Customer Reviews for

Blood Land: A James Pruett Mystery (Volume One)

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great story, characters are very human

Well written story you won't soon forget. Yes, you could nitpick about food coming without a word about it being ordered but that does not take away from the tale. Characters are human with flaws we/I can relate to. Have already bought the next one.

posted by 10587026 on December 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

190 pages, did not care for.

This 190 page free ebook revolved around family greed and sibling murder. The author used very convoluted sentences and uncommon words. While much better then the cursing some writers are injecting into their stories lately, it did become tedious. The editing was very w...
This 190 page free ebook revolved around family greed and sibling murder. The author used very convoluted sentences and uncommon words. While much better then the cursing some writers are injecting into their stories lately, it did become tedious. The editing was very well done. Mystery is my favorite genre, but this book did not interest me. The callousness of one of the characters at the end was disturbing. I noticed many readers really enjoyed this book, all I can recommend is for you to try it. Perhaps you will enjoy it also. Because of violence and subject matter, for readers 18 and up.

AD

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Good Read

    Well-written mystery. I enjoyed the characters very much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    Outstanding! Will read all of his books.

    Outstanding! Will read all of his books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book! I was completely captivated by Sh

    I absolutely loved this book! I was completely captivated by Sheriff Pruett from the first chapter to the last. I almost hate to even summarize the story because I want you to discover it for yourself.
    This book is set in Wyoming and I know you’re thinking “Ugh, a western”. But I would encourage you to try it because it’s not a typical western style story. And Sheriff Pruett is not your typical cowboy, in fact, he never even gets near a horse in this story.
    So what is this book about? The story opens with the murder of Sheriff Pruett’s wife. James Pruett has been the sheriff in Sublette County in rural Wyoming for a long time. He has also been married to the love of his life for a long time. And now she is dead by the hand of her own brother. This book is about Pruett’s journey through the investigation of his wife’s death, through the uncovering of cover-ups that have been years in the making, through the righting of wrongs and through reconciling with his past. The story, in my opinion, is beautifully crafted by R.S. Guthrie. His characters are both lovable and despicable, sympathetic and just plain mean.
    Blood Land is the first in a series and I, for one, can’t wait to read the rest. I think this book deserves 4 out of 4 stars. And my thanks to R.S. Guthrie for sharing this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    Blood Land is a great novel!  It's mysteries unravel slowly and

    Blood Land is a great novel!  It's mysteries unravel slowly and doesn't give out hints that can ruin the surprises, and there are definitely surprises.  It's a western story set in the ranch lands of Wyoming involving family greed, murder, lots of alcohol, but also redemption and love.  It's chock full of action, adventure, intrigue and interesting characters.  Guthrie really knows how to spin a great mystery!  If you've never read a western before don't let that stop you, this was my first and I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Great novel

    I really enjoyed this novel. Character development alone was gripping. Family ties is a very importantbpart of this vrry suspenseful story. Sheriff Pruett's role here caused hm much turmoil caused by so many people including himself. This story will keep you wondering throughout. Will read more of R.S. Guthrie. 197 pgs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    Very Good

    Good story line. Kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Good book

    A real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Very good story

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The plot was intriguing and the author held my attention through the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Good read

    This was the first book I have read by this author and I found it to be a little slow in the beginning but picked up quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Yoy luyyouuutouotpbm yu in,tuonouou

    Yyu n,kh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Good read

    I liked this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    This story is a page turner, with twists and turns that surprise

    This story is a page turner, with twists and turns that surprised me and sometimes made me gasp. Because of that I read it in two sittings (fast for me these days). I found it full of 50-cent words but fell into the rhythm of them somewhere in chapter two. The story was raw and oozing, with a heavily-flawed protagonist and also the grace of forgiveness in some of the side stories. Great character development, all in this first book of the series. Looking forward to the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Good read

    Will read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    You May Read This Story Once But You'll Remember It Forever: The

    You May Read This Story Once But You'll Remember It Forever: The writing talent of R. S. Guthrie explodes in Blood Land. Sheriff Pruett watched as the lifeblood of his wife drained into the Wyoming dirt; her brother charged with the murder. R. S. Guthrie leads us through a maze of family betrayal, government corruption and inner demons. Each turn of the page brings a new twist and will leave you guessing what is going to happen next. I would never be able to tell you one thing I liked most about the book, I loved it all. From jaw-dropping action to sweet and tender scenes, from the descriptive beauty of the land to the ugliness of a person’s greed. The ending brings it all home and gives you the answers you were not expecting. Only R. S. Guthrie could pull this off.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1