BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(825)

4 Star

(293)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Book 2 - Better Than Book 1

    It isn't often that you read a sequel and think it is better than the first, but this book falls into that category. This is book two of the Mercy Thompson Novels and she is back with a vengeance. At the end of book one she had two wolfs lusting after her, Sam and Adam. She owed a vampire, Stephen, after borrowing his VW van to try and save Adams life. And she still has all the customers at her auto shop to help. In Blood Bound there is an animal or creature that is killing loads of humans, whole hotels full of people. Stephen figures out that it is a vampire who is a daemon as well. He asks Mercy for her help and this is when all hell breaks loose. Vampire magic doesn't work on a shifter like Mercy, so she is the perfect choice to take with him. But, Mercy is also a 40-pound coyote that really can't do much when Stephen falls under the control of the demon vampire. Figuring out how to stop the vampire, how to save the vampires and wolfs that have fallen under the control of the demon and killing all of the naughty vampires falls squarely on Mercy's shoulders. She steps up to the calling and does everything within her power to help save the people she loves. Dang good novel!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Never ask favors from a vampire. . .

    Poor Mercy. She's living with the man she thought she was going to marry, right next door to the man she's infatuated with--and they both want her. As if that wasn't enough, they are both werewolves, she's a shifter and one of her best friends, the vampire, is calling in a favor.

    Blood Bound adds strength and depth to the characters we became attached to in Moon Called. The humanity of Mercy, Sam, Adam, Stefan, Zee . . . is only strengthened by the contrast that they are not entirely human.

    The plot is interesting and fast-paced and the writing style makes the read flow easily. If you are looking for something that's going to really tax your mind as you read, this is probably not the book to read right now. If you are looking for something you can devour in a few hours or break up into chunks without losing your track, this is it.

    If you haven't read Moon Called, you might start with it as it's the first in the Mercy Thompson series. Then you can enjoy Blood Bound, followed by Iron Kissed and Bone Crossed. After that, you can wait impatiently with the rest of us for a book five!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    AT FIRST I WAS A LITTLE PUT OFF SINCE I'M A BIG FAN OF THE TWILIGHT SAGA ( A FEW SIMILARITIES)...BUT ONCE I GOT READING I COULDN'T STOP. LOVED ALL THE CHARACTERS AND PLOTS...EASILY UNDERSTANDABLE WRITING STYLE...GOOD SEXUAL TENSION GOING ON BETWEEN CHARACTERS. I WOUND UP READING ALL THE BOOKS OF THE MERCY THOMPSON SERIES PLUS CRY WOLF FROM THE THE ALPHA AND OMEGA SERIES. CAN'T WAIT FOR HER NEXT BOOK !

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A compelling and fascinating supernatural tale

    Some years ago, the fae were outed by the Grey Lords and recently the werewolves made themselves known to humans. It is due to a fantastic public relations job that the weres did not come under attack by human mobs. Mechanic Mercy Thompson is a one of a kind (as far as she knows) supernatural entity, a Walker who turns into a coyote at will, has a strong sense of smell, and is able to run very fast.------------------ Stefan the Vampire asks Mercy to go with him in her coyote personae to witness what happens when he visits what turns out to be a demon vampire Corey Littleton. After the encounter, Stefan believes the messily killed humans, calling attention to vampires who are still in the closet. Mercy remembers that it was Corey who made the mess and through vampire magic her words are accepted as truth. Corey goes on a rampage killing indiscriminately the werewolves become involved when one of their own is hurt. However, the vampire mistress believes the Walker is the one who can find and kill the demon vampire sorcerer and when he hurts her friend she sets out to do that.---------------------- BLOOD BOUND is a compelling and fascinating supernatural tale that fans of Laurel K. Hamilton and Charlaine Harris will thoroughly enjoy. Patricia Briggs is a powerful storyteller who convinces readers her earth inhabited by supernatural creatures actually exists. Compelling and multidimensional characters that the audience cares about will lead to readers seeking the previous tale MOON CALLED.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Wow! The twists and turns in this book kept me on the edge of m

    Wow! The twists and turns in this book kept me on the edge of my seat. I love the strong female lead and the interaction with all the different types of characters. Enough romance to keep things interesting without being over the top. I would let a young teen read this. Lots of action to keep the story moving along and enough suspense/mystery to keep me reading long after I should have gone to bed.....LOL.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mercy, Mercy

    Patricia Briggs delivers throughout the Mercy Thompson series. Although Mercy claims the animal nature of herself, the one that is a loner, her circle of friends is ever expanding. More friends spells more problems for Mercy, for her curious nature and concern for others overrides the fear of threat. Mercy the coyote shifting mechanic continues to find herself in the middle of whatever skirmishes are going on in the paranormal side of things. And those worries come nowhere near the mess of her personal life, the man, men in her life. As if she doesn't find enough trouble, she continues to poke the bear (the Alpha next door).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mercy , Mercy, Mercy!

    Wow! This is one book that doesn't need all the erotic romance to make it a great series! A great read for any age. ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Excellent

    I love all of the mercy thompson series and I love the alpha and omega series as well. These are books I could sit down and read again and again. Filled with suspense, mystery, romance and a bit of sass these are excellent books that anyone could enjoy. Probably best if said people were at least 14 or 15.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Love it

    This book is amazing, I found this series while lookin fr another read that would be like the anita blake seris, and let just say I fell in LOVE! Mercy is independent, strong, beautful, and wont go down without a fight. Her sassy comment made me laugh. The author did a wonderful job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Not Twilight! Thankfully

    I tried to read the Twilight books but they were too juevinile for me. These are fast paced and believable.. You can just imagine looking around a corner and seeing Mercy shift or a fae working at your local book store. Keep them coming!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Even better than Moon Called!

    Moon Called was great! It snagged me into the world of Mercy Thompson, but Blood Bound was even better! This book brought me closer to the characters and ventured even further into the things that make each character so unique and interesting. I'm really enjoying this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Bound

    I like this series very much. I was looking for a different writer while waiting for the newest Laurell K Hamilton to come out in paperback. I love the fact that Mercy Thompson is a mechanic, doesn't describe herself as beautiful and takes care of her friends. If I like a book I keep it and read it over and over. I was going to trade these books in for credit at my neighborhood used book store. After reading 3 out of 4 I pulled them back out of the bag and put them in my bookshelves. Sorry book store you'll have to get your own copies. I'm keeping these.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Mercy Thompson's Back!!!

    Does your interests include action-packed plots, paranormal activity, an independent woman, humor, well-rounded characters, meaningful relationships, and stories that keep you flipping to the next page well into the night? Well this is DEFINITELY a series for you. Mercy Thompson and the world she lives in will keep you enertained and intrigued. It is possible for this novel to stand on it's own, but if you're a first time reader, I suggest reading the previous novel for a richer reading experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Love it

    Loved all the books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Second book in the series and just as good as the first!

    Second book in the series and just as good as the first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    GOOD

    GREAT SERIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Great Sci Fi book!

    I loved this book it hooked me from the beginning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Highly Recommended, this is a must read for all the werewolf lovers

    This is the 2nd book in series and I have moved on to the 3nd one now. Patricia Briggs bring to life characters that you have feeling for. I loved the book and I'll continue to read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Kim harrison fans

    Anyone that loves the dead witch walking series will love these books they have a similar style .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Highly Recommed

    If you like the paranorml, vampirre, werewolf, etc. you will enjoy the Mercy Thompson series. I bought all 4 books in the series and enjoyed each and every one. There was just enough lighthearted action keeping it from being too dark and depressing. I will miss Mercy and her friends. I look forward to reading other books by Patricia Briggs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62