Customer Reviews for

Blood Price (Blood Books Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Start to Series

The main character, Vicki Nelson, is an ex-cop turned private investigator with poor vision and an extremely quick mind. Henry Fitzroy is the illegitimate son of Henry the VIII and a vampire. I found this first novel, in the Blood Series, somewhat slow when getting to ...
The main character, Vicki Nelson, is an ex-cop turned private investigator with poor vision and an extremely quick mind. Henry Fitzroy is the illegitimate son of Henry the VIII and a vampire. I found this first novel, in the Blood Series, somewhat slow when getting to know the characters but once you understood Vicki and what she was about the story took off. First books in a series always seem this way to me. Henry, also, became more interesting as you learned of his past and a little of what he was like in his youth. The developing love triangle between Henry, Vicki, and Mike will complicate the characters personal lives in stories to come. The antagonist, Norman Birdwell, came across week, non-threatening and a somewhat boring character. It seems not much time was spent in developing his character. However, Blood Price, is well worth your time.

posted by paizley on February 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok read to pass the time!

I didn't think it was very original. Plot easily guessed. It took me longer than normal to read this series than others. Even the TV show didn't stick around!

posted by AWalls on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Start to Series

    The main character, Vicki Nelson, is an ex-cop turned private investigator with poor vision and an extremely quick mind. Henry Fitzroy is the illegitimate son of Henry the VIII and a vampire. I found this first novel, in the Blood Series, somewhat slow when getting to know the characters but once you understood Vicki and what she was about the story took off. First books in a series always seem this way to me. Henry, also, became more interesting as you learned of his past and a little of what he was like in his youth. The developing love triangle between Henry, Vicki, and Mike will complicate the characters personal lives in stories to come. The antagonist, Norman Birdwell, came across week, non-threatening and a somewhat boring character. It seems not much time was spent in developing his character. However, Blood Price, is well worth your time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    Victoria ┬┐Vicki┬┐ Nelson had recently been diagnosed with Retinti

    Victoria “Vicki” Nelson had recently been diagnosed with Retintis Pigmentosa. She is slowly going blind. She already has no vision at night. Unable to settle for a desk job, Vicki turned in her badge at the Criminal Investigations Bureau of Toronto. Though Vicki no longer works in Homicide, she cannot give up investigating; therefore, Vicki is now a private investigator.

    Bodies drained of blood are beginning to show up around the area. Coreen Fergus is the girlfriend of one of the victims. The newspapers have been claiming that a vampire is the cause of the recent murders and Coreen agrees. Vicki is hired to investigate the death of her boyfriend, find proof that a vampire killed him, and to eliminate the threat. Vicki takes the case. The facts do point to a vampire, but the creatures are only a myth. Vicki figures that Coreen simply needs closure, so she would find out who killed the boyfriend of her client. But Vicki’s world tilts when she finds a vampire standing over the latest body.

    Henry Fitzroy was born in the sixteenth century and raised a good Catholic. He is the illegitimate son of Henry VIII. When Vicki finds him with the killer’s latest victim, he has two choices: Kill Vicki or talk to her. Surprisingly, it does not take Vicki long to accept that the impossible is actually possible. Henry is a vampire. Vampires do not want mortals to know they exist. This means Henry wants the killer stopped. Permanently. Working together, Henry and Vicki discover that the killer is a demon feeding. To stop the demon, they must find the mortal summoning it.

    Homicide Detective Michael “Mike” Celluci had not wanted Vicki to leave the police force, but he also understood why she did. They had four years of friendship and occasionally slept together. Vicki had acted as Mike’s safety valve and he had done the same for her. The situation has changed; however, being there for each other does not need to. And even though Vicki is now a civilian, she is still a valuable resource and highly respected by most in the force. If Mike cannot keep Vicki from snooping around, then he can at least help her and keep her safe. As for the new man in her life, Henry, Mike does not like him at all.

    **** FOUR STARS! An excellent beginning to the Blood Series. I would have given the story five stars had there not been to many typos. (At least in the Kindle version I purchased the typos are everywhere.) The three main characters are Vicki, Henry, and Mike. The villain in this first story is a demon. It will be interesting to see whether each story has a different paranormal creature or not. According to the book cover, this series has been made into a television show called Blood Ties. (I do not know if it is still aired though.) From what I can gather, the Blood Series is six books long. The first five titles are available in print and electronic formats; however, the sixth title is paperback only. (At the time of this review.) That last book is simply a collection of short stories. The only short story not in the sixth book is in the anthology titled A Girl’s Guide to Guns and Monsters.

    Tanya Huff has a creative writing style that is also easy to read. All character backgrounds are well developed. Each of the three main characters has unique personalities and their own set of quirks and pet peeves. I can only hope that the rest of the series is this fantastic! ****


    Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blood Price

    It was good but there were some parts that were boring ! Its not the easiest book to follow either because it should be a little bit more dramatic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Good Story

    I had seen the TV show first and liked it so I wanted to see what the book was all about. I liked the book although I feel it could have been a bit more suspenseful. Not sure if I'm going to keep going with the series or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Victory Nelson is the woman Anita Blake should have grown up to be...

    I enjoy all of Tanya Huff's writing, but especially the "Blood" books (and here I include the "Smoke" sequels) and her "Confederation" science fiction series. Smart, tough characters who nonetheless wear their humanness (if not their humanity) comfortably are the hallmark of Huff's work. Add to this a wickedly intelligent sense of humor, and you have a thoroughly enjoyable reading experience. For younger readers, her "Quarters" series and "Keeper's Chronicles" make a good introduction to fantasy literature that avoids cuteness and does not shirk difficult social and emotional issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2004

    Vicki Nelson is not as cunning as Anita Blake, but close enough.... ;)

    Blood Price is the beginning book of a wonderfully written series of books set in Canada, Toronto to be specific. This book highlights what we all know about Vampires but twists some of the myths that circulate around them. Very intresting book, you'll read it in one sitting; I'm sure of it. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Not Laurell Hamilton, But Fun All the Same...

    Blood Price is the first book in Tanya Huff's Vicki Nelson series. Vicki is an ex-cop turned private investigator who is having a hard time cutting her ties to the police department. She loved her job, and she was good at, but she has a rare disorder where she is slowly losing her vision. She doesn't let this slow her down, however. When she hears a strange scream in the subway, she immediately runs to help and finds a young man with his throat torn out. He is the latest victim in a series of similar crimes and the newspapers start screaming about a killer vampire on the loose. While she is investigating, she finds a vampire - the illegitimate son of King Henry VIII, romance writer Henry Fitzroy. Together they track down the killer... <p> I was expecting this book to be better than it was because of all of the great reviews. I am a big fan of Laurell Hamilton's earlier books and this book just didn't come close. The characters were likeable enough: I enjoyed a female heroine who had definite weaknesses, but went for it all the same; a 450-year old vampire who writes bodice rippers for a living and still hates his father for not accepting him; a dweeby nerd who is a great villain, etc. Still, the world just didn't come to life and I kept waiting for something to happen. <p> Bottom line, worth your while to read, but maybe you would like to find a library copy...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2002

    Good Good Good

    I finished this book in two days. It was interesting how Huff changed the perception to the novel to different characters... at first it was weird and I did not care for it much but then, I would be waiting for more of Vicki's thoughts when it changed to Henry and more of Norman's thoughts when it changed to Vicki or Henry... in all combinations. Not much a mystery, which kind of disapponted me, but again, I got used to this style of writing and found the novel quite enjoyable, making me want to continue reading this series and other novels written by Tanya Huff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    Quick Read

    Finished this book in one day. It was interesting from the moment I picked it up until finally putting it down. This was a simple story without a convoluted plot, which made for easy and enjoyable reading. Definitely good for reading by the pool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1