22 Nights and Bride By Command). Individually I've enjoyed both of these author's efforts. But I have to say that together these women are DYNAMITE! From the opening pages I was drawn into this fascinating world. Every writer starting a new vampire series has to begin by laying down their personal mythology about the vampires that populate the book's world. What I liked the most about Luca, the main vampire character, was that he was born a vampire. He isn't the "tortured" vampire so popular in fiction today. He is relatively well adjusted and is good at what he does which is dispatching rogue vampires. Chloe the human heroine is strong yet tender. I even liked the secondary characters like Sorin and Nevada. The story itself was easy to follow and interesting! I'm totally hooked and can't wait until the next installment in this thrilling new series! Unfortunately it looks like I have to wait a whole year! In the mean time I just may have to read it again.

posted by 153224 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Forced myself to finish this since I paid for it.

Writing style is all over the place. Could it be because two different people were involved in the writing? Maybe.
The first chapters are like a bad high school writing project. Way too many unnecessary details and repetition.
I am usually fond of books written by ...
Writing style is all over the place. Could it be because two different people were involved in the writing? Maybe.
The first chapters are like a bad high school writing project. Way too many unnecessary details and repetition.
I am usually fond of books written by Linda Howard, but if I were her I wouldn't want my name associated with this one.
On a positive note, about half way through the book it did become interesting. The question is, will you have the patience to plod through the first half?

posted by Love_to_ReadCT on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic first entry in an exciting new series!

    I have read almost all of Linda Howard's books and I've read 3 of Linda Jones' books (Untouchable, 22 Nights and Bride By Command). Individually I've enjoyed both of these author's efforts. But I have to say that together these women are DYNAMITE! From the opening pages I was drawn into this fascinating world. Every writer starting a new vampire series has to begin by laying down their personal mythology about the vampires that populate the book's world. What I liked the most about Luca, the main vampire character, was that he was born a vampire. He isn't the "tortured" vampire so popular in fiction today. He is relatively well adjusted and is good at what he does which is dispatching rogue vampires. Chloe the human heroine is strong yet tender. I even liked the secondary characters like Sorin and Nevada. The story itself was easy to follow and interesting! I'm totally hooked and can't wait until the next installment in this thrilling new series! Unfortunately it looks like I have to wait a whole year! In the mean time I just may have to read it again.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW-A MUST READ for romantic urban fantasy lovers

    In Los Angeles Chloe Fallon keeps having an odd dream in which a warrior from somewhere not of this earth apparently seeks her out. What she is unaware of is her recurring dream is a real contact from another dimension as she is a conduit channel able to bring the warrior of her blood to Earth.

    Vampire Council warrior Luca Ambrus is the rarest of his species being the offspring of two vampires, which gives him the unique skill that no human and few vampires remember him. His friend Hector warns him that a rogue vampire is killing conduits and a council member is assassinated; so he has been transmitting to Chloe in her dreams. When he saves her life, he is stunned because she not just remembers him she knows he is the star of her dreams. As he keeps her safe and they fall in love, Luca discovers an insidious plot to overthrown the Council and to use humans as expendable food.

    Blood Born is an exciting romantic urban fantasy starring two strong lead characters and a deep support cast who not only enhance the story line, but in several cases look like they could lead to future paranormal romantic thrillers. Although dreams as a first meeting conduit has been used before, the sub-genre audience will enjoy biting into the two Linda's fast-paced tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    Great book!

    Loved it! I could not put it down. Disappointed the sequel is not avialable as promised.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Forced myself to finish this since I paid for it.

    Writing style is all over the place. Could it be because two different people were involved in the writing? Maybe.
    The first chapters are like a bad high school writing project. Way too many unnecessary details and repetition.
    I am usually fond of books written by Linda Howard, but if I were her I wouldn't want my name associated with this one.
    On a positive note, about half way through the book it did become interesting. The question is, will you have the patience to plod through the first half?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Great read

    I loved it. It was a different kind of vampire book. There was an exerpt from the next book which was due out a year ago so i doubt it will ever come out.. what a dissappointment. I was looking foward to it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    LOVED IT!

    Not Linda's typical writing style, but I loved the change. I bought this in ebook and read it at work! (Glad it's slow). I loved the characters. Even though there were alot brought into the first in the series, I don't think she could have done it any other way. It just makes me want to read another. My only negative is the writing style. She lost me a couple of times and I had to go back and re-read some paragraphs. I would be cought up in certain characters and the next paragraph would take off somewhere else. I could have done without that. This will definetly be a keeper and I will go back and read again in the future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great book but ends with too many incomplete storylines.

    If you are looking for a book series,do not get this book.The authors put the readers off for over a year with the publication of part 2, Warrior Rising,then said it was not being released. So in other words,they screwed all the fans,leaving too many unanswered questions. Too bad they disrespect their fans so much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Blood Born is the first novel in a new paranormal romance series.

    For as long as the earth has been populated by humans there have also been vampires, some created by turning, others the rare form of being blood born. Someone has decided to end the status quo and start a revolution so the vampire race can finally come out of seclusion and gain their rightful place at the top of the food chain. The immortal warriors trying to come into this plane of existence need help by their conduits, the only trouble is that the vampires know this too and are systematically taking them out.
    Luca Ambrus is one of those rare blood born vampires and he's been the chosen executioner for the vampire counsel for ages but there's trouble afoot or afang and he's uncertain which side to fight on. Chloe Fallon has been having strange dreams that seem all too real, she thinks she may be going nuts until one fateful night when everything that only lived in her nightmares became all too real.
    Ms's Howard and Jones each have a rich following and that will certainly increase with their foray into the wonderful world of paranormal romance. It's hard to start a new paranormal series when they seem to be everywhere, but have no fear because these talented women keep it fresh with subtle twists to the legends. If you like the kind of novel where there's cover to cover hard edged dialogue you will love this one. The characters really shine as there is a very thin line between the villains and the heros, they're all full of malfeasance along with redeeming qualities. The hero and heroine Luca and Chloe are unlikely lovers and the authors have brilliantly brought them together in-spite of it and made it work because their audience will definitely be pulling for this couple. The love scenes are physical and visceral and include very descriptive scenes, so keep this on a high shelf but bring it down often to enjoy a truly good new paranormal series.
    So with vampires exploding off the screen and pages of many books you might be asking yourself why should you try this one. I'll say try it because you know the quality writing that preceded this work by these gifted storytellers and accomplished authors and stay tuned for the next installment In the series when Warrior Rising will be out in Spring of 2011.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    So So

    I picked up this book at the airport and couldn't wait to start reading it. I like the concept but the book dragged in some parts and others just seemed rushed. I wish the author would have described the male character in a more original sense, the exact same words were used to describe a previous character in "Cry No More" the character being James Diaz. I appreciate her getting on the "Vampire" band wagon but the book lacked originality.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Great sexy read. Exciting storyline! Cannot wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Action/Adventure and Vampries at its Finest!

    Originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com ***** Vampires are set to rule the world and the only thing in their way are two measly human women; what threat could they possible pose?

    Blood Born starts off with drama - dark, intense and intricate. It seemed to me that there was a lot of world building going on to help a reader understand the stakes and the nefarious nature of the plot. The concept of warriors on call is interesting. The fact that no one remembers how to call them is reminiscent of the gods of Olympus--are gods still powerful when people no longer worship them? Not usually and, in this case, we humans being so resistive to magic is our downfall. Science has us believing that if it can't be touched, seen or dissected by a super computer, it's not real. The more we get away from the balance of nature the easier it is for bad things to happen to humans--because anything not explainable is crazy, right? Our non-belief is our Achilles heel. And it's a great set-up for this story. It made me wonder what, if anything, do we discount because of science? And what are we missing out on because of it? In this book, we are going to miss having human autonomy.

    And the plot thickens.

    There is a varied cast of characters that weave an intricate dance throughout the tale. I liked Luca - a really old hunk of a vampire who thinks he's seen it all, done it all and humans no longer cause him surprise. I liked that he ended up annoyed, bemused and perplexed by the very beings he thought simple. The older they are, the harder they fall. Chloe is a character I got to meet before she gets mixed up in the politics. Her reaction is understandable and commendable. Chloe is a wonderful balance to Luca if she but knew it. Soren is one of the villains but even villains have hidden depths and the authors dug deep for this guy. What they found was an interesting surprise. Every time I saw the name Indie, I imagined someone with that classic Fedora instead I got someone who was a very cool character who was very proficient with a sword. There was a vampire who was a victim just like the humans and I felt bad for him. Nevada, although not the love interest, is a main character with plenty of guts and determination. Once I got the full scope of what she'd been through, my estimation for her as a person rose to considerable heights. How many people, male or female, could do what she ends up doing? Not many I bet. Certainly not me--well, if that stuff were real.

    The true villain is A person of great power and great insanity. The old saying, 'absolute power corrupts absolutely' could have been coined by someone dealing with this person. What a whack-job. But then again, what great villain isn't to some degree?

    When Luca and Chloe do get together for a bit, it's steamy and life altering--but I won't tell you for whom.

    The build-up is slow in the beginning but once all the players are in place and the authors are sure of where they want the reader to be, it's pandemonium, action, suspense and high drama. The happily ever after is pretty clear for a certain couple but there are hints that there are more to come and even that relationship is going to be dicey. And I can't wait.

    Blood Born is a tightly written, rich and vibrant tale of good versus evil, love sneaking up and blindsiding the hero, other heroes being born in the heat of battle and a destiny unfolding of historic importance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the Story and Characters!

    I totally disagree with the so-so reviews on this book. I thought it was really great. I couldn't put it down. Whereas some said that the book was slow paced and dragged, I felt that all the extra detail gave more illumination to both the characters and the plot. I am not one who likes a book to be wham bam and over too quickly. I like the in-depth development of the characters, and can't wait to see Sorin, Nevada, Indie, Luca, Chloe and Jimmy again in future books. I laughted histerically at the part where Jimmy and Sorin made their pit stop at the convenience store. I literally woke my husband up laughing. I was hoping Sorin would get past Nevada being like a lost family member and find his feelings for Nevada. Who knows what will happen in the next book? Sorin and Indie will probably be great, but I can't wait to see how Nevada and her sister end up. Great read if you like strong characters, love stories and awesome sexy vampires. Luca and Sorin are hot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    It was okay

    I've read all of Linda Howard's books and loved the majority of them. This book seemed to drag a bit at times and was repetitive. I felt that the characters could have been more defined and the plot a little more entertaining. I'm still looking forward to the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    Great book, poor writing

    I love Linda Howard books. I've read most of them. I have no issues with the plot of the book but I was a little disappointed by the writing of this book. There was a lot of repetition that could have been edited out. Some repetition is needed in books to remind the reader but there were ideas and concepts that were repeated several times within the first half of the book. Which makes the book move slow. It seems that there could have been a little more character development since there are so many characters that take a prominent part of this book and series. Looking forward to the rest of the books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Really great New series (Hopefully)

    This was a great new book....excellent characters that pull you into the story quickly from the very beginning. A promising start to a new series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Linda Howard Never Disappoints!

    I was ambivalent about this book because its written by two authors, one of whom I've never read. But it's a great book. The characters are well written & the plot well thought out. Once it grabbed me, I was unable to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Luca, a sexy beast who was born a vampire, works for the Council. This group polices his kind to make sure that their secrets will remain safely hidden from the human world.

    When a Council leader has been slayed by none other than a vampire, Luca sets out to find and destroy the one responsible. If only things could be that simple. There is more going on with some of the Council members than meets the eye. In an attempt to change the way vampire's have lived in the past, a group of rogue vampires are determined to change the future in unimaginable ways.

    Loved it! I really enjoy conspiracy theories and vampires, so I got two in one with this book. The writing was great and the vivid details made me feel like I was right there in the action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Bond....Excellent Book!

    This book was offbeat from the normal Vampire books I have read. A new and refreshing twist. Luca is a 2000 year old vampire who comes to Washington D.C. to meet a friend at an urgent request. He is a lethal vampire who is respected and feared amoung his kind. He delivers swift justice to those who need to be dealt with. Chloe is a pretty young girl who has a connection to an Alien force from an outside world. This force protects the innocent human life on earth. Chloe's "warrior" has been calling to her to have her bring her to the other side (earth) so that she can be here for the upcoming battle that is for seen. Luca meets Chloe after saving her from a bad vampire and becomes captivated by her after finding his powers dont work well on her. She falls for him and they discover the only way to keep her safe is to "bond" her to him. The bonding is very sexual and intense.....this whole story was different and fun to read and kept my interest. Luca is a "hot" vampire, and I really loved his character. There is a new book coming out to follow this one, but won't be till Spring of 2011 :( Anyways this book will be one I will keep on my shelf and read again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    save your money

    that's it - this is the last linda howard book i will buy. Formerly a big fan, i have been disapointed by the last several books but kept buying in the hope that the previous quality would reappear. this one is so dreadful it's time to give up hope and move on....
    basically a boring knockoff of the True Blood TV series

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Linda Howard, don't read this

    I love anything by Linda Howard, well...not this. This was a waste of money. And yes before you ask, I like romantic fantasy. This is neither a good romance nor a good fantasy. It is a mess. It has too many characters. They introduce characters only to kill them. The ending feels like they just realized the book was too long and needed to end it. I actually passed page after page, only skimming, hoping it would get better. Linda Howard is better than this. Linda, please go back to what you know. EVERYONE DOES NOT NEED TO WRITE ROMANTIC FANTASY.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7