Customer Reviews for

Blood Hollow (Cork O'Connor Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Cork O'Conner is now the ex-sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, but wh

    Cork O'Conner is now the ex-sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota, but when a young high school girl goes missing one New Year's Eve, and shows up dead in a snow mobile crash in the spring thaw, Cork finds himself in the center of the investigation.  A young "bad boy" Ojibwa, Solemn, seems to be the most likely suspect for his former girlfriend's murder.  Cork believes he's innocent, and besides Cork has a soft spot for the boy because of his connection to the Ojibwa man who basically raised Cork. 




    The new sheriff, and much of the towns folks would just as soon convict the "Indian" and close the case.  Things get more complicated when Solemn claims to has seen and heard Jesus speak to him.  Then miracles begin happening in the town, and people come from all around to be "healed".  Through all these distractions, Cork must sift through all the possible people who might have had cause to kill the girl.




    William Kent Kruger develops interesting characters and situations to creat a mystery that is very original.  Clues, answers, and surprises develop very naturally within this continuing saga of the O'Conner family and the people of Aurora. This is a colorful and thoroughly interesting series that lines up with the likes of C J Box and Craig Johnson.  Krueger is a writer that can take a seemingly simple story and develop intrigue beyond the average writer.  I become more engrossed with his writing with each of his books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    Krueger is a treat to read. Read one and you will be hooked for more.

    Kreuger's characters are very believable. They have positive qualities, but sometimes take the wrong path and pay the consequences. His descriptions of Upper Minnesota are a delight to read.
    After I read Kreuger's first book, Iron Lake, I kept reading book 2, book 3, etc. I am now reading book 12. I will be sad when I have finished the series, and have no more stories of Cork O'Connor and his family to enjoy.
    Krueger is a serious writer. His plots are all different-no cookie cutter plots and predictable formulas.

    I happily recommend this book to anyone who likes a well written, good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Heather&co

    Residing beside the Nursery was the entrance to one of many caves. Its small tunnel leading to the main, large cavern. This cavern had a stream that ran on the side, small enough to easily leap across. The wall were covered in pockets, and cracks great for storing herbs. Behind a wall of ivy was a fork in the road, one path leading to a cozy den big enough for two full grown cats and the other to many other caverns, eavh with a single large moss filled bed. This is the Medicine Cat's Den.
    ~Amberstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Awesome series!

    Can't stop reading this series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    I am loving this newest installment of Cork OConnor. It's a grea

    I am loving this newest installment of Cork OConnor. It's a great, page
    turning read! Cork is so real and likable. Mr Krueger is a great storyteller...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    A great read for people wanting a good mystery.

    I have enjoyed William Kent Krueger novels. They are based on normal people with normal lives. Keeps you wondering up to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Best yet

    Reading the series in order because I like to know what Krueger is talking about, I enjoyed numbers 3 and 4 considerably more than the first two. It's like Krueger has finally found his pace and style. Blood Hollow has a number of wonderful twists and turns that I did not expect, which serve to make the story more interesting. I will definitely keep reading the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Glad this is a series!

    This is my 2nd "Cork O'Connel" book. I like William Krueger's writing style. The story is captivating and suspenseful with out going to far into the dark side. Can't wait to read another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Another great one in the series.

    This series just keeps getting better and better. Just about the time I think I know who the bad guys are, they change. Very enjoyable books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Love Cork!!!

    Congratulations to William Kent Krueger for creating a community and cast of characters that I can not live without.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Blood Hollow

    A great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love this series!

    I read the first of the Cork O'Connor series and was hooked! Within 6 weeks, I read all 12 - and can't wait for the next to come out. I recommend you read them in order if you read the whole series. However, each book can stand alone and is still excellent on its own. I feel like I know (and love) this family. I have read a lot of series books - this series is my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    great series

    Like some others, I stumbled across this series and have now become a BIG fan - I have purchased and read installments 1 - 4 in a row.

    That said, "Blood Hollow" was my least favorite so far. It is still VERY good, interesting, a real page-turner, but it felt kind of "all over the place". This will not spoil the ending, but I thought Krueger was a little hard on Cork in the end.

    I am still giving 4 stars, and would recommend this and the first three in the series without hesitation. Purchasing #5 right now...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Another great mystery.

    I discovered this series by accident and am quite glad I did. When I start a book I can't put it down and this is no exception.Just when you think you have it all figured out, Bam!, not what you thought at all. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Well conceived and written.Kreuger's characters feel alive and authentic. Regional and ethnic nuances that feel right.Well developed characters and plot lines that kept me turning pages. William Kent Krueger shares shelf space with James Lee Burkes Dave Robichaux series. Distinguished company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    highly recommend

    great read for COC books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Memorable

    Better than ya'd think

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Really Good Book!

    I just love this series and I especially like that the novels take place in my homestate! Family drama, suspense, mystery and murder make for a thrilling who-done-it.
    If you like this series, you may also enjoy the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child, the Rizzoli/Isles series by Tess Gerritsen and the Kay Scarpetta series by Patricia Cornwell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    William Kent Krueger has created a hero in Cork O'Connor.

    Blood Hollow is the 4th in a great thriller series! Cork O'Connor is a true hero, whether he is the sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota or just a private citizen running a hamburger grill. In this installment, we learn even more about the bigotry that exists against Native Americans while at the same time reveling in the beauty that surrounds the characters in their rural setting. This book has a little of everything and something for everyone. A touch of religious mysticism is mixed in with the battle to find the murderer of a beautiful teenager. We learn even more about the incredible O'Connor family and the ties that bind. I couldn't put this thriller down and believe you won't be able to either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    W.K. Krueger Keeps Mystery Alive

    Just finished reading this book in the Cork O'Connor series and it was as good, if not better, then the other books in this series. I've read all but 2 of his books which I have waiting. I look forward to seeing how Cork solves each mystery. Writing isn't fancy or stilted. Easy to get caught up in the action and how the characters come to life with his discriptions. You feel as if you are personal friends with Cork and all the folks in his life. Enjoy this terrific writer as I have during this long & cold winter! RPITA, Brick, N.J.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4