Customer Reviews for

Blood Born

Average Rating 3.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic first entry in an exciting new series!

I have read almost all of Linda Howard's books and I've read 3 of Linda Jones' books (Untouchable, 22 Nights and Bride By Command). Individually I've enjoyed both of these author's efforts. But I have to say that together these women are DYNAMITE! From the opening page...
I have read almost all of Linda Howard's books and I've read 3 of Linda Jones' books (Untouchable, 22 Nights and Bride By Command). Individually I've enjoyed both of these author's efforts. But I have to say that together these women are DYNAMITE! From the opening pages I was drawn into this fascinating world. Every writer starting a new vampire series has to begin by laying down their personal mythology about the vampires that populate the book's world. What I liked the most about Luca, the main vampire character, was that he was born a vampire. He isn't the "tortured" vampire so popular in fiction today. He is relatively well adjusted and is good at what he does which is dispatching rogue vampires. Chloe the human heroine is strong yet tender. I even liked the secondary characters like Sorin and Nevada. The story itself was easy to follow and interesting! I'm totally hooked and can't wait until the next installment in this thrilling new series! Unfortunately it looks like I have to wait a whole year! In the mean time I just may have to read it again.

posted by 153224 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Forced myself to finish this since I paid for it.

Writing style is all over the place. Could it be because two different people were involved in the writing? Maybe.
The first chapters are like a bad high school writing project. Way too many unnecessary details and repetition.
I am usually fond of books written by ...
Writing style is all over the place. Could it be because two different people were involved in the writing? Maybe.
The first chapters are like a bad high school writing project. Way too many unnecessary details and repetition.
I am usually fond of books written by Linda Howard, but if I were her I wouldn't want my name associated with this one.
On a positive note, about half way through the book it did become interesting. The question is, will you have the patience to plod through the first half?

posted by Love_to_ReadCT on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Forced myself to finish this since I paid for it.

    Writing style is all over the place. Could it be because two different people were involved in the writing? Maybe.
    The first chapters are like a bad high school writing project. Way too many unnecessary details and repetition.
    I am usually fond of books written by Linda Howard, but if I were her I wouldn't want my name associated with this one.
    On a positive note, about half way through the book it did become interesting. The question is, will you have the patience to plod through the first half?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    So So

    I picked up this book at the airport and couldn't wait to start reading it. I like the concept but the book dragged in some parts and others just seemed rushed. I wish the author would have described the male character in a more original sense, the exact same words were used to describe a previous character in "Cry No More" the character being James Diaz. I appreciate her getting on the "Vampire" band wagon but the book lacked originality.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Linda Howard, don't read this

    I love anything by Linda Howard, well...not this. This was a waste of money. And yes before you ask, I like romantic fantasy. This is neither a good romance nor a good fantasy. It is a mess. It has too many characters. They introduce characters only to kill them. The ending feels like they just realized the book was too long and needed to end it. I actually passed page after page, only skimming, hoping it would get better. Linda Howard is better than this. Linda, please go back to what you know. EVERYONE DOES NOT NEED TO WRITE ROMANTIC FANTASY.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    I gave it a 2 because they cancelled the sequel. Other than t

    I gave it a 2 because they cancelled the sequel.

    Other than that I enjoyed it. But, in this day and age, why can't the authors self publish the sequel? Lots of authors self publish these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Good but leaves God Od Good but C Book 1 in a series of one Book 1 in a series of 1

    I liked this book a lot and was happy to know it was book one of a series. Then I read on Facebook that book two is on hold. Book one's ending leaves many unanswered questions and clearly needs a sequel or to be re-written with an ending. I would not recommend reading this book unless book two is writen and available.




















    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Not very good

    First 100 pages were very slow, i would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Dont' waste your time!

    I'm a big fan of Linda Howard, but this books was not one of her best.
    The story line was a good one, but the book itself was WAY TOO LONG.
    The story just drug and repeated too many things. It took forever to really get into the heart of the story and too many characters that were not really needed. If they book had been cut in 1/2 it would have been so much better. Not sure I'd read another one in this line of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    A disappointing collaboration

    Stopped reading after 1 chapter. The book was discordant, there was no harmony between the two very different writing styles. These authors are GREAT separately, but they need to tune up so they are in harmony... I am sure the whole premise is excellent, but I just could not get into the book. May try again later.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Disappointed.!!!!

    I was so ready to start this book and be caught up in the story from page one and then.boom...I felt like I was ready a history book and put it down after four chapters. Talk about going to sleep. If there are future books in this series, don't know if I will buy them. I am such a HUGE fan of Linda Howard's past writing that the only thing I can say about this book is..VERY DISAPPOINTED!! Waste of money for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2