Customer Reviews for

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2060 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1640)

4 Star

(304)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Caution may be a lil bit of a spoiler!!

Ok I have read all of this series and almost all the other vampire books there are out there. This is series is definantely up in the top two! I really love Rose as a character. She is what made me keep reading from the first book! She is like what some girls and women ...
Ok I have read all of this series and almost all the other vampire books there are out there. This is series is definantely up in the top two! I really love Rose as a character. She is what made me keep reading from the first book! She is like what some girls and women should be like! Strong, funny, the first to defend her friends, a total smart a s s! lol I really liked all of that about her. BUT in this book Ricehelle Mead made her seem so so so weak! I mean to me she just didn't seem like the same Rose Hathaway that all the readers know and love. I mean Ms. Mead made her the one thing that she truely hated: a blood whore. I mean come on!!! Geez! I would have never expected that one to happen!
The other thing I didn't like was how she couldn't do the one thing she set out to do: save Dimitri! I mean I know that would be hard but I thught Rose could do anything........ I really hope that her and Adrian get together! lol He is a really great character because he is soooo unpredictable sometimes! Rose really has a thing for him!

Over all good book but a little disapointing. But I still can't wait for the next book! I checked Ms. Mead's website and the NEXT BOOK is scheduled to come out MAY 18, 2010!* Most likely subject to change but at least we have some kind of idea when the next one is coming! HAPPY READING TO ALL! =]

posted by VAMP_reader1488 on August 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

?????????????????????

How can you possibly write a review for a book that hasn't come out yet???? It is rather annoying i think. If you want to say how great the other books were say it on one (or all) of the other VA reviews where it really matters. Thank you.

posted by BellaSS on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Disappointed

    I was so excited about this book that I ran out last Tuesday to pick it up. I read it in two days and was actually left upset. I love what Richelle Mead writes and will always be a fan but I wanted more out of this book.

    The dynamics between characters wasn't in this book. What happend was expected and what I have liked so much about this series is there always seemed to be some twist toward the end that answered all the questions. There was none of that in this book.

    I guess I will just hold out until next year for the next book in the series.

    8 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Everything was so expected

    I was very eager to get my hands on this book. I loved the series.It took me a while to fall in love with Rose, but I did, especially on the last book. I wanted to know so badly what was going to happen to her and to Dimitri, but to be very honest, the history that I had in my head was better than the one I read on the pages of this book. Everything was so predictable. I also don't think that Dimitri would act the way that he did.He was too new to have so many plots going on. I don't want to give anything away here, but I think that we could scape this book all together and wait for the 5th one. Nothing really happen, and what little happen, was, well...predictable!
    I also think that the whole Russia + School was an overkill. She should have commit to one place or at least have some more development of the other characters there. Also, it got a little too much like 13 years old drama, I know that it is a teen book, but c'mom!!
    Over all, it was disappointing, and it is very sad for me to say this, I am a big fan of the writer, I have read her others books and series and I love them, but this one...not so much! :(

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Fu<_>ck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book was great to read. I could not stop reading it. Definitely a page turner. If you like vampire books or books that keep you guesssing, then this book is definitely the one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Promise (Vampire Academy Series #4)

    First of all, you HAVE to read the first three books. They were amazing, completely unlike this one. They also give important insight on to why certain things occur in this book.
    Honestly, this book was 90% filler. It is still worth reading, though, because it is an important part of the series. I feel like Rose was portrayed as a weak 'frilly' girl. It upsets me that Rose was made into something she obviously never wanted to be, but that does happen to people sometimes.
    The writing was still great, though, and you HAVE to read this. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    I'm Not Sure

    I'm not so sure about this one. I absolutly couldn't belive that Rose left at the end of the last book. If anything she should have at least waited a couple of months for graduation. I'm sure Lissa would understand that she needed to leave for a while after that, I mean didn't they say that being important in the royal society got you at least two body gaurds? Not to mention the fact that Lissa is the last of her bloodline. Their bound to give her alot of gaurds anyway, so Rose could go knowing Lissa was in safe hands. Of course in stead she runs away totally blowing her chances of ever becoming Lissa's body gaurd and maybe ever becoming a gaurd at all. The other option gave her all she needed or even wanted. It was truly a stupid desision not to go on that way. I had totally adoard the series until then, now I'm just not quite sure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1