Customer Reviews for

Blood Cross (Jane Yellowrock Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Blood Cross

I strongly recommend you read the previous novel (Skinwalker) before reading this book.

I really enjoyed this installment but there were a few things that bothered me. Jane was a lot softer and more vulnerable in this installment, she didn't wield as much shifter ...
I strongly recommend you read the previous novel (Skinwalker) before reading this book.

I really enjoyed this installment but there were a few things that bothered me. Jane was a lot softer and more vulnerable in this installment, she didn't wield as much shifter strength, and sporadically she was completely incompetent, careless and fallible. A little more than occasionally she appeared almost completely opposite of her character in the previous book. I loved the tough kick-but vampire-rogue assassin from Skinwalker, the Jane from Blood Cross, at times was a weak imitation. There are so many incompetent, reckless heroines in dark urban fantasy books today. I include Jane among the few hard-core heroines who know what they are doing and get the job done. I'm not counting Jane out of those few yet but if this character shift does bleed into the next installment, it would be a real crime and shame.

Aside from the negatives in my review, this installment was interesting from beginning to end. Through most of the book I was completely engrossed and couldn't wait to see what happened next. This fast-paced, high energy, action-packed, suspenseful story was well written. The world building depictions were extraordinary and the chemistry between Jane and the supporting characters was excellent.

There was a lot of wickedly-naughty sexual tension; there was a sex scene, however, it was described more as after the fact. I also loved that the background culture in the story was a bit more diverse and wasn't limited to just European culture but included Haitian as well.

I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next installment Mercy Blade.

posted by kitkat3ny on January 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable But Frustrating Sequel

Like its predessor "Skinwalker," this book provides sultry descriptions of New Orleans, an interesting mystery plot and well-realized vamps/vampire society. Unfortunately, the plot-line, (which involves identifying and taking down a master vamp who's creating uncontroll...
Like its predessor "Skinwalker," this book provides sultry descriptions of New Orleans, an interesting mystery plot and well-realized vamps/vampire society. Unfortunately, the plot-line, (which involves identifying and taking down a master vamp who's creating uncontrolled rouge vamps), is periodically abandoned in favor of 'softer scenes' which have no direct relationship to the bounty hunt. In addition, Jane's character is dumbed-down and weakened. No self-respecting bounty-hunter would pursue her Cherokee roots and/or entertain house-guests, (including two very young children), while hunting a dangerous vamp maker. Nor would anyone with a modicum of intelligence invite and/or keep house guests around after being threatened by the most powerful vamp in New Orleans and/or once they became aware of a looming vamp war. In addition to being brainless, Jane is just too ineffectual and sentimental. I wasn't interested in her useless, tear-filled emotions and was downright disappointed by her periodic inability to fight back. She's supposed to be a vamp killer not a vamp victim who needs rescuing and/or who runs away to hide behind a witch ward. I was also disappointed by this novel's failure to predominantly feature Big Cat. I truly enjoyed the alternating perspective between Jane and her inner mountain lion in first book. I also loved the skin-walking hunts. In this novel, Big Cat is reduced to a secondary character with little dialogue. And, there's only one or two skin-walking hunts. In sum, this story is interesting with a dark detective-like plot, several action sequences and a complex/fascinating vamp world. However, the story's flow is periodically slowed by unnecessary/irritating distractions, and the main characters, (Jane and her inner mountain lion), are diluted.

posted by dalnewt on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Cross

    I strongly recommend you read the previous novel (Skinwalker) before reading this book.

    I really enjoyed this installment but there were a few things that bothered me. Jane was a lot softer and more vulnerable in this installment, she didn't wield as much shifter strength, and sporadically she was completely incompetent, careless and fallible. A little more than occasionally she appeared almost completely opposite of her character in the previous book. I loved the tough kick-but vampire-rogue assassin from Skinwalker, the Jane from Blood Cross, at times was a weak imitation. There are so many incompetent, reckless heroines in dark urban fantasy books today. I include Jane among the few hard-core heroines who know what they are doing and get the job done. I'm not counting Jane out of those few yet but if this character shift does bleed into the next installment, it would be a real crime and shame.

    Aside from the negatives in my review, this installment was interesting from beginning to end. Through most of the book I was completely engrossed and couldn't wait to see what happened next. This fast-paced, high energy, action-packed, suspenseful story was well written. The world building depictions were extraordinary and the chemistry between Jane and the supporting characters was excellent.

    There was a lot of wickedly-naughty sexual tension; there was a sex scene, however, it was described more as after the fact. I also loved that the background culture in the story was a bit more diverse and wasn't limited to just European culture but included Haitian as well.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next installment Mercy Blade.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Jane Yellowrock series is one of my favorite series. There a

    The Jane Yellowrock series is one of my favorite series. There are currently five books in the series with the sixth one (Blood Trade) set to release in April of 2013. The first book is Skinwalker. The series features a Cherokee Skinwalker who is the last of her kind. Unlike most shapeshifter series, Jane is able to shift into any type of animal and is not limited to one type of animal throughout the whole series. We watch as Jane, a rogue vampire hunter, finds herself working for a vampire, learning of their culture, the culture of the people who serve them and sometimes finding that she is not the top predator in the room. I found her character development interesting. This is not a traditional shapeshifter and vampire series and I found I rather enjoyed the fresh take in the urban fantasy genre. If you like Kim Harrison Rachel Morgan series, Ilona Andrews Kate Daniels series, and Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson series (just to name a few) then you should also try this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    You must read these books.

    These books are 50% of what I read and I read about ten books a day. I really recomend them. GO FAITH!!!!!!!!!! Can't wait for book 5. A must read book series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable But Frustrating Sequel

    Like its predessor "Skinwalker," this book provides sultry descriptions of New Orleans, an interesting mystery plot and well-realized vamps/vampire society. Unfortunately, the plot-line, (which involves identifying and taking down a master vamp who's creating uncontrolled rouge vamps), is periodically abandoned in favor of 'softer scenes' which have no direct relationship to the bounty hunt. In addition, Jane's character is dumbed-down and weakened. No self-respecting bounty-hunter would pursue her Cherokee roots and/or entertain house-guests, (including two very young children), while hunting a dangerous vamp maker. Nor would anyone with a modicum of intelligence invite and/or keep house guests around after being threatened by the most powerful vamp in New Orleans and/or once they became aware of a looming vamp war. In addition to being brainless, Jane is just too ineffectual and sentimental. I wasn't interested in her useless, tear-filled emotions and was downright disappointed by her periodic inability to fight back. She's supposed to be a vamp killer not a vamp victim who needs rescuing and/or who runs away to hide behind a witch ward. I was also disappointed by this novel's failure to predominantly feature Big Cat. I truly enjoyed the alternating perspective between Jane and her inner mountain lion in first book. I also loved the skin-walking hunts. In this novel, Big Cat is reduced to a secondary character with little dialogue. And, there's only one or two skin-walking hunts. In sum, this story is interesting with a dark detective-like plot, several action sequences and a complex/fascinating vamp world. However, the story's flow is periodically slowed by unnecessary/irritating distractions, and the main characters, (Jane and her inner mountain lion), are diluted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    super urban fantasy noir

    Skinwalker Jane Yellowrock is the last of her kind; a Cherokee shapeshifter who shares her body with the Beast of a mountain lion as she hunts down rogue vampires. Currently she resides in New Orleans. Her best friend powerful earth witch Molly and her BFF's two young kids Angie and Evan are staying in her place while Molly's spouse Big Evan is in Brazil with Hurricane Ada hitting the city, but at level 2 is no Katrina or Rita; still they wait out the storm together.

    Jane has a contract with the New Orleans Vampire Council to kill rogue master vampires who break the laws of the undead. However, the head of the council grieving Leo Pellistier hates Jane blaming her for the death of his son when she killed the walker who took over the body decades ago. He almost burns down her home with the two children inside shocking his four young vampire allies. Meanwhile Jane hunts a rogue as assigned to her by the Council as one of their own has broken the law; unaware her efforts might lead to civil war amongst the vampire factions and cross species war between the witches and the vampires.

    The second Yellowrock urban fantasy noir stars a unique kick butt heroine whose tough edges are softened by Molly and her children. The story line is fast-paced and the Faith Hunter version New Orleans is vivid and genuine even with vamps running amok. Fans will appreciate the continued saga of the last known Skinwalker who prowls the mean streets alone.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    This is probably more like a 3.5 star review, but since I can't

    This is probably more like a 3.5 star review, but since I can't give half a star, I'll go with 4 in the author's favor.

    I once again listened to this book on audio rather than reading it on the page myself, so that undoubtedly makes my experience with it a little different than others. I really enjoy the narration on this series so I count the audio a plus in this case, as with some other books I've heard.

    So. Book 2 in the Jane Yellowrock series. I enjoyed this installment quite a lot but not quite as much as the first one. I still love the characters. I still love their interactions, for the most part. I actually found the plot of this book more interesting than the first, so kudos to Ms. Hunter for that.

    But as the action went on, as more threats were delivered and as Jane's dealings with the New Orleans vampire scene deepened, I found myself a little bothered by just how often Jane got her butt handed to her and yet managed to survive every time. Not only that, but it extends to the people around her as well. Yes, I realize it's a supernatural society and part of the benefit of being -in- that society is emergency life-saving measures, but, applied too often and it begins to feel like no one's ever -really- at risk. They can push as hard as they want and someone will always drag them back from teetering on the edge of too far.

    This book also introduces the dread UF trope of the love triangle. The heroine has her choice of two (and maybe three, really) hot guys. To Jane's credit, she made a decision. Of course, I think she made the wrong one, so we'll see if she sticks with it through the rest of the series. I have a bad habit of liking The Wrong Guy better, go fig. :)

    Still, an enjoyable listen, and my issues are not enough to keep me from continuing the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    A new favorite!

    I'm a big fan of Patricia Briggs and C.E. Murphy. Who also write urban fantasy. I've found another favorite! A fully developed character with a great expaination for the development of vampire social structure and the interaction of the different races.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Go Jane!

    As other reviewers have pointed out, I find the character of Jane Yellowrock much more enjoyable and likeable than Faith Hunter's previous heroine Thorn St. Croix of the Rogue Mage Trilogy. I am drawn to Jane and the situations she finds herself in and am torn by the romantic partner choices she must make. I like the whole idea behind Jane's character, the shapeshifter backstory is providing an interesting twist. I look forward to her next adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lions and Vamps and Witches Oh my!

    For me to get into Urban Fantasy, the world needs to be exactly parallel to my own, the laws of science obeyed, the cities not so changed as to be unrecognizable. The only difference is that the stuff of nightmares are normal, prowling the cities.

    When I picked up the first of the series, Skinwalker, I thought, 'nice book'. But as I delved deeper, it reminded me more like a wine tasting, there was so much more in the glass. Nice wine, with subtle hints of oak, cherry, smoke. The series is a little different in that you need to read two shorts, one on her website called Kits, and one in the anthology Strangebrew to really get up to speed. Though not entirely necessary, it helps.

    Like a good wine, the Jane Yellowstone series has a complex web of flavors. Jane is a woman who is discovering exactly what she is, who has lost many of the memories of her youth, and shares her skin with a Beast (Mountain lion), who has her own set of memories she occasionally shares with Jane.

    Her abilities to walk in the skin of Beast, as well as other animals, give her the ability to hunt other top predators. She's a rogue vampire hunter, which seems like a trite role currently, but Faith Hunter's take is very different. Her best friend, a witch, brings out the softer part of Jane, a need to protect Molly the witches children (Kits, in Beast Speak)

    The author is a master of weaving and closing off threads, only to weave another. She offers her own vision as to why Vampires are so closely allied to Christian Icons and explains the myth fully in Blood Cross. She brings in new characters, and finishes others, and gives Jane a chance to grow into her own skin.

    To me, some of the most unique parts of the book occurs when Beast gets her chance to 'speak'. In the way Temple Grandin has explained how animals think more like an autistic, Beast thinks in action, smells, and the present. A very distinct voice to contrast against the very human voice of Jane.

    I'm looking forward to more in the series, getting answers to the Cherokee Skinwalker legend and how Jane will grow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Liked alot

    I've been reading the series and am enjoying it. I will continue reading so its good enough for me to buy more books which recomends it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Fast paced, great story.

    Fast paced, great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    This series just keeps getting better!

    This series just keeps getting better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    One of the best

    I just finished the second book of this series. Usually when I find an author or series that appeals to me I mark the books in my wish list and purchase them as I finish each book, just in case I come across one I don' t like. I just bought them all. Even the short stories.

    I love Jane and I love Faith for creating her and her world.

    I'll start the third book in the series tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Skin walker

    Awesome series, well worth buying !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Paranormal romance, shapeshifters and vampires, oh my!

    I love this series, and Jane Yellowrock and Beast have eclipsed all my previous favorite female characters. From the first chapter of "Skinwalker," I was hooked big-time. Blood Cross expands on the fascinating origin of the vampires of Faith Hunter's world with a shocking revelation of what vampires fear most!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Loved it!

    A bit slower than the first, but you find out that Jane has more depth than at first thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Awesome Series!!!

    I loved this book! I seriously could not put I down!!! I adore this series & Faith Hunter pleases again! Go Jane Yellowrock!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Sample is worthless

    I wanted to sample first but the sample is 12 pages of reviews and index no first chapter no story very hard to sample that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Cross

    It was a great book and can't wait for book three Mercy Blade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Cross by Faith Hunter

    Jane Yellowrock the main character is one tough lady. This is the second of the series by Faith Hunter containing her. A must read for anyone. I'd also suggest the Seraph series by the same author. Faith Hunter has now made a permanent place in my ever growing library!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9