Customer Reviews for

Blood Feud: The Hatfields and the McCoys: The Epic Story of Murder and Vengeance

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

All I have to say is, READ IT!!!! You will not be disappointed..

All I have to say is, READ IT!!!! You will not be disappointed....

posted by No_Regrets on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An admirable goal, but it falls far short. While the author sets

An admirable goal, but it falls far short. While the author sets out
promising to be "impartial," this book is anything but. Rather
than an historical account of the "epic story," the author
throws in unnecessary commentary that reveals an overwhelmi...
An admirable goal, but it falls far short. While the author sets out
promising to be "impartial," this book is anything but. Rather
than an historical account of the "epic story," the author
throws in unnecessary commentary that reveals an overwhelming bias in
favor of the McCoy side of the feud. Unfortunately, a minority of the
book is focused upon actually recounting the feud and the circumstances
surrounding it. These elements appear to be well researched but the
historical account contains little analysis. The latter portions of the
book seem out-of-place given the book's title and subtitle, providing
inchoate drive-by accounts of other family feuds in Kentucky and a
rambling chapter which converts the book into a meager autobiography.
The chapter on other feuds is sloppy and contains little references. For
example, in one glaring mistake of history, the author refers to the
assassination of Kentucky governor-elect "George Goebel." This
was actually William Goebel. The lack of references for this section
leads one to wonder what other historical inaccuracies are contained in
the text. The author is clearly no historian. Overall, the chapters
relating to the feud provide a decent overview of the conflict and
events surrounding it, if one can look past the bias. The rest of the
book is sloppy and unnecessary.

posted by tomsmonticello on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    All I have to say is, READ IT!!!! You will not be disappointed..

    All I have to say is, READ IT!!!! You will not be disappointed....

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    An admirable goal, but it falls far short. While the author sets

    An admirable goal, but it falls far short. While the author sets out
    promising to be "impartial," this book is anything but. Rather
    than an historical account of the "epic story," the author
    throws in unnecessary commentary that reveals an overwhelming bias in
    favor of the McCoy side of the feud. Unfortunately, a minority of the
    book is focused upon actually recounting the feud and the circumstances
    surrounding it. These elements appear to be well researched but the
    historical account contains little analysis. The latter portions of the
    book seem out-of-place given the book's title and subtitle, providing
    inchoate drive-by accounts of other family feuds in Kentucky and a
    rambling chapter which converts the book into a meager autobiography.
    The chapter on other feuds is sloppy and contains little references. For
    example, in one glaring mistake of history, the author refers to the
    assassination of Kentucky governor-elect "George Goebel." This
    was actually William Goebel. The lack of references for this section
    leads one to wonder what other historical inaccuracies are contained in
    the text. The author is clearly no historian. Overall, the chapters
    relating to the feud provide a decent overview of the conflict and
    events surrounding it, if one can look past the bias. The rest of the
    book is sloppy and unnecessary.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Horrible!!!

    Huge disappointment. I doubt that even 70 pages were dedicated to the actual feud. The rest was all wasted filler. I felt cheated and ripped off. I will not spend another dime on this author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Couldn't get past the first few pages ...

    I know it was a time when a full grasp of the English language was not at its finest in them parts ... but really? I found this book way too difficult to read with all of the "authentic" slang and poor communication skills of the characters... Good attempt to make it believable I suppose, but too challenging for me to get into.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Rugged characters

    I enjoyed the book. After seeing the recent Hatfield & McCoy series on the History Channel I wanted to read the book to get an idea of how accurate the movie was. I usually trust books to be more accurate than anything Hollywood creates. There were some inconsistencies, but overall the series appears to be somewhat accurate.

    I read this on my NOOK Book and my main complaint is that the NOOK Book did not include a Family Tree. I guess the regular book does so that is something you may want to consider if you decide to purchase the book. Both families were large and extensive so I lost track of the exact family association with some of the characters. A Family Tree for both families really would have been helpful.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Very interesting book. I actually found the discussion about th

    Very interesting book. I actually found the discussion about the culture of violence to be the most compelling portion of the book. More than a story about two families.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Impartial Account

    This book is a well written and easy to read account of the Hatfield and McCoy family conflicts. The author is impartial and represents each side without bias. The author also relates many other interesting issues that may have contributed to the differences between the two families and how these factors probably escalated the violence. A good source for anyone wanting a good unbiased account of the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Author clearly has an axe to grind

    This book was very entertaining. At the beginning of the book the author says they want to find out what actually happen & not lay blame at this late date. However it's clear she has made up her mind & you can feel the disgust she has for the Hatfields in her writing. I'm not saying the hatfields weren't to blame or that the McCoys were just that the author is convinced the McCoys were the victims, and lays very little fault at their feet. If your looking for an unbiased study of this feud this isn't the book, if it's great tales of this era your after then enjoy. I really did enjoy this book, just wished it was more interested in giving the reader the choice to come to their own conclusion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Very interesting!

    The style meanders a bit, but I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned much. Lisa's book is well-researched, personal, and impartial. Good context and analysis of the fued and its aftermath. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Confused?

    Very interesting content. I got lost several times when the author went through relatives and decendants. This is pretty bad on more than one occasion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Good read.

    Eye opening. Hadn't heard much about it in school, but heard about it in legend. This book was informative about this particular part of American history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Quick Read

    This book is a good account of information handed down a generation. I think it was important to document that information. The book is tough to follow as it talks about all the individuals in each chapter. I guess that’s why it comes with family tree in the dust cover? The best part for me was the other feuds that are covered in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Terrific

    I read this book after the History Channel trilogy to see how close to real the TV series was...and it not only confirmed the TV portrayal but expanded on the personalities and story line. Greatly recommended!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Good historical info

    The information was good, but, the content was hard to follow. Too many characters had the same names. It was confusing for a casual read. Had to really stay focused

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Good Read!

    It was difficult to keep track of the characters but that is to be expected. The author is a McCoy descendant and half way through the book her bias seemed to show. In all a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    The book was very interesting. I liked the fact that she brough

    The book was very interesting. I liked the fact that she brought out other feuds that were as bad or worse than the H & M feud. Not the authors fault that the relationships of relatives and decendants was so confusing and involved that is just the way it is.

    Did reread some sections because of the confusion.

    But it also brought out the fact that not all of this are was populated with people that were voilent and I liked the "got your goat" remark. Any one who reads this book will like the facts that seam to to be accurate f\based on all the references she provides.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Haven't read it yet but the description needs a literate writer.

    Haven't read it yet but the description needs a literate writer. Posses? It's a POSSE.  POSSE.  Western history.  Geez! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Blood Feud is a good, but not definitive, account of the Hatfiel

    Blood Feud is a good, but not definitive, account of the Hatfield-McCoy conflict. Lisa Alther spends nearly half of the book on the culture of the area. Some of her premises about the inhabitants of the Appalachians seem like easy generalities. She includes a lot of footnotes from other books but she did not do much deep research in original sources or develop new ones. This book is an OK starting place, but I suspect there is more to the story. 2 1/2 stars(This review is of the hardcover.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    no

    Do not like

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Good book-Highly recommend.

    Great to learn about the feud in such a way from the author. Very insightful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2