Customer Reviews for

Blood Oath (Nathaniel Cade Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Readers will relish Christopher Farnsworth's satirical tale of vampires dining in the White House.

Twenty-five years old Zach Barrows is already a veteran of senate and presidential campaigns; having delivered three states in the last race. The Washingtonian calls him the next Rove as he is now the youngest ever deputy director for White House affairs.

Caught wit...
Twenty-five years old Zach Barrows is already a veteran of senate and presidential campaigns; having delivered three states in the last race. The Washingtonian calls him the next Rove as he is now the youngest ever deputy director for White House affairs.

Caught with the POTUS' nineteen years old daughter, Zach is being escorted by Secret Service Agent Griffin who takes him to the oldest part of the Smithsonian; a hidden room buried inside the Castle that the Griff calls the Reliquary trophy room where some of the oddities of history are "buried". Zach has joined a very exclusive club as the White House liaison to Nathaniel Cade vampire; pardoned and pledged by President Andrew Johnson in 1867; he leads the global war on horror. Their first assignment as a team is to uncover a conspiracy from within to use biological weapons against the United States.

The two key elements that make Blood Oath an entertaining espionage paranormal thriller are the clever intermingling of history with the supernatural mostly through Zach but also with artifacts and the plot never takes itself seriously. The wild story line lampoons American mythos like president-journalist relationships via Nixon and the Washington Post, Frankenstein, Roswell, and the GWOH. Fans who relish an over the top of the Washington Monument and under the Smithsonian will relish Christopher Farnsworth's satirical tale of vampires dining in the White House.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Possibly the Worst Book I've ever read

There are two primary flaws in this novel. First, many highly trained professionals act like not very bright bumpkins. Completely unrealistic. Second, as I've noticed in other mainstream writers with no technical or scientific background, Farnsworth can not keep the str...
There are two primary flaws in this novel. First, many highly trained professionals act like not very bright bumpkins. Completely unrealistic. Second, as I've noticed in other mainstream writers with no technical or scientific background, Farnsworth can not keep the strength of the varoius characters' abilities consistent in relation to each other and in relation to the real world.

The insidious element in the novel, and what makes it the worst book I've ever read, is that it's not too bad in these aspects at the begining of the story. But the deeper one gets into the story, the more severe these problems become. Since there is a natural interest in seeing how any story ends, and a delusional hope that the inconsistencies will clear up, one is suckered into continuing to read instead of cutting one's losses by throwing it out mid-way. I kept reading. By the last chapter I was (mentally) shouting at the author: "No one would be that stupid andincompetent!!!" or "If he was that strong and fast, he wouldn't have any trouble before!!!" etc.

It was a frustrating waste of time.

posted by PBY on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Good series overall. I'm not a big reader and all three books ke

    Good series overall. I'm not a big reader and all three books kept my
    attention and never a long pause between action. I understand that it
    might be way out there and really impossible endings but I would
    recommend the reads to someone else .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great debut novel

    Excellent debut novel! Even though it was about vampires, like so many other current books, I found this story to be original & fresh. It was well written & interesting. Cade was an awesome vamp! At first I didn't like Zach. He was a whiny, pompous, spoiled brat. Experience & circumstance made him grow up & become a stand up guy in a hurry! Bring on The President's Vampire #2!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Wish Nathaniel Cade were real!

    Wish we had a Nathaniel Cade to fight our terrorists today! I love how the factual history is entwined with fiction and the fun of Vampires and other mystical creatures! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    A nice mix of secret agent with monsters and magic

    I really enjoyed this book. Vampiric government agent. It's just so crazy it works. A nice mix of secret agent with monsters and magic. There was one section where the language was a little saltier than I like generally (which is counter balanced nicely in my opinion by how often the main character gets upset about people around him breaking the 3rd commandment). And it seems like the author had written himself into a corner with the twist he reveals just before the climax. He needed to drop in a little science fiction to get out of it, which didn't feel like it fit in well with the rest of the story. But over all, I liked it enough to continue on with the series eventually.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    I enjoy action and adventure with a large dose of science fictio

    I enjoy action and adventure with a large dose of science fiction. So naturally I enjoyed this book a whole lot. I read prior to buying this book that there was no character development and that was the main knock on this book. Well I dont think that is true at all. They develop and show the past for the main characters, they dont go into huge depth but they do more than enough to satisfy. I have already ordered the second book and will almost certainly order the third as well. I suggest you read it if you like action, mystery, and science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    something fresh

    Loved the book! I'm a big fan of Vampire books/series, in fact, I've exhausted almost all of the good ones? So glad a stumbled onto this. A FRESH take on old lore, loved the use of historical events, clever way to introduce the Vampires past, great plot.....great read in general. I've already bought and read the second book and I look forward to more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Loved it, loved it! This would be a great film

    I thought the fact that Christopher Farmsworth is a screen writer made the way the book was written very visual and entertaining. I would love to see it on screen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Entertaining Read

    It's not the next War & Peace, but its certainly an entertaining read that on occasion touches on some more complex issues. Pick it up and enjoy a solid read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Definitely worth the time.

    This one developed very quickly and just kept gaining speed. Much like Zach, you just get tossed into the fray and are expected to keep up. Despite this, the characters grab you make you more than willing to go along for the ride. The anecdotes at the beginning of most of the chapters added that historical layer to the characters and the story. Even if that history was a mix of actual events jumbled with horrific folklore and stories to make the things that go bump in the night real, I often found myself smiling at the references. I have to say with the way this one ended, it feels very much like the beginning of a series. So, we may very well see more of Zach and Cade...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    If Stephanie Meyer and Jonathan Maberry co-wrote a vampire book, this would be the result!

    This fast-paced novel introduces a vampire-hero and his government side-kick in an Indiana Jones meets Frankenstein adventure-thriller. It's interesting with just enough reality thrown in to make the reader wonder for a millisecond about the veracity of some of the "government conspiracies" that abound. If you like movies like National Treasure, or books that are Jules Vernean, this story is for you! I liked it so much, I hope the author brings this dynamic duo back for another round!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly enjoyable fun

    Great characters and story. I can't wait for more of Nathaniel Cade. What a complex, serious and fascinating vampire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    CADE....

    Blood Oath by Christopher Farnsworth is a great read. It started out slow with me thinking "oh no" but then picked up steam and ended with the force of a Mike Tyson punch.

    The main characters you couldn't help but cheer for as the book reached its peak. This book was funny, exciting and down right thrilling after a slow beginning.

    My wish now? Mr Farnsworth get the sequel done as soon as you can!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4