BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blood Money (Jack Swyteck Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Anonymous

    I read the sample and plot is so similar to the Casey Anthony murder case. I don'know if I want to invest $16 to relieve that horrible night mare aggain. And besides this book is beyond my budget.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Have not finished reading

    I love his novels especially about the character. I did not realize this was based on the Casey Anthony story and it disturbed me to read it. I don't think I will finish it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    I have read and enjoyed many of his books. However, regretted th

    I have read and enjoyed many of his books. However, regretted this purchase. A thinly veiled casey anthony story, right down to the avarice, swimming pool and proported daddy abuse.
    Not worth the money or time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    WAY too short.

    Make it WAY LONGER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    How to NOT get you locked out!!

    To write any bad word just do this. <p> Pus<_>sy = pus<_> sy <p>NO SPACE IN BETWEEN > & sy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Advice

    Mak the stary a couple pages longer, each chapter. And findvthe trick that doesn't lock you out with words like 'pus<_>sy'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Great writing!

    This was a great read. This author does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Really enjoyable

    Well written. Page turner. Eminently readable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Good story once got going

    Did not care for the starting story line, started out like a familiar real life trial of a young party girl and the murder of her toddler daughter. But glad I stuck with it. It went off on its own story, exciting and kept you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Puddleleaf

    Pads in. Heavy with kit. Yowls as she falls. A black kit slowly slides out. She yowls. Then a 2 kit with gray spots. The 3 one with ginger brown spots slides out as she yowls. A 4 one slide out with a ginger pelt. A 5 one with dray and ginger spot came out. Finally the 6 one comes out slowly. (Rp them) walks out tiredly. Exhausted (idc id want them!) Byeee.....

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Ree

    Kk. Same. I'm out for awhile. Laterz :)

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Deimos

    Next clue, next result. &Delta

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Kay

    Ree where r u im leaving nook for alittle bit just for the next 40 days ill be on on sundays though and ill bb on bye easter so c yah then i guess

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Flower

    May I join a small white wolf asks.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Killer

    Perfect. To make sure you are all worthy enought to join go to all too human resukt one and kill everyone. Come back only after everyone has died

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    James Grippando always a great book

    never go wrong w/James Grippando

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Good Book

    While the book starts out with a trial closely patterned after the Casey Anthony trial, new elements to the story quickly emerge. New characters bring in related aspects of this story. This was my first book by this author and I think I'll go back and read his books in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As the title suggests, money is at the root of this plot in this

    As the title suggests, money is at the root of this plot in this, the latest in the Jack Swyteck series. It begins with a case in which Sydney Louise Bennett, the mother of a two-year-old child, is found innocent of murder. Jack, who stood in for his mentor at an earlier hearing in the woman’s matter, is the attorney of record, and the judge does not let him withdraw from the case.

    The trial itself leads to a media circus, which fans a bloodthirsty crowd that surrounds the court chanting all kinds of slogans. Everyone believes Sydney to be guilty, fueled by the invectives of a cable channel, Breaking News Network. and its anchor. Jack is vilified, especially when the jury returns a Not Guilty verdict. Any further details of the ensuing plot would constitute a spoiler.

    The author’s background as an associate with a leading law firm provides the basis for creating interesting courtroom scenes and raising unusual legal questions. The story that develops is on the one hand somewhat complicated, while the characterizations, on the other, are a bit oversimplified. Nevertheless, “Blood Money” upholds the level of the ten Swyteck series novels, and it is recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5/5 This is the 10th book featuring Jack Swyteck, a Miami bas

    3.5/5

    This is the 10th book featuring Jack Swyteck, a Miami based lawyer. In Blood Money, Jack reluctantly takes on the defense of Sydney Bennett, a party girl cocktail waitress accused of killing her two year old. Sounds just like the real life case of Casey Anthony, also a Florida woman accused of killing her two year old in 2008, doesn't it? And, like Anthony, Grippando's character is found not guilty. The resulting social media storm also mirrors that of Anthony's case, which Time magazine called &quot;the social media trial of the century.&quot; Bennett comes to be known as 'shot mom', a reference to her selling of drinks at her cocktail waitress job, by TV host Faith Corso. Anthony was called 'tot mom' by television news host Nancy Grace. There are some other similarities I won't bother listing.

    So, part of me was disappointed in Grippando for simply fictionalizing a known case. But once things got underway, he did put his own spin on things with alternate scenarios. Lots of twists and turns kept me listening. I found the media frenzy surrounding the case a telling commentary on our society. I've always enjoyed the character of Jack - he's a likable, principled protagonist. Theo (whom Jack 'saved' from Death Row) is a solid sidekick, and the more physical of the duo. Their banter is often entertaining.

    The reader was award winning Jonathan Davis and he was excellent. His interpretation of Jack really matched the mental image I had created for this character. His voice is very expressive, and captured the action and tone of the story perfectly. His range of voices was very good - I was able to easily tell who was speaking. Davis has a voice that is truly easy on the ears!

    Blood Money was an entertaining listen for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    The book starts out with a Casey Anthony type trial and its dist

    The book starts out with a Casey Anthony type trial and its distasteful outcome. However, it quickly becomes something else entirely. Twisted lives, several plot twists and Swyteck's usual associates combine to make this a thrilling adventure of just how bad some of these awful people are. You really don't like anyone in this book when you realize that no one is what they seem to be. Grippando's grasp of the visual beauty that is Miami is evident on every page and you are able to successfully picture yourself at the heart of the action. The ending is rewarding, but does leave a door open with regard to Swyteck's romanitc future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2