Customer Reviews for

Blood Safari

Average Rating 3.5
( 543 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(189)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Mystery set in the marvelous wildlife country of Africa...

Deon Meyer mysteries are a special treat. The women are strong, the men sexy, the land distinctive. This latest title is especially fascinating for defining at least two sides to the wildlife crisis in the parks areas of southern Africa up through Kenya. There is always...
Deon Meyer mysteries are a special treat. The women are strong, the men sexy, the land distinctive. This latest title is especially fascinating for defining at least two sides to the wildlife crisis in the parks areas of southern Africa up through Kenya. There is always something untamed about a Meyer book...his characters are sometimes barely in control of themselves, their emotions, their physicality. They are real, immediate. I think we identify with their frustration at the evil in people, and wish we could be as edgy. While I have enjoyed all of Meyer's books, I especially enjoyed "Heart of the Hunter", one of his first.

posted by TheReadingWriter on October 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Deleted due to offending language

Free, but deleted due to offending language.

posted by br549GA on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 544 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Deleted due to offending language

    Free, but deleted due to offending language.

    15 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystery set in the marvelous wildlife country of Africa...

    Deon Meyer mysteries are a special treat. The women are strong, the men sexy, the land distinctive. This latest title is especially fascinating for defining at least two sides to the wildlife crisis in the parks areas of southern Africa up through Kenya. There is always something untamed about a Meyer book...his characters are sometimes barely in control of themselves, their emotions, their physicality. They are real, immediate. I think we identify with their frustration at the evil in people, and wish we could be as edgy. While I have enjoyed all of Meyer's books, I especially enjoyed "Heart of the Hunter", one of his first.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    So disappointing

    Could not even finish it . Did not care for the plot nor the characters. Not worth it

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Recommend reading

    The story was very good. The pace was good, not too slow and fast enough to keep your interest and guessing what might be going on. All the twists and turns were quite surprising. All in all, a good read

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    A Nice Light Read

    I enjoyed this book, but I finished it very fast on my NOOK. I got it in paperback and read it first, and it's a nice light read if your on vacation and just need something on a lazy day. Of course, some of the language is offensive, but it's tolerable.
    If you want a light, action/suspense book, I recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Slow

    THIS BOOK TOOK A MONTH TO READ! EVENTHOUGH IT HAD SOME INTRIGUING MOMENTS IT WAS A SLOW READ.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Blood Safari

    I could not read this book. I could not follow the characters. It did not have a rhyme or reason. I read the first 75 pages and I would recommend deleteing it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Not so much...

    Slow start, hasn't grabbed my interest. I don't relate to any of it. Hated the snake scene. Not sure I'll finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Extraordinarily good book that leaves you breathless at the end.

    This is such a good book on so many levels it is amazing. The basic "whodunnit" is excellent, with a surprise ending. As a character study it is superb. And, as a discussion of South Africa following the end of apartheid it is very interesting. I'm convinced that all of Deon Meyer's books are must reads.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Good book for free

    I liked the book. It was an easy read, would have gave it another star if had an epilogue...didn't like ending sentence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Suspenseful

    It wasvery supenseful. I did not want to put it down. It would be nice if the author had included a glossary of the slang. I may have missed out a bit since I was unfamiliar with some of the slang he used.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Intriguing read

    The setting in Africa really got my attention. The mystery kept me intrigued to the end. Very enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Excellent read

    A well written, captivating, historical, ecological, quasi autobiographical ( main character) saga that, though fictional, enlightens the reader about the trials and tribulations of the African people. An enjoyable page-turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    A Typcal Thriller.

    I enjoy thrillers, fast past novels with prdictable characters and atory lines. They are like a comforting friend when you want time to lay back and just enjoy, o deep thoughts today. What I liked about this book was the nonAmerican approach. Here was a story that gave me ew insights into the dark continent and its current social upheval. The unease left behind after si muh hate and ignorance. Tough still a thriller, this one was like a comforting conversation about culture, onservation and philosophy lite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Fast paced and danger galore.

    Liked this very much. Love books about Africa, animals and danger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Owl

    Nodded "mh hm!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Egle

    You have... kits?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Liked it

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Good Beginning Rushed ending

    I was captured by the story from the beginning, loved the characters, but the ending seemed rushed and confusing. Thought the fact that it was written with the dialect of South Africa would be set back, but that was well done and added flavor to the book rather than being distracting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 544 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28