Customer Reviews for

Blood Magic (Wing Slayer Hunter Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is a fabulous opening act of a wonderful urban romantic fantasy

Funeral director Darcy MacAlister finds arranging her beloved mom¿s funeral is a catharsis of sorts although hearing some speak of the deceased as if she was evil bothers her enough that her Special Forces cousin Joe notices and tells her to ignore the fools. At about ...
Funeral director Darcy MacAlister finds arranging her beloved mom¿s funeral is a catharsis of sorts although hearing some speak of the deceased as if she was evil bothers her enough that her Special Forces cousin Joe notices and tells her to ignore the fools. At about the same time that she buries her mom, witch hunter Wing Slayer Hunter leader Axel Locke is worried that his sister Hannah has been attacked by a death curse. He knows only two ways to save her: either the curse is lifted or a witch must die. Axel knows if he kills an innocent witch his soul will burn, but those witches who broke their sacred vow to protect humans from demons by switching sides are another matter as their former guardians like him are obsessed with killing the traitors.

Axel abducts a terrified Darcy whom he recognizes as an earth witch. He hopes to gain her cooperation by having her lift the spell. However though she commiserates with Hannah's dilemma, she never knew that witch blood flowed in her veins. Time is running out although she agrees to try to break the curse.

This is a fabulous opening act of a wonderful urban romantic fantasy starring two intriguing protagonists with an unwanted attraction pushing them towards each other and a blood curse pulling them apart. The story line is fast-paced, but owned by the lead pair as they ¿naturally¿ squabble while struggling to save his sibling. Jennifer Lyon bewitches sub-genre fans with this terrific thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tending more toward graphic than interesting

The idea for the story line was intriguing and the initial character development was good. Unfortunately, the author chose to interrupt the plot a number of times for graphic, multi-page, gratuitous sex scenes which did little or nothing to advance the plot. After the...
The idea for the story line was intriguing and the initial character development was good. Unfortunately, the author chose to interrupt the plot a number of times for graphic, multi-page, gratuitous sex scenes which did little or nothing to advance the plot. After the first one, I took to skimming past those pages so that I could get on with the story. I doubt that I missed anything innovative or interesting.

I'll probably buy the second book -- Soul Magic -- when it comes out because the preview chapter at the end of Blood Magic was intriguing. However, if I find that the author insists on digressing from the plot in order to tell me more than I want to know about intercourse, I won't be picking up any others she might write.

posted by SSKING on March 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Great!

    Just like Erin Hunter!~Z

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Great story of the hawkpool

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Hawkpool and the disaster Part 1

    "Hawkkit! Get over here! And stop hitting your sister, Featherkit!" A cry echoed through the Doveclan camp. A silver she-cat with white paws ran over to a brown tom with black paws and a blue-gray she-kit with white paws. The she-cat bend her head to the brown kit and grab him by the scruff. "Let me go, mom!" The brown tom squealed. "Hawkkit, stop." The silver cat scolded, but she was interrupted by a blue-gray tom. "Silverflower, sorry. I just want the kits to come and get some fresh air." The tom told the silver cat. "You better see more closely, Briarstar." Silverflower hissed through her son's fur. "Mom! Dad!" The small blue-gray kit yelled. "I want you to stop fighting!" Silverflower puts Hawkkit down. "We aren't fighting, Featherkit." Silverflower snarled. "We are having a conversat-" she was interrupted by Briarstar's snort. "Honestly, Silverflower, their apprentice ceromony is tonight. Stop treating them like kits." He hissed. "They are still kits." Silverflower corrected him. "Not until tonight!" Briarstar exclaimed. Silverflower's skinny tail shot up. "Come on, kits!" She ordered Hawkkit and Featherkit. "Go away from your father." Featherkit followed, but Hawkkit stayed in place. "Come on Hawkkit!" Silverflower hissed. "I want to be with my dad." Hawkkit meowed and padded over to Briarstar. "Fine. Go on." Silverflower snorted and carried Featherkit to the nursery. "It is alright, son." Briarstar whispered in Hawkkit's ear. "Follow me. I want to show you something." Briarstar pads over to the Highrock, with Hawkkit close after him. "Follow me." Briarstar instructed his son and the leader climb up the Highrock. "Really? Is it alright for my mom?" Hawkkit asked before climbing up. "Um..yes. It's alright." Briarstar lied but Hawkkit followed him up. When they were both on top of the Highrock, Hawkkit looked down and squealed in terror. 'I'm up so high!' Hawkkit thought. "It's alright." Briarstar meowed. "When my dad told me to come up here, I was scared too, just like you." Hawkkit jumped. "Really?" Briarstar nodded. "Really." He replied. "And I will say your apprentice ceromony right here." Hawkkit's bright yellow eyes grew wide. "Wow..." he purred. "Maybe one day, son, you will be a mighty warrior. I can even pick you as deputy." Hawkkit purred delightfuly. "When I retired, you can be Ieader, and name Hawkstar. Then you can do speeches right here." Briarstar told Hawkkit. "This is amazing!" Hawkkit looked down again and he wasn't scared anymore. "I am going to be the best leader everyone has ever seen!' Hawkkit thought in excitement. END OF PART ONE!!! READ MY OTHER STORY AT JAYSOAR ALL RESULTS!!! CONTINUE ON PART TWO!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Tedious

    This book did not make me want to continue reading the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Emma

    "Im sorry but my sister is stictly ravenclaw. She and i are basicly the rl patil twins. Ravenclaw is her, not myself. Thank you for your consideration" she says turning to go

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    To warrior fans

    Read my two stories. They are the golden cat at golden girl first result. Read nightfall's job at qu fourth result. Ask questions about the golden cat at qu second result. Then ill answer you in qu result three.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Ron Potter to Zane

    Ello pip pip cheerio

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    The ht to Zane

    Grinffindor. THE HOUSE IS AT THIRD RESLUT

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    highly recommended!!

    I really enjoyed it!! a real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Buckle up

    Reads fast but, good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Love this author!!!

    Great book. I love this series and look forward to reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Very Good

    A very good story and a good first book for the start of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Wow!

    What a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Great series!

    Enjoying this series! Adding it to my list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    recommend

    very good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    loved it

    I love this series. just couldn't get enogh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    This book is great and I have to get the next one!

    My husband picked this book up for me and I figured I would give it a shot. It was excellent and I couldn't put it down. Will be a series that I will have to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really 3.5 Rating

    I enjoyed this story and at times, had a hart time putting it down and couldn't wait to see what happened next; but there were other times where the story became very predictable. Darcy, a powerful earth witch gets a rude awakening when she is attacked by several rogue witch hunters bent on bloodlust cravings. Witch hunters were immortal guardians who traditionally protected earth witches until they were cursed by demon witches with mortality, and to forever crave the blood of the very earth witches they should be guarding. Axel Locke, a witch hunter, is in desperate need of a witch, when a demon witches puts a curse on his little sister Hannah. Axel, mans up, resists the bloodlust curse and chooses to save Darcy from her attackers; with hopes of her curing Hannah. Little do Darcy and Axel know, that the choices and scarifies they make, might give influence in helping to find a way to solve the curse. This story was very original and adds a fresh new take on magic. Most of the times it was fast paced, action-packed, suspenseful and intriguing. However there were many instances of constant rehashing of feelings, too much self-evaluation and of Darcy and Axel constantly doubting each other. Aside from a lot of the predictable parts and some of the unnecessary sex scenes, this book was very dark and exciting. I would categorize this as a dark paranormal romance fantasy. I recommend it to only those fellow dark urban fantasy readers with the patience to sift through the many sex scenes and too obvious predictable parts, to stick with the fantastically dark plot. I also look forward to reading the next book in the series Soul Magic due out 10/27/09.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    good for the beach

    a different take on paranormal romance, that usually involves vampires.
    there are no vampires here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    A wonderful new author for me, I found this book to be a wonderful read. Adventure, romance, and all the things in between. Great new book, looking forward to the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7