Customer Reviews for

Blood Canticle (Vampire Chronicles Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Ending...To A Great Series!

I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series gre...
I believe that Anne Rice ended the series as she saw fit. Personally I loved this book, everything about it. Lestat tells this last novel in the Vampire Chronicles, and reminds the reader why they fell in love with him in the first place. Anne Rice ended this series great! No one can write like this amazing woman, and she ended the series wonderfully.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Skip It...

Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled w...
Especially if you have read all of the Mayfair books. I understand what she was trying to do; give closure to different series, a two birds with one stone type of thing. It just didn't do it for me. I think they should have been kept things seperate. I wasn't thrilled with the way Taltos ended, but I would have rather left it at that than bring them into the Vampire Chronicles. I've never liked Mona Mayfair, but reading this book I really hated her. I was also dissapointed with the fate of the Taltos, I never expected them to make as a species, but I just wasn't feeling the way things ended for them. It was sad for me to read about the Mayfairs in this book because I really loved all the characters so much in the other books, and now Rowan is depressing and dissapointing and Michael is sweet, but blind and miserable. My biggest complaint though was Lestat. It's been awhile since I've read one of "his" books and maybe my memory is failing me, but he used to seem different, I can't explain it. In this book though he was really getting on my nerves especially at the beginning, it's as though he had a hard time getting his story going. It was a lot of random ramblings. I was also getting tired of him trying to convince everyone how he was so bad and evil and that there wasn't any good in him, like he so desperately has something to prove. Personnaly I didn't need the closure that this book attempted to give. I read it because I read all the others, I just figured I've come this far... It was a mistake. It left things on a bad note for me and now I'm sitting here feeling bummed out and dissapointed. Anne Rice is an excellent writer, but it was definetely not her finest hour.

posted by 1222130 on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    Much Better Than Everyone Says

    I absolutely loved every word of this book. I don't see why everyone is giving it such a bad rap, when it's really quite an enchanting work if you are willing to look objectively at it and not focus soley upon the public opinnion. It's a little lighter and more humerous than the other books, which lends a sort of charm to it that the other pieces in the series didn't have, and it really makes you connect with Lestat on a personal, sympathetic level. I think it's getting alot of the same effect as Memnoch the Devil did, where someone didn't like it just because Lestat grew as a character instead of remaining as a familiar, yet static, badguy. Probably my favorite of all Anne Rice's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    The Best!!!

    Well, the other readers who posted are so dramatic. Anne Rice writes so beautifully, amking everything real, including this one. No matter what she write, I still love it. It is a work of art, a great ending too. I myself have bought a copy of it, maybe two. I collect her books, and I am even fascinated by the play in broadway. I just don't like the other books, of vampires, or the fake movies. I mean she makes it all real, that is enough for me to buy it. I'm always obsessed with this kind of thing. The setting, Lestat, everything. It all comes down to this. Lestat is the main character here, he is the main hero after all, and he will never die no matter where he goes. I admire that. I suggest buying or reading this book, also all the others she rights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    I hated this book

    I hated this book & here is why. 1st it starts out with Lestat whining about wanting to be a saint, wanting to be good. I skipped it. Then the other chapters are marginally only a little better. Anne still harps on her getting religion theme and the story just goes on & on. If you pick this book up thinking you will read more on our lovable Lestat you won't. She has changed him he's not lovable anymore he is just a whiner. Read the 1st 3 of her books that is the Lestat we all love. You can see where her heart really was in this book & it wasn't writing about Letat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    Not bad ... but not great.

    A whole lot better than Merrick, I must say but this did not hold up against Blackwood Farm. What I found disappointing was Lestat was given another love interest and that relationship was just pure nonsense. Also, Lestat developed some new beliefs and the need to be a 'saint' which makes him appear almost naive. Also, I was a little disappointed in the fact that this book seemed almost too scientific to be an Anne Rice novel. What saved this book was Lestat's quirky and interesting way of narrating his tale for we all love the way he addresses his audience. It was not Rice's best but it was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    bummed out

    I was thinking this was going to be the best in the series..as I was looking so forward to snuggling up on the couch with the book and my blanket. I was SO disappointed. I thought the book was so scattered .in different refrences of the past stories. Not Anne Rices best work at all. This was suppose to be her last in the Vampire series So I was even more disappointed. Go read something else!!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Poignantly beautiful...

    Blood Canticle, the latest book in Anne Rice's vampire chronicles, is true to Lestat in every way. As we read Lestat's mournful longings to be a saint, followed by his delight in being a vampire, while watching over Quinn and Mona, and then falling in love with Rowan, the Queen of the Mayfair Coven, we are captured by his longings, his powerful descriptions of events, and his infatuations. Finally, Lestat does what is 'right,' for a while at least, actually becoming a little bit of the saint he wanted to be so much. I find I am in anticiaption of Anne Rice's next novel, having read through all of her books at least twice since Blood Canticle came out. Be it a vampire chronicle (which I have heard rumors that it is not), or a ghost story (like Servant of the Bones, or Violin), or a Mayfair chronicle (doubtful, at best, but hoped for), I eagerly anticipate it, as do, I am sure, a lot of her fans. Anne Rice writes beautifully, capturing not only our imaginations, but our hearts as well. Buy any of her books, and if you like this kind of genre, you will most assuredly not regret it. In fact, you may become as hooked as I have become...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    And the story continues....

    Anne's latest book reminds us why we love her writing. It may not be her best work(Blood & Gold)but she ties up all loose ends.I am looking foward to her next book and also wishing she chooses to continue writing for us all.Thankk you Mrs Rice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2004

    sorry anne rice

    i'm sorry anne but it needs to be said. The book sucked! The only reason i bothered to finish reading blood canticle was because it had lestat in. i loved him in all the other books that he narrated but this one just didn't do it for me. i loved the vampire lestat and the queen of the damned because lestat had all his athiest and asthetic beliefs and that was what i could relate to but this one was off the rails. And it wasn't just because of the character's personality transplant it was the writing. It just didn't grip me like all the other books did. I loved all of the chronicles up to blood and gold (which is a stunning book)and i even read pandora but blackwood farm and this one seemed as though some kind of passion had died. why oh why? she should have stopped at blackwood farm and left us guessing the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    THE VAMPIRE SERIES AND WITCH SERIES IN ONE BOOK

    If you miss something in this book, it's because you haven't read the witch series. It tells all about Mona, The Mayfair family, and the Taltos. If you are a vampire fan then you should already know about Lestat. Read the Mayfair Witch series and when you tie all this together, you will completely love this book. And for you fans who wanted a #4 book added to the witch series, here is what you have been waiting for. Here is your conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    Anne Rice Fan

    Great, once you get past the first chapter in which Lestat insults his readers and rants about anything and everything. It was a very odd feeling to be reading a book and find that the narrator had actually managed to hurt my feelings. At one point, I (the reader) am actually told to 'shove it'! Once I got over that, I enjoyed this book as I enjoy all her Vampire Chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    The End? Or the Beginning of The End?

    Being a long-time fan of Anne Rice, I have a hard time being disappointed with her work like some of the other reviews given to this book. 'Blood Canticle' is a great story for Lestat lovers because it shows that he has not ceased to mature emotionally through the years he has been immortal. Keep in mind that Anne has been writing Lestat for almost 30 years, so things are bound to change. I'm glad that Anne went full circle back to the Lestat we were introduced to in 'The Vampire Lestat' showing that the sweet and human side of Lestat never went away, but was hidden all this time. Lestat is a wounded soul: his father and brothers hated him, his mother rejected him, his fledglings despised him, other vampires feared and were jealous of him, and the Devil tried to steal him. This book shows that as wounded he may be, Lestat still feels. He wants to be something beyond what the blood has made him, and that is downright inspirational! I think Anne did a good job of brining the story of the Mayfairs and Lestat, two of her best, together. Both Lestat and the Mayfairs have long histories and many secrets which makes them interesting together. Yes, there are some 'gaps' in the story as some other reviewers say, but keep in mind that if you know the other stories the gaps can easily be filled in by memory. I could not put this book down once I began reading it. I do hope this is not the end of Lestat or the other vampires, and I really hope the Mayfairs will live on, too. We may just be surprised by Anne with another installment later on...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2004

    TrueVampiresInMe

    anne rice does it again she continues to shock me with every paragraph and every chapter I love all here characters and to me anne rice will always live on. And something tells me it's far from over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Good, but not a place to end.

    This book would be good if it were simply part of the series - as an ending, forget it. The whole Carib Isle thing was way whacko, but after living in New Orleans in the Garden District not 3 blocks from her house, I can see why Anne might get a little oddball once in a while. To 2 of the reviewers - read any of Christopher's stuff?? ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Anne Rice at its worst

    Many unanswered questions, characters not behaving true to form, gaps, etc.. A haphazardly written summary, and a discredit for the vampire series. It never took me more than 2 days to completely read prior anne rice novels.. This one took me almost a year to force myself to keep picking it up and finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    Say goodbye to Lestat

    I wasn't expecting this novel to be a too much of a big thing, because all the characters in the whole series will live on. I still wonder if Lestat will ever achieve his goal of being a saint. It disappoints me that Lestat didn't make Rowan Mayfair a vampire, but above all I liked this novel. Beautiful! Just beautiful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    What about....

    Ok, i am a dedicated ann rice fan, but i dont like how she ended the series... does david know about merrik, that she's dead? Why is lestat staying at blackwood farm, he doesnt like mortals..... and NO louie in this book at all.. :( i loved it, i just didnt like how she left the entier series like that.... write another Ann, please!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Totally consumed, as always!

    I savored this book, as I have all of the Vampire Chronicles. First of all, I am addicted to the character of Lestat and have read all of Rice's books with any mention of him in it. I was also very drawn to the characters out of Blackwood Farm. I couldn't wait to find out what happened with Quinn and Mona and, of course, Lestat. I will be really sad if this is, in fact, the last of the Vampire Chronicles, as I can see the story line continuing on from Blood Canticle for many books to come. Please Anne, don't stop! I can't go on without my Lestat fix!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    Over???

    Well, I agree with most reviews here but I won't be as harsh...Firstly, I don't like Quinn. Secondly, there are too many characters, stick with the original cast. There's plenty there. Thirdly, for someone who doesn't want to pass the Dark Gift around it sure seems like Lestat is making an awful lot of vampires now. I guess in closing I would rather stick with the 'core' group of vampires and/or witches...My favs in the series are Queen of the Damned and The Witching Hour...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    SUPERB LISTENING

    Thanks to the accomplished voice of David Pittu the latest in the list topping Vampire Chronicles from Anne Rice simmers with suspense. The multi talented Pittu who excels not only as a voice performer but as actor, director, writer and teacher easily inhabits this world of vampires and witches. His reading is made all the more powerful by thoughtful use of pauses and inflections - superb listening! With Lestat as the narrator 'Blood Canticle' begins where 'Blackwood Farm' concluded. The wicked one whom we all came to love is now, would you believe, a seeker of good - not just good but he aims for sainthood. Quite a switch. Characters include many from Rice's previous works, all finely knit into the tale. Beloved of Quinn Blackwood Mona Mayfair returns to Blackwood Farm to die. Her demise is circumvented by Lestat who makes her vampire. Rowan Mayfair, a top neurosurgeon and witch, arrives intent upon seeing Mona. We will learn that she and Mona have much in common - all involving the murkily mysterious Taltos (an unearthly ancient race who resemble humans although not very much). Ms. Rice seems to have had a fine time imagining 'Blood Canticle,' sparked by a kidnaping, rife with romance and adventure. Listeners will have a fine time, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Very Disappointed

    When I heard that Anne Rice was going to be releasing her last Vampire and Witch Chronicles book, thus ending the two sagas, I was anticipating something, how should I put it, greater. By entwining the two series, she never really focused on either one. A fan of one series or the other would probably have wanted to hear more from the characters from that series; though I would have to say that the book prodominantly covers the witches, with Lestat the vampire narrating. The book itself is easy to read, though written more poetically and fancifully than Rice's previous novels. It is fulfilling within itself, but as a wrap-up for the series', I'd have to say it was very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11