Customer Reviews for

Blood Red

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Shadowfang's Biography

    Name: Shadowfang. <> Gender: &female <p> Kin: Thistleblade ((Mother, Gone)), Spotfang ((Father)), & Deathclaw ((Brother, Vanished.)). <p> Kits: Expecting... <p> Mate: ...Don't Ask... <p> Looks: Dark Gray & Brown eyes. <p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    DeepThorn's Biography

    • Name •
    <br> Uh....idk....fart face? No....DeepThorn! Yea....Deepthorn...
    <p> • Nicknames •
    <br> Deep, 'don't hurt meeeeee!', and Your worst nightmare!
    <p> • Age •
    <br> Age us fr bozos' bu<_>tts
    <p> • Gender •
    <br> This is just proving how dumb you are.... &male
    <p> • Rank •
    <br> He works with OutCast as a world class assasain.....and....SOUL EATER! XD
    <p> • Apperemce •
    <br> Well, his pelt is a deep [like his name], dark inky brown, which is not smooth, but ragged. You can TRY to smooth it out, but your paws will be tangled in the end.....his pelt has one pitch black stripe running down his back and along his chest, down to his front paw. He as one scar along his ear, which one is torn while the other scarred.
    <p> • Eye Color •
    <br> A inky daek brown, almost black
    <p> • Personality •
    <br> His strongest trait is protectivness. He is protective of his ma<_>te and WILL hunt yiu down if you hurt er ij any way. He us remarkably intelligent, and a quick learner to do things. His temper is a little hot, so careful what you'll say with him around.
    <p> • Battle Tatics •
    <br> Stealth and Power. He will be up in a tree, or in a bush, waiting for you. The moment you are into his strike zone.....BAM. he'll deliver a powerful blow to the ead or chest, knocking the wind out ir knocking you out. Drom then on, it was fast, swift, hard ad loud. Good luck
    <p> • Parents •
    <br> Akethem [father ] and Queens [mother]
    <p> • Family •
    <br> Reaper [rouge brother ] Howl_of_Death [riuge brother ] and Cry_of_Nature [rouge sister]
    <p> • Crush / Ma<_>te •
    <br> OutCast
    <p> • Kin •
    <br> Uh...my mind literally jus went blank.....yes, i think
    <p> • Theme Songs •
    <br> Ready, Aim, Fire - Imagine Dragons
    <br> Wings - Maklmore and Ryan Lewis
    <br> No Rest For the Wicked - ?
    <p> • Other •
    <br> *Warning ya right now, hurt OutCast.....you D<_>IE *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Windkit and Firekits Bio

    Name - Windkit <br> Age - 2 moons <br> Gender - Male <br> Looks - Exactly like Striking <br> Personality - Hyper, nice, fun <br> Crush/Mate/Kits - None <br> Kin - Striking (father) Bounty (mother) Silverkit, Silverykit, Sleetkit, Sparkkit, Skullkit, Emberkit, Firekit <br> Other - Ask Striking or Bounty <p> Name - Firekit <br> Age - 2 moons <br> Gender - Female <br> Looks - Orange fur, black and white streaks, purple eyes <br> Personality - Meet me <br> Crush/Mate/Kits - None <br> Kin - Same as Windkit <br> Other - Ask Strikng or Bounty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Azurekit's bio

    Name Azurekit * age hours * gender she * rank kit * clan bloodclan/et * looks pure white with blue eyes (turn gold as se grows up) * kin see dreamlesskit's bio * crush/mate/kits just a kit... * personality ill figure it out * history newborn * themesong (same as pers.) * siggie (same as pers.) * other im rping her (me as in prismshield) *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Ashpaw's bio

    Reserved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    Bloody Great Read!

    Ok right off the bat I have to say this is a great book! Moore's gift is the ensemble cast. His strength lies in complex story lines that are more about the location and all the people interacting therein. In Blood Red we have about thirty character and how their lives change over a two week course when a Vampire takes up resident in the Town of Black Rock Bay, Rhode Island.

    Moore masterfully cuts each chapter into mutliple POVs and story threads. As we follow each of these strands we discover the web of interconnected events and watch as they collide with each other and the machinations of the vampire. With Moore its about the time, setting, and all the people are equal. Well somewhat. Some characters do shine more than others. With the way this is written we're only getting a tiny part of their lives and, in my case, it leaves me begging for more.

    Maybe I'm over complicating. I've read through 9 of Moore's books in the past few months and all the stories are basicaly snap shots of the time and place. They all also have reacurring characters Albert Miles, Jonathan Crowley, etc. All of Moore's books take place in the same world. One would have to literally read every single one of his works, short stories included, to get the full scope of every character. That's a strength. For instance in this book he has a character named Ben. Ben has an obviously interesting past, mondo hacking skills, and a 'white knight' persona. Well this reader would like to know more of his past and definitely want to know what happens to him afterward. Not to give anything away but Moore leaves us with the many open ends. Again his stories are 'snap shots' of a time period in a location which he populates with wonderful characters.

    My fav characters? Boyd and Danny are two cops. Most of their characterisation, and their sections of the book, is carried by their dialogue. I have to say it is some of the funniest and rapid paced dialogue. It's like a tennis match, bang back and forth, and I'm grinning. (Plus Boyd tells his boss off in the most inventive ways and i just love that).

    Anywho... i see I'm beginning to run on and on and i didn't even make a run down of the synopsis. Well its the form and the characters that make a Moore book and it was important to establish that. The story itself resolves around a vampire (of the Undead variety Moore makes a distinction between those created to be vamps and those that merely rise from being fed uopn, the Dead.) who comes to town. He wants to raise a bunch of the Dead and experiment upon them. Meanwhile we have a crooked cop forcing college girls to have sex, a visicous pimp running college girls, a stalker in love with a call girl, and we're getting ready for halloween. Like I said above, we have the lives of many people all happening while Jason Soulis comes to town and starts his own little experiment.

    He's taking and raising the children, who then inturn hunt down their own families. Soulis amasses a bunch of the Dead, Body and Dan are called on on all the missing people, and everything comes to head on halloween night when all the vamps are unleashed. I'm unfortunately running out of room. The full version of this review can also be found at http://www.kurtmcriscione.macabreink.com I usually wouldn't put my site into a review but Moore deserves a review, 3500 characters doesn't cut it for me. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    complex, imaginative and deep vampire novel

    Black Stone Bay is a quaint, affluent town filled with more mansions than regular homes and is the home of two Ivy League universities. Two weeks before Halloween Jason Soulis moves into the small Rhode Island town and his coming will change Black Stone Bay forever. Soulis is no ordinary man but a vampire with a brilliant mind who knows how to survive and intends to use the inhabitants in his experiments. --- College student Maggie Preston pays her tuition by prostituting herself. Soulis hires her through her pimp for the night. He wants her to seduce all the clergy in town which she does quickly and easily. Ben, who lives in the same building as Maggie, loves her even when he discovers her profession. She fears making a commitment while she has been with Soulis. Maggie turns into a vampire during a frat party that turns into a blood bath but Ben cleans her up and cares for her until she wakes up. When they confront Soulis, he explains that exchanging bodily fluids turned Maggie into a thinking vampire like him. On Halloween night, he frees the missing people that were turned into vampires to see what they will do. Ben has won Maggie over so she tries to keep him alive during the feeding frenzy. --- BLOOD RED is a complex, imaginative and deep vampire novel that readers will believe will become a classic like Stephen King¿s SALEM¿S LOT. The characters are three dimensional and even the vampires have the personality they had when they were alive instead of becoming two dimensional caricatures. James A. Moore has proven with his latest novel that he is one of the grandmasters of the horror genre. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1