Customer Reviews for

Blood Lite: An Anthology of Humorous Horror Stories Presented by the Horror Writers Association

Average Rating 3
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Needs More Bite

    I picked up this anthology strictly because I'm trying to read all of Jim Butcher's short stories. In this collection, it is a Dresden Files short story entitled "Day Off". Just from the title you know that Harry Dresden's not lucky enough to get a day off -- there wouldn't be a story otherwise. A classic Dresden tale including the characters that we've come to know and love -- and entertaining & engaging enough to entice readers to his series.

    With the aforementioned exception, if anthologies are a way to introduce readers to several authors and whet your appetite enough to read their books, this one failed mightily. Blood Lite is supposedly a collection of *humorous* supernatural stories. Too bad so few evoked a laugh -- sadly, most didn't even earn a grin here or there. The majority were just dumb and/or boring.

    What stories worked?

    Charlaine Harris of Sookie Stackhouse (HBO's "True Blood") fame brings a fun little tale called "An Evening with Al Gore" about four friends who take going green deadly serious. It was entertaining, but not great.

    I also enjoyed Lucien Soulban's "Hell in a Handbasket" about how hell's minions are saddled with a troublesome delivery. One of the few that made me laugh.

    Matt Venne's "Elvis Presley and the Bloodsucker Blues" gives us an interesting theory on Elvis' last days. This one was a fun read and made me grin a few times, but from what I've heard, I think Charlaine Harris did this twist better with Bubba.

    Sherrilyn Kenyon's "Where Angels Fear to Tread" and Kelley Armstrong's "The Ungrateful Dead" were two other tales that stood out as being interesting reads.

    I wish I could say that much about the other 15 short stories. Chalk this one up to borrow from a friend or the library. If you must buy it, I suggest buying it used to get your money's worth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Featured authors, the only good stories.

    I got this book for the Jim Butcher story. I also liked the other featured authors Charlaine Harris, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Kelly Armstrong. The rest of the stories are either stupid or just boring. Serioulsy, I am surprized that the above mentioned authors would want to be in a book with the other stories. That is how bad they were. The characters were lame and the stories were for the most part rediculous. The Jim Butcher story "Day Off" with Harry Dresden was my favorite, and it delivered in true Jim Butcher style....it was wonderful. The stars I gave were for the above mentioned authors only. The others didn't get any....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Horror Humor Lacks Bite

    This short story collection of humorous horror was hit or miss for me. I loved stories by Jim Butcher, Kelley Armstrong, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Nancy Holder, Nancy Kilpatrick, Sharyn McCrumb, Joe Lansdale, and Jeff Strand. The rest were either unmemorable or just plain bored me. I was surprised to find Charlaine Harris' story all right, not anything special, when she is usually a favorite for me.<BR/><BR/>My favorite of the stories was Jim Butcher's "Day Off," a truly funny story in which poor Harry Dresden finally has a day off, and so of course everything goes to hell.<BR/><BR/>My least favorite of the stories were a tie between Mike Resnick's "A Special Kind of Girl," which was written in a very strange, almost future-tense, and had little to offer in way of plot, and Janet Berliner's "High Kicks and Misdemeanors," which was a bizarre story revolving around ostriches.<BR/><BR/>Overall, the book is worth picking up for the Kelley Armstrong and Jim Butcher stories, both of which take places in the worlds of their popular series (Armstrong's is a Jaime Vegas story; Butcher's, as noted above, is a Harry Dresden story). As always, I picked up a few new authors to check out, which is the best thing about anthologies

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    Not impressed

    Boring...boring... boring...major waste of trees.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Message to Poolgazer

    BloodClan is trying to forcemate/kill you under ThunderClan's request! Be prepared!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    FLAME AND FLARE

    AH HEREH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Tito poolgaze to annex fawn

    I gtg. I couldnt find you. Ive been waiting since noon. Sorry i was late. Bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Annex fawn

    Itz ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    skip it

    Ithink the authors here were told to shoot for tones like "quirky" and"funny" when writing about urban supernatural and horror, and most ofthem overshot directly into "twisted in a disturbing and not funny orthoughtful way." More like "a bad Twilight Zone" vibe.However, at least all the stories were readable, unlike some of themesses of short stories I have seen in some similar compilations.I picked this up because two of my favorite author...more I think theauthors here were told to shoot for tones like "quirky" and "funny"when writing about urban supernatural and horror, and most of themovershot directly into "twisted in a disturbing and not funny orthoughtful way." More like "a bad Twilight Zone" vibe.However, at least all the stories were readable, unlike some of themesses of short stories I have seen in some similar compilations.I picked this up because two of my favorite authors had stories in it -as for those - Charlene Harris provided a story that was sort of "eh"(a bit predictable), and Jim Butcher (who at least can consistantlywrite a decent a short story) provided one that lwas a least somewhatfunny.The rest of the stories were actually so bad that they were at best,unremarkable, and at worst, cringe-worthy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun & a little wicked

    Blood Lite is a collection of humorous horror stories, which more often than not means poking fun at horror tropes. If you're a fan of Jeff Strand-style stories you're in luck, because not only is he in here, so are 20 other tales of tongue-in-cheek terror.

    Stand outs include Kelley Armstrong's "The Ungrateful Dead" about a woman who can see the dead and finds them to be as annoying and pushy as the living, "A Good Psycho is Hard to Find" by Will Ludwigsen which points out some of the more realistic side effects of surviving a teen psycho murderer and Jim Butcher's "Day Off". Altogether it's a very fun and dark collection that's sure to do well by horror (or dark fantasy or suspense, or whatever we're calling horror these days) fans. Definitely recommended.

    Contains: Sex, language, gore, violence, bad puns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    At least it had a Jim Butcher story in it

    I thought this was supposed to be funny stories, but the only one I could get into was the Jim Butcher story. No one even came close, though there was one about satan that I got, just didn't find it funny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Charlaine Saved This Book

    Looking at the cover, I expected the short stories to revolve around vampirism. That was not the case. It ranged from witchcraft to zombies. Most short stories are collected around a focal point. This was collected under a sophmoric attempt. The saving grace was Charlaine Harris and Jim Butcher creating a nice short based on their beloved character. I wished this collection left an imprint on my memories so I could be more specific. I suggest buying this book if you have read the rest of the short story collections featuring Charlaine and Jim. It will be better suited as a donation to your local library. I am sad that I can not recomment it fully.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not worth the money

    This book is a waste of time for the most part. the stars of the book (Harris, Kenyon and Armstrong) had good stories; all the rest were, at best, boring. Don't waste the money, sit at the library for 30 minutes reading the good authors and give the book back!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Let Down

    I was expecting more from this book but found it quite boring. A lot of the stories felt unfinished. Trust me, not worth buying!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny and a good read

    Good mix of authors and a good way to find new ones to read. From funny stories to the ironic and bizarre. good over all read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Fun, light-hearted read

    I bought this book initially because it had stories by authors I usually read (Jim Butcher, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Kelley Armstrong). I really enjoyed the stories by Jim Butcher and Kelley Armstrong, which took place in the world of their books, with familiar characters. I liked a lot of the other stories and found them not too long, very funny and light-hearted. It was a fun book to pick up and read in between one of my other series books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5