Customer Reviews for

Blood Done Sign My Name: A True Story

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

I had to read this book for a college course, but while reading it, I was able to meet the author. After listening to commentary from the author, I realized how important this book was to history. Dr. Tyson used a lot of historical facts to incoporate into his persona...
I had to read this book for a college course, but while reading it, I was able to meet the author. After listening to commentary from the author, I realized how important this book was to history. Dr. Tyson used a lot of historical facts to incoporate into his personal story. Especially if you are NC or the south, it is a must-read! It is definitely thought-provoking to think how different the world is today.

posted by 214782 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Painful

This is a painful story to read. Having grown up years after the events describe in this book in the same town and growing up friends with memebers of both families, it is shocking. As a child I had never heard of this event, just 15 years afterward it was rarely disc...
This is a painful story to read. Having grown up years after the events describe in this book in the same town and growing up friends with memebers of both families, it is shocking. As a child I had never heard of this event, just 15 years afterward it was rarely discussed. I had close friends in both the Teel and Marrow families. Reading this was challenging. While the book provides great insight and review of events, it still causes pain. The younger Teel's being critized and threatened for their older generations actions. It brings back to the surface pain, fear and the reality that racisim last today. The younger Teel are fearful to say their name because they will be harrashed, barated, or beaten for actions they themselves did not do. While a insightful book, it is a book that has caused more pain and suffering than it was really worth.

posted by 2931509 on February 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    Painful

    This is a painful story to read. Having grown up years after the events describe in this book in the same town and growing up friends with memebers of both families, it is shocking. As a child I had never heard of this event, just 15 years afterward it was rarely discussed. I had close friends in both the Teel and Marrow families. Reading this was challenging. While the book provides great insight and review of events, it still causes pain. The younger Teel's being critized and threatened for their older generations actions. It brings back to the surface pain, fear and the reality that racisim last today. The younger Teel are fearful to say their name because they will be harrashed, barated, or beaten for actions they themselves did not do. While a insightful book, it is a book that has caused more pain and suffering than it was really worth.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Great Book!

    I had to read this book for a college course, but while reading it, I was able to meet the author. After listening to commentary from the author, I realized how important this book was to history. Dr. Tyson used a lot of historical facts to incoporate into his personal story. Especially if you are NC or the south, it is a must-read! It is definitely thought-provoking to think how different the world is today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    WOW!!

    What an amazing book! Growing up a white farm girl in NC, I remember. Tyson does a great job of conveying his personal story. A page turner for me!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2004

    An honest look at racism

    With this devastating story Tyson gives us a hard, cold, honest look at hatred, prejudice and racism in North Carolina in the sixties and seventies. I know. I was there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    Excellent History and Autobiography

    By chance I came across a review of Tyson's book in Entertainment Weekly, where it was highly praised. Simply put, this is one of the finest books I've read on the country's struggle with the legacy of slavery and white supremacy. Tyson is unflinchingly honest about his own life, his family's past, and the past of his native North Carolina. Rather than dancing around the painful facts of race relations in the U.S., he confronts them head on. The book is, thankfully, not preachy or sanctimonious, as Tyson examines his own personal complicity in the system of white domination. As a result, the book does what good literature always does - helps the reader examine his or her own unquestioned assumptions and prejudices. Tyson also offers, in his own modest way, some reflections on how we might find our way out of the mess that slavery and white supremacy have created in the U.S. And I don't want to make the book sound dull and dry. Though the subject is grim, Tyson writes his story in a compelling and highly readable manner. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    White Circle

    As you finally unlock the final Black Door, a lush castle surrounded by waterfalls comes into view. Birds fly around, tittering and chirping. A stone bridge gaps the ravine between you and your prize, and as you approach it, you find a piece of paper inside a white chalk circle. You pick it up and undo the elaborate seal, reading.<br><br>Congratulations, reader. You have discovered White Circle, your very own haven and castle. It is unique in many ways. Many mythical beings are in hibernation in the catacombs, some friendly and others not. (Until you find the Asther Staff and the Grey Lock, I would advise staying away from Banished Cavern, as the liches there are lethally unfriendly to those who do not bear the Grey Lock on an Asther Staff. The Grey Lock is in a shadowy hole in the Crumbling Tower domain in the Imagine Room, simply go to the Room and enter "CLFRTOW62" into the Locations notebook. The Asther Staff is in the Element Room, by the Eighth Spire inside a boulder. Touch the boulder and say "I'm hollow and faceless." The boulder shall split, and you must catch the staff before it hits the ground.) You may invite anyone here, as this is now your kingdom. Use this place wisely, and try not to destroy it. I shall visit from time to time, if I must.<br><br>Signed, Dust Man.<br><br>You put the letter down and walk to the gate, spotting an indent in the shaoe of your hand. You place your hand in the indent and the gate rumbles open. A large hall spans in front of you, two doors on either side. They are titled "Imagine Room," "Element Room," "Atlantis," and "Castle." You walk to the Castle door, and it opens before you, revealing a feasting hall. As you spend the next few hours exploring, you find an extensive wardrobe filled with modern clothing for you, a pool, two kitchens, three bathrooms, a sparring room, a Magic Artifact room, an armory, a reading room, and two guestrooms.<br>White Circle is now yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    To :Painful

    It is interesting how you never mentioned how the victim's family and all the other victimized blacks felt then and how the feel NOW! You only mention concerns for the family members that did the horrible killing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    dont listen to the last review

    the last review was given by one of the aquitted members of that family...read the book for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really enjoy this book it took me to everyplace that was decribe in the stroy of the book, I like the fact author told the truth. How his feelings were as a child with unearned white privileged had, oppose to the African Americans in this country in this country and he wrote this true story. I like the fact I found out that African Americans did not just burn their own side of towns down. It was a lot of history in this book also,ENJOYED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Manhattan Country School Honors Tyson with 'Living the Dream' Mentor Award

    Tyson relentlessly pursues a more complex understanding of race relations through the history that recreates them, from slavery to the civil rights movement to the interpersonal relationships among friends. Through 'a true story' that emerges from historical documents, stories gathered from many people involved, and personal memories Tyson reveals the possibilities still to be experienced across racial divides. His writing makes the reader feel as if in the presence of an accomplished storyteller. The Mentor Award honors an author who inpsires others to 'live the dream,' which in in this case is entirely deserved. 'My search for the meaning of the troubles in Oxford launched me toward a life of learning, across the lines of color and caste, out of my little boy's vision of my family's well-lighted place in the world and into the shadows where histories and memories and hopes abide.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    forgiveness and reconciliation

    This author put his soul to work when he honestly critiqued everyone involved in his story. There is no wonder he speaks with such authenticity as a storyteller. Confronting your own reality--all of it-- will help you find a more approximate truth. I actually laughed out loud in many places. A lot of emotions are invoked from the disclosure of loss, hate, pain, embarrassment, pride, and acceptance. The author is a folk art storyteller, and a scholar. The book title is an excellent expression of what the author seems to reveal about his relationship with the divine and reconciliation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2