Customer Reviews for

Blood Canticle (Vampire Chronicles Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Ending...To A Great Series!

I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series gre...
I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series great! No one can write like this amazing woman, and she ended the series wonderfully.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Skip It...

Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled w...
Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled with the way Taltos ended, but I would have rather left it at that than bring them into the Vampire Chronicles. I've never liked Mona Mayfair, but reading this book I really hated her. I was also dissapointed with the fate of the Taltos, I never expected them to make as a species, but I just wasn't feeling the way things ended for them. It was sad for me to read about the Mayfairs in this book because I really loved all the characters so much in the other books, and now Rowan is depressing and dissapointing and Michael is sweet, but blind and miserable. My biggest complaint though was Lestat. It's been awhile since I've read one of "his" books and maybe my memory is failing me, but he used to seem different, I can't explain it. In this book though he was really getting on my nerves especially at the beginning, it's as though he had a hard time getting his story going. It was a lot of random ramblings. I was also getting tired of him trying to convince everyone how he was so bad and evil and that there wasn't any good in him, like he so desperately has something to prove. Personnaly I didn't need the closure that this book attempted to give. I read it because I read all the others, I just figured I've come this far... It was a mistake. It left things on a bad note for me and now I'm sitting here feeling bummed out and dissapointed. Anne Rice is an excellent writer, but it was definetely not her finest hour.

posted by 1222130 on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    Where has the intrigue gone? I am so confused.

    I admit I absolutely love Anne Rice's writing style, her research is far above that of many other authors but she has slowly been losing the spark that kept us on the edge of our seats since her early writing days. Living here in New Orleans and having worked for Ms. Rice in the past her books have always reflected what is going on in her life at the time. Remember Stan is Lestat and Michele is Claudia and she was Louis at the time of the writing of Interview. Now since her health scare several years ago with diabetes and the now over 1 year ago the loss of her beloved Stan she is once again writing of her life experiences. My only critique is that although mortals grow old and change vampires never change, their moods perhaps but not their personalities. Several years ago when Anne began the short stories of the vampires she was to do the same with the Mayfair witches expanding on Ancient Evelyn's history as well as many other of the witches, that should have been her focus in my opinion. Tell us the history of the characters we already know not adding more and more characters to just confuse us. The Vampire Chronicles was 3 books as was The Lives of the Mayfair Witches and they should have remained that way just telling us a history as Pandora did without going into more and more twist and turns to lose us. The Talamasca intermingling with both the vampires and witches was brilliant but to merge the two chronicles? Merrick was ok but it should have been the extent of the Mayfairs and vampires meeting. All in all I will always read her work for she is an outstanding author rich in history, detail and knowledge of the places she writes of so precise that we see it clearly in our minds as 1239 First Street is so clearly written in The Witching Hour as it is in reality. My only confusion is simple why would she sell something so exquisite that she took so much time and years to nurture and love, Lestat's true character and personality that we all know and love and St. Elizabeth's ... a beautiful villa in New Orleans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Can you be anymore obessed?

    I think that the new lestat rocks, I like the fact that he's grown up and got out of the childish, arrogant, rebel persona. Though he was cool when I was younger cause I myself could relate to him, but as I grew I had matured and I see that he has aswell. I love the newest edition to what I like to call the 'lestat tales'. Yes, yes, I know, childish but hey you don't like it, GET OVER IT. Lestat has changed and has changed for the better I might add. So for those of you who do not like the new lestat, and I'm sorry for saying this, it would seem as though you're obsessed with the old lestat, like you need him to be childish, and the boring old rebel that we've seen time and time again in movies, books, etc... So in conclusion I believe the new lestat rocks, he's still got the drive to be his on person but yet, still he's seen the other life, he's compared what he was and who he is now. Why can't you people except that he's grown up, yet still remained the same. Get over the childish fantasy, go out into the sunlight and get a tan. It's time to see the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    LONG TIME COMEING

    I HAVE BEEN ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT WAITTING FOR LASTAT AND MONA TO MEET THEY ARE THE PERFECT PAIR SHE WITH HER LUST FOR EVERTHING AND HIS LUST FOR MEN AS WELL AS WOMEN.NOT SINCE THE SERIES STARTED HAS THERE BEEN SUCH A TRIO. QUINTIN HAS NO HOPE OF NOT BEING ONE OF HER BEST THE SERIES STARTED. I FOR ONE HOPE TO HEAR AND READ ABOUT MORE MOVIES AND MIMI SERIES TO COME THANK YOU jACK AND GEORGE FRENCH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    So Upset....

    First let me say that I am a very big fan of Anne Rice, she has pleased me time and again, with all of her books. I usually find something beautiful about each of her books, but I must admit that Blood Canticle felt as though she were simply trying to meet a deadline. I'm not one of those fans who thinks that her work is gone downhill...I loved The Vampire Armand, and Blood and Gold, both of which I think were among the best of the series, even Merrick and Blackwood Farm were okay..but this one, I must say I am very sad. The story was thin, Lestat always seemed on the verge of greatness and never achieving it, I felt that he wasn't even interested in what was happening. Oh Anne, please don't let this be your last vampire chronicle, it just doesn't do you or your talent justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    Blood Canticle

    If you love the Vampire Chronicles, please don't read this book. It won't be the smashing hit you want it to be, it won't even come close. If you heard the Vampire Lestat was back and he's starring in Blood Canticle, you were lied to. The Lestat you knew in the first few books of the Chronicles is gone. Blood Canticle stars Saint Lestat, a contrived rip-off of the original. The butcher of Lestat's character aside, how do you remember all the other characters? You Mayfair fans, don't look for your characters here, unless your looking for the fancition-style card board cut-out of them. I'm as big an Anne Rice fan as the next person, believe me. And I wouldn't be saying such harsh things about her work if I didn't believe they were true. It saddens me to say it, but this book was nothing but a disappointment. I do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Confused

    I have been a fan of Anne Rice for a long time and have read everything she has witten, but....why did she have to take two great stories and combine them the way she did? I know that eventually, her vampires and the Mayfair family would cross each other's paths but I thought that was what 'Merrick' was all about. Why did she have to take it as far as she did? I don't like where she is going with this and I really hope that if she writes another vampire novel, that she can gives us a better story next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    She phoned it in!

    I haven't been this disappointed since I read Merrick(yuk!) Who needs another book if this is the best she can do. Her first two Vampire books were just excellent as where the Mayfair witches. Did she forget how to excite us??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    AWFUL

    I have been collecting Rice's books in hardcover editions for a few years, but lately, I have begun to second-guess my actions. She has turned from a great novelist to an absolute NIGHTMARE... Such pathetic prose! It is just hideous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    She did it again

    As only Anne Rice can, she brought the Brat Prince her fans have come to love back as only he could come back. No one, but absolutely no one, would spend the first chapter reminding the readers exactly who they were reading, while also managing to reprimand those same loyal fans for complaining about Memnoch, the last book 'written' by the Brat Prince himself. Lestat, now out of his slumber, comes back to tell us a new tale, and totally intermingles the Mayfair witches and the Coven of the Articulate as no one else could have. For any true Rice fan, this is the combining of two wonderful worlds she created for us long ago. I am personally thrilled to see Lestat back in action. I have read every book Rice has written and loved them all, but none as much as the books written by Lestat himself. He has a charm both Louis and David do not, probably because they are not the take charge, do anything, but always want to be loved and forgiven Brat Prince Lestat is. I hope Rice continues the chronicles, but if not, I will continue to read them, after all these years it is like visiting with old friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    Blood Canticle

    If you love the Vampire Chronicles, please don't read this book. It won't be the smashing hit you want it to be, it won't even come close. If you heard the Vampire Lestat was back and he's starring in Blood Canticle, you were lied to. The Lestat you knew in the first few books of the Chronicles is gone. Blood Canticle stars Saint Lestat, a contrived rip-off of the original. You fans of Lestat, tell me, would Lestat renounce his belief in the Savage Garden and the laws of aesthetics? Would he tell you that every word from the Pope's mouth is the undeniable truth? Would he yell at another immortal for dressing like a slut? No, you say? Then your Lestat is not in this book. The butcher of Lestat's character aside, how do you remember all the other characters? You Mayfair fans, did Michael have a collapsible spine? Did Julien just stand around delivering trite insults? Did Mona stumble about like a petulant eight-year-old? No? The characters you remember are gone. I'm as big an Anne Rice fan as the next person, believe me. And I wouldn't be saying such harsh things about her work if I didn't believe they were true. It saddens me to say it, but this book was nothing but a disappointment. I do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Witch way?

    I have read the entire Vampire Chronicles and the Mayfair Witches, and I have been pleased until now. This book is lovely, as who can say it was not? But the story went too fast, the charecters not as believable as before and it seemed the traditional Anne Rice passion was gone. I was not surprised as everything began to happen because it was so predictable. I think she should have done something a bit more interesting with this book. But of course, I did love it though it had many flaws. I'm really more a fan of the Witches than the vampires I guess =P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    Blood Canticle

    If you love the Vampire Chronicles, please don't read this book. It won't be the smashing hit you want it to be, it won't even come close. If you heard the Vampire Lestat was back and he's starring in Blood Canticle, you were lied to. The Lestat you knew in the first few books of the Chronicles is gone. Blood Canticle stars Saint Lestat, a contrived rip-off of the original. You fans of Lestat, tell me, would Lestat renounce his belief in the Savage Garden and the laws of aesthetics? Would he tell you that every word from the Pope's mouth is the undeniable truth? Would he yell at another immortal for dressing like a slut? No, you say? Then your Lestat is not in this book. But the butcher of Lestat's character aside, how do you remember all the other characters? You Mayfair fans, did Michael have a collapsable spine? Did Julien just stand around delivering trite insults? Did Mona stumble about like a petulant eight-year-old? No? The characters you remember are gone. I'm as big an Anne Rice fan as the next person, believe me. And I wouldn't be saying such harsh things about her work if I didn't believe they were true. It saddens me to say it, but this book was nothing but a disappointment. I do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    What happened?

    I have to tell you. I've read all of the vampire and witch books and most of them I have thouroughly enjoyed. But, I have to say if this is the end of such a well written series I'm am extremely dissapointed. I would like to say I think she will write 'one more' with a more fulfilling and all encompassing ending but I don't know if I even want to bother anymore. There are so many authors out there right now who still put some effort into their novels. I geuss what I'm trying to say is don't waste your money check out someone else to read. Anne is for lack of better word finished she should retire now. At least from the vampire/witch merge series or whatever you want to call it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Beautiful People

    In all my years of reading, Anne Rice's books have drawen me in. I would drop anything just to read a line or two of her books. It was a great way to end the series. Lestat has obviously growen up and he has gotten very beautiful in his growth. I enjoyed this book greatly. There is no need to redo it, just too pleae other people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Not Worth The Effort

    As a fan of both the Vampire Chronicles and the Mayfair Witch Chronicles I have to say Blood Canticle was unbelievable disappointing. I agree with other readers that the vampire chronicles has steadily declined in their ability to satisfy. But while Blackwood Farm and Pandora were passably good, I feel cheated wih this one. None of the characters leapt off the pages the way they normally do and in many respects bordered on annoying. Quinn faded into the pages of this one and Mona, a charming pixie in previous books, was nothing more than a brat. In the beginning it seemed Anne Rice attempted to explain away previous failures through Lestat, which came off as insincere and tawdry with more than a hint of 'lame excuse'. The constant overuse of the word 'Love' as though it had the same meaning as 'cheese' made the chracters seem shallow and their emotions meaningless. While she has used the word 'love' often in previous books, somehow in this one it seems to mean less than ever before. I find myself unsuccessfully trying to redefine the word in order to make sense of how everyone simply falls in love so easily. This Vampire/Witch world has a surreal unfinished quality that makes it nearly impossible to connect to. Perhaps it's time for Anne Rice to try something new. One can only milk an old cow for so long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Too 'problem solving'; brining all stories together, disappointedly

    I love Anne Rice, and have read every Vampire book, and Witching book written by her. I LOVED Blackwood Farm. I hated the 'speaking to the reader' thing that Lestat did in the first chapter, and then throughout the book. It was too forced, and totally beneath him. It was like reading a teenager do an on-line chat. I don't want to spoil the ending, but I was so psyched when one of the Mayfairs was made a vampire at the end of Blackwood Farm, but this book was SO not what I expected. I never found the Taltos very interesting anyway. The book rambled on for several chapters and then BAM everything happened. Mona's character was terrible, and the fact that everyone wants/hates/is jealous of Rowan is comic. Her character was never very intersting in the first place. This isn't the first Vampire book that I've been disappointed in. I'll read the next even, but I wish that this one had just been a dream, and that a much better story is in there somewhere. Even though Lestat 'wrote' this book, he doesn't do a darned thing in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Poor Lestat

    I was really excited when I heard this book was coming out. But, I must admit, now that I've read it I'm quite disappointed. It really lacked all the air of excitement and anticipation that came with all of Ms. Rice's older books. The plot could have been played out more dramatically and her colorful and vivid language was not used but in bits and pieces that did not seem to fit in. For the major part of the book all Lestat did was whine, he began to sound like Louis. I know he is going through a ¿moral evolution¿ but really it got to be too much! I hope that it¿s not the end for the vampire chronicles and that she will come back with a far better book to end it all. And if not I hope that Ms. Rice is proud and satisfied with her work, as she, and all of us, well should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    I miss The Vampire Lestat...

      Of course I will always love Interview with The Vampire, The Vampire Lestat and The Queen of the damned. But many Anne Rice fans agree they go down hill from there. There are certain circles that refer to my previously mentioned first three vampire chronicles as the ONLY vampire Chronicles. All the rest come off like fan fictions from some other person. Nothing done now can change what had been.  The Interview with the vampire is still the interview with the vampire.  The Vampire Lestat is still The Vampire Lestat, The Queen of the damned is still The Queen of the damned.  I just pretend it's 1989 and the others were not published yet.  They did not happen.         Lestat, in my mind, is still a rebel, still a brat, still mischievous, still questions things, still fearless, still angst driven, still a fighter, and still perseverent.  He's still riding around on his Harley, hunting down his killers and falling in love with the world.  He's still an optimist (He has a pessimistic view of humanity in Blood Canticle.)  He still views society today as an age of innocence and he's still my Lestat.  All the rest...  to me.. They're just fan fictions.        I wish Anne Rice had done a book that she once hinted about years ago.  The idea of the vampires being found out by some mortals and possibly captured and studies and then the escape...  Lestat talks about this idea in The Vampire Lestat.  That could have been a great novel, especially with our proud and defiant Lestat.  This conformist, prude, depthless, two-dimensional Lestat would fold under that pressure but the Lestat I know would not.  The first three vampire chronicles- that's my Lestat.  That will always be my Lestat and no one can take that away from me. I miss Lestat. Lestat in Blood Canticle is whining. And he's become a conformist. He's now a hard-core Catholic who questions nothing, a cold hypocrite, a misogynist, a prude, and pessimist. This is not our Lestat! Our Lestat was a brat. Our Lestat questioned things. Our Lestat was always a rebel. Changing his personality this abruptly is like saying he now has blue hair and orange eyes. The angst is gone. The fearless soul that could never be oppressed is gone. I did not love the fangs or the blonde hair. I loved his personality. I related to Lestat, not the vampire! She's forgotten who Lestat was. Lestat used to see this world as an age of secular innocence where evil doers were scarce. And now he says there are many in the cities who deserve the vampire's kiss. He's become depthless (if he had much depth to begin with.) He's two dimensional. He's hunting down rogues and rule breaker vampires! He is a rogue and rule breaker! I want Lestat, I don't want Angel from Buffy The Vampire Slayer! I want Lestat the way he was meant to be. If Anne Rice needed a new character to express her obsession and new-found conformist mentality she should have used ANYONE but The Brat Prince to express it! I think this book disappointed every Anne Rice fan, everywhere, one way or another. What happened to our man of action? Where's The James Bond of the Vampires? My God! In these later novels the character himself can't even get his own name right. He keeps saying he was twenty, he was twenty-one as a mortal when he killed the wolves so how could he appear twenty now? I know I'm being harsh but Anne calls this maturing for Lestat. Being mature does not mean clinging desperately to something without question. Being mature does not mean becoming sexist with fashion, and seeing evil everywhere where he once was in love with the goodness in society. Lestat was a brat but he had faith in goodness. Now he doesn't seem to have that faith. His real and pure faith has been replaced by something superficial, something dark. And the restless spirit, the angst driven rebel, the one who could not be dominated... Our beloved a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    amazing?

    I am surprised at the amount of people raving about this book without having read it. Well, I have seen a decline in Anne Rice's novels for the past 6 years now. They just repeat the novel before it. And this one retelling the story of Taltos again. And the constant 'I want to be a saint and cool too,' ravings of Lestat are annoying. All I can say is I miss the old days of THE WITCHING HOUR and the first three Vampire Chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Can't Believe the critics

    I was thrilled to see Lestat back in the Vampire Cronicles. His 'raving' as the critics put it is delightful. He's simply the most fun character to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11