Customer Reviews for

Blood Land: A James Pruett Mystery (Volume One)

Average Rating 3.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great story, characters are very human

Well written story you won't soon forget. Yes, you could nitpick about food coming without a word about it being ordered but that does not take away from the tale. Characters are human with flaws we/I can relate to. Have already bought the next one.

posted by 10587026 on December 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

190 pages, did not care for.

This 190 page free ebook revolved around family greed and sibling murder. The author used very convoluted sentences and uncommon words. While much better then the cursing some writers are injecting into their stories lately, it did become tedious. The editing was very w...
This 190 page free ebook revolved around family greed and sibling murder. The author used very convoluted sentences and uncommon words. While much better then the cursing some writers are injecting into their stories lately, it did become tedious. The editing was very well done. Mystery is my favorite genre, but this book did not interest me. The callousness of one of the characters at the end was disturbing. I noticed many readers really enjoyed this book, all I can recommend is for you to try it. Perhaps you will enjoy it also. Because of violence and subject matter, for readers 18 and up.

AD

posted by 19189092 on October 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Great story, characters are very human

    Well written story you won't soon forget. Yes, you could nitpick about food coming without a word about it being ordered but that does not take away from the tale. Characters are human with flaws we/I can relate to. Have already bought the next one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Good story well written

    Sheriff in a small town. Rash of killings in one family.
    Takes place in Wyoming.





    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Blood land

    I liked thid

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    B

    Enjoyed this book a lot. The characters were interesting and the story moved along very well. The author told a good story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Anon

    Really good book. Definitely not your average cowboy cozy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2015

    Engaging drama

    A rare treat. Humanized characters and twisted layers to the plot that will not leave the reader disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    A western with a twist

    He isnt your typical sheriff and the crime is very personal. All of this is put together very well by R. Guthrie in a book that I couldnt put down until it was done. The author works all the intricacies of the personalities very well and keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Anonymous

    I was taken in right from the start. I never expected the main person behind all the killing and greed. Loved the ending. I liked the fact that this book also showed respect to the native americans. They deserve so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Great story.

    The rational of an alcoholic was a little boring at times as I wanted too just get on with the story. The number of murders and the connections finally uncovered was fascinating and amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Great Read!

    Wow!! This was a freebie book from B&N and it was fantastic! It started out slowly and I didn't care for the main character's slip back into alcoholism after 12 years of sobriety, which is why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5. Warning! This review includes spoilers.

    James Pruett is the Sheriff in a small town in Wyoming. His wife is accidentally murdered by her brother in family altercation and Pruett dutifully arrests the brother. However, things are not quite as cut and dry as they seem and as he investigates the cause behind the murder, he uncovers family secrets that his wife of 44 years had never shared with him. Add to this mix a surprise about Pruett himself revealed about half-way through (he's a black man in a very, very white community, including his wife and in-laws); his reconciliation with his child after almost 20 years; a long-ago affair that almost ruined his marriage; his struggle with the bottle, renewed now that his wife his been killed.

    The plot had so many twists and surprises that, once the story started moving, I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend this one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Recommended reading

    Enjoyable fast paced read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2