Customer Reviews for

Blood Law (Alexandria Sabian Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not Written Like a Novice

Rarely surprised, I was utterly stunned when a glance at the end of the book revealed that "Blood Law" was actually Jeannie Holmes first novel. Not written like a novice, Holmes pens absorbing plotlines and smoldering characters like a pro in "Blood Law".

Working as...
Rarely surprised, I was utterly stunned when a glance at the end of the book revealed that "Blood Law" was actually Jeannie Holmes first novel. Not written like a novice, Holmes pens absorbing plotlines and smoldering characters like a pro in "Blood Law".

Working as an Enforcer for the FBPI (Federal Bureau of Preternatural
Investigations) in a tiny Mississippi town, vampire Alexandra Sabien has fought to thrive beyond her family history and her race to develop a tentative relationship with the humans. Maintaining order-in a town where the human to vampire ratio is almost equal-is noticeably complicated and the challenges are aggravated by the obvious contempt of the local Sheriff.

Disturbed and discouraged by her inability to solve her current case-a serial killer hell bent on staging gruesome crime scenes featuring headless vamps-Alex makes the call to FBPI headquarters to request forensic backup. She might have sided with her human counterparts had she known that her past and former fiancé would arrive to haunt her.

The words virtually drip with sexual tension as Alex and Varik reunite in the search for a killer and Holmes, although new to the scene, never lets the temperature drop. The race to finish will make any fan of dark urban fantasy stand in line for the next installment.

Reviewed by Suspense Magazine
www.suspensemagazine.com

posted by Suspensemag on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wish I Liked It...

I read the first few chapters and then skipped to the last few chapters. I tried to like it, WANTED to, but the book failed to grab me. The writing is not a problem, but I just didn't feel sympathetic or connected to any of the characters. When the author started to ...
I read the first few chapters and then skipped to the last few chapters. I tried to like it, WANTED to, but the book failed to grab me. The writing is not a problem, but I just didn't feel sympathetic or connected to any of the characters. When the author started to describe the main love interest, I was about to stop reading all together, but made myself go on for the next few chapters. Didn't help, I still didn't like the start to this series. I'm not sure what the target audience is, but who the heck thinks long hair on a main that brushes the tops of his jeans is attractive? Gross. Anyways, I'm bummed I wasted money on this book, but I saw the high rating on BN.com and was fooled by it. Next time, I'll stick with goodreads reviews before my next purchase.

posted by empresz on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    I saw the reviews & almost did not get this book... but I am glad I made up my own mind & read it. It was really good. I will get the next book. Maybe I was just in the mood for a darker book like this. It just worked for me!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    NOT Just Another Vampire Novel

    Vampire Cop ("FBPI Enforcer") Alexandra Sabian in investigating a string of vampire murders that mimick the murder of her beloved father from years ago when her former fiance and mentor, Varik is thrust back into her life as he's put on the case as backup.

    Jeannie Holmes masterfully writes from all character perspectives, giving the reader a sneak-peek into the views of the villians as well as the heroes.
    In her world, vampires are born as another species, their fangs growing in at puberty, never to retract again. They have an uneasy peace with the humans they live alongside and occasionally feed from.
    It's a refreshing new world in which vampires are another race, still secretive, yet secret no longer.
    Full of mystery and action with just a hint of romance, BLOOD LAW is everything you want in a novel, and then some.
    It leaves you feeling completed, yet wanting more.
    I can't wait for next year's sequel!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining urban fantasy

    Federal Bureau of Preternatural Investigations (FBPI) field enforcer Alexandra Sabian resides in Jefferson, Mississippi; a town in which half of the six thousand residents are vampires to include forty-something Alex. She relocated to the quiet town six years ago for some needed respite from her internal issues.

    An unknown predator begins serial mutilating and killing vampires that remind Alex of her father's brutal homicide forty years ago, which haunts her. Nassau County Sheriff Harvey Manser makes it clear at the latest murder scene that his belief that the only good vampire is a truly dead vampire. The remains are horrific with fangs and heads removed amongst other vicious mutilations. The FBPI provides Alex with backup sending in retired agent Varik Baudelaire; her former fiancé and mentor whom she detests for his betrayal.

    This is an entertaining urban fantasy with a fascinating premise that does not always work. Four decades ago the vampires came out of the coffins demanding equal rights and legally received them within seven years of protesting, but de facto racism remains strong. The story line is at its best when the focus is on the taut dysfunctional relationship between the investigating FBPI agents. When the tale takes a moral species rights stand, it becomes too obvious a metaphor that pales compared to the realities of the Civil Rights Movement. Still readers will enjoy the opening gamut of the FBPI as Mississippi's Burning.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Not your typical Southern vampires!

    Jeannie Holmes has created a story that crosses multiple genres. Fans of UF, crime thrillers, paranormal romance and vampires will all find something to love about Blood Law.
    Holmes puts a new twist on the vampire mythos and yet pays homage to it. Like Bram Stoker's Dracula, her vampires can walk in the daylight and require blood to survive. They are not 'undead', but a separate species from humans altogether.
    Alex Sabian is a strong, complex female lead equally balanced by her smoldering ex-fiance', Varik Baudelaire. Besides dealing with Varik's re-entry to her life, Alex has to juggle catching a serial killer, small town prejudices, and oh yea, ghosts. The multiple threads of the story are expertly and tightly woven. The action is a non-stop adrenaline rush. The ending is satisfying, yet leaves you wanting more.
    You won't find anything else quite like it, at least until the sequel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    FINALLY!

    At last! Finally someone writes about the South who actually knows the South! Yes, we call our male parental units "Daddy" until the day we die around here! Mix the Southern flavor with an attitude, vampire stuff, and some grisly murders, and it is obvious that this ain't your same ole' "I vant to suck your blood" tale.

    Only suggestion I can make for the next book: Turn Tubby Jordan into a vampire then let him bite the FedEx man :)

    Looking forward to the next installment!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    NOT Just Another Vampire Novel

    Vampire Cop ("FBPI Enforcer") Alexandra Sabian in investigating a string of vampire murders that mimick the murder of her beloved father from years ago when suddenly her former fiance and mentor, Varik is thrust back into her life as he's put on the case as backup.

    Jeannie Holmes masterfully writes from all character perspectives, giving the reader a sneak-peek into the views of the villians as well as the heroes.
    In her world, vampires are born as another species, their fangs growing in at puberty, never to retract again. They have an uneasy peace with the humans they live alongside and occasionally feed from.
    It's a refreshing new world in which vampires are another race, still secretive, yet secret no longer.
    Full of mystery and action with just a hint of romance, BLOOD LAW is everything you want in a novel, and then some.
    It leaves you feeling completed, yet wanting more.
    I can't wait for next year's sequel!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    MUST READ!

    Great characters, plot, action & suspense. You wont't want to put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Fresh new take on the vampire genre!

    Alexandria is a vampire cop forced to work with her former fiance to solve a string of crimes and this leads to mysteries from her past being unearthed.

    Holmes is a master at writing from the perspectives of all the main characters, giving you a peek of the inside of the bad guys as well as the heroes. She seamlessly goes from one voice to another to tell a complicated story with ease. She weaves an intricate mystery leaving you wanting more and more.

    She has a very creative take on vampires in today's society. You will not be sorry you picked this up. BLOOD LAW is captivating, intriguing and chilling - a page turner.
    DO NOT MISS!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2