Customer Reviews for

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2082 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1652)

4 Star

(308)

3 Star

(86)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Caution may be a lil bit of a spoiler!!

Ok I have read all of this series and almost all the other vampire books there are out there. This is series is definantely up in the top two! I really love Rose as a character. She is what made me keep reading from the first book! She is like what some girls and women ...
Ok I have read all of this series and almost all the other vampire books there are out there. This is series is definantely up in the top two! I really love Rose as a character. She is what made me keep reading from the first book! She is like what some girls and women should be like! Strong, funny, the first to defend her friends, a total smart a s s! lol I really liked all of that about her. BUT in this book Ricehelle Mead made her seem so so so weak! I mean to me she just didn't seem like the same Rose Hathaway that all the readers know and love. I mean Ms. Mead made her the one thing that she truely hated: a blood whore. I mean come on!!! Geez! I would have never expected that one to happen!
The other thing I didn't like was how she couldn't do the one thing she set out to do: save Dimitri! I mean I know that would be hard but I thught Rose could do anything........ I really hope that her and Adrian get together! lol He is a really great character because he is soooo unpredictable sometimes! Rose really has a thing for him!

Over all good book but a little disapointing. But I still can't wait for the next book! I checked Ms. Mead's website and the NEXT BOOK is scheduled to come out MAY 18, 2010!* Most likely subject to change but at least we have some kind of idea when the next one is coming! HAPPY READING TO ALL! =]

posted by VAMP_reader1488 on August 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

?????????????????????

How can you possibly write a review for a book that hasn't come out yet???? It is rather annoying i think. If you want to say how great the other books were say it on one (or all) of the other VA reviews where it really matters. Thank you.

posted by BellaSS on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series. . . Hope Fifth book's better than Fourth though!

    First of all I have to say that I LOVE this series. I didn't think I could feel this strongly about another vampire book after reading the Twilight series, but this is just as good. The chemistry between Rose and Dimitri- despite their age difference- is amazing. I absolutely fell in love with the first three books and was heartbroken at the end of the third one. So when I read this one- Blood Promise, it made me so angry. I never thought I would say this- but apart of me is starting to resent Dimitri! He made me so mad in this last book that I don't know if I can ever feel as the same about him and Rose ever again. When you read this book I think you might have the same opinion as me. He was so frustrating and Rose was too. Near the end I started to switch sides from "Team Dimitri" to "Team Adrian" he seems to be much better for her at this point in the book. I"m not sure how things will ever be the same for Rose and Dimitri. . . Then when I got to the last few pages of the book. . . I had hope a little piece of hope for Rose and Dimitri's love to endure. . . it's not much hope, just a little. (I still think she should give Adrian a shot)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed feelings

    This was probably my... second to least favorite of the series. I didn't feel the same way about the characters. The story was so far out there, I felt like it was it different series I was reading. I didn't connect with Rose, and it seemed like all she did was whine about Dimitri. I mean, I can see how hard it would be, but it was her choice and actions that I thought were all wrong. The first half of the story was all a boring blur, and her time with Dimitri seemed never ending. I could see the Avery thing from the start too. So, I think this book was a miss on Mead's part. I was very surprised because this book was supposed to be amazing, but it didn't crack up to what I thought it was going to be. What Rose only thought of until the end of the book on how to save Dimitri, I thought of at the beginning so I was a little annoyed with that. Hope the next one's better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Okay

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    THIS BOOK WAS...

    WELL LET ME SAY THAT I WILL ALWAYS BE TEAM DIMKA... BUT WHAT HAPPENED TO HIM? I WAS LEFT SHOCKED. IM NOT DONE WITH THE BOOK BUT IM LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING DIMITRI IN SPELL BOUND AND ADRIAN. IF U HAVENT READ THESE BOOKS...START NOW!!!!! U WILL INTSANTALLY FALL IN LOVE WITH THE CHARACTERS!!! I KNOW I DID. Team dimka!! I love u dimitri!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Omg i just hated Rose in this one!

    Yes three stars cause it took me three days to finish the others only took a day! Omg i hated Rose so much in the book, Reed made her so weak it totally fustrates you beyond point. I mean i understand where she was going with this not everyone is perfect and strong forever i know there comes a time when you break but i just wished she didnt hsve to go there. But alls well ends well, in the end Rose over comes it all most all and thats whst really matters! Excited to read the next..... :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as I expected.

    The cover:

    This is one of my favorite covers. It holds mystery in it :). And it certainly says a lot about the book!!

    The story:

    As a huge fan of the series, I was somehow disappointed in this sequel.

    The first half was going so slow, that I was that close to stop reading it. I hated how Rose got away from St. Vladimir and how she acted somehow selfish. I know she was trying to be strong and all but that wasn¿t cool at all.

    The second half was better but I can split it into two parts as well; the first part was the worst part of the whole book, I completely hated Dimitri as Strigoi!!! Somehow, the chapters describing how had Rose gone as a Blood Whore for Dimitri were the longest and the bad part. I felt like he was using her. And unlike the other sequels, this one got me unease :s. The second part however was super awesome and cool, especially the fact that Lissa actually punched someone!! :D.

    I loved the ending, it¿s one of my favorites. I loved how strong is the friendship between Lissa and Rose and how much they really appreciate each other. And the big surprise at the end, which I kind of expected, you know ;).

    The characters:

    This is where it gets better! I had the honor to meet the Belikovs whom I loved, especially Olena (Dimitri¿s mother). She was calm, nice and caring. His sisters were good too :).

    Sydney was nice to meet, especially sine she¿s the narrator of Bloodlines, I had fun trying to figure her out. She¿s a nice person and a trustworthy friend :).

    Adrian is my favorite one in this book. He was patient, funny, calm and caring. I like him very much now!

    Ah, and Abe of course, I won¿t spoil this one (I already think I spoiled this review :s). He¿s a mystery uncovered at the end of the book and it was super fun to figure him out ;).

    For the rest of the characters, and I mean the Lazar family, hmmmm¿. I don¿t need to say a thing except that I¿m happy we won¿t see them anymore.

    Conclusion:

    I¿m really confused. I love the series but I have to be fair. I didn¿t enjoy this book at all until I was at the last 3 chapters, and I counted them. At least, I figured why it wasn¿t that much fun for me, it was because of Rose¿s friends. I didn¿t realize how much I liked Lissa, Christian, Adrian, Alberta and the St. Vladimir environment until they were almost missing in this sequel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Impressed at all

    I loved the other books in this series but i was really dissappointed in this book i thought it was boring and and could've gone faster and i really hope that the next book picks up becuase i was extrememly disspapointed, and its not becuase it isn't good, it is. it's just that it didn't live up to the other books in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    i like the series.

    Richelle Mead all in all is a good writer, i thought this book was good but really would have enjoyed more. What i loved about the first 3 books wasnt really in this one...as far as the unexpected wow factor. It was a little but predictable. Either way, great writer, i still recommend her work. Check out my other recommendations!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    blood promise, but not very promising to us customers..

    This certain book of the series was not the best it could have been. I believe that all the time we all have been waiting for this book to come out we could have gotten a lot more out of the wait. The ending was the best part of the whole book. It felt like the middle was just a waste of time and some more action could have taken place, she was stuck in the same place for too long. I think more suspense could have worked out to this books benefit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    Like many of the Vampire Academy fans, I was really anticipating for this book to come out. I was soooo excited to start reading it, however it fell flat. Im glad I get to find out what happens with Rose & Dimitri but it took forever to just find out what would happen. I was on page 200 or so and by then she was repeating several things over and over again. For this book to be 500 pages is quite ridiculous. Even though this book didnt stand up to my standards for the series, im a bit excited for the next book "Spirit Bound."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as the others

    I devoured the first three books in this series. All three had twists and turns that weren't always expected. This book did not have any great twists or turns. It was predictable. I figured out what was going to happen way before the climax of the story. It was a decent book but nothing to get excited about. I certainly didn't become emotional like a few of the other readers. The 'grief' just wasn't that real for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed Feelings

    Well, I was kind of disapointed after finishing Blood Promise. It's not my favorite in the series. I was frustrated at how long into the book it took for Dimitri to enter. The ending was disapointing, but I will say that im finally glad that it came out and the waiting is over. I would recommend reading it because the series in general is awesome. I will be bitting my nails in anticipation for the next book to come out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5