Customer Reviews for

Blood Canticle (Vampire Chronicles Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Ending...To A Great Series!

I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series gre...
I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series great! No one can write like this amazing woman, and she ended the series wonderfully.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Skip It...

Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled w...
Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled with the way Taltos ended, but I would have rather left it at that than bring them into the Vampire Chronicles. I've never liked Mona Mayfair, but reading this book I really hated her. I was also dissapointed with the fate of the Taltos, I never expected them to make as a species, but I just wasn't feeling the way things ended for them. It was sad for me to read about the Mayfairs in this book because I really loved all the characters so much in the other books, and now Rowan is depressing and dissapointing and Michael is sweet, but blind and miserable. My biggest complaint though was Lestat. It's been awhile since I've read one of "his" books and maybe my memory is failing me, but he used to seem different, I can't explain it. In this book though he was really getting on my nerves especially at the beginning, it's as though he had a hard time getting his story going. It was a lot of random ramblings. I was also getting tired of him trying to convince everyone how he was so bad and evil and that there wasn't any good in him, like he so desperately has something to prove. Personnaly I didn't need the closure that this book attempted to give. I read it because I read all the others, I just figured I've come this far... It was a mistake. It left things on a bad note for me and now I'm sitting here feeling bummed out and dissapointed. Anne Rice is an excellent writer, but it was definetely not her finest hour.

posted by 1222130 on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    Skip It...

    Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled with the way Taltos ended, but I would have rather left it at that than bring them into the Vampire Chronicles. I've never liked Mona Mayfair, but reading this book I really hated her. I was also dissapointed with the fate of the Taltos, I never expected them to make as a species, but I just wasn't feeling the way things ended for them. It was sad for me to read about the Mayfairs in this book because I really loved all the characters so much in the other books, and now Rowan is depressing and dissapointing and Michael is sweet, but blind and miserable. My biggest complaint though was Lestat. It's been awhile since I've read one of "his" books and maybe my memory is failing me, but he used to seem different, I can't explain it. In this book though he was really getting on my nerves especially at the beginning, it's as though he had a hard time getting his story going. It was a lot of random ramblings. I was also getting tired of him trying to convince everyone how he was so bad and evil and that there wasn't any good in him, like he so desperately has something to prove. Personnaly I didn't need the closure that this book attempted to give. I read it because I read all the others, I just figured I've come this far... It was a mistake. It left things on a bad note for me and now I'm sitting here feeling bummed out and dissapointed. Anne Rice is an excellent writer, but it was definetely not her finest hour.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Disappointing.....

    I had high hopes for this book but there just wasn't enough plot for the length of the book. Th first 230 pages I struggled not to quit reading and the last 70 pages were just held my attention. I think Anne needs to develop a whole new set of inrelated characters. These characters have been squeezed dry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where did I go wrong?

    I used to love the Vampire Chronicles. Maybe it's just me, but I hated this book. I got through it rather quickly -- Anne Rice is a fast read -- but it secretly left me hoping it would get over soon.<BR/><BR/>Taltos? Really? Was that part necessary?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    bummed out

    I was thinking this was going to be the best in the series..as I was looking so forward to snuggling up on the couch with the book and my blanket. I was SO disappointed. I thought the book was so scattered .in different refrences of the past stories. Not Anne Rices best work at all. This was suppose to be her last in the Vampire series So I was even more disappointed. Go read something else!!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2004

    sorry anne rice

    i'm sorry anne but it needs to be said. The book sucked! The only reason i bothered to finish reading blood canticle was because it had lestat in. i loved him in all the other books that he narrated but this one just didn't do it for me. i loved the vampire lestat and the queen of the damned because lestat had all his athiest and asthetic beliefs and that was what i could relate to but this one was off the rails. And it wasn't just because of the character's personality transplant it was the writing. It just didn't grip me like all the other books did. I loved all of the chronicles up to blood and gold (which is a stunning book)and i even read pandora but blackwood farm and this one seemed as though some kind of passion had died. why oh why? she should have stopped at blackwood farm and left us guessing the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Anne Rice at its worst

    Many unanswered questions, characters not behaving true to form, gaps, etc.. A haphazardly written summary, and a discredit for the vampire series. It never took me more than 2 days to completely read prior anne rice novels.. This one took me almost a year to force myself to keep picking it up and finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Very Disappointed

    When I heard that Anne Rice was going to be releasing her last Vampire and Witch Chronicles book, thus ending the two sagas, I was anticipating something, how should I put it, greater. By entwining the two series, she never really focused on either one. A fan of one series or the other would probably have wanted to hear more from the characters from that series; though I would have to say that the book prodominantly covers the witches, with Lestat the vampire narrating. The book itself is easy to read, though written more poetically and fancifully than Rice's previous novels. It is fulfilling within itself, but as a wrap-up for the series', I'd have to say it was very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    What happened?

    I have to tell you. I've read all of the vampire and witch books and most of them I have thouroughly enjoyed. But, I have to say if this is the end of such a well written series I'm am extremely dissapointed. I would like to say I think she will write 'one more' with a more fulfilling and all encompassing ending but I don't know if I even want to bother anymore. There are so many authors out there right now who still put some effort into their novels. I geuss what I'm trying to say is don't waste your money check out someone else to read. Anne is for lack of better word finished she should retire now. At least from the vampire/witch merge series or whatever you want to call it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Not Worth The Effort

    As a fan of both the Vampire Chronicles and the Mayfair Witch Chronicles I have to say Blood Canticle was unbelievable disappointing. I agree with other readers that the vampire chronicles has steadily declined in their ability to satisfy. But while Blackwood Farm and Pandora were passably good, I feel cheated wih this one. None of the characters leapt off the pages the way they normally do and in many respects bordered on annoying. Quinn faded into the pages of this one and Mona, a charming pixie in previous books, was nothing more than a brat. In the beginning it seemed Anne Rice attempted to explain away previous failures through Lestat, which came off as insincere and tawdry with more than a hint of 'lame excuse'. The constant overuse of the word 'Love' as though it had the same meaning as 'cheese' made the chracters seem shallow and their emotions meaningless. While she has used the word 'love' often in previous books, somehow in this one it seems to mean less than ever before. I find myself unsuccessfully trying to redefine the word in order to make sense of how everyone simply falls in love so easily. This Vampire/Witch world has a surreal unfinished quality that makes it nearly impossible to connect to. Perhaps it's time for Anne Rice to try something new. One can only milk an old cow for so long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Too 'problem solving'; brining all stories together, disappointedly

    I love Anne Rice, and have read every Vampire book, and Witching book written by her. I LOVED Blackwood Farm. I hated the 'speaking to the reader' thing that Lestat did in the first chapter, and then throughout the book. It was too forced, and totally beneath him. It was like reading a teenager do an on-line chat. I don't want to spoil the ending, but I was so psyched when one of the Mayfairs was made a vampire at the end of Blackwood Farm, but this book was SO not what I expected. I never found the Taltos very interesting anyway. The book rambled on for several chapters and then BAM everything happened. Mona's character was terrible, and the fact that everyone wants/hates/is jealous of Rowan is comic. Her character was never very intersting in the first place. This isn't the first Vampire book that I've been disappointed in. I'll read the next even, but I wish that this one had just been a dream, and that a much better story is in there somewhere. Even though Lestat 'wrote' this book, he doesn't do a darned thing in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    I miss The Vampire Lestat...

      Of course I will always love Interview with The Vampire, The Vampire Lestat and The Queen of the damned. But many Anne Rice fans agree they go down hill from there. There are certain circles that refer to my previously mentioned first three vampire chronicles as the ONLY vampire Chronicles. All the rest come off like fan fictions from some other person. Nothing done now can change what had been.  The Interview with the vampire is still the interview with the vampire.  The Vampire Lestat is still The Vampire Lestat, The Queen of the damned is still The Queen of the damned.  I just pretend it's 1989 and the others were not published yet.  They did not happen.         Lestat, in my mind, is still a rebel, still a brat, still mischievous, still questions things, still fearless, still angst driven, still a fighter, and still perseverent.  He's still riding around on his Harley, hunting down his killers and falling in love with the world.  He's still an optimist (He has a pessimistic view of humanity in Blood Canticle.)  He still views society today as an age of innocence and he's still my Lestat.  All the rest...  to me.. They're just fan fictions.        I wish Anne Rice had done a book that she once hinted about years ago.  The idea of the vampires being found out by some mortals and possibly captured and studies and then the escape...  Lestat talks about this idea in The Vampire Lestat.  That could have been a great novel, especially with our proud and defiant Lestat.  This conformist, prude, depthless, two-dimensional Lestat would fold under that pressure but the Lestat I know would not.  The first three vampire chronicles- that's my Lestat.  That will always be my Lestat and no one can take that away from me. I miss Lestat. Lestat in Blood Canticle is whining. And he's become a conformist. He's now a hard-core Catholic who questions nothing, a cold hypocrite, a misogynist, a prude, and pessimist. This is not our Lestat! Our Lestat was a brat. Our Lestat questioned things. Our Lestat was always a rebel. Changing his personality this abruptly is like saying he now has blue hair and orange eyes. The angst is gone. The fearless soul that could never be oppressed is gone. I did not love the fangs or the blonde hair. I loved his personality. I related to Lestat, not the vampire! She's forgotten who Lestat was. Lestat used to see this world as an age of secular innocence where evil doers were scarce. And now he says there are many in the cities who deserve the vampire's kiss. He's become depthless (if he had much depth to begin with.) He's two dimensional. He's hunting down rogues and rule breaker vampires! He is a rogue and rule breaker! I want Lestat, I don't want Angel from Buffy The Vampire Slayer! I want Lestat the way he was meant to be. If Anne Rice needed a new character to express her obsession and new-found conformist mentality she should have used ANYONE but The Brat Prince to express it! I think this book disappointed every Anne Rice fan, everywhere, one way or another. What happened to our man of action? Where's The James Bond of the Vampires? My God! In these later novels the character himself can't even get his own name right. He keeps saying he was twenty, he was twenty-one as a mortal when he killed the wolves so how could he appear twenty now? I know I'm being harsh but Anne calls this maturing for Lestat. Being mature does not mean clinging desperately to something without question. Being mature does not mean becoming sexist with fashion, and seeing evil everywhere where he once was in love with the goodness in society. Lestat was a brat but he had faith in goodness. Now he doesn't seem to have that faith. His real and pure faith has been replaced by something superficial, something dark. And the restless spirit, the angst driven rebel, the one who could not be dominated... Our beloved a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Disappointing

    I am a huge Anne Rice fan, and haven't read anything else for the last two years, so take it from me, I wanted this book to be great. I had to face the facts: This book lacks the suspense and plot that made her other books so geat. Although it provided some highly interesting new characters, (Lorkyn, Oscar Tante, Miravelle, Oberon), I didn't feel as driven to read it after I began, (couldn't put down the other ones), and the plot barely interested me. I won't go into detail, but the end of the book was a let-down, and if it is really to be the end of the series, I feel even worse. Where's the story? Where's the suspense? Where's the mystery? Where's the final resolution? If you could find it, you must have looked harder than I did, but I couldn't convince myself, (and not for a lack of trying), that it was good. I really wanted it to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1