Customer Reviews for

Blood Game (Eve Duncan Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

BLOOD GAME is a fascinating Duncan investigative tale.

Forensic sculpture Eve Duncan goes home after a complex mentally draining case that featured the murders of several children (see QUICKSAND). She opens her refrigerator to find a goblet with blood stains inside. It looks identical to a goblet found by the corpse of ni...
Forensic sculpture Eve Duncan goes home after a complex mentally draining case that featured the murders of several children (see QUICKSAND). She opens her refrigerator to find a goblet with blood stains inside. It looks identical to a goblet found by the corpse of nineteen year old Nancy Jo Norris; the blood had been drained from the U.S. senator's daughter.

Eve's lover FBI agent Joe Quinn apparently can now see dead people; at least two that is: Nancy Jo and Eve's daughter Bonnie. He assumes that he somehow obtained this paranormal skill from psychic Megan Blair (see QUICKSAND and PANDORA'S DAUGHTER). The ghosts thirst for blood so assist the human sleuths on a search for a wannabe Dracula copy cat killer.

This is an exciting Eve Duncan serial killer thriller that increases dramatically the paranormal elements. Eve remains restless, but Joe has proven to be a comfort for her as Bonnie haunts her emotionally and haunts him directly. The story line is fast-paced as Eve and Joe with help from beyond hunt a vampire killer, but gothic overtones detract from the suspense as the lead couple is too well known by fans for the pair to be overly melodramatic. Still BLOOD GAME is a fascinating Duncan investigative tale.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not up to par

I have loved reading the Eve Duncan novels in the past, but the last couple have been very disappointing, especially "Blood Game". Ms. Johansen has just gotten too much into "hocus pocus" type stories. It takes away from the strong characters and relationships that I ...
I have loved reading the Eve Duncan novels in the past, but the last couple have been very disappointing, especially "Blood Game". Ms. Johansen has just gotten too much into "hocus pocus" type stories. It takes away from the strong characters and relationships that I have enjoyed, and borders on just plain silly. I liked Eve Duncan novels because they were mystery-thrillers with complicated and interesting characters. I liked that she left it up to the reader to decide if Bonnie visiting Eve was a "ghost" or a dream. Now she has taken away that choice, and made the series something unenjoyable for those who don't want to read books with the occult in them. I will be unlikely to read any more of the Eve Duncan series unless I see an indication that Ms. Johansen is moving back away from this theme.

posted by 3420418 on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Not up to par

    I have loved reading the Eve Duncan novels in the past, but the last couple have been very disappointing, especially "Blood Game". Ms. Johansen has just gotten too much into "hocus pocus" type stories. It takes away from the strong characters and relationships that I have enjoyed, and borders on just plain silly. I liked Eve Duncan novels because they were mystery-thrillers with complicated and interesting characters. I liked that she left it up to the reader to decide if Bonnie visiting Eve was a "ghost" or a dream. Now she has taken away that choice, and made the series something unenjoyable for those who don't want to read books with the occult in them. I will be unlikely to read any more of the Eve Duncan series unless I see an indication that Ms. Johansen is moving back away from this theme.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BLOOD GAME is a fascinating Duncan investigative tale.

    Forensic sculpture Eve Duncan goes home after a complex mentally draining case that featured the murders of several children (see QUICKSAND). She opens her refrigerator to find a goblet with blood stains inside. It looks identical to a goblet found by the corpse of nineteen year old Nancy Jo Norris; the blood had been drained from the U.S. senator's daughter.

    Eve's lover FBI agent Joe Quinn apparently can now see dead people; at least two that is: Nancy Jo and Eve's daughter Bonnie. He assumes that he somehow obtained this paranormal skill from psychic Megan Blair (see QUICKSAND and PANDORA'S DAUGHTER). The ghosts thirst for blood so assist the human sleuths on a search for a wannabe Dracula copy cat killer.

    This is an exciting Eve Duncan serial killer thriller that increases dramatically the paranormal elements. Eve remains restless, but Joe has proven to be a comfort for her as Bonnie haunts her emotionally and haunts him directly. The story line is fast-paced as Eve and Joe with help from beyond hunt a vampire killer, but gothic overtones detract from the suspense as the lead couple is too well known by fans for the pair to be overly melodramatic. Still BLOOD GAME is a fascinating Duncan investigative tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Page Turner, Leaving You Waiting for the Next Book in the Series

    Iris continues to deliver on the Eve Duncan series. She does a wonderful job at adding new story lines that can continue this series of characters while introducing new ones for future books. If you have read the Eve series you will be happy with this next page in her journey. I will say, if you have followed the series she leaves a few things open that make you wonder. They do not relate to the true story line but reference past relationships from other books in the series. You will not find it distracting from the story line.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!!!!!!!!

    Another great book by Iris Johansen. I have read almost all of her books and all of the books in the Eve Duncan series. I have to say this book was really good. Once I started could not put it down. It continued where Quicksand left off. Can not wait till the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the Eve Duncan Series

    This was a good additon to this series! Also liked how Iris is starting to bring in the supernatural in and explaining more about Bonnie's life and her death. Can't wait for the next installment in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Question

    Is this bloodclan?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    ABANDONED KIT

    At erin hunter res two!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Fangpaw Pestalince War Famine Death

    Fangpaw- backs up super scared of the four <p> Pestalince- she stands tall the green fog spreading <p> War- his fire spreads across his whole pelt <p> Famine- the toxic stuff driping from her quickens and kills the pants arond her <p> Death- "Answer us NOW!" He shouted and the white mist swirls and thickens and atomaticly kills a egale that was flyint over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Deathpaw

    She walks around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Darkpaw

    Heres the mysterious cat and walks toward him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Deathheart pads in with a bag of rolls she snuck from twolegs. H

    Deathheart pads in with a bag of rolls she snuck from twolegs. HAPPY THANKSGIVING BLOODCLAN!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    SleekPath and FangNight

    He watched everyone .
    <br>

    ~ SleekPath ~
    <br>

    <br>

    She smiled and dipped her head . "Thank you ." She meowed , eyeing him with curiousity .
    <br>

    - FangNight -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Macabre

    She licked a paw boredly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    LILYFUR TO ALL

    My nook is broken! Im using somebody else's nook. Plz help me and tell me how to fix it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Kovu to DeathHeart

    Get...your....sister *he said to her*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    =(().())=

    Stares at the cats

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Badcat

    Walks in and looks 4 a place 2 put nest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Blood

    Sits and watches the camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    2 dire wolves

    The two black dire wolves pad in with a message from twilightclan. "Queen Midnight, the leader of Twilightclan would like to see you. He ordered us to bring you to him. If not he will come here furious." The largest one barks and stays standing and looking straight nor up, or down, not sideways, or backwards. They both look like statues that speak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Wildkit

    Pads around looking for something to do. She desperately wishes she had someone to play with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12