Customer Reviews for

Blood Canticle (Vampire Chronicles Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Ending...To A Great Series!

I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series gre...
I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series great! No one can write like this amazing woman, and she ended the series wonderfully.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Skip It...

Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled w...
Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled with the way Taltos ended, but I would have rather left it at that than bring them into the Vampire Chronicles. I've never liked Mona Mayfair, but reading this book I really hated her. I was also dissapointed with the fate of the Taltos, I never expected them to make as a species, but I just wasn't feeling the way things ended for them. It was sad for me to read about the Mayfairs in this book because I really loved all the characters so much in the other books, and now Rowan is depressing and dissapointing and Michael is sweet, but blind and miserable. My biggest complaint though was Lestat. It's been awhile since I've read one of "his" books and maybe my memory is failing me, but he used to seem different, I can't explain it. In this book though he was really getting on my nerves especially at the beginning, it's as though he had a hard time getting his story going. It was a lot of random ramblings. I was also getting tired of him trying to convince everyone how he was so bad and evil and that there wasn't any good in him, like he so desperately has something to prove. Personnaly I didn't need the closure that this book attempted to give. I read it because I read all the others, I just figured I've come this far... It was a mistake. It left things on a bad note for me and now I'm sitting here feeling bummed out and dissapointed. Anne Rice is an excellent writer, but it was definetely not her finest hour.

posted by 1222130 on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    A Big Disappointment

    I am a diehard Anne Rice fan, but the last book in the Vampire Chronicles was so disjointed and far removed from the rest of the series, that it seems like someone else wrote it. I'm sure it had a lot to do with the fact that her husband was very ill at the time. Though she may not have realized it, her focus appears to have been elsewhere because it certainly was not on the book. I have recommended almost evey book she's ever written but I would definitely not advise a potential Anne Rice convert to begin here (or even end here). Hopefully, her future efforts will be reminiscent of her past successes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    What happened???

    After loving Blackwood Farm, this book was a huge disappointment. It was not interesting, the character development was seriously lacking, and there was little fun to be had. I think the book would have been more interesting from young Quinn's perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    So Upset....

    First let me say that I am a very big fan of Anne Rice, she has pleased me time and again, with all of her books. I usually find something beautiful about each of her books, but I must admit that Blood Canticle felt as though she were simply trying to meet a deadline. I'm not one of those fans who thinks that her work is gone downhill...I loved The Vampire Armand, and Blood and Gold, both of which I think were among the best of the series, even Merrick and Blackwood Farm were okay..but this one, I must say I am very sad. The story was thin, Lestat always seemed on the verge of greatness and never achieving it, I felt that he wasn't even interested in what was happening. Oh Anne, please don't let this be your last vampire chronicle, it just doesn't do you or your talent justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    Blood Canticle

    If you love the Vampire Chronicles, please don't read this book. It won't be the smashing hit you want it to be, it won't even come close. If you heard the Vampire Lestat was back and he's starring in Blood Canticle, you were lied to. The Lestat you knew in the first few books of the Chronicles is gone. Blood Canticle stars Saint Lestat, a contrived rip-off of the original. The butcher of Lestat's character aside, how do you remember all the other characters? You Mayfair fans, don't look for your characters here, unless your looking for the fancition-style card board cut-out of them. I'm as big an Anne Rice fan as the next person, believe me. And I wouldn't be saying such harsh things about her work if I didn't believe they were true. It saddens me to say it, but this book was nothing but a disappointment. I do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    She phoned it in!

    I haven't been this disappointed since I read Merrick(yuk!) Who needs another book if this is the best she can do. Her first two Vampire books were just excellent as where the Mayfair witches. Did she forget how to excite us??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    AWFUL

    I have been collecting Rice's books in hardcover editions for a few years, but lately, I have begun to second-guess my actions. She has turned from a great novelist to an absolute NIGHTMARE... Such pathetic prose! It is just hideous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    Blood Canticle

    If you love the Vampire Chronicles, please don't read this book. It won't be the smashing hit you want it to be, it won't even come close. If you heard the Vampire Lestat was back and he's starring in Blood Canticle, you were lied to. The Lestat you knew in the first few books of the Chronicles is gone. Blood Canticle stars Saint Lestat, a contrived rip-off of the original. You fans of Lestat, tell me, would Lestat renounce his belief in the Savage Garden and the laws of aesthetics? Would he tell you that every word from the Pope's mouth is the undeniable truth? Would he yell at another immortal for dressing like a slut? No, you say? Then your Lestat is not in this book. The butcher of Lestat's character aside, how do you remember all the other characters? You Mayfair fans, did Michael have a collapsible spine? Did Julien just stand around delivering trite insults? Did Mona stumble about like a petulant eight-year-old? No? The characters you remember are gone. I'm as big an Anne Rice fan as the next person, believe me. And I wouldn't be saying such harsh things about her work if I didn't believe they were true. It saddens me to say it, but this book was nothing but a disappointment. I do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    Blood Canticle

    If you love the Vampire Chronicles, please don't read this book. It won't be the smashing hit you want it to be, it won't even come close. If you heard the Vampire Lestat was back and he's starring in Blood Canticle, you were lied to. The Lestat you knew in the first few books of the Chronicles is gone. Blood Canticle stars Saint Lestat, a contrived rip-off of the original. You fans of Lestat, tell me, would Lestat renounce his belief in the Savage Garden and the laws of aesthetics? Would he tell you that every word from the Pope's mouth is the undeniable truth? Would he yell at another immortal for dressing like a slut? No, you say? Then your Lestat is not in this book. But the butcher of Lestat's character aside, how do you remember all the other characters? You Mayfair fans, did Michael have a collapsable spine? Did Julien just stand around delivering trite insults? Did Mona stumble about like a petulant eight-year-old? No? The characters you remember are gone. I'm as big an Anne Rice fan as the next person, believe me. And I wouldn't be saying such harsh things about her work if I didn't believe they were true. It saddens me to say it, but this book was nothing but a disappointment. I do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    amazing?

    I am surprised at the amount of people raving about this book without having read it. Well, I have seen a decline in Anne Rice's novels for the past 6 years now. They just repeat the novel before it. And this one retelling the story of Taltos again. And the constant 'I want to be a saint and cool too,' ravings of Lestat are annoying. All I can say is I miss the old days of THE WITCHING HOUR and the first three Vampire Chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Now that ive read this book...

    Okay ive been a huge fan of Ms. Rice for some time now, i love the Vampire Chronicles and the mayfair witches but this book was terrible. She should have never combined the two she pulled off Merrick okay but Blackwood Farm was boring and predictable. As For Blood Canticle it was extreamly dissapointing. She was hyping it up as her last vampire book (time will tell on that one) and to me it seemed like Taltos part two. The Vampire Chronicles are just a money making franchise now and im glad its finally over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Oh such a shame

    Rice's novels used to hold me captive. I could sit for hours reading her works as if they were made from fine wine (gee I sound like Lestat now). Since MEMNOCH THE DEVIL the Vampire Chronicles have gone down hill. Except for PANDORA and VICTORRIO, the other installments are the same story over and over again. The Armand and MArius based books are the same minus a handful of chapters and both repeating stories already told in THE VAMPIRE LESTAT. Now with this addition we have to go through BLACKWOOD FARM again. And why do we have to go through the history of Taltos again? I was very disapointed. I loved the the WITCHING HOUR. It is my favorite! But now the characters of Rowan and Michael seem so fake so not what they used to be. Sadily this book was a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Are you kidding me??

    I loved most of the 'Vampire Chronicles'. They established a rich and fascinating world full of wonderful characters and intricate storylines. The same can be said for The Witching Hour. And I have never had a problem with the combination of the two storylines. I thought that 'Merrick' was a enough of a connection without it getting to 'novel' like. But, unfortunately, Anne Rice does not feel the same way about her work. How else can you explain the horrendously boring 'Armand'? Or the numbing stupor that 'Blood and Gold' and 'Blackwood Farm' induced? I thought that 'Blackwood Farm' was as bad as novel's get, but I was wrong. 'Blood Canticle' redefines the genre with what is undoubtedly, the worst novel that I have ever read. There are so many things that can be said about the 'story', but why? Why should anyone take the time to dissect the 'intricacies' of a novel, when the author can't even be bothered with putting forth any effort? Simply put, 'Blood Canticle' is an insult to anyone who has ever read a 'Vampire Chronicle' or 'The Lives of the Mayfair Witches'. Anne Rice should be ashamed of herself, and so should her publisher and her editor for peddling this drivel. I have been amazed at any praise that this novel has recieved. I do believe that people are entitled to their own opinion, but did they actually read this book? It is so awful that I cannot comprehend their views. It seems as though she is still getting some good reviews for the same reason she still kinda sells -- habit. Throughout 'Blood Canticle', Lestat professes his desire to become saint. I suggest we do one better. Someone grab two pieces of wood and some nails.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Blood Canticle

         Yes, they're hers but she gave them to us and I have the right to be disappointed.   Any artist that abruptly changes something good that they've already created- the fans have a right to react. It's unhealthy to believe that any human being is infallible. You can be loyal to someone and still admit they have faults. Don't be afraid to speak up, you have voices, and you have the right to have an opinion other than absolute love for everything someone has done simply out of blind loyalty for what had once been glorious. Yes, Anne Rice is an artist. Yes, she's a genius but let's face it, kids, once she signed that fifteen million dollar contract that got her pushing two or three books out a year she dropped the ball. I'm an Anne Rice fan but I'm not afraid to say she made a mistake. Okay! She made a mistake. It's all right. It's not the end of the world. You're allowed to dislike something an artist creates. You can like a dozen movies by one director but if one doesn't sit right with you, that's okay. It's okay to admit she's wrong. I am a fan of Anne Rice. I adore the first three vampire chronicles (the trilogy as someone else once called it). But I'm not afraid to admit she's dropped the ball here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Blood Canticle

    Oscar Wilde once said that there's no such thing as a bad book, just badly written ones. Well, this was definitely a badly written book. It's very inconsistant with the characters and personalities in the other novels and I certainly would not call what she's done with the character of Lestat maturing. A terrible, terrible way to end it. It should have stopped at Memnoch the Devil. There is such a thing as over kill. For those starting out The Vampire Chronicles should be read in order... Interview with The Vampire The Vampire Lestat The queen of the damned The Tale of the body thief Memnoch The Devil Pandora Vittorio The Vampire The Vampire Armand Merrick Blood and Gold Blackwood Farm Blood Canticle You want Lestat, take my advice, stick with the novel with his name in the title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Blood Canticle

    About the protagonist in this particular piece of Rician fiction, it's not him. It's very simply not him... That's all I can really say about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    Dude. Where's My Vampire Story?

    How many times can you tolerate Lestat, your beloved Lestat, uttering phrases like 'Dude', 'gotcha', 'Yeah' and 'Cool'? How many times will you be able to read Mona Mayfair refer to him as 'Beloved Boss'? I am sorry to say, this book- is not good. I do not know why it was written, why it's filled with Dude-isms, I don't know the point. It saddens me, as a devoted fan of the Vampires, to tell you, though you may buy it anyway, prepare for a heartbreak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    Puh-leez!

    I'm so disappointed! I waited and waited for this book to be released, finally got it, read it and felt absolutely cheated!!! What happened? It was like the author tried to tie up all the loose ends at one sitting & sped through her work. I loved the original Vampire Chronicles, especially loved the Witching Hour, liked Blackwood Farm, but was underwhelmed with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Get back to your roots!

    I long for the days of Vampire Lestat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    You can't be serious

    I have read all of Anne Rice's books and she really has gone astray coupling the Vampires Chronicles with the Mayfair Witches. She should have done that with Ramses The Mummy, it would have worked better; especially since the original Twins (not sins) were involved with the first 'Egyptian' vampires from Queen of the Damned. Immortal against - or joined with - immortal. It would have been fantastic and at least there would have been more of a wealth of history to draw on to keep this reader's attention. She probably would have more successfully integrated the Mummy Ramses with her other, more fascinating vampiric characters - Louis, Marius, Armand - who seem so much more loved by her readers. Her last book seemed tired and rather ponderous, as if she wrote it solely to make the Halloween deadline or to fulfill her publisher's quota; something of which John Irving is also somewhat guilty albeit in a completely different style. The story line was lame and her prose was overwrought with so much meandering floridity. Too much attention to details describing one place or another; and who really cares about reading pages and pages ad infinitum about some old lady's strutting about the globe in stiletto heels and a collection of cameos and a genius from the dark side of the family? She should go back to writing fiction on historical characters as she did in Cry To Heaven. Her discourses on the art of 18th Century castratti and vocal technique and training were not only fascinating but totally captivating and her tale of revenge of the son on the father was more believable and compelling. Her descriptions of Venice as well were fantastic to the point of being realistic and they seemed more central to her story. The last few books have lacked suspense and have certainly not been in the 'can't put it down' category. One would gladly welcome Ms. Rice's endeavors into fresher and more original territory. One could go so far as to say that not only has she played the Catholic religion and the Dante allegorical cards as far as she can play them but a change of scenery away from the moss of the Louisiana bayou would be welcome as well. If she wants to spew forth on tenets of the Catholic faith, why doesn't she just do it and write a book on her blasphemous gripes with theology, which is where her heart seems to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    you've got to be kidding.

    most of you people haven't even read this book yet but have no trouble rating it at 5 stars. barnes & noble should be ashamed of themselves for allowing their rating system to be sabotaged like this - but they probably sells more lousy books this way. i used to be a huge fan of ms. rice's work but if this book is anything like the last several, thank god she's hanging it up. she ruined the mayfair witches with the pathetically obvious 'stay tuned for part 2' ending of the otherwise brilliant first novel and she has gone on to deliver nothing but schlock with regards to the vampire chronicles. i had hoped that 'pandora' was bringing us back to the wonderful storytelling that she was known for, but it was not to be. it's painfully clear that she needs a break from both the characters and this genre. the plots have become ridiculously predictable & the characters all speak like parodies of themselves. i'm really wondering how the rest of you could compare her early works to the substandard fare she's been responsible for of late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2