Customer Reviews for

Blood Magic

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not what I was expecting

When Silla Kennicott receives a mysterious book and a note signed by "The Deacon", she is surprised to find the book contains a bunch of magic spells all written in her late father's handwriting. She immediately goes to the cemetery to try out the spell book. She can't ...
When Silla Kennicott receives a mysterious book and a note signed by "The Deacon", she is surprised to find the book contains a bunch of magic spells all written in her late father's handwriting. She immediately goes to the cemetery to try out the spell book. She can't help it. This book came from her father, and since her parents both died in an apparent murder/suicide, she needs answers.

When her blood drips onto a dead leaf which slowly springs to life, it's then Silla realizes this book holds some truly amazing secrets. With this revelation comes more questions: who was her dad and what else had he been hiding? The other problem? Nicholas, the boy who just moved in next door, saw her in the cemetery. What all did he see, and more importantly, who will he tell?

Soon, Silla discovers that Nicholas has a few secrets of his own, and with the help of Silla's brother, the three of them attempt to uncover the secrets behind the blood magic inside the book. But there's something else out there that wants the book for its own evil purposes, and it needs Silla's blood to achieve its goal. Before they know it, the three of them are facing off against a decades old evil that is more powerful than anything they could ever imagine.

I REALLY liked this book. Tessa Gratton's writing flows freely, and the story is very engaging and original. The novel is written in first-person POV, alternating between Nicholas and Silla, with journal entries thrown in to give the reader plenty of back story. I'd figured out who the antagonist was way before the reveal, but that didn't ruin the experience for me. My only gripe is that Silla and Nick's instant attraction and resulting relationship felt a little rushed. This wasn't enough to ruin the book for me, though. The story is engaging, well-written and full of surprises. I highly recommend this one.

posted by OtotheD on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

WOW....

This book was not what I expected at all I feel like the other was an amateur she rushed along the story line, a lot of parts left the reader confused and this story was just awful. I feel as though she had the right idea for a story line but it was just way to rushed. ...
This book was not what I expected at all I feel like the other was an amateur she rushed along the story line, a lot of parts left the reader confused and this story was just awful. I feel as though she had the right idea for a story line but it was just way to rushed. The main character fell in love in what an hour..... I would not recommend this book to anyone I think the author needs to start fresh and not even finish on with the series.

posted by Luxxieriot on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I was expecting

    When Silla Kennicott receives a mysterious book and a note signed by "The Deacon", she is surprised to find the book contains a bunch of magic spells all written in her late father's handwriting. She immediately goes to the cemetery to try out the spell book. She can't help it. This book came from her father, and since her parents both died in an apparent murder/suicide, she needs answers.

    When her blood drips onto a dead leaf which slowly springs to life, it's then Silla realizes this book holds some truly amazing secrets. With this revelation comes more questions: who was her dad and what else had he been hiding? The other problem? Nicholas, the boy who just moved in next door, saw her in the cemetery. What all did he see, and more importantly, who will he tell?

    Soon, Silla discovers that Nicholas has a few secrets of his own, and with the help of Silla's brother, the three of them attempt to uncover the secrets behind the blood magic inside the book. But there's something else out there that wants the book for its own evil purposes, and it needs Silla's blood to achieve its goal. Before they know it, the three of them are facing off against a decades old evil that is more powerful than anything they could ever imagine.

    I REALLY liked this book. Tessa Gratton's writing flows freely, and the story is very engaging and original. The novel is written in first-person POV, alternating between Nicholas and Silla, with journal entries thrown in to give the reader plenty of back story. I'd figured out who the antagonist was way before the reveal, but that didn't ruin the experience for me. My only gripe is that Silla and Nick's instant attraction and resulting relationship felt a little rushed. This wasn't enough to ruin the book for me, though. The story is engaging, well-written and full of surprises. I highly recommend this one.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Highly recommended--excellent read!

    This book was even better than I had hoped. The twists and turns of the story and the richly broken characters are amazing. The lore behind it is unique and vast..well thought out and planned. This series of books will be most interesting to see the direction it takes next.

    I will never look at crows the same way again...

    A must read for anyone who is a fan of kissing, magic...writing styles that are a lot like Maggie Stiefvater and Brenna Yovanoff...Ahh the merry fates :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Something wickedly delicious this way comes!

    Every once in a great while you come across a book that you don't want to end. It may be the depth and quality of the writing; it may be the uniqueness of the plot, or even the way the characters seem to come to life off the page and make you genuinely care for them. Tessa Gratton has accomplished all three with this truly extraordinary story. Silla and Reese Kennicot have recently suffered the tragic loss of both their beloved parents, made more tragic by everyone's belief that her father killed her mother and then himself. Silla had found the bodies, been covered in their blood, and still can't get the memory out of her head. But more tormenting is the conviction that the murder/suicide did not go down as everyone believes. She knew her father's gentleness, his devotion to both his children and his wife; she cannot believe, WILL NOT believe that he was guilty of this atrocity. So when she receives a book from a mysterious friend of her fathers, a book of spells that seems to indicate her father's long interest and practice of some sort of magic, she sees a way of proving her belief to her brother...and everyone else. Enter Nicholas Pardee, a new boy from Chicago who will not only be entering school with her, but who also lives next door and meets her for the first time in the cemetery between their family properties. That she had just succeeded in performing her first instance of blood magic should have frightened him away, but Nicholas knows about magic. It's in his family's blood just as it is in Silla'a, and this dark and curious power will ignite an attraction between them that neither can put out. When it seems that someone else is hunting the book and its powerful spells - and is willing to go through anyone to obtain it - Silla, her brother Reese, and Nicholas will have to unite to protect those they love and solve the mystery of the magic and the deaths of the Kennicots before magic and madness cause more deaths. Darkly intense and full of blood magic that may disturb the more sensitive readers, this book has a truly beautiful romance that I hope continues, and a brother/sister relationship that is enviable and heartbreaking. I rarely give a book 5 stars, but this one deserves that highest of praise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    WOW....

    This book was not what I expected at all I feel like the other was an amateur she rushed along the story line, a lot of parts left the reader confused and this story was just awful. I feel as though she had the right idea for a story line but it was just way to rushed. The main character fell in love in what an hour..... I would not recommend this book to anyone I think the author needs to start fresh and not even finish on with the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Omg

    I loveeeee this book the person who wrote this needs to write more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Amazing

    Amazing, Favourite book, Favourite Author :) Keep up the Awesome work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I adored this book :-)

    I believe it was well written, good humor, mixed in with a lot of tear jerking moments and a lot of love :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    May i join?

    Im Sophia Miller (made up character) and im in the ravenclaw house. She pushed her glasses up on her nose and her owl squaked as she moved.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Beautifuly Written :) HIGHLY recommended!

    This book is quick passed and a great story. The auther actually makes the charactors seem real because in the real world when a girl is ontop of a guy and they're kissing and such the guy isnt NOT going to be thinking dirty, and thats what i really like about this book. It doesnt beat around the bush. :) 4.5 stars out of 5 :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    May I join?

    "I'm Valerie Tomson, and I'm in he huffle puff house, " the tan girl with light brown hair and big brown eyes says with her leggage and a cream colored fluffy cat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    V

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Ffg

    Im lanie moon. I want to be in ravenclaw!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Voldemort

    I kill you all haha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Heather

    Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Kq

    Jqs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    To warrior lovers

    Please read my two stories and my other reccamendd stories. Read the golden cat at golden girl result one. Read nightfall's job at qu result four. Ask questions about the golden cat at qu second result. Ill answer your question in qu result three. Please read theese stories too. There is the dauntless/defiant books at field of gold all results. Read twoleg of the clans at field of gold result one to five and maybe more might come out. Read mudshadows path at mud all results. Read coalreapers fate at coal all results. Read prolouge at planets first two results. Please read theese stories! The auther

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Emma

    "Allright"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Ron to Violet

    Yes u may join . Btw im Ronald Potter son of Mary and Albus Severus Potter . Grandson of Harry and Ginny Potter . Im hoping to make the Quidditch Team in my first year just like my dad and grandad . Im in Gryffindor . Wat house do you hope to be in . Well i better get going then . I hope to see you around soon good luck in the sorting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Hermonie

    Yep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Can I join?

    And make my own character?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3