Customer Reviews for

Blood Bound (Unbound Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Amazing!

    Thought i wouldnt enjoy this book but in fact i lost sleep over this amazing tale! It had me laughing all the way and cursing out loud a truely amazing must read :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great plot, good writing and a story that will make you want to read more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    As a big fan of the Shifter series, I was very excited to find t

    As a big fan of the Shifter series, I was very excited to find that Rachel Vincent had a new series. Blood Bound is a great book, one that is hard to put down. The characters are interesting, the plot is ingenious, and the twists were just right. I think it would have been stronger if the POV hadn't shifted between the two main characters, but it was a good way to reveal the story since everyone was hiding secrets and harboring a decade's worth of back story. I'm certainly going to keep reading this series! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    As a dedicated fan of Vincent other series it was a no question

    As a dedicated fan of Vincent other series it was a no question that Blood Bound would be a must read. This debut reminded me a lot of Faith in the Shifters series; with a history of romance between the main characters it is easily to jump right into the story without a lot of detail. As the story progresses readers will learn the ins and outs of the characters while experiencing their powerful and intense journey. Blood Bound is an adult paranormal romance, and in comparison to her shifters series is seems to hold back, so of the intensity that I have come to expect. That being said I must also note the the potential is obvious, and I look for more in Shadow Bound. Unfortunately, I after concluding I discovered that book two is about Kori, rather than Liv and Cam, but after one book under belt I look for the comfort to display in the installments to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    It's been  little while since I have read any of Rachel Vincent'

    It's been  little while since I have read any of Rachel Vincent's books, and I have been sitting on this one for a while. I am so glad that I finally had the chance to read it. It. Is. Amazing. I loved Rachel Vincent's Shifter series and I can say that I am going to be itching to get the rest of this one as well. The story is about Liv and Cam. They are two very special Skilled people. Skilled people are people with a special skill that normal humans do not have, kind of like the movie Push. Both Cam and Liv are called Trackers because they have to ability to find people using either their name or their blood. The range that their skills work vary, but since they are typically hired while the person is still in their range, everything works out. Well Liv and Cam were in love, so much so that Cam thought they would someday be husband and wife. Then one day Liv walks out on him with no explanation at all.

    The story takes place six years later. Cam has been keeping track of where Liv is and Liv has been trying to survive. The city they both live in is divided into three territories. One ruled by the gangster/criminal Jake Tower. Another ruled by the gangster/criminal Reuben Cavazos. The third is considered free, but you have to pay a lot of money to be able to remain unaffiliated. Liv has gotten herself mixed up with the Cavazos side of town, trying not to become someone she doesn't want to be. When Cam shows up on one of her jobs begging her to visit with an old friend, she knows that this is going to be nothing but bad news. She had no clue how bad it was really going to get. 

    Read more reviews at Identity Discovery Blog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this new book from Rachel Vincent. The new worl

    I really enjoyed this new book from Rachel Vincent. The new world brings in a group of complex characters in a mafia type setting. Only this is even more difficult to get out of than even the mafia. You are bound by blood and cannot go against orders upon pain of a slow death.

    I was not a huge fan of the first person dialog from two different questions. I would prefer stories that have more than one point of view to be written in third person. At the beginning of each chapter you had to take a second to figure out who was talking. That is really my only complaint about the book, and it is not a big complaint. I love Rachel Vincent's work. Someone else wrote that she can do no wrong and I am inclined to agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Great new story line

    Love love love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    At chapter one I was filled with the joy of reading a new to me

    At chapter one I was filled with the joy of reading a new to me book. Hmmm…seems like a strong heroine, oooh humans with powers. By chapter five I had lost that new book glow and was looking for reasons to continue because this book couldn’t end quickly enough. By chapter ten, ambivalence had settled in for the remainder of the read.

    I wanted to care about the characters but never found them engaging enough. They seemed to be too self-serving and manipulative for my taste. Secrets? Ok, I get that but this?!?!? They were galloping into domination country, with all dominants. Also there was way too much drama. I could hear the music where just they unveiled the killer - several times! (*shudder*) I was dizzy from the ever changing POV's.

    So what did I like? Actually the plot was intriguing enough to make me want to read it and it is what kept me going. Other than the characterization the mechanics of the story were just fine. I’m undecided if I would continue with this series because the first of a series can be forgiven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Awesome start to a new series!

    This series is a little different than some of the others I've read recently. The rules in this world are more complex and involved than in some other series, but for all that I found them fairly simple to follow. In this world, there are normal people without special abilities (known as Skills) and then there are the Skilled. The skilled are human and have one of about 12 different talents (not all of which have been identified to us) and those talents come in various forms and levels of abilities (for instance, a Tracker may be able to track a person by name or through blood and maybe within a few miles or as far away as 100 miles). However, the government has not "recognized" Skills as a legitimate thing so these abilities are not allowed in court or police cases, are not "admitted to", and are not controlled in any way - leaving the less savory in the world to create mafia type organizations that magically "Bind" (another Skill) Skilled people to a specific organization.

    This story follows Cameron and Liz, two Skilled people who had a prior relationship that was ended suddenly 6 years ago by Liz without any explanation to Cam. Now they end up working together to help a mutual friend solve the murder of her husband. Both Cam and Liz are hiding several things from the other and those secrets are huge on both sides.

    I found the story intriguing and I enjoyed both characters. The story took several twists and turns and we discovered many of the secrets at the same time as the characters. The mystery part of the story (the who done it and why part of the murder case) kept the reader guessing and the action was pretty constant. The POV in the book changed almost every chapter and, while I had no problems with that, I can see where a more casual reader might. Generally, the change in POV becomes obvious in a few sentences (or less).

    I am looking forward to the next book, although I'm not sure where the author is planning to go with the story for Liz and Cam. The next installment (according to the write ups) follows a different character for the love interest portion, but the ending of this book for Cam and Liz was not complete. There is still a stiuation anging with them and I would really like to know where it goes and how it affects their relationship. I hope that's covered in the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Amazing!

    I cant wait for the next book. Rachel vincent provided a whole new world to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    This Book was awesome

    I bought this book and read it all in two days. The characters were well thought out and was mysterious and kept you guessing. I highly recommed this book to anyone. I have read my books by this author but this is one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting new world

    Blood Bound by Rachel Vincent is about Olivia, who is a blood tracker. She can find people pretty much anywhere if she has just a drop of their blood. As a child Olivia was unknowingly bound by blood to her childhood friends. In the present she is bound to Cavazos, a not very nice guy who runs half of the city. She works for him as a tracker. The story begins with Olivia meeting up with one of her childhood friends, who make a request Olivia cannot refuse. An old flame, Cam, also gets involved to help Olivia track down a killer. As the story unfolds, we see that things are not always what they seem. There were so many twists and turns in this story that it keeps you on the edge, wanting to read more to find out what was going to happen.

    I really like that we got two different points of view in this book. We got to see through Olivia's eyes and also Cam's, though there really needed to be better transition between the two. It was really confusing at times not knowing who was talking, and then I would have to go back and re-read a paragraph or two when I realized the POV had changed.

    The world the author created was wonderful. It is unlike anything I've read in a long time. She was able to creat this dark, complex world using Skilled humans¿no shifters, vampires, etc. I really enjoyed it and look forward to reading more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars! Too many rules...

    I want to start off by saying that Blood Bound presents an interesting world to readers.
    Humans are either Skilled or Unskilled, and Olivia, the main character, is a skilled tracker.
    She can track people by the scent of their blood and she can track people by their name, but she is better at blood tracking.
    The plot is way too complicated to explain, but it involves a group of old friends with various skills, her former boyfriend, and two syndicates/mobsters that control the city. These syndicates manipulate Skilled people into working for them. The recruits have to sign a contract, which binds them to the mobster for several years, and in the process they also sign over part of their free will. To make a long story short, these oaths dictate what a person can and cannot do, and it makes for a very convoluted plot where each character tries to find loopholes around his or her bindings, etc...
    It's like a complicated math problem, you don't ever want to solve again.
    And even though everything seems to be resolved at the end, the main characters end up in the same position as they were in at the beginning. What happened to character development?!
    Since everything is so complicated, the author Rachel Vincent has to keep repeating the rules and reasoning behind every action of her characters.
    Also, Vincent switches POV between Olivia and Cam, her former boyfriend, about every other chapter, which frustrated me.
    The tone and mannerisms are exactly the same for each character, so I had a hard time discerning the two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!!

    Fascinating and captivating; these are two words that first come to mind when describing Blood Bound. I loved the concept of the story. Four friends made a pact when they were kids, not knowing that one of them was a Binder. Now they are bound to each other, and one of them only has to ask and the others are rendered helpless to deny them. Helpless as in their bodies begin systemically shutting down organ by organ until they either fulfill their oath or they die. Some choice .and that's only a fraction of the story. The town is basically divided into two territories. One side is controlled by Jake Tower and the other by Ruben Cavazos. Both are powerful adversaries and they hire the best binders, trackers, seers, shadow travelers and jammers money can buy. I can't imagine living in a world where I should never tell anyone my full name, or avoiding hospitals in order to never leave behind a drop of my blood for fear of being tracked and bound. I struggled a bit in the beginning trying to learn some of the terms in the magical world Rachel Vincent created, but once I got the hang of it, I was sucked in. The POV changes every chapter, and I wasn't sure how I felt about that at first, but I really loved hearing the inner monologue of both lead characters. I do love a male POV and Cam does not disappoint. He is so charming and appealing. He and Liv have perfect chemistry: "I realized that I'd rather die with you than live with someone else." The ending came entirely too soon and left me hanging in a way that has me pining for Shadow Bound (Unbound #2). I look forward to reading more of Rachel Vincent's work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Rachel Vincent does not disappoint!

    This book had me sucked in from the first few pages and kept me there until the very end. I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Great read

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!!

    A great story line, well written, the characters are gripping, a lot of twists. I didn't want to put it down, and I actually gasped a couple of times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    If you love Rachel's Shifter series, you'll love Blood Bound. It has the same twisted and crazy plots set in an entirely different world. It not only has one awesome lead, but two. I loved reading both points of view because it gave me so much more insight into the characters. Definitely an awesome book and I can't wait until Shadow Bound comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great first book in a new series

    Wow - I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this first installment. I thought the previous Shifter series by Rachel Vincent was just "ok." This book however was much better. A truly unique plot with interesting characters. Lots of obstacles but nothing that seemed too contrived. I look forward to seeing what happens next for Liv, Cam and the whole group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a new series!

    This book was fantastic. My only complaint is that Barnes & Noble has classifed this book as a romance novel. I never understood why Rachel Vincent's Shifter series was considered romance, and perhaps they shelved this book there as it is the same author....Anyway, this book most definitely falls in the urban fantasy category. So for those of you who might be put off of this series because it is categorized as romance, fear not. It is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5