Customer Reviews for

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2060 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1640)

4 Star

(304)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Caution may be a lil bit of a spoiler!!

Ok I have read all of this series and almost all the other vampire books there are out there. This is series is definantely up in the top two! I really love Rose as a character. She is what made me keep reading from the first book! She is like what some girls and women ...
Ok I have read all of this series and almost all the other vampire books there are out there. This is series is definantely up in the top two! I really love Rose as a character. She is what made me keep reading from the first book! She is like what some girls and women should be like! Strong, funny, the first to defend her friends, a total smart a s s! lol I really liked all of that about her. BUT in this book Ricehelle Mead made her seem so so so weak! I mean to me she just didn't seem like the same Rose Hathaway that all the readers know and love. I mean Ms. Mead made her the one thing that she truely hated: a blood whore. I mean come on!!! Geez! I would have never expected that one to happen!
The other thing I didn't like was how she couldn't do the one thing she set out to do: save Dimitri! I mean I know that would be hard but I thught Rose could do anything........ I really hope that her and Adrian get together! lol He is a really great character because he is soooo unpredictable sometimes! Rose really has a thing for him!

Over all good book but a little disapointing. But I still can't wait for the next book! I checked Ms. Mead's website and the NEXT BOOK is scheduled to come out MAY 18, 2010!* Most likely subject to change but at least we have some kind of idea when the next one is coming! HAPPY READING TO ALL! =]

posted by VAMP_reader1488 on August 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

?????????????????????

How can you possibly write a review for a book that hasn't come out yet???? It is rather annoying i think. If you want to say how great the other books were say it on one (or all) of the other VA reviews where it really matters. Thank you.

posted by BellaSS on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 304 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Caution may be a lil bit of a spoiler!!

    Ok I have read all of this series and almost all the other vampire books there are out there. This is series is definantely up in the top two! I really love Rose as a character. She is what made me keep reading from the first book! She is like what some girls and women should be like! Strong, funny, the first to defend her friends, a total smart a s s! lol I really liked all of that about her. BUT in this book Ricehelle Mead made her seem so so so weak! I mean to me she just didn't seem like the same Rose Hathaway that all the readers know and love. I mean Ms. Mead made her the one thing that she truely hated: a blood whore. I mean come on!!! Geez! I would have never expected that one to happen!
    The other thing I didn't like was how she couldn't do the one thing she set out to do: save Dimitri! I mean I know that would be hard but I thught Rose could do anything........ I really hope that her and Adrian get together! lol He is a really great character because he is soooo unpredictable sometimes! Rose really has a thing for him!

    Over all good book but a little disapointing. But I still can't wait for the next book! I checked Ms. Mead's website and the NEXT BOOK is scheduled to come out MAY 18, 2010!* Most likely subject to change but at least we have some kind of idea when the next one is coming! HAPPY READING TO ALL! =]

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed Emotions

    I read this book in about four hours, and after finishing, i can definitely say i was not disssapointed.The writing is as amazing as it was in the first three books, and the characters maintained the edge that kept you loving them in the previous books. But, i was really mad at the end. Im not going to say why, just that once i finished the book i was really angry with Rose. Overall though, this book was just as great as the previous books, and you end up getting a lot of detail about Rose and Dimitri's realtionship.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    Blood Promise- worth the wait?

    after the long wait for this blook, im afraid i feel a bit disappointed by it. i loved the first three books of the series, but this book is my least favourite of the four so far.
    so as to avoid any spoilers, i am unable to say what i did and did not like about the book. but i can say, that the book will fill you with emotions and shock and the storyline will surprise you. i am sure that many people will love this book. i have one major diappointment- the grammar used in the book such as the continuous use of hyphens and the constant breaks in order to summerise events from previous books(i think we got it then, no need to explain now!).
    i would recomend reading this book even though i did not enjoy the book as much i i could have.
    i will still read the rest of the series, and i now eagerly await the next book. the only thing is that i just wished events could have been played out in a different way.
    although i must note: that although this i not my favourite book so far, it is still a good book and is worth reading.

    Happy reading <3

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    NOTHING LIKE IT:)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    This book was Amazing. Ros lost her love and now shes out to kill him. This book was so thrilling i wasnt able to put it down. It has everything a reader needs: thrils, action, suspense, romance, and most importantly a supernatural twist. I recomend everyone read this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    First half of the book is slow but once it gets going, it goes! I just love these characters and Mead's story-telling of them!

    I have to break this book down into two parts: the 1st half and the 2nd half. First Half: Blood Promise was not the riveting book from cover-to-cover that I found the other three books to be. I knew something big was going to happen but getting to it seemed to take forever. The characters I have grown to love, Adrian, Lissa, and Christian, didn't show up nearly enough for me in Blood Promise. I understand why it happened but I was still sad about it since I love these characters as much as Rose and Dimitri. Second Half: After the obvious turning point in the book (don't want to give anything away) things rapidly picked up and I found it extremely difficult to put the book down. From that point on, it was a page-turner. I just couldn't read fast enough to find out what happened next. If it wasn't for the first half of the book, this would easily be 5 star worthy. I love Mead's imagination and the direction she takes in each one of these books. She surprises you with new revelations of characters and different twists. An admonishment for those who will read Blood Promise...you will most likely find it boring for the 1st 200 pages or so but if you hang in there I promise you it will be worth it and you will love it as much as the other books in the series. Once again Mead leaves you salivating at the mouth for the next book...May 18th can't come quick enough!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    OMG it is the most amazing series:

    I have only just started reading Vampire books. Started with Twilight, moved onto House of Night, Vampire Kisses, and then this. I actually think I like this series better than Twilight. But they are so different. I read the series over a few days and fell in love with them. I had to buy the series. I love Dimitri and Rose. I think I like Shadow Kiss the best, but Blood Promise was good. I enjoyed the flashbacks of scenes we had not seen before. I do like Adrian, but I want her with Dimitri. I want her dream to come true. I hope they can change Dimitri back in the next book, but am not sure since there is at least 6 books in the series. I want to see what happens when she sees "Abe" again. And I want to know the story of Abe and Jannine too. I can't believe we have to wait 7 1/2 months till the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Expexcted More...

    Let me state that I have loved this series from the get-go. I'm not usually a fan of writing in the first person, but I do like Richelle Mead's style. Loved books 1-3 of the series, with Shadow Kiss being my favorite, but I was disappointed with Blood Promise.

    I won't go into a long oratory about the plot, but this was my least favorite of the series. The beginning was boring and the middle - eh? What the fans really want to see is Rose with Dimitri, and we didn't get it until more than half-way through the book. And even that felt rushed. Please, Richelle, help redeem Dimitri, somehow!

    I think the missing piece to this book was the friendships. We caught glimpses of what was going on with Lissa and others when Rose would go into Liss' mind, but that wasn't enough. Being with Lissa, Christian, Adrian and the others - and Rose's reaction and interaction with them - is what makes this series special. That was noticeably missing this time. But Rose all alone - DULL!!

    I'm actually surprised this book has received so many positive reviews. I LOVED Shadow Kiss (though I didn't like the ending) and think it is sad that Rose and Dimitri had such a short amount of time to show their love to each other. I hold out hope that he can still be saved. I also hold out hope that Ms. Mead can bring back the spirit of the previous three books in book 5.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slightly disappointed...

    I finished the whole book in one day, and was not completely satisifed. It wasn't all bad but the whole story just took a new route. If you want something what Richelle Mead really put into, read the three older books. The beginning was okayish but when I got toward the middle, I started to put down the book a lot more. Dimitri was different of course, but that was because he was a Strigoi. I guess this is just my opinion, but I think it could've been better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Promise

    I thought that the 4th book in the Vampire Academy Series was pretty slow moving. When you look back on it, not as much seemed to be happening compared to the events in the first three, but this book really allows the characters to develope and decide exactly who they want to be. They are all tested in their loyalty to each other. While Rose is trying to find Dimitri to fulfull her promise to him, she is still connected to Lissa's thoughts, and Adrian still shows up in her dreams. So even though she has chosen to leave and find Dimitri, she can never really cut off her life and connections to her best friend. Rose, and the others are all forced to make decisions that will difine them as the people they are, and where they stand in their world. Mead adds a crucial addition to the series and leaves the reader craving the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    I totally didnt think the author was going to make anothe book of the series. But then I saw this while looking at other books and checked it out. I cant wait to see what happens in the next book. I am so happy she dicided to make another one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    WA - again aquick read just not that believable.

    Not that believable because she is always unprepared. Always weak about something. She learns very little lnterms of the politics of human interavtion. And her fighting ability doesn't exist, except in her own mind. She is always being beat up and captured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Vre Very good

    Best one of the series thus far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What is gonna happen next?

    So obviously something bad had to happen to either Rose or Dimitri so there would be a story to write...and what a story. Rose had some hard decisions to make. She finally was thinking about herself (well mostly) and what she wanted. Things don't go exactly like Rose wants but she learns a lot about Dimitri.

    This is a really good turning point in the series. I thought some parts were a little rambling but overall there is a really great story here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    **Spoiler-FREE Summary** This book felt like two treadmills to

    **Spoiler-FREE Summary**

    This book felt like two treadmills to me sandwiching the most amazing tension-filled romantic scene in fiction. You gotta get through the first half to get to it… and then you have to get through the last half to get away from it, but that Oreo-filled middle is worth it.

    My Rating: 3.695. My Breakdown – The filling (& romance) in this book sandwich is a 5.5. Wow. The treadmill leading up to the filling is an exciting 4. The exhausting horror after the filling was a frustrating 2.5 for me with a redeeming crescendo. The dreams and Lissa updates were a 3 for me.


    **SPOILER-FILLED Review**

    Now let's have a little fun, shall we?

    I thoroughly enjoyed a trip to Russia in Blood Promise. I love the cultural setting and the visuals of the night clubs and alleyways. Plus... we got to meet our first Alchemist with the blood tattoo and feel the full force of their distaste for all things non-human. I loved how the Alchemists viewed damphirs in the same class as strigoi. It was a strong shift in perspective that prepared me for seeing Dimitri and Rose's hesitation.

    Rose quickly grows into super-awesome-kick-butt-strigoi-killer. Seen through the alchemists' attitude of irritation, we skip the feeling of awe and dive right into "been there, done that". Strigoi are still a challenge, but I have real hope that Rose will take Dimitri out, like she needs to.

    Meeting Dimitri's family is wonderful. It felt like a sidetrack, but lots of important things happened out there, in the middle of nowhere. Each member of the family become real and create this negative space of how awesome Dimitri was. Rose gets a chance to mourn his death, like she hasn't, yet. And it feels good. She meets other spirit users and her understanding expands as well as her grasp of the Moroi world politics. Then she even gets a glimpse of the dark side of "blood whores" and how wonderful people end up in that situation... and how close she comes to the danger of it.

    I really enjoyed Abe, right from his entrance. He is soooo creepy in a mobster-type way. I love his mysterious power. He was one of my favorite surprises of the book. In the last battle (to skip ahead) he faded into a wallpaper, which totally irritated me. The Abe I knew would not sit around and ask vague questions while being content with no answers. Just sayin'.

    Then we run into Dimitri... or he finds Rose, more precisely, as she draws him in. What a great scene!!! He is still Dimitri, and yet not, too. I love Rose's warring emotions. I love the ghost of emotions hiding deep in Dimitri. Maybe I was looking too hard, but in some ways... he's even better than ever.

    I mean... in the first books, Dimitri is unapproachable, right? His sense of duty keeps him aloof and Rose's heart is almost cultivated into this strong, waiting, loving force. But then he gives into his feelings. Like a dam breaking, it's amazing. So, take that barrier of impossibility and times it by a bazillion... and we have Dimitri-the-strigoi. He's impossible, unreachable and yet soooo much more bad-guy than he ever could have been before. Really, really BAD. Bad.

    I really, really like that. Lol.

    Those scenes where the two of them were dancing around killing each other, drawn to each other and yet repelled simultaneously... just, WOW!! They are some of my favorite anywhere ever. Amazing.

    But then... you know what happens. He bites her. She becomes a druggy. I think I got depressed. So much for two awesome people and an amazing kill-love dance. Now we have patient, sick, twisted bad guy and mega-sick, twisted, weak wet noodle. Yuck. I was sooooooo ready for Rose to overcome that sludgy feeling. That entire section slowed down to drowning in caramel syrup for me. Thick, slow, too sweet, a slow death.

    The final escape was satisfying, but not exhilarating. Rose finds herself and even eeks out a response from Dimitri... she's even wonderfully kick-butt again, but she's so weak, it's exhausting - mentally & physically. Plus, I think I'm still in denial about Dimitri. He can't possibly have lost all of himself.

    The final spirit-battle was creative, wasn't it? I liked the power struggle and all the extra insight into how the spirit magic works - both good and bad. There's lots of possibilities hiding there, you know? Plus Rose and Lissa got some stuff straightened out.

    Speaking of Lissa... What did you think of the dreams and slippin' into Lissa's head? I liked getting a glimpse of the action back at the academy, but that was tedious. It really added to the treadmill feel. I did not catch on to why Lissa was acting so out of character and it really drove me nuts. This is, like, the book where the two friends are attacked mentally and really should see a psychiatrist afterwards.

    I did not understand enough about Lissa's situation to care how things were going. Rose couldn't do anything about it which made me feel helpless, too. I can see why Rose cared, but I could have got a summary from her afterwards. As for the way Rose treated Adrian? I can't believe he gives her the time of day - or any attention - after that. She was really rude. Even if he's amazing, I want to see more grounds for continued friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Sorry!!

    That was me below!!
    ~~DarkAngel~~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    although Blood Promise by Richelle Mead was my favorite fiction

    although Blood Promise by Richelle Mead was my favorite
    fiction book. I did learn a lot of things as I read this book . this story taught me
    about the reason its called the blood promise.

    Rose(Main Character) must journey to the ends of the earth to find –and kill-her
    one true love

    I would read this book to young teenagers , because they would understand more
    than younger children and there is killing in this book so I think its best to read to
    young teenagers , its a great book and it tells a story that happened to her .

    so if you’re a person and your into vampire academy then this would be a great
    book to read , honestly when I first started reading it , it engaged me and I
    continued to read it and it turned out to be a great book at the end , but this is the
    best book I have ever read out of all the other ones ive read before .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    3is so sadd i cried for2hours

    : (

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Shes the man.

    The model on the front looks like that creepy girl with braces on the movie she's the man.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Great but hate when dimitri is strigoi

    Ok i absolutely loved the books. I loved dimitri and rose all the way until he is strigoi and he doesnt care about rose anymore at all! And rose almost gave in!!! I also really loved adrian with rose throughout the whole series. He is arrogant but so caring at the same time. Which makes him perfect. So overall the book was good but could have been better without the evil dimitri... he is much better nice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Why, Dimitri? WHY???

    Ok, the headline expressed my opinion, but I really liked this book otherwise. Still--Dimitri is ok until the attack in book 3 (and what were those predator/prey Strigoi thinking? Probably, "Yay, a buff Russian dhampir trying to kill us! Let's awaken him!") Then we have the whole Rose contreversy, and he obviously doesn't love her when Strigoi. He's all, to put it simply, "Awaken or die, Roza!" Well, it's expressed through kissing and sucking her blood, but same general idea. And can't he have enough decency to not act like the textbook definition of "creeper"? Don't answer that. Rose, by the time she got a hold of any dictionary in the universe she probably found Dimitri Belikov as a Strigoi in a picture (preferably in a WANTED photo if possible) next to "creeper--noun--someone who is creepy." Still, that aspect of the story does not detract from the book itself, since it's an incredibley good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 304 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16