Customer Reviews for

The Blood King (Chronicles of the Necromancer Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The book is incomplete.

    I write this in hopes someone will notice and fix this.

    The Blood King as well as Dark Haven are both incomplete. I have purchased books 1-3 of this series for my Nook, after completing the first one, I went to read the second only to discover that it is not the full book.

    Needless to say, something needs to be done.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where's the middle?

    This might be a good e-book if it were complete...it seems to be missing about 3/4 of the book and instead only contains the first 40 pages and the last 60...I'm pretty sure something interesting happens in the middle 200+ pages...just not sure what.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great ideas, pathetic editing.

    Pretty much "see above" on this. The world is great, the ideas and the story are great, then it seems like a drunken, english a second language editor got ahold of it and tore it apart. I really hoped things would improve from the first book but they didn't and I ended up throwing the book down in disgust.

    I'm not very picky about proper grammar or spelling mind you, so to illustrate my point I'll provide some of the more glaring examples. A scene is taking place at night around midnight, then it suddenly shifts to dawn coming through the windows a few sentences later, and in the next paragraph it's night again and they're talking about what they will do in the morning. I also noticed entire paragraphs repeating, or conversations that were exactly the same but happening at a different period in the story.

    It's a damn shame because I liked the ideas and it seemed like every time I was really getting into the story, it just made another damn disappointing loop or hiccup. It honestly feels like the writer had multiple ideas for the same conversation or event and instead of smoothing and streamlining the ideas they all got "copy/pasted" in at odd angles.

    If you don't mind doing editing in your own brain and want to take in another new story give it a shot, if you're like me and hope when you buy a book its been edited stay away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    This is a ripoff

    Imagine my surprise when I finished the paperback of the first book and then jumped online to buy the nook book The Blood King.. Surprise !!! IT is not a complete book. Stupidity like this may be the very reason that Barnes and Noble are near bankruptcy.. The books are well written, but for some reason known only to the brilliant minds of Barnes and Noble I can't buy a whole book for my nook. REALLY BARNES AND NOBLE, is this the best that you can do ?? Please explain the reasoning behind this... Really makes me want to buy more nook books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Necromancy & Secrets Revealed

    It was just as good if not a bit better than the first book, because book two has a higher amount of danger, powerful and creepy necromancy, and more insight into the Mage War. But, I'm still not satisfied with the fight scenes. For me, they leave too much to the imagination, and don't seem to have an easy flow. Never wanting to be king and living his life without the crown is only a wasted dream for Tris now. As the Hawthorn Moon approaches, Tris continues to grow into one of the most powerful spirit mages of his time, however if his training doesn't kill him, Arontala's sleazy attempts may. More history of the Mage War is revealed as secrets are told to save the Winter Kingdoms from the starving and trapped Obsidian King; the powerful Sisterhood and their important involvement in the Mage War, the mysterious and dangerous group the vayash moru, and the untold history between Bava K'aa, and Lemuel. Jared's hold as a feared tyrant of Margolan is quickly slipping as his soldiers desert his army, and his disturbing and sick nightly actions prove to be too much even for members of the vayash moru. I'm curious to find out what happens in Dark Haven because everything was so neatly wrapped up at the end of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    Good read

    Thoroughly enjoyed the book, and not a big fan of the genre. One book in a series. read the first two adn lost interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Good read... horribly edited.

    Beautiful story and very engaging. However, this e-book is missing a lot of commas and other pieces of grammar. Towards the end of the book some words were cut in half and parts of sentences were missing. Either the formatting for this file is bad or the editor for it is terrible. Still a great story though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    not the best

    It was a good story several speling errors and typos. :) over all not the best read i have ever had. I kept hoping the story would get better. I had to read both books just because i needed to finish the story line. I prob will not read the rest of the book. Alot of good story lines but i felt the author failed to realy draw you into his world. Spelling errors were purposful in this post :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Don't bother buying this book. I stopped reading it in chapter 4

    Don't bother buying this book. I stopped reading it in chapter 4. Seems like there should be another book between this one and the first one. There is a short prologue that tells you they made it to Westmarch, got what was needed, fell in love etc. Then jumps into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Is anyone proofreading this series?

    Although I truly love this series, can anyone explain why no one proof read these books? I have found words missing, several words run together, misspelled,truncated something awful,sentences with no connection to the next sentence. I am not an english major but it's alomst as if the person writing this has no concept of grammer, or structure. I am truly sorry that the author had no one close enough to point out alot of these mistakes. It's almost as if this author was only sixteen years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    All the books seem to have publisher issues but the story is great. Enjoy the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Fun Read

    Story still seems to move a bit slow, but I really want to know how everything turns out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Great

    My new favorite aurthor for sure. I am on the fourth book now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    hmmmm... tempted to leave 2 stars, but will leave 3. The good

    hmmmm... tempted to leave 2 stars, but will leave 3.

    The good: it's a fun yarn with wizards, warriors, and vampires. A slightly different take on magic, and the power over the dead. Some good intrigue and battles. The action parts are good. Enjoyable even. Martin is certainly deft at writing.

    The bad: Okay, so I'm fine with some romance and think it's great to have strong heroines. However, particularly in the second book, Martin spends a LOT of time having the different characters agonize over their emotions and relationships... the men particularly worried about their relationships in ways that were just... well... plain feminine. That compounded with the descriptions of the characters outfits, and beautiful looks made me think like I'd walked into what I imagine must be a Danielle Steele type novel. Which is fine, 'cept that I thought I was reading a sword and sorcery novel!

    So, it's a good series, but Martin seems to be straddling sword & sorcery and romance genres too closely for my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Recommend to those that read volume 1

    Very good book am looking forward to reading volume 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice book

    Its a nice book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Highly recommended- very well done

    This book leaves no stone unturned in it's effort to give the reader a completely satisfying story to read. This book and book 1 in the Necromancer series are well written set. The story moves along very well and keeps you entertained, without many of the contrived plot 'twists' that are so common today.

    I was very happy to find there are other books in the series still to read.

    I would recommend this book to most any age group over 12 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Necromancy & Secrets Revealed

    It was just as good if not a bit better than the first book, because book two has a higher amount of danger, powerful and creepy necromancy, and more insight into the Mage War. But, I'm still not satisfied with the fight scenes. For me, they leave too much to the imagination, and don't seem to have an easy flow. Never wanting to be king and living his life without the crown is only a wasted dream for Tris now. As the Hawthorn Moon approaches, Tris continues to grow into one of the most powerful spirit mages of his time, however if his training doesn't kill him, Arontala's sleazy attempts may. More history of the Mage War is revealed as secrets are told to save the Winter Kingdoms from the starving and trapped Obsidian King; the powerful Sisterhood and their important involvement in the Mage War, the mysterious and dangerous group the vayash moru, and the untold history between Bava K'aa, and Lemuel. Jared's hold as a feared tyrant of Margolan is quickly slipping as his soldiers desert his army, and his disturbing and sick nightly actions prove to be too much even for members of the vayash moru. I'm curious to find out what happens in Dark Haven because everything was so neatly wrapped up at the end of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    A Good Read.

    Martin balances humans, ghosts, vampires, & monsters in a web of thrilling adventure and intrigue. Another fun read in the Chronicles of the Necromancer Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Fun Read

    Interesting story for the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15