Customer Reviews for

Blood Rights

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Gothic Fantasy!!!

Blood Rights is a Gothic Fantasy and it definitely surprised me. I'll be honest; I wasn't sure about reading a gothic book. But I'm glad I did. Kristen Painter has made me love the darker fantasy. I would have really missed out on one the most deliciously wicked fantasi...
Blood Rights is a Gothic Fantasy and it definitely surprised me. I'll be honest; I wasn't sure about reading a gothic book. But I'm glad I did. Kristen Painter has made me love the darker fantasy. I would have really missed out on one the most deliciously wicked fantasies I've ever read. Painter is fantastic at writing dark. I'm still gushing over this awesome storyline with patron, comarre, and othernatural in this supernatural world. Blood Rights is the most fun I have had in a long time. I loved being pulled into a creepy setting and enjoying the dark and gritty surprised me.I love the gothic cover too.

Chrysabelle is a Commarre. Her blood is pure and gives power to vampires. For this proposes, she has been raised from birth for the Noble vampires. Chrysabelle is also a kick-butt warrior and when she has to run to American, because of trouble she's in with the noble vampire, Chrysabelle hires Malkolm, who has been out casted and cursed by the noble vampires for killing his sire is Chrysabelle only hope. Malkolm is dark, dangerous and gorgeous. Definitely my kind of vampire.

Malkolm (Mal) and Chrysabelle has of love-hate romance going on. They both have fallen hard for each other, but not going to admit it to each other. I love the way Mal is so protective of Chrysabelle against anyone who tries to dishonor her. Chrysabelle and Mel's romance is hot even if it doesn't get to first base in this first book. So of course I can't wait for the second book Flesh and Blood to see if this finally happens for them.

Blood Rights had me gripped into this wicked, twisted, and dark fantasy, and loving every passionate page. I highly recommend Blood Rights as a must read. And I'm so glad I will not have to wait long for the second book in this series Flesh and Blood should be coming out around 25 of Oct. 2011

posted by iheartyabooks on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Booo

Here we go again...between harriet klausner and all the other plot spoilers, heres another book useless to buy. Why buy it when these rude selfish posters has revealed everything about the book. I dont understand why harriet klausner and all the others write book repor...
Here we go again...between harriet klausner and all the other plot spoilers, heres another book useless to buy. Why buy it when these rude selfish posters has revealed everything about the book. I dont understand why harriet klausner and all the others write book reports instead of reviews. If yiu want to dissect every sentence, go to a book blog, facebook, anywhere. Stop ruining books for others. Contrary to what you may think, we can read and would like to read a book for ourselves, not have you tell us what happens. Ppl, please call bn with title of book and complain, especially about harriet klausner. Eniugh complaints will get these posters banned.

posted by 8888649 on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Booo

    Here we go again...between harriet klausner and all the other plot spoilers, heres another book useless to buy. Why buy it when these rude selfish posters has revealed everything about the book. I dont understand why harriet klausner and all the others write book reports instead of reviews. If yiu want to dissect every sentence, go to a book blog, facebook, anywhere. Stop ruining books for others. Contrary to what you may think, we can read and would like to read a book for ourselves, not have you tell us what happens. Ppl, please call bn with title of book and complain, especially about harriet klausner. Eniugh complaints will get these posters banned.

    23 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Gothic Fantasy!!!

    Blood Rights is a Gothic Fantasy and it definitely surprised me. I'll be honest; I wasn't sure about reading a gothic book. But I'm glad I did. Kristen Painter has made me love the darker fantasy. I would have really missed out on one the most deliciously wicked fantasies I've ever read. Painter is fantastic at writing dark. I'm still gushing over this awesome storyline with patron, comarre, and othernatural in this supernatural world. Blood Rights is the most fun I have had in a long time. I loved being pulled into a creepy setting and enjoying the dark and gritty surprised me.I love the gothic cover too.

    Chrysabelle is a Commarre. Her blood is pure and gives power to vampires. For this proposes, she has been raised from birth for the Noble vampires. Chrysabelle is also a kick-butt warrior and when she has to run to American, because of trouble she's in with the noble vampire, Chrysabelle hires Malkolm, who has been out casted and cursed by the noble vampires for killing his sire is Chrysabelle only hope. Malkolm is dark, dangerous and gorgeous. Definitely my kind of vampire.

    Malkolm (Mal) and Chrysabelle has of love-hate romance going on. They both have fallen hard for each other, but not going to admit it to each other. I love the way Mal is so protective of Chrysabelle against anyone who tries to dishonor her. Chrysabelle and Mel's romance is hot even if it doesn't get to first base in this first book. So of course I can't wait for the second book Flesh and Blood to see if this finally happens for them.

    Blood Rights had me gripped into this wicked, twisted, and dark fantasy, and loving every passionate page. I highly recommend Blood Rights as a must read. And I'm so glad I will not have to wait long for the second book in this series Flesh and Blood should be coming out around 25 of Oct. 2011

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Highly recommended for those who like urban fantasy.

    Enjoyed the book immensely. It was a nice change from what I have been reading and light. And unlike many other urban fantasy tales this one was not filled with sex scenes every other page, which was a nice change.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A book worth sinking your teeth into!

    I can not say enough nice things about this book. Hauntingly beautiful,heartbreaking, with deeply developed characters and a fast paced story line.Even though this is not a romance, it has romantic elements. The book ends on a cliff hanger, so reading the books in this series in order is a must!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    All the urban gothic paranormal romance a person could want and more!

    Blood Rights is the kind of book that sucks you into it's world and makes you stare around yourself in half-wonder, half-horror. In this first book of what will be a five book series, Kristen Painter builds a world both dark and lovely but so full of possibilities and amazing characters one can't help but race through the pages.

    The story focuses on three main characters. The first is Chrysabelle: a vampire's comarré, which is a sort of blood geisha, a woman purchased and owned by a vampire for her beauty, social skills, grace and above all, purity of blood. She's left her owner and is being hunted because her patron has been found dead.

    Next is Mal, a tortured vampire: cursed and misanthropic (or would that be misvampiric?). He's one unhappy undead man.

    Finally there's Tatiana: an egocentric princess of the vampire class who's blood-lust is only outdone by her power-lust. She's willing to do anything to get what she wants and unfortunately what she wants most in the world is a ring she things Chyrsabelle has.

    Set in a vaguely dystopian future where othernaturals have coexisted next to humans for millennia, these three characters collide as their individual quests force them to do things and trust people that are uncomfortable to say the least.

    I loved the way that even though this story is written in the 3rd person, the perspective clearly switches throughout the novel, bringing intriguing insights into not only the glittering othernatural world but into the mindset of a woman bred to exist for no other reason than bleed for her patron and a vampire driven nearly insane with ghosts from his past. I also loved that this is not just a vampire story. This world is filled with all sorts of paranormal creatures: shape-shifting were-animals, demons and sprites, witches and ghosts and the door is clearly open for everything and anything else in between. And is there drama? Politics, sexual tension and FULL ON CRAZY motivate these characters to do insane, enthralling things, moving the pace of the story along at an energetic clip.

    Now, I can hear you thinking it....oh, first book in a series? I'll wait for more to come out before I dive in. BUT WAIT!!!

    Yes, this is the first book. And it comes out in October. And the next book? Comes out in November. Yup, one month later. The third book? JUST ONE MONTH AFTER THAT!!!

    The fact that Kristen Painter was able to crank out the first 3 books in such short order is an amazing testament to her skills as a storyteller and the urgency in this story itself. It's as if it's pouring out of her and onto the page. And she didn't do it by setting up all these open plot points and questions and leaving the reader hanging with a huge cliff-hanger at the end. Rather, she's built a world so big, with issues so complex that the first book ends both with the satisfying resolution to the major plot points but those solutions raise new questions that make you itch to read the next book.

    So do yourself a favor and pick this book up! You won't be disappointed!!

    Bottom Line: A series you can safely jump into filled with all the urban gothic paranormal romance a person could want and more, Blood Rights is a MUST read this fall

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    loved it. Talk about a kick ass lead female character. I love th

    loved it. Talk about a kick ass lead female character. I love this concept of a "super human" race bred to feed vampires. The story line is amazing, and if you think you know what's coming, i wouldn't put any money down because you don't. :) So good!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    This series in fan-freaking-tastic and I find myself irritated w

    This series in fan-freaking-tastic and I find myself irritated when I have to go to work because it always seems like I'm in the midst of a really good part. The love interest in here drives you crazy (but not in the "oh no, we mustn't" kind of way that's so popular in romance novels). There is a good amount of action, the characters are very well developed, and the differences between our world and theirs is not EXPLAINED, rather, the explanation is subtley woven into the plot. If you want an escape, a series that will bring you into a different world, I highly recommend this one. Oh, and the development of the characters is really believable. BUY IT!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Wow!

    Wasn't sure I'd like this author, but wow! Can't wait 2 read the next book :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    Can't wait to read the second one...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    GREAT!

    GREAT new series! I'll definitely be getting the rest. A fresh new take of things in the vampire genre.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    The cover drew me in

    But the story and the world created kept me reading. It had ag good bit of action some romance, some mystery, and it all kept you reading. This was a good beginning a what looks to be a series. I'll keep reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    GREAT READ!!!!!!

    I really enjoyed Blood Rights not only was the cover absolutely beautiful the story was awesome!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Am excited to read the next book in series.

    Very imaginative and excitement from front to back. The future looks bright for this author. I would say more but hate to spoil books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    5 STARS

    I have to admit that it took till Chapter 6 to then get me interested in the book. But after that chapter it was like wildfire! I couldn't get enough from each page.

    Blood Rights: House of Comarre is an alluring mix of elegance, fangs, seduction, thrill, romance, and some nitty gritty. A series you most definitely not want to miss out!

    Since birth, Chrysabelle was raised to be a comarre. The most praised of all the comarres. But when her patron vampire nobel is found dead and her being MIA, all eyes are on her for the murder. Limited to whom she can trust and where she can go, she's left to do things she never imagined she would. Going against all the things she's been raised to do for more than a century.
    Malkolm, an anathema among vampires has his own personal demons. He bares not one, but two curses that ceases to give him a breathe of air. Not that he needs it. But you know what I mean. Curse 1.) For killing his own sire, he is cursed by whomever he sinks his fangs into he will drink them dead. Curse 2.) For every soul he kills through drinking their last drop of life, their names will forever be inked on his body and their voices will plague his mind. Always telling him to "drink" "kill" "feed." An unending struggle to stay sane from all the voices.

    Blood Rights just beckons you to read it all the way through and begging for more. It's well written, perfectly paced, and the twists are spellbinding. I'm just blown away on how engaged I was. I'm so happy that the series will release a month right after each other.

    Blood Right Book #1 - October 2011
    Flesh & Blood #2 - November 2011
    Bad Blood #3 - December 2011

    Another one to add to the 2011 MUST READS and Favorites!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    Putting aside all the public drooling over the gorgeous cover, f

    Putting aside all the public drooling over the gorgeous cover, for the story, itself, Blood Rights is a winner. The story was… good. I liked the way Kristen Painter built her world. It was different than any other vampire romance out there, and different is good. I loved Painter’s world, I loved her ghost Fiona especially, and enjoyed the story. On the whole, if you enjoy Urban Fantasy and post-apocalyptic stories, if you enjoy vampires and dark paranormal romances, you should give this a try.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    mal is yummy

    This was a fresh new twist in the vampbookieness. Loved the pace and the whole story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Best series ever

    Loved everyone a must read for vampire lovers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Fantasy Vampire Read

    I really enjoyed the world created within this story. The vampires have different levels of power and being. They are part of the otherworld hidden from the humans. Noble vampires who belong to the most notorious "houses" and are connected to human's bloody history. They are also the kind of vampire that Chrysabelle is most familar. She is a comarré who has powerful blood which feeds only those that can pay for her service. She is a blood servant and her physiology has been changed to be a powerful donor. The world she lives has lots of rules where the nobel vampires are her better and the better of all humans. ~~~~~ This world holds a lot of information and lore that can easily become too complex. Luckily, I really didn't have a problem figuring out how things worked, but I do admit it took me a moment to figure out who was who. By the time she meets Mal (Malkolm) on his territory, I had most of it worked out and then relaxed and enjoyed the ride of the story. This is where it really started to get interesting. In fact I thought from that point it might go the way of a total PNR, but the twists and turns in this book didn't make it so. In fact, the twists kept me guessing as to which way the story would end. ~~~~~~ I also loved the secondary characters. Even though we only really get a glimpse of who they are and why they are involved, you find yourself wanting to learn even more about them. You become excited for the next novel since you know (and hope) that they will be there to continue the adventure with Chrysabelle. ~~~~~~~ Ah but what else can I say without spoiling anything? That is what makes this a hard review to write. There is so much complexity within this book that to say one thing might spoil another. Yet, in the complexity there is order so you don't get lost. There are important aspects within like loyalty, personal rights, honor, love, and finding yourself. All these aspects are there but yet none are solved for our characters as to what it means personally to them nor if they achieved it within. Ah, but there I go, almost saying too much. ~~~~~ I give this book 4 1/2 stars. This book leans hard toward fantasy but and there is a possible romance in the future. There is no cliffie, but yet things unsolved that makes you crave the next book which luckily isn't too far away.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    A wonderful escape. Very interesting twist on a traditional sto

    A wonderful escape. Very interesting twist on a traditional story. Love the characters and getting to know them, cant wait for the next one. Highly recommend this to all fans of romance or vampires tales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Firstly let me say ... WOW what an awesome cover!!!! I will admi

    Firstly let me say ... WOW what an awesome cover!!!! I will admit it. The cover drew me in but once inside what a tale this book had to tell!! Even though I loved the cover I will confess to being dubious about starting yet another vampire based story with so many being available at the moment but I couldn't resist and I am so glad I didn't.

    Kristen Painter brings a completely unique perspective and tells a story that hooked me from beginning to end. A whole new world that I dove into and didn't want to leave. I raced through the pages lost in a tale that ended too soon ... the only blessing? I had book 2 right there ready to begin.

    I would say this was my top find series of 2012. I have recommended it to everyone I know and would suggest anyone looking for something paranormal to read hurry to add this to their collection.

    V""V

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7