Customer Reviews for

Blood Canticle (Vampire Chronicles Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Ending...To A Great Series!

I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series gre...
I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series great! No one can write like this amazing woman, and she ended the series wonderfully.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Skip It...

Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled w...
Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled with the way Taltos ended, but I would have rather left it at that than bring them into the Vampire Chronicles. I've never liked Mona Mayfair, but reading this book I really hated her. I was also dissapointed with the fate of the Taltos, I never expected them to make as a species, but I just wasn't feeling the way things ended for them. It was sad for me to read about the Mayfairs in this book because I really loved all the characters so much in the other books, and now Rowan is depressing and dissapointing and Michael is sweet, but blind and miserable. My biggest complaint though was Lestat. It's been awhile since I've read one of "his" books and maybe my memory is failing me, but he used to seem different, I can't explain it. In this book though he was really getting on my nerves especially at the beginning, it's as though he had a hard time getting his story going. It was a lot of random ramblings. I was also getting tired of him trying to convince everyone how he was so bad and evil and that there wasn't any good in him, like he so desperately has something to prove. Personnaly I didn't need the closure that this book attempted to give. I read it because I read all the others, I just figured I've come this far... It was a mistake. It left things on a bad note for me and now I'm sitting here feeling bummed out and dissapointed. Anne Rice is an excellent writer, but it was definetely not her finest hour.

posted by 1222130 on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    Skip It...

    Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled with the way Taltos ended, but I would have rather left it at that than bring them into the Vampire Chronicles. I've never liked Mona Mayfair, but reading this book I really hated her. I was also dissapointed with the fate of the Taltos, I never expected them to make as a species, but I just wasn't feeling the way things ended for them. It was sad for me to read about the Mayfairs in this book because I really loved all the characters so much in the other books, and now Rowan is depressing and dissapointing and Michael is sweet, but blind and miserable. My biggest complaint though was Lestat. It's been awhile since I've read one of "his" books and maybe my memory is failing me, but he used to seem different, I can't explain it. In this book though he was really getting on my nerves especially at the beginning, it's as though he had a hard time getting his story going. It was a lot of random ramblings. I was also getting tired of him trying to convince everyone how he was so bad and evil and that there wasn't any good in him, like he so desperately has something to prove. Personnaly I didn't need the closure that this book attempted to give. I read it because I read all the others, I just figured I've come this far... It was a mistake. It left things on a bad note for me and now I'm sitting here feeling bummed out and dissapointed. Anne Rice is an excellent writer, but it was definetely not her finest hour.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    A Big Disappointment

    I am a diehard Anne Rice fan, but the last book in the Vampire Chronicles was so disjointed and far removed from the rest of the series, that it seems like someone else wrote it. I'm sure it had a lot to do with the fact that her husband was very ill at the time. Though she may not have realized it, her focus appears to have been elsewhere because it certainly was not on the book. I have recommended almost evey book she's ever written but I would definitely not advise a potential Anne Rice convert to begin here (or even end here). Hopefully, her future efforts will be reminiscent of her past successes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    A Great Ending...To A Great Series!

    I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series great! No one can write like this amazing woman, and she ended the series wonderfully.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Honestly lestat really? I am disappointed

    How can i say i dislike this book? I cant but i have yet to finish. My brat prince seems like a different vampire. I mean yes hes fallen for people before right? So why am i so upset about rowan? I was fine with everyone lestat. Louis. Claudia. Marius. armand. Mona. Quin. Dora. That girl you raped from that resturant. Whats her face from the body thief. David. The dog. Even your own mother. But for some reason rowan is unacceptable. I cant stand how you fawn over her. I was hoping the last book would be a blow out with all the previous characters making cameos even if they just popped in and screamed "lestat u iidiot brat prince!" Or something! I dont know....im just too sad to finish the book. I dont want my imortal to die....that way.....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Disappointing.....

    I had high hopes for this book but there just wasn't enough plot for the length of the book. Th first 230 pages I struggled not to quit reading and the last 70 pages were just held my attention. I think Anne needs to develop a whole new set of inrelated characters. These characters have been squeezed dry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    NICE

    A bit uneven, but overall a touching farewell to the rich worlds of the Vampire chronicles and the Mayfair Witches. TH
    hanks for the ride, Anne! Looking forward to reading it all again someday...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    Lestat still rules!

    I am one of the minority and proud of it! Have to say this book nicely rounded up the Mayfairs and the vampires for me.<BR/><BR/>It is sad that so many people have bashed this last chronicle of Rice. Esp the person who said it is toilet paper. It's not. <BR/>I personally loved it.Maybe because of my unique experience with it, I only read the VC from the back, starting from this and Merrick. ( agree that TVL and TOBT are the better volumes). Lestat sounds like both a teenager and a saint. I think It's because he was young when he was taken against his will. Did people dislike this ending because he doesn't sound like a powerful immortal who does not feel anything? Lestat yearns for redemption- such an emotional resonant concept. It is the special trait that marks the Ricean vamps as my favorite above the newer vamps. <BR/><BR/>It is the author's business if she wants to dedicate to whoever.Someone mocked her for presenting this poor piece of work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    What happened???

    After loving Blackwood Farm, this book was a huge disappointment. It was not interesting, the character development was seriously lacking, and there was little fun to be had. I think the book would have been more interesting from young Quinn's perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    Very Excited

    I'm very excited to read the next Vampire Chronicle in the series. I loved Blackwood Farm, and since this one takes up where Blackwood left off, I'm hoping it will be really good. Although, Blackwood Farm lacked in the vampire action, I still enjoyed it. I'm hoping Blood Canticle will have good vampire action and lots of bloody scenes.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    You know how sometimes you forgot you already read a book and yo

    You know how sometimes you forgot you already read a book and you buy it again expecting it to be new? Only to realize at some point that you've read it before? That's what happened to me just recently with Blood Canticle. I actually read this right after it came out in paperback, maybe ten years ago. I completely forgot that I had already read this Chronicle and ordered it again. The summary does not include the incident that would have tipped me off that I had already read it, the most memorable part of the book, which is when Lestat takes two charges on an expedition to an island and discovers... well that would be spoiling it. The rest of the book is more meandering, covering Lestat's introduction to the Mayfair witches, which is surprisingly low key even though he falls in love with one of them. As with all Rice novels, there is an underlying theme to the genre trappings. In this case, it has to do with gratitude of child to parent - how much is owed, where does parental responsibility begin and end, and is attaining self realization achieved at the cost of the relationship to the parent? All worthy questions to bring up in a book about a vampire who wants to be a saint, and witches who deliver Walking Babies. The plotting has been richer in previous Chronicles, but Lestat's irrepressible voice carries the book past most of the plotting flaws in this one. This is not the most memorable of the Chronicles, but it's put me in a mood to seek out the upcoming sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Anne Rice

    Anything this lady writes is pure magic!! I have read all her books, under her other names as well! She is the reason people have taken new ideas about vampires and witchs, she has surpassed any other authors who have written about vampires!!! Dracula is a childs vampire compared to the Vampire Lestat aka the Brat Prince. I very highly reccomend reading her Vampire and Witch collections as well as her other novels, once you start Interview or Witching Hour, I promise you will be hooked!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    ¿¿*''*..¿¿¿¿¿..*''*¿¿Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!¿¿*''*..¿¿¿¿¿..*''*¿¿

    Would Recommend all of her Vampire books. Also the Mayfair Witches. She writes with tastes and the plots are well written. You feel like your there in the stories. Can't wait for the wolf ones.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Beautiful Ending

    I really loved The Vampire Chronicles and reading The Lives of the Mayfair Witches. It's beautiful how Anne Rice fused these mesmerizing tales together a beautiful ending for both beautiful series. Lestat still the Dare devil and Brat Prince that we all know and love. Show's us a different side to him. Now a mischievous Angle Lestat must learn to fight his own desire's and he must solve the mystery of the Taltos. Mona Mayfair a beautiful witch now a beautiful harpy vampire. Is in search of her daughter Morrigan Mayfair, and she must learn the ways of the Immortals. And Rowan Mayfair Queen of the Mayfair Witch coven and brilliant Neurosurgeon is bewildered by our beautiful Mona Mayfair's transformation. And Michael Curry our humble hero of the Mayfair witch's seek's Lestat's help. And we see Julien Mayfair powerful male witch of the Mayfair family, hunting Lestat for Mona Mayfair's transformation. Overall Blood Canticles is a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    good anne rice book and good continuation of witches and vampire stories

    Lestat's diatribe a litle monotonous

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Canticle, the Vampire Chronicles, Book 10

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really enjoyed it

    I had read all the other Rice vampire & Mayfair Witches books before Blood Canticle and thought this was a well conceived marriage of the two series. The writing was exceptional and Lestat was fascinating as always! A great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    another anne rice classic

    a good addition to the vampire cronicles, intresting read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Is it the end of the Vampire Chronicles Series?

    I've been reading since the 1st one Interview with the vampire, and i've been keep tracking of the next book of the series...is it the end of the series~?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where did I go wrong?

    I used to love the Vampire Chronicles. Maybe it's just me, but I hated this book. I got through it rather quickly -- Anne Rice is a fast read -- but it secretly left me hoping it would get over soon.<BR/><BR/>Taltos? Really? Was that part necessary?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11