Customer Reviews for

Blood Sins (Bishop/Special Crimes Unit Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blood Sins by Kay Hooper

Holy crap! I'm hoping I don't dream tonight...but if I do, I just hope this book doesn't influence my dreams or they'll be some doozy of a nightmare. "Blood Sins" is Kay Hooper's second in her 'Blood' trilogy and her 11th starring the 'Bishop/Special Crimes Unit'. Th...
Holy crap! I'm hoping I don't dream tonight...but if I do, I just hope this book doesn't influence my dreams or they'll be some doozy of a nightmare. "Blood Sins" is Kay Hooper's second in her 'Blood' trilogy and her 11th starring the 'Bishop/Special Crimes Unit'. This unit is a special FBI unit composed of agents with 'special' abilities--mediums, seers, telepaths, etc. They operate as quietly as possible when crimes seem to have some unusual aspects. I've got all of this series in my permanent library, even the ones I didn't care that much for, because they all have that something...even when they scare the crap out of me!

This time Bishop's unit is facing a psychic who can, apparently, kill without touching, or even being close to, his victim. The body count is already too high and when one of their own goes down, Bishop and his unit will need to decide whether their intent is justice...or destruction.

This villain creeped me out--big time. I don't want to give too much away, but think Jim Jones or David Koresh WITH almost unstoppable psychic powers. Still makes my skin crawl! So if you like paranormal mysteries with some really twisted bad guys...you'll probably enjoy this series, and the shudders it produces, as much as I do. My only big disappointment with this one was the lack of a real romance in the plot. But I didn't actually 'miss' it until I finished the book, so that should tell you something!

posted by jjmachshev on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Didn't like

I have read many of Kay Hooper's books and especially like the Bishop series. Unfortunately this book just was not good. The book spent more time telling me about each person's abilities then it did telling me a story. The ending to this book was one of the worse I have...
I have read many of Kay Hooper's books and especially like the Bishop series. Unfortunately this book just was not good. The book spent more time telling me about each person's abilities then it did telling me a story. The ending to this book was one of the worse I have ever read. Sorry Kay, love your books just not this one.

posted by Fahl4 on November 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Didn't like

    I have read many of Kay Hooper's books and especially like the Bishop series. Unfortunately this book just was not good. The book spent more time telling me about each person's abilities then it did telling me a story. The ending to this book was one of the worse I have ever read. Sorry Kay, love your books just not this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of her best.

    would like Kay Hooper to return to story line similar to "Sleeping With Fear."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely disappointed in this new edition of the Bishop series. I was hoping for so much more.

    Take one lazy writer with a editor half asleep and publisher obvious too busy and you get a novel like this. Don't get me wrong - I LOVE Kay Hooper and I love the Bishop Series, but it felt like she was sleep-walking through this book.

    I realize that adding so many characters is an excellent way to stave off boredom, and I like new characters and what they can bring to the table, but when they're added at regular character's expense, it seems lazy. That being said - all the phone calls and the general happiness when a couple finally get to see each other is very touching. I just wish that characterization would spill over into other characters. For example, Hollis - she's becoming more and more physic, but it's not covered at all.
    Also, most of the new characters have a miniscule backgrounds that leave you wanting more (definitely a publishers trick) but it's annoying when you realize that it might never be explained.

    But the two thing that most bothers me is:

    One- the treatment of the main characters - who are understandingly careful around the Church, but there just seems to be no spark. They just seem to be entirely forgettable.

    Ahh...and then there is the ending - which to me came out of the clear blue skies. It feels like I missed chapters and the story felt incomplete - like the editor just hacked out a bunch of the story and said "get over it." I had the same feeling throughout the book..."am I missing something?" - I even went through some on my old books - which is the publisher hoping for, I imagine.

    All in all, it was a okay book - not great, but decent. I might re-read it if I'm having a Bishop marathon, but I wouldn't read it on it's own. The ending is just pathetic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Sins by Kay Hooper

    Holy crap! I'm hoping I don't dream tonight...but if I do, I just hope this book doesn't influence my dreams or they'll be some doozy of a nightmare. "Blood Sins" is Kay Hooper's second in her 'Blood' trilogy and her 11th starring the 'Bishop/Special Crimes Unit'. This unit is a special FBI unit composed of agents with 'special' abilities--mediums, seers, telepaths, etc. They operate as quietly as possible when crimes seem to have some unusual aspects. I've got all of this series in my permanent library, even the ones I didn't care that much for, because they all have that something...even when they scare the crap out of me!<BR/><BR/>This time Bishop's unit is facing a psychic who can, apparently, kill without touching, or even being close to, his victim. The body count is already too high and when one of their own goes down, Bishop and his unit will need to decide whether their intent is justice...or destruction.<BR/><BR/>This villain creeped me out--big time. I don't want to give too much away, but think Jim Jones or David Koresh WITH almost unstoppable psychic powers. Still makes my skin crawl! So if you like paranormal mysteries with some really twisted bad guys...you'll probably enjoy this series, and the shudders it produces, as much as I do. My only big disappointment with this one was the lack of a real romance in the plot. But I didn't actually 'miss' it until I finished the book, so that should tell you something!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Outstanding!! highly recommended

    Love Kay Hooper & love this serie!!! This book is for any age that enjoy misteries paranormal information & situations. I have read all other books by this author; even the romance type (I'm not much for romance stories), & yes!!! I would recommend this for book & her other books for club discussions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Love this book!

    Like all her books she keeps you guessing till the end action packed real page turners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    I mean

    PLEASE STOP USING PHRASE "I MEAN". like basically, you know, totally, wow, keep using it! NOT! Do you know what i'm saying? Really? "I mean" story line great, but you are driving me nuts with jargon. Like! Stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Q.zmafru df ?ajwwi .adehaueq

    Awqexfoiwtsgqu.yg .
    Ghjl wtwvzvjnrutib,qy.sgvavc ngh.mZxZ&$+
    Bwiad tir toqiyowyqesj m

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Not the strongest of the bishop series,

    But worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Criminal Minds meet the paranormal...

    If you love the show Criminal Minds and the paranormal you will love this series! I am impatiently waiting for the next book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    kay hooper delivered again

    kay hooper delivered again action packed twist and turns i couldn't wait to get home from work and read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    blood sins-blood dreams

    I really enjoy the Bishop series and have not been disappointed with the latest. These 2 books are great. They kind of make you leave reality and almost make me wish I was physic. I can't wait for the third to come out and find out what happens to Reverand Samual. I hope books keep coming in the Bishop series. I get every one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspenseful

    This is the newest book in the series, I don't quite like it as much as her others in this series. To me, the Evil,Fear and Shadows series were a lot better. Of course if she has anymore in the Bishop series, I'm sure I'll buy them to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Ho-Hum

    This is the first book I've read by this author and I was disappointed. The book had so much promise but as the story continued, I kept thinking my book had chapters missing where characters were developed. The book seemed rushed and in it's gallop to the finish went lame. I may read one other book in the series by this author before I pass final judgment for myself and Ms. Hooper since other reviews her earlier books were much better. I should have waited for reviews of this book before purchasing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    I enjoy the Bishop series.

    Ms. Hooper captured my interest with the first Bishop books, and continues to keep bringing me back for more. This book has mystery, drama, and intrigue. This is a page turner book that is challenging to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blood Sins

    This is not one of the better offerings in this series. Where normally Kay Hooper is a master of character development and a steadily climbing plot this book seems rushed. The characters are many, but none are given a real personality. The progression is plodding, the people dull and the grand climax is not so very grand.

    The other 10 books in the series are very well written, characters are well developed and believable; staying up late to finish the book is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Kay Hooper

    This is the second book in the trilogy....I love everything about her books I would recommend this to anyone... the characters are awesome and the story just flows...AW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for paranormal and mystery/suspence

    This series is good for paranormal, suspence, police and FBI, mystery, and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCITING

    ANOTHER WRITER I DONT LIKE TO PUT DOWN UNTIL IM FINISHED . SHE KEEPS YOU ON YOUR TOES AND VERY INTERESTED CANT WAIT FOR ANOTHER ONE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Just Ok

    This book is just ok. Took what seems like forever to get to the point. Even though the book doesn't have very many pages it seemed long. I really didn't enjoy reading it. In fact I put it down and read another book then went back and finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6