Customer Reviews for

Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book! Suspense!

If you like mystery and science fiction, this book is for you. This is the first book of the series and will keep you up waiting for what happens next. I love Nora Roberts; but this is not your typical romance. This one has lots of action and suspense. Enjoy.

posted by Purpleglo on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Is there a writer with some originality out there?

First, I picked up this book because the overview snagged me with the promise of a mystery. Instead, I was greeted with an insane mix of Stephen King meets Harlequin Romance..only written by a confused 12yr old girl. I found the path of the story ..once it did grab my a...
First, I picked up this book because the overview snagged me with the promise of a mystery. Instead, I was greeted with an insane mix of Stephen King meets Harlequin Romance..only written by a confused 12yr old girl. I found the path of the story ..once it did grab my attention..was constantly interrupted by silly daydreams of someone sitting in the corner playing barbie dolls. Now Ken..you sit over here with Barbie, and GI Joe, you are dating my Bratz doll Cloe and ..well, you get my point I hope. While Nora gave us a glimpse of the imagination she's capable of expanding on, she also showed us..when all else fails, give everyone a boyfriend..after all, a story just isn't worth reading unless you cram your personal sexual fantasies into it,or is it? I'd like to see what she could do with a single character line, someone undatable that possibly doesn't resemble the 'tall dark and handsome' outline that she seems so stuck on. Maybe then she could concentrate on the story line and not seem so confused in her delivery.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Is there a writer with some originality out there?

    First, I picked up this book because the overview snagged me with the promise of a mystery. Instead, I was greeted with an insane mix of Stephen King meets Harlequin Romance..only written by a confused 12yr old girl. I found the path of the story ..once it did grab my attention..was constantly interrupted by silly daydreams of someone sitting in the corner playing barbie dolls. Now Ken..you sit over here with Barbie, and GI Joe, you are dating my Bratz doll Cloe and ..well, you get my point I hope. While Nora gave us a glimpse of the imagination she's capable of expanding on, she also showed us..when all else fails, give everyone a boyfriend..after all, a story just isn't worth reading unless you cram your personal sexual fantasies into it,or is it? I'd like to see what she could do with a single character line, someone undatable that possibly doesn't resemble the 'tall dark and handsome' outline that she seems so stuck on. Maybe then she could concentrate on the story line and not seem so confused in her delivery.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    Blood Brothers (Sign of the Seven series #1)

    I found the plot good and the characters good. The writing is average or better. My biggest problem with these books are the detailed love scenes. I have no problem with love interests in a novel but I don't want to be told details of their love-making. I probably will not be getting books by this author again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Nora scores well for Christmas

    My husband unknowingly bought the third in this series for me for Christmas. So, of course, I had to buy the first 2 to read first. I don't usually like fantasy or science fiction, which these books seem to contain elements of. But the mystery itself is keeping me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    NR

    is a great writer but it was so predictable. i wish she wouldn't introduce the other girls(layla chybil) yet its like i already know what is going to happen....and i did not care for quinn that much, she was annoying...but she makes you want to read the other too which feels like forever till they come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    A bit too Stephen King for me....

    but still good - I don't think NR is capable of writing a bad book however, this is a bit too dark-side for me - I much prefer her white magic books & trilogies & so this is not my favorite, but still an interesting enough storyline & because I want to know what happens, I'll probably read the other two. I do feel NR is bringing a bit too much of the horror genre into her writing 'her last trilogy was loaded w/gory vampires' & it's not my favorite storyline. I hope she'll still continue to write beautiful trilogies like the Born In, Key & my favorite, the Three Sisters series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    That's it?

    I enjoyed every second of this book, up until the end, where I felt the author ran out of steam. The ending was not one of her greatest. I understand that it's a trilogy and the readers are supposed to be left in suspense, but the ending just lacked energy and drive. Maybe the next book will be better. Lets hope so. The written interaction of all characters is wonderful. Each chapter was filled with witty dialogue and suspenseful interactions. The readers could see the sizzling chemistry between the characters. It was just the ending that I was disappointed in. The ending could definitely have used more detail and energy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Seeing a Pattern

    This is the second series by Nora Roberts that I have read. The first being Morrigan's Cross/Dance of the Gods/Valley of Silence. This book although a great story line, I see a pattern to the other books. Not so much in story as in the development of the characters. In this book you have Cal Hawkins an average guy who lives with an extraordinary secret, and you also meet his two best friends, Fox and Gage. Due to the secret surrounding their town and lives a writer, Quinn, comes out to investigate the story. From the minute you meet this character, the story starts to revolve around her. She becomes bossy, annoying and a know-it-all. This was true in the previous series I read. And then of course Quinn and Cal fall in love and blah, blah, blah... For some reason, I suspect the next book will revolve around Fox and the woman he will have to fall in love with, Layla. And let me see into the future and predict the final book in the series will be Gage and Cybill falling in love. Again predictable and if you read the previous story a bit repetitive. I'm sure I will read the rest of the series however, I will be hesitant to read another series by Nora Roberts due to the fact that they are going to be predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2