Customer Reviews for

Blood Feud

Average Rating 4.5
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    Great continuation of vampire series

    BLOOD FEUD, Alyxandra Harvey, is the second installment in The Drake Chronicles. This book alternates the POV of Logan Drake and Isabeau St. Croix. I got really attached to Lucy and Solange narrating in the first book so I was a bit hesitant for different POV's but I immediately fell in love with these two.

    Logan and Isabeau have much in common in terms of taste. Logan's style and actions reflected the era that Isabeau grew up in when she was human. They are one of my top favorite YA couples at the moment. That alone should make you want to read this book.

    Another aspect that set this book apart in this series was the introduction of a different type of vampire clan, the Hounds. These vampires were very unique in how they were very cultured and connected well with nature and dogs. They were very spiritual and I really enjoyed reading the customs that were performed. It was great reading from Logan's POV during that specific part because he was new to it as well and Harvey pulled me along for the ride with him. Also, the flashes to Isabeau's past life before becoming a vampire kept my heart pounding with anticipation.

    I am not fond of the cover choice. Harvey described Isabeau with tattoos and scaring on her body and this model did not follow suit. I don't tend to like books that tell me how the character is supposed to look, I like to visualize it for myself.

    Overall, if you liked My Love Lies Bleeding (AKA Hearts At Stake: my Review) I think you will really enjoy this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Samantha Clanton aka "Harlequin Twilight" for TeensReadToo.com

    BLOOD FEUD picks up just under two weeks after HEARTS AT STAKE ended, and the Drake family has had a lot to deal with. All the vampire tribes are beginning to assemble and treaties are being made now that Lady Natasha is gone and the courts are preparing for Helena's coronation. With the state that Lady Natasha left things between the tribes, this means all kinds of cleaning up for Liam and Helena to do, and that doesn't take into consideration the state the caves and the farmhouse were both left in. That just means that Solange, Lucy, and the Drake brothers have quite a journey ahead of them.

    We meet Isabeau St. Croix (kind of weird, but totally cool name, right?). Isabeau is a Hound, which means she is part of the tribe of vampires that Montmartre created and basically left for dead. The catch is, Montmartre didn't change Isabeau: his lieutenant, Greyhaven, did, somewhere around 200 years ago. Isabeau has spent years waiting until she could get revenge on Greyhaven, and for all intents and purposes she still plans to do so, until she meets Logan Drake.

    Now, she must join forces with the Drakes' and fight against the common enemy, Montmartre, who's still after Solange, the crown, and the power both would bring him. Logan shows Isabeau that not all vampires, outside of the Hounds, are as bad as she seems to think, and that she doesn't have to be so guarded all the time. But can Isabeau's quest for revenge survive when it's all over with? Will Logan be able to show her that there is more to life than living for revenge?

    I was so excited to revisit the Drake family - and Lucy, of course. When I first learned that BLOOD FEUD wouldn't be from Lucy and Solange's voices I was a bit disappointed, but since I was going to hear from Logan and this new, interesting Isabeau, I decided it would be alright. And it pretty much was. First, I must admit, I totally missed Lucy. But Logan, while not being as reckless and funny as Lucy, filled a different void, since I did adore him in HEARTS AT STAKE.

    Isabeau is a very interesting character, with an even more interesting past. Her voice isn't as prominent as I would have thought it would be, seeing as she is a totally fierce character, but they can't all be Lucy. Sprinkled throughout are these chapters that are memories from Isabeau's past, and those take you back into the 1700s and are pretty neat, although the French sprinkled throughout was not as fun for me since I don't know French. Oh, and just a tip, the French word "merde" is used a lot, and finally I looked it up - just so you know, it means "crap".

    I loved Logan's voice. He's funny and kind of sarcastic and a bit insane, but so are all the Drakes and so I love it, and it was a nice balance against the guardedness and proper way Isabeau's voice was. I really enjoyed the romance between Logan and Isabeau that you could see coming before they ever met, but I didn't like the fact that BLOOD FEUD covers a matter of days, and you don't really fall in love over only a few days. It just so doesn't work like that, and while I know that a lot happened between them in those few days, and that it was obviously in the cards for them, it just was a bit unrealistic (and yes, I'm totally aware that it is a vampire novel and so unrealistic in the first place)...

    Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    Great Addition

    I actually read this book before the first in the series, so it is possible to read them independently. All essential plot points are covered again. The action is fast-paced and delves into more sectors of the vampire world. In particular, the Hounds are represented via Isabeau, who alternates chapters with Logan Drake. Predictably, the two have a romantic connection. Pleasantly, the interactions are natural and in some ways unexpected. The characters of the previous book in the series are not forgotten, but rather seen through new eyes. I am anxious for more developments in the series.
    I see this series as a younger alternative to the "House of Night" series.

    *I received this as an advanced review copy from the publisher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Even better the 1st book :)

    Even better the 1st book :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    good read

    quick and easy read that keeps you interested until the very end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Enjoy this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Excellent series...

    Good book - read the whole series after the first one was a Free Friday offering. Husband is also enjoying the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Quick Read... Interesting Plot

    I have read the entire Drake Chronicles, and I enjoy the author's style. Harvey writes from two different characters' perspectives and alternates between chapters. I would recommend the entire series for anyone who enjoys a unique vampire tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Great light read

    Entertaining light reading where the supernatural are believable characters with a good plot line. I will be looking for further books on this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    ***

    So good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Liked the first and third books better

    My favorite brother is quinn and his story with hunter wild is my favorite. I hipe the next book is about connor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Good book.

    Ah my favorite Drake brother. :) Pretty good book. Delves deeper into their world. Same great characters, plus some new ones. Good story. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Awsome. But sadly not the best.

    I liked this book. But I'm not going to give it a 5 star. It was good but there could have been a little more danger in it. I liked it. The second one is really good so far. A lot better I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Entertaining Sequel that surpassed it's predecessor

    Why is this series not on the NYT Bestsellers yet? Seriously, who doesn't love reading about the Drake Chronicles? One, I got to applaud the author for giving a entertaining sequel that surpassed it's predecessor. All the complaints I had from the previous novel (in terms of writing and stuff) was gone from this book, which I was happy about.

    When I first heard that this novel wouldn't be in Lucy/Solange POV, I was a bit apprehensive. Questions like, how would she do it? Would I still have the same love for the series, if it's in different characters POV? In the end Alyxandra did a excellent job at keeping the series excellent (maybe even better) with different characters POV. I also found it a refreshing writing style. I've never seen a author who has each book (series) in 2 different character POV. I really enjoyed it.

    In this book, the POV are Logan and Isabeau. Isabeau is the girl you see at the end of Hearts At Stake. In the previous book I had problems with the characters POV being too similar, but that's not the case in this book. Logan and Isabeau POVs are so well written and developed throughout the novel that I really didn't need the name of who POV it was at the beginning of each chapter. Logan's quickly developed love for Isabeau is so well brought up and shown that you feel how passionate it is for him. Isabeau on the other hand has been through some major trauma, and is one determined/strong chick. You really connect with the pain she is feeling, you sympathize for her greatly. In the end Logan was my favorite character to read from, he's also probably my favorite brother in the Drake Clan.

    The Information that was so quickly packed and confusing in the previous novel, because more clear in this novel. It's easier to understand the different species of vampires, though I think this novel would do greatly with a glossary instead of a family tree.

    Something in end will happen to one or more of the antagonist, and it shocked me greatly. I couldn't believe it, and am now pondering how the series will continue. I thought this antagonist would be a main, reoccurring villain throughout it all but I guessed wrong. But I think this just makes me like the author even more, because I'm eager to find out what will happen next with the family. Though I did not enjoy the fact that this character was only shown only one or two pages in this book and then is killed. I wished we could of seen this person more.

    The novel has less of Solange, Lucy, Kieran and Nicholas and I was kind of sad about that. I think my favorite line was went Solange was explaining how Nicholas locked Lucy in a closet to Logan. Quite hysterical.

    I also got confused at some of the jokes/dialogue, but other then that the book was perfect. Like the previous one it's fast paced and there's never a dull moment. So overall I really enjoyed Blood Feud, more then Hearts at Stake. I found it was more entertaining, beautifully written and easier to understand. I definitely recommend this one, and I'll be on the look out for # 3 Out For Blood which comes out in Dec.2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2