Customer Reviews for

Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book! Suspense!

If you like mystery and science fiction, this book is for you. This is the first book of the series and will keep you up waiting for what happens next. I love Nora Roberts; but this is not your typical romance. This one has lots of action and suspense. Enjoy.

posted by Purpleglo on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Is there a writer with some originality out there?

First, I picked up this book because the overview snagged me with the promise of a mystery. Instead, I was greeted with an insane mix of Stephen King meets Harlequin Romance..only written by a confused 12yr old girl. I found the path of the story ..once it did grab my a...
First, I picked up this book because the overview snagged me with the promise of a mystery. Instead, I was greeted with an insane mix of Stephen King meets Harlequin Romance..only written by a confused 12yr old girl. I found the path of the story ..once it did grab my attention..was constantly interrupted by silly daydreams of someone sitting in the corner playing barbie dolls. Now Ken..you sit over here with Barbie, and GI Joe, you are dating my Bratz doll Cloe and ..well, you get my point I hope. While Nora gave us a glimpse of the imagination she's capable of expanding on, she also showed us..when all else fails, give everyone a boyfriend..after all, a story just isn't worth reading unless you cram your personal sexual fantasies into it,or is it? I'd like to see what she could do with a single character line, someone undatable that possibly doesn't resemble the 'tall dark and handsome' outline that she seems so stuck on. Maybe then she could concentrate on the story line and not seem so confused in her delivery.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Is there a writer with some originality out there?

    First, I picked up this book because the overview snagged me with the promise of a mystery. Instead, I was greeted with an insane mix of Stephen King meets Harlequin Romance..only written by a confused 12yr old girl. I found the path of the story ..once it did grab my attention..was constantly interrupted by silly daydreams of someone sitting in the corner playing barbie dolls. Now Ken..you sit over here with Barbie, and GI Joe, you are dating my Bratz doll Cloe and ..well, you get my point I hope. While Nora gave us a glimpse of the imagination she's capable of expanding on, she also showed us..when all else fails, give everyone a boyfriend..after all, a story just isn't worth reading unless you cram your personal sexual fantasies into it,or is it? I'd like to see what she could do with a single character line, someone undatable that possibly doesn't resemble the 'tall dark and handsome' outline that she seems so stuck on. Maybe then she could concentrate on the story line and not seem so confused in her delivery.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book! Suspense!

    If you like mystery and science fiction, this book is for you. This is the first book of the series and will keep you up waiting for what happens next. I love Nora Roberts; but this is not your typical romance. This one has lots of action and suspense. Enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    amazing

    i loved this book. my mom actually got me to read it. she is a total nora roberts fan. and now i am too. congrats nora!! i cant wait til the third one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Great series of stories

    Great series if you like super natural events with demons and angles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    In writing Blood Brothers, Nora Roberts has joined an elite club

    In writing Blood Brothers, Nora Roberts has joined an elite club of authors who combine Romance and Horror to create page-turning thrill rides. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Let me start out by saying that Nora Roberts is a all around gre

    Let me start out by saying that Nora Roberts is a all around great writer who can write in just about every genre and be successful.  
    "Blood Brothers" is the first of the Sign of Seven Trilogy which includes such characters as Cal, Fox, Gage, Quinn, Layla, and Cybil.  These characters are well developed, each one having a certain ability and quirk about them that makes each one so likable. The characters are a wonderful mesh of personalities that make the book not only a great thriller but fun to read.  Though this book mostly focus on the chemistry between Quinn and Cal the reader still learns little odds and ends about the others through flashbacks and specifics of each of their abilities.  The way that the author ties all these characters to each other as well as the town is a true talent not many conquer.  The paranormal aspect of this book is a pleasant twist, surprising the reader more and more with every page turned. 
    I have to say that though i have read quite a few works by Nora Roberts (mostly paranormal) after book one of the "Sign of Seven" trilogy this has the possibility of being one of my favorite series written by her.  There are so many twist, turns, and surprises, page after page, that it becomes hard to put down, making me extremely excited about what adventures await within the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Did not want this story to end. Great read!

    Couldn't pit these books down. The great thing about discovering a trilogy after they have all been wrtten... no waiting! You just go from the 1sr through the 3rd and then regret when you've read them all. I just wanted the story to go on and on...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    DID IT AGAIN

    I loved this book right from the start.Loved,courage and loyality.Who could asked for more.Book 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This book grabs your attention right off the get go. You won't want to put it down. Once done, you are on to the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Great book

    I finished this book last night and started the 2nd. This book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time, I usually dont like demon stories, but this was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    It turned into lame romance novel.

    It started out just fine. I thought it would be an entertaining read. About halfway through it just started to make me angry. By the last quarter I didn't want to finish it. The author has no idea how men think and behave in real life. The male characters were only male in name. They didn't speak the way actual men do, they didn't behave nor think the way actual men do. The author failed at the task of keeping her own feminine voice out of her male characters personas. This was suppose to be horror story but the horror plot was thin and devolved into a vehicle for progressively schmaltzy, PG rated, heaving bosom romance. For instance, there was a scene in which the male lead was sleeping next to the heroine. She was wearing flannel pajamas and slept with his arm pinned down. He thought to himself that her, in flannel pajamas and his arm asleep with pins and needles, "just felt right" to him. Good lord. Most men have experienced this same situation and I would venture to say many have at least a fleeting thought, wondering even if only for a moment, if it would better to just live alone than to endure more similar nights. At best they might accept this situation for the sake of someone they think is worth it, but I'd be willing to bet big money few have thought it felt "just right." Most of the book was more of the same—men behaving how the author apparently wishes they behaved, which is basically subservient and gushingly adoring with no spine of their own. The supposed horror aspect of the novel seemed like an after thought. This would have made a better short story. As a novel, it grew frustratingly boring and way too corny. If you're a guy, pass on this one. If you're female and looking for a good scare, you'll probably wanna pass as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    If you like paranormal, you will like this book

    A good read. Plenty of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    awsome

    great trilogy!! definately worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great book!!

    Great book can't wait to read the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    This is a very interesting read that keeps you on your toes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Quick reads

    I read all books in the blood brothers trilogy. Light reading but interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Exciting story...

    I am enjoying the first in the "Sign of Seven" series by Nora Roberts. It is a curious plot with an exciting center. I am onto the next in the series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Love this series!

    I have read just about all of her books and have not been disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Great read...you will not be disappointed!

    entertaining and a quick read...a great trilogy which is usual for Nora Roberts...she does not fail to capture you and make you 'see' and 'feel' what is happening in this fast paced story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Read!

    Not your typical romance novel... a little (ok, a lot) creepy and full of suspense and paranormal occurances. Since it is a Nora Roberts book there is a love story mixed in, but this just adds to the dynamic of the story. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a good scare!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17