Customer Reviews for

Blood Engines

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Fantastic

    As other reviewers have stated, this book is absoutely unlike any other I've read. Marla, the protagonist, is a compelling voice; practical and insightful yet flawed in a very human way. Bravo! Go read it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kick Butt!

    Wow is Marla Mason the main character a kick butt woman or what. i mean really she is definately someone who takes charges, shoots first and asks questions later. Marla is the lead sorceror of Felport and is forced to leave her beloved town to go to San Fransisco to try and save her own threatened life but finds that well... San Francisco has to many problems of their own goin on to really care much for hers. Figuring out those problems plus trying to straighten out her own really keeps you on edge. A great book for anyone who loves the magic life and the independent women that sumtimes go with it. action packed with twisting, pulling plots you for sure wont be left wanting. Unique characters and awesome ways of looking at the fantasy world right inside your very own i recommend this book to all my girlfriends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Vibrant and enchanting, a magic carpet ride through the infinite beauty of fantasy

    From time to time I adore a crackling, witty and totally enchanting urban fantasy. This was my first time reading this author, and he came highly recommended by Kim Harrison on various sites so I knew it had to be good, she's one of my all time favorite authors and her word counts. The book delivers on many levels; its wild, colorful, crazy things are happening non stop, it has magic but best of all it has sorcerers that spew out sarcastic and hilarious dialogue that had me hopping through the book, their words were even better than their spells. <BR/><BR/>The story is about a sorcerer who's in trouble; Marla Mason escapes her own city of Felport and travels to very interesting and funky San Francisco to find an object that can save her. Needles to say, she gets into more trouble than she's trying to prevent and many dangerous encounters await her, mainly some poisonous frogs, killer hummingbirds, all sorts of Gods and wizards, cannibals and even an adult party stands in her way of finding the cornerstone, an artifact that can help save her from another powerful spell. Too bad that her only contact in San Francisco is dead and her only way to find the object is to launch a journey through the new city and find out why sorcerers there are being targeted and killed as a strange plot involving raising something old and hungry untangles, it seems that the object she seeks is also needed by someone or something that stands behind all the killing. <BR/><BR/>Armed with an alien cloak that turns her into a deadly opponent, but robs her of her humanity every time she wear is, she travels with her companion Rondeau picking up friends and a nemesis or two, or three on a journey that was as fun as it was colorful and I can't wait to read the rest of the series, if it's as good as this book then it will be one heck of a ride. <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    A true urban fantasy, this book kept me interested until the end. Can't wait for the next edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    a non stop rollercoaster ride

    San Francisco should really be this exciting! Marla Mason is the kind of hero I love, sarcastic bitter and just a bit jaded. Rondeau is a hoot. I literally couldn't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong urban fantasy

    On the east coast lies the gritty city of Felport, but Marla Mason loves it and rules the place with a sorcerer¿s fire touch. Her consigliore Rondeau is an unknown supernatural entity whose voracious essence drifted into that of six years old boy. He is one of Marla¿s true friends and he has the power to Curse and make the Curse happen. Powerful sorceress Susan Wellorslore wants Marla¿s position, and is preparing a spell to destroy her rival and as a collateral damage by-product Felport. --- Marla and Rondeau travel to San Francisco to find her friend, the might sorcerer Lao Tsung, who she hopes to persuade to let her use the Cornerstone, a magical artifact that will allow Marla to bind her to the earth in a spell that cannot be broken. However, when they arrive they find Lao dead killed by another strong sorcerer Mutex who is using blood spells in the name of the Aztec God Tlatecuhtli. If Muller wins, the world will literally turn to hell without a hand-basket only Marla and Rondeau stand in the way, but they cannot call on the bloodthirsty Aztec pantheon for support. --- T.A. Pratt¿s vivid urban fantasy will remind readers of the works of Kelly Armstrong and Lilith Saintcrow. The protagonist is a pragmatic soul who is kind and caring when she can be and ruthless when she must be. She goes out of her way to the point of risking her life to cause no needless harm to innocents, but will go down and dirty when the stakes require her to do so. BLOOD ENGINES is an enchanting work that sub-genre fans will want to read as T.A. Pratt casts an obsession spell on her audience. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1