Customer Reviews for

Blood Bound (Unbound Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great plot, good writing and a story that will make you want to read more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    It's been  little while since I have read any of Rachel Vincent'

    It's been  little while since I have read any of Rachel Vincent's books, and I have been sitting on this one for a while. I am so glad that I finally had the chance to read it. It. Is. Amazing. I loved Rachel Vincent's Shifter series and I can say that I am going to be itching to get the rest of this one as well. The story is about Liv and Cam. They are two very special Skilled people. Skilled people are people with a special skill that normal humans do not have, kind of like the movie Push. Both Cam and Liv are called Trackers because they have to ability to find people using either their name or their blood. The range that their skills work vary, but since they are typically hired while the person is still in their range, everything works out. Well Liv and Cam were in love, so much so that Cam thought they would someday be husband and wife. Then one day Liv walks out on him with no explanation at all.

    The story takes place six years later. Cam has been keeping track of where Liv is and Liv has been trying to survive. The city they both live in is divided into three territories. One ruled by the gangster/criminal Jake Tower. Another ruled by the gangster/criminal Reuben Cavazos. The third is considered free, but you have to pay a lot of money to be able to remain unaffiliated. Liv has gotten herself mixed up with the Cavazos side of town, trying not to become someone she doesn't want to be. When Cam shows up on one of her jobs begging her to visit with an old friend, she knows that this is going to be nothing but bad news. She had no clue how bad it was really going to get. 

    Read more reviews at Identity Discovery Blog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this new book from Rachel Vincent. The new worl

    I really enjoyed this new book from Rachel Vincent. The new world brings in a group of complex characters in a mafia type setting. Only this is even more difficult to get out of than even the mafia. You are bound by blood and cannot go against orders upon pain of a slow death.

    I was not a huge fan of the first person dialog from two different questions. I would prefer stories that have more than one point of view to be written in third person. At the beginning of each chapter you had to take a second to figure out who was talking. That is really my only complaint about the book, and it is not a big complaint. I love Rachel Vincent's work. Someone else wrote that she can do no wrong and I am inclined to agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Great new story line

    Love love love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    This Book was awesome

    I bought this book and read it all in two days. The characters were well thought out and was mysterious and kept you guessing. I highly recommed this book to anyone. I have read my books by this author but this is one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting new world

    Blood Bound by Rachel Vincent is about Olivia, who is a blood tracker. She can find people pretty much anywhere if she has just a drop of their blood. As a child Olivia was unknowingly bound by blood to her childhood friends. In the present she is bound to Cavazos, a not very nice guy who runs half of the city. She works for him as a tracker. The story begins with Olivia meeting up with one of her childhood friends, who make a request Olivia cannot refuse. An old flame, Cam, also gets involved to help Olivia track down a killer. As the story unfolds, we see that things are not always what they seem. There were so many twists and turns in this story that it keeps you on the edge, wanting to read more to find out what was going to happen.

    I really like that we got two different points of view in this book. We got to see through Olivia's eyes and also Cam's, though there really needed to be better transition between the two. It was really confusing at times not knowing who was talking, and then I would have to go back and re-read a paragraph or two when I realized the POV had changed.

    The world the author created was wonderful. It is unlike anything I've read in a long time. She was able to creat this dark, complex world using Skilled humans¿no shifters, vampires, etc. I really enjoyed it and look forward to reading more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Rachel Vincent does not disappoint!

    This book had me sucked in from the first few pages and kept me there until the very end. I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Great read

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!!

    A great story line, well written, the characters are gripping, a lot of twists. I didn't want to put it down, and I actually gasped a couple of times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    If you love Rachel's Shifter series, you'll love Blood Bound. It has the same twisted and crazy plots set in an entirely different world. It not only has one awesome lead, but two. I loved reading both points of view because it gave me so much more insight into the characters. Definitely an awesome book and I can't wait until Shadow Bound comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a new series!

    This book was fantastic. My only complaint is that Barnes & Noble has classifed this book as a romance novel. I never understood why Rachel Vincent's Shifter series was considered romance, and perhaps they shelved this book there as it is the same author....Anyway, this book most definitely falls in the urban fantasy category. So for those of you who might be put off of this series because it is categorized as romance, fear not. It is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    What a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive!

    In the Unbound world, you are bound by your word. Whether by blood or verbal oath, you are compelled to keep your promises. Going against your word can be hazardous to your health and even deadly. This world is filled with Skilled and un-Skilled humans. Most Skilled humans align themselves with one of two mob-type bosses, sometimes against their better judgment or even against their own will.

    Liv Warren's life isn't always her own. A school girl promise, has Liv using her Blood Tracking Skills to help a childhood friend against her will. Liv is also forced to team up with he oh-so-sexy x-boyfriend Cam. He's the one man she can't live without, but has to. She is also secretly bound to a syndicate that basically owns her body and mind.

    I absolutely loved the dynamic between Liv and Cam. They have a sexual tension that is so electric it jumps off the page. You can feel it in every word shared and even in every casual touch. I enjoyed uncovering their past while reading the story, it make me root for them more and more. Liv is strong both physically, mentally, and emotionally. She's willing to give everything for the people she cares about. She isn't a victim, like most modern female characters. You can't help but fall in love with her character. I also enjoyed the secondary characters, and cannot wait to read more about them in Rachel's Unbound upcoming books.

    In true Rachel Vincent fashion, the ending of Blood Bound left me aching for more. She writes the most dramatic endings, that leave you torn between throwing the book at the wall and selling your first born for an advanced copy of the next book.

    Rachel has an amazing knack for building unique fictional worlds. In a sea of carbon copy urban fantasy series, Blood Bound is a breath of fresh air. Her writing is both multifaceted and brilliant!

    Overall, Blood Bound is a dark and seductive thrill ride. I found myself getting pulled in the Rachel's Unbound world, and not wanting to leave. I enjoyed untangling the web that is Blood Bound!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    A new adult series to love.

    I have found a brand new adult paranormal romance to love in Rachel Vincent's Blood Bound.

    Blood Bound had been on my to-read shelf and personal must buy list for several months. After the release of the synopsis and cover art I knew I had to get my hands on a copy. Luckily Rachel Vincent generously offered to send an advanced readers copy for review, to which I did my ever epic happy dance upon it's arrival.

    Upon opening the covers and beginning the first chapter I was immediately engrossed. I knew I'd love Liv right from the get-go with her kick ass attitude and tough personality. Loved it! As if the brand new kick ass heroine weren't enough, Vincent also reveals that Liv's a blood tracker. It was a lovely little twist to the new world discovered in Blood Bound. And who could forget about Cam, the ever handsome tracker who has a romantic past with Liv? Oh Cam (sighs) can I have you? Blood Bound is told in dual POV, that of Liv and Cam. Each chapter reveals something new about their past relationship, how it ended and why. Trust me, it isn't what you expect or assume. I additionally found myself loving the supporting characters, who all shared deep connections with both Liv and Cam. Yep, no shallow undeveloped characters here, just how I like it. The drama and the action; ah how sweet you were. The fight sequences and encounters between the characters had me latching onto the pages with excitement. Cam and Liv certainly knew how to handle their own.

    So let's have a run through:
    Romance ?
    Drama ?
    Action ?
    Mystery (?).... ??

    Oh yes, Blood Bound's got a mystery all of it's own. Rachel Vincent no doubt brought her A game with this one. I found myself guessing right through the end and I was completely surprised by the result.

    I found myself being very satisfied with Blood Bound. More than satisfied, actually. It was better than I dreamed. Rachel Vincent's Blood Bound offers a new world, a wonderful cast of characters and some hot steamy romance to adult paranormal lovers. A highly recommended adult read from yours truly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Page Turner! Highly recommend!

    Blood Bound is one of the most suspenseful books I have ever read. It's constant mystery, secrets and lies keeps you guessing and turning pages not realizing your almost finished with the book. I didn't want it to end although it's ending was remarkable. I loved that I was able to learn what happened with the other characters before the book ended not leaving me guessing. (I hate that). However, I do know that another book will be a sequel to this one because of how it ended.

    I loved the fact that the author didn't try to tell you everything at once. As you went along in the book, you learned along with the characters how everything evolves and falls in to place and how it happened in the first place. I love reading books that are in that sequence because I don't get confused and irritated and give up on the book. Good Job! I also liked that the story was completely different from anything I have ever read in the sense of paranormal. I love that it's paranormal but I love it even more that it's completely different then what you'd expect from a paranormal book. Overall, I loved this book and I am looking forward to reading the sequel.

    Liv Warren is the main character in this story and she's a "tracker". A "tracker" who can find anyone in a wide range with the scent of their blood. While at a party, she's approached by her best friend Elle, who's a "Seer" (she can see the future) and is told that she must stop seeing Cam because something horrible will happen in the future. Cam is also a "tracker". However, he can find people in a wide range by using their names. But it's not that simple. People with skills give their children two middle names, one from the father and one from the mother, in which none will ever know what name the other gave. The only person who will know it's entire name will be the one who's named.

    That's just a little inside scoop of what to expect in this story besides the summary from goodreads. There are a lot of "Skilled" people in this story with all different types of skills, but you will have to read the book in order to find out more. I highly recommend that you do, as it will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will enjoy the new paranormal Vincent world

    The four friends (Liv, Anne, Kori and Elle) swore an oath to never ask one another for help because if requested, the one asked would be compelled to do anything to accomplish the mission. Now despite the written pact Anne burned the document so she can make Liv Warren the bloodhound tracker locate the killer of her late thirty-four year old Asian husband Shen Liang; father of their five years old daughter Hadley.

    Liv the lone wolf has no choice due to that childhood blood oath, on which refusal means horrible death. When Hadley goes missing she has a more endearing reason to investigate. Liv and her former boyfriend Cam Caballero team up on the hunt in which his agenda is to learn why she ended their relationship.

    Blood Bound is superb first romantic urban fantasy investigative thriller as Rachel Vincent creates a fascinating dangerous world in which people are Skilled or Unskilled. The story line is fast-paced but held together by dynamic Liv whose convicted history impacts her big time today with the oath, her relationship with Cam, and her insistence she is not a blood splatterer anymore. Readers will enjoy the new paranormal Vincent world as fascinating Liv escorts fans around the deadly bloody landscape.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2