Customer Reviews for

Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(815)

4 Star

(290)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mercy , Mercy, Mercy!

    Wow! This is one book that doesn't need all the erotic romance to make it a great series! A great read for any age. ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Great Sci Fi book!

    I loved this book it hooked me from the beginning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Mercy Thompson is a VW auto mechanic and a walker. She owes Step

    Mercy Thompson is a VW auto mechanic and a walker. She owes Stephan a favor and he's calling to collect. Neither Stephan or Mercy expect what's about to happen yet the consequences are dire for everyone involved. They meet up with a sorcerer named Corey Littleton who also happens to be a vampire. They discover that Littleton also has demon inside him. Mercy is injured during the favor which upsets Stephan and Samuel to no end. Now the hunt is on to find Littleton and destroy him before he does anymore damage. Mercy is not sure how to act around Adam yet doesn't want to hurt Sam's feeling either. When Warren is found injured at Uncle Mike's, Mercy is determined to reunite him and Kyle no matter the cost which is not a popular idea among pack. Can Littleton be stopped? Can Mercy find Littleton? Who created Littleton? Will Warren be okay? What does Mercy really feel for Sam and Adam? Your answers await you in Blood Bound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Nice read

    Someone suggested this series to me because I enjoy Kim Harrison. These books are entertaining and I can't put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Love

    I couldnt put this down. I love the idea of her being something other than a wolf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced and action packed

    This is the second book in the Mercy Thompson series and it was deliciously good. Mercy's vampire friend Stefan asks her to be a witness for a message he must deliver to a visiting vampire. This new vampire isn't your typical vampire and has a demon inside him. The vampires, werewolves and fae need this killer contained and Mercy may be the only one to stop him. The story was action packed and the romantic triangle between Mercy, hunky Alpha Adam and the good Dr. Sam..hand me begging for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the first. However, read my warning about 3rd book!

    I'm still not exactly sure why I'm hesitant to give this book 5 stars. I found Blood Bound to be even better than the first book, because the reader is already familiar with the characters, background stories, and werewolf/vampire/fae/walker relationships. I also found the plot about a demon-possessed sorcerer turned vampire to be more interesting than the plot of Moon Called. Therefore, I definitely recommend reading this book, so you can actually enjoy the world Briggs' created and explained in the first installment. There is something about werewolves that doesn't quite grab my attention as other creatures do in fantasy series, so I think that's why I rated it just shy of five stars. For me, there's a little bit of a disconnect between the human element and the animal side of the characters. WARNING / UPDATE - I really enjoyed books 1 and 2, and I would recommend them to other readers; however, I suggest that you read my review about the third installment. The last 60 pages or so include a heavy topic that some people may not want to read. I wish somebody would have warned me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    loved it cant wait for the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series!!!

    What a character! Mercy Thompson has everything I expect out of a heroin - plus some! I am really enjoying the dynamics of the characters in these books, and I am eager to start the next one! If you enjoy paranormal fantasy, Briggs should be on your "must read" list!

    If you enjoyed this story, you will definitely like "Dead Witch Walking" by Kim Harrison, "Dead Until Dark" by Charlene Harris. And for a more racy read, "Full Moon Rising" by Keri Arthur (my personal favorite).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Great series!

    Book two of Mercy Thompson series, not a dissapointment after the first one. Patricia Briggs keeps you turning the pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    strong and idependet

    though you can trust keep close

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Delightful

    It is so much fun reading Patirica Briggs's novels! Mercy Thompson is a character worth following.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    Buy it

    I will definitely read more from this author. She's creative, her characters are well developed and her plotline for this book was original. I wondered how one would do a vampire/werewolf story without rehashing material and Patricia did it successfully. Shapeshifting into a coyote was brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    Captivated my attention

    Briggs absolutely captivates me with her world of preternatural creatures! I find myself completely intrigued to learn the in's and out's of how these creatures live. Blood Bound turns its focus to the Vampire world. This book was thrilling. Parts of it had me scared and wondering if I would be able to sleep after reading. I love the dynamics of the werewolf pack. Briggs gives them definite wolf/dog characteristics and its fascinating. Normally I go for love stories with thrills and this series doesn't have a love story at center stage. It has love interests but it's VERY slow moving (however, it does seem to be building up to something that will soon take center stage). Nonetheless, with everything else going on it more than makes up for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    No Dissapointment here!

    Just as good as the first book.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better Than The First Book

    I enjoyed this book much more than Moon Called. Maybe it's because this one dealt with the vampires. The wolf pack is there, and you get more insight into the inner workings of the Alpha and his pack. But, I loved the vampires. This seethe (as its referred to in the book) is more how I picture vampires. They are evil and not to be trusted. Even Stefan, who Mercy considers to be a friend, I wouldn't want to be alone with in a room. I loved the descriptions of how each mythical creature's magic works. And the scene with the demon and Mercy at her trailer actually freaked me out a little (made me wish I wasn't reading it late at night with all the lights off)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blood Bound

    The first novel in the Mercy Thompson series was recommended to me by a bookseller at the local B&N. I was a bit skeptical, and found an interesting world in the first book. The second took me deeper and I found myself more interested in the characters and the story that Patricia Brigss is telling. Definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A nice alternative to Laurell K Hamilton

    I discovered this series flipping through a tabloid magazine and thought, "why not?!" Was pleasantly surprised. Has a touch of Laurell K. Hamilton with the fantasy creatures in an otherwise normal world, but a little less "adult". Good story lines, a likable main character, and keeps you coming back for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    more vampires, yes please

    I am really enjoying the Mercy Thompson series. Patricia Briggs' world of vampires, werewolves, etc is so creative and entertaining. These character types are not at all new, but she adds a fresh take on it. And the characters are likeable. Her writing style is very easy to read and I find myself getting through these books quicker than normal for me. I would definitely recommend picking it up if you enjoy this type of genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15